Moritzburg Castle was built in around 1665 in the Baroque style as the residence of Duke Moritz of Sachsen-Zeitz. Today visitors can admire the largest collection of prams in Europe, an extensive furniture collection, numerous paintings, precious hand-crafted items and much more.
The foundation stone for the building of the new castle was laid in March 1657. The architect and master builder Moritz Richter understood how to construct a castle ensemble in the Baroque style while incorporating the old church. The construction of the residence of the Dukes of Sachsen-Zeitz was completed in around 1678. Duke Moritz named his castle "Moritzburg on the White Elster".
The most beautiful items from the extensive furniture collection are presented in the former living area of the Dukes of Sachsen-Zeitz. The museum also houses the largest collection and exhibition of prams in Europe. Constantly changing special exhibitions make a visit to the museum a real experience.
Tues-Sun/public holidays 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.