DE EN NL
Book
your holiday
Book

Weißenfels lies amidst the idyllic Saale landscape and invites visitors to discover the town’s many facets and attractions.

Weißenfels looks back over a long history. In accordance with the will of the Saxon Elector Johann Georg I, in 1656 the town became the residence of the collateral line of the electors of Saxony, the Sachsen-Weißenfels. The town’s upgrading to become the ducal residence is regarded as its heyday.

Court life promoted art and culture. Neu-Augustusburg Castle is closely connected with famous musicians such as Johann Sebastian Bach, Georg Friedrich Händel (known as “Handel” in English), Georg Philipp Telemann, Johann Beer and Johann Phillip Krieger. Johann Sebastian Bach held the title of Hofkapellmeister, court music director, of Weißenfels. The talent of the young Handel was discovered at the organ of the important Weißenfels castle church.

Heinrich Schütz, the first German composer of international standing, spent his childhood and the end of his life in Weißenfels. His home in his old age, the Heinrich Schütz Haus, is the only one of the composer’s homes still to be preserved in its original condition.

After the fateful battle of Lützen in 1632, the Swedish King Gustav II Adolf lay in state in the Geleitshaus and his autopsy was performed there. An alleged bloodstain can still be seen today.
Outstanding figures of literature such as Louise von François, Louise Brachmann and the poet Novalis also left their traces in Weißenfels. The life and work of Novalis, a major German representative of the Early Romantic period, are presented at the Novalis memorial site.

Contact details
Tourist-Information Weißenfels
Markt 1
06667 Weißenfels
phone: +49 (0) 3443-303070
fax: +49 (0) 3443-239471
info@weissenfelstourist.de
www.weissenfelstourist.de

DE EN NL
Urlaub
Buchen
Buchen

Weißenfels liegt inmitten der idyllischen Saale-Landschaft und lädt seine Besucher herzlich ein, die Stadt mit ihren vielen Facetten und Sehenswürdigkeiten zu entdecken.

Weißenfels blickt auf eine lange Geschichte zurück. Durch das Testament des sächsischen Kurfürsten Johann Georg I. wurde die Stadt im Jahr 1656 zur Residenz der kursächsischen Nebenlinie Sachsen-Weißenfels. Der Ausbau zur herzoglichen Residenz gilt als Blütezeit der Stadt.

Heinrich Schütz, der erste deutsche Komponist von Weltgeltung, verbrachte seine Kindheit und seinen Lebensabend in Weißenfels. Sein Alterssitz, das Heinrich Schütz Haus, ist das einzige im Original erhaltene Wohnhaus des Komponisten. Die 2012 neu eröffnete Dauerausstellung in dem aufwendig sanierten Renaissance-Bau wurde 2014 mit dem Iconic-Award ausgezeichnet.

Das  höfische Leben beförderte Kunst und Kultur. Schloss Neu-Augustusburg ist eng mit so bekannten Musikern wie Johann Sebastian Bach, Georg Friedrich Händel, Georg Philipp Telemann, Johann Beer und Johann Phillip Krieger verbunden. Johann Sebastian Bach hatte den Titel des Weißenfelser Hofkapellmeisters inne. Das Talent des jungen Händel wurde an der Orgel der bedeutenden Weißenfelser Schlosskirche entdeckt.

Der schwedische König Gustav II. Adolf wurde nach der verhängnisvollen Schlacht bei Lützen im Jahre 1632 im Geleitshaus aufgebahrt und obduziert. Ein vermeintliches Blutfleck ist dort immer zu sehen.

Auch herausragende Literaten, wie Louise von François, Louise Brachmann und der Dichter Novalis, hinterließen ihre Spuren in Weißenfels. In der Novalis-Gedenkstätte wird das Leben und Werk des bedeutenden deutschen Vertreters der Frühromantik vorgestellt.

Kontakt
Tourist-Information Weißenfels
Markt 1
06667 Weißenfels
Tel.: 03443 303070
Fax: 03443 239471
E-Mail: info@weissenfelstourist.de
Internet: www.weissenfelstourist.de