Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

That's why the Saale-Unstrut region will inspire you!

Patrick Muntzinger in the ducal vineyard © Patrick Muntzinger

22.10. 2020, Patrick Muntzinger

Before my trip to Saale-Unstrut I had no idea what there was to see for tourists in the region and whether Saale-Unstrut would actually be worthwhile as a holiday destination. Consequently, I let myself be completely surprised by the region. I'll tell you right up front that this surprise was successful - in a positive sense! Because actually "the land of wine and stone" has an incredible amount to offer its visitors - and I would like to present my highlights to you now.

Enjoy the wine region Saale-Unstrut

The region is not only seen as "Land of Wine and Stone"but also as "Tuscany of the North" is what it's called. And you couldn't describe Saale-Unstrut any better. Because here you are in the northernmost quality wine-growing region of Germany and the countless vineyards not only look great scenically, but are also great for wine tasting at the local vintners.

Explore the castles and palaces

I was really surprised by the number of fortresses, castles and palaces you can visit in Saale-Unstrut. While driving through the region, I could always spot new constructions on the hills. While for example the Neuenburg Castle in Freyburg is well preserved and the interior even offers a museum, are of the Rudelsburg only ruins remain - but the view of the landscape is spectacular. Particularly impressive is also the history of the Droyßig Castle - there I could even visit an interesting, temporary "Lost Places" exhibition.

Visit the small and large towns of the region

The holiday destination Saale-Unstrut is composed of various places and cities that you should not miss on your trip. I would like to highlight the beautiful place Freyburgwhich is a great place to explore the wine region and has a beautiful old town. You can also visit the Friedrich Ludwig Jahn Museum learn more about the "Turnvater" and after a short ascent enjoy the great view from the terrace of the Hotels "Zum Edelacker as well as enjoy the view of the region from Neuenburg Castle.

But that's not all! In Droyßig you can visit the "Bärentatzenweg" learn more about the history of the place and visit the castle, in Zeitz a tour brings you to the underground tunnel system of the city and at Nebra you can visit the "Ark"Learn more about the famous sky disc that was found there. And of course you must not miss Naumburg, with the famous Naumburg Cathedral - a UNESCO World Heritage Site!

Taste the local products and specialities of Saale-Unstrut

The region is particularly proud of its "Handicrafts" - the small businesses that have been making their own products for generations. As part of the "Handmade Saale-Unstrut Campaign", I was able to visit, for example, in the Bee educational garden in Nebra look over the beekeeper's shoulder while he is working, as well as taste the healthy brine in Bad Sulza and visit the Graduation house breathe in the air. The Handmacher belong to Saale-Unstrut and give the region its local charm.

As you can see, there are many good reasons why a trip to Saale-Unstrut is worthwhile. I can promise you that you will have a great time - because for me Saale-Unstrut is certainly one of the best insider tips in Germany!

Bio: Patrick is a travel blogger at germanbackpacker.com and reports there about travel destinations in Germany as well as all over the world.

ERDF rgb web
Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing

What would you like
do next?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Darum wird dich die Region Saale-Unstrut begeistern!

Patrick Muntzinger im Herzoglichen Weinberg © Patrick Muntzinger

22.10. 2020, Patrick Muntzinger

Vor meiner Reise nach Saale-Unstrut hatte ich keinerlei Vorstellung, was es denn für Touristen in der Region wohl zu sehen gibt und ob sich Saale-Unstrut als Urlaubsziel tatsächlich lohnen würde. Folglich habe ich mich von der Region vollkommen überraschen lassen. Ich verrate dir gleich im Voraus, dass diese Überraschung geglückt ist – und zwar im positiven Sinne! Denn tatsächlich hat „das Land aus Wein und Stein“ unglaublich viel für seine Besucher zu bieten – und meine Highlights möchte ich dir nun vorstellen.

Genieße die Weinregion Saale-Unstrut

Die Region wird nicht nur als „Land aus Wein und Stein“, sondern auch als „Toskana des Nordens“ bezeichnet. Und besser könnte man Saale-Unstrut auch nicht beschreiben. Denn hier befindest du dich im nördlichsten Qualitätsweinanbaugebiet Deutschlands und die unzähligen Weinberge sehen nicht nur landschaftlich toll aus, sondern bieten sich auch super zur Weinprobe bei den lokalen Winzern an.

Erkunde die Schlösser und Burgen

Ich war wirklich überrascht von der Vielzahl an Festungen, Burgen und Schlössern, die du in Saale-Unstrut besichtigen kannst. Bei der Fahrt durch die Region konnte ich immer wieder neue Anlagen auf den Hügeln erspähen. Während beispielsweise das Schloss Neuenburg in Freyburg gut erhalten ist und in den Innenräumen sogar ein Museum geboten wird, sind von der Rudelsburg nur noch Ruinen übrig – die Aussicht auf die Landschaft ist jedoch spektakulär. Besonders eindrucksvoll ist zudem die Geschichte des Schlosses Droyßig – dort konnte ich sogar eine interessante, temporäre „Lost Places“ Ausstellung besuchen.

Besichtige die kleinen und großen Ortschaften der Region

Das Urlaubsziel Saale-Unstrut setzt sich aus verschiedenen Orten und Städten zusammen, die du dir auf deiner Reise nicht entgehen lassen solltest. Hervorheben möchte ich dabei den wunderschönen Ort Freyburg, der sich super für die Erkundung der Weinregion anbietet und zudem eine wunderschöne Altstadt hat. Zudem kannst du im Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Museum mehr über den „Turnvater“ lernen und nach einem kurzen Aufstieg den tollen Blick von der Terrasse des Hotels „Zum Edelacker“ sowie vom Schloss Neuenburg auf die Region genießen.

Doch das ist längst nicht alles! In Droyßig kannst du auf dem „Bärentatzenweg“ mehr über die Geschichte des Ortes erfahren und das Schloss besuchen, in Zeitz bringt dich eine Tour in das unterirdische Tunnelsystem der Stadt und bei Nebra kannst du in der „Arche“ mehr über die berühmte Himmelsscheibe lernen, die dort gefunden wurde. Und auf keinen Fall verpassen darfst du natürlich Naumburg, mit dem berühmten Naumburger Dom – ein UNESCO Weltkulturerbe!

Probiere die lokalen Produkte und Spezialitäten von Saale-Unstrut

Die Region ist besonders stolz auf ihre „Handmacher“ – die Kleinbetriebe, die seit Generationen ihre Produkte selbst herstellen. Im Rahmen der „Handgemacht Saale-Unstrut Kampagne“ konnte ich beispielsweise im Bienenlehrgarten in Nebra dem Imker bei seiner Arbeit über die Schulter schauen, sowie in Bad Sulza die gesunde Sole probieren und im Gradierwerk die Luft einatmen. Die Handmacher gehören zu Saale-Unstrut und geben der Region ihren lokalen Charme.

Wie du siehst, gibt es viele gute Gründe, weshalb sich eine Reise nach Saale-Unstrut lohnt. Ich kann dir versprechen, dass du eine tolle Zeit haben wirst – denn für mich ist Saale-Unstrut sicherlich einer der besten Geheimtipps Deutschlands!

Bio: Patrick ist Reiseblogger bei germanbackpacker.com und berichtet dort über Reiseziele in Deutschland sowie auf der ganzen Welt.

EFRE rgb web
Diesen Beitrag teilen
Aktie auf facebook
Aktie auf twitter
Aktie auf pinterest
Aktie auf linkedin
Aktie auf xing

Was möchten Sie
als Nächstes tun?