Only a quarter of an hour's drive apart, Neuenburg Castle near Freyburg and Goseck Castle between Naumburg and Weißenfels crown the picturesque river valleys of the Unstrut and Saale.
Doppelkapelle, Castle and Lordship - Neuenburg Castle in Freyburg
The Neuchâtelthe Wartburg's big sister castle, was founded around 1090. The extensive complex with its representative residential buildings, mighty towers and the magnificent double chapel is a breathtaking testimony to High Medieval architecture. At the end of the 12th century, the castle was one of the most glamorous centres of chivalric courtly culture. Get to know the Thuringian landgraves, Heinrich von Veldeke and Saint Elisabeth at the authentic site. The castle, wine and clock museum awaits you. The "Children's bower"is the realm of the little guests. The "Burgwirtschaft" provides for the physical well-being.
April to October daily 10.00-18.00
(Monday only museum in the core castle)
November to March Tue to Sun 10.00-17.00
The Keep "Dicker Wilhelm is only open from April to October.
museum shop, holiday apartments, wine tasting
Tel.: 034464 26262
Castle management Neuenburg Castle
Tel.: 034464 368380
Monastery and castle, monks and lords - Goseck Castle
The rare single-column crypt from the 11th century, original window grilles, remains of medieval wall paintings, the "Goseck Chronicle", filmed building history, Benedictine liturgy, the ballad of the "Palatine Murder", the mysterious Eoban Susembet, the parts of the monastery basilica converted into the castle church in the 17th century and other evidence of a long history are waiting to be discovered in the permanent exhibition "SCHLOSS KIRCHE GOSECK". At the weekends, the "Schloss-Schenke" to the retreat.
April to October Mon-Sun 11.00-17.00
November to March by appointment only