Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Inner city tour Weißenfels

© Copyright by Torsten Biel www.biel24.de
Tour dates

easy

3.1 km

00:50 h

100 m

133 m

50 m

52 m
 
Height profile

Description:

Discover sights and historical places in Weißenfels

Tour Highlights:

1 Princely House of Weissenfels
The princely house was built in 1673 by Johann Moritz Richter, the master builder of Neu-Augustusburg Palace, and served primarily as the official residence and home of important residential officials. The house reflects the formal language of the Baroque. Above the passage portal of the princely house are figures representing Minerva and Mercury. The English Nine
Discover sights and historical places in Weißenfels

Tour Highlights:

1 Princely House of Weissenfels
The princely house was built in 1673 by Johann Moritz Richter, the master builder of Neu-Augustusburg Palace, and served primarily as the official residence and home of important residential officials. The house reflects the formal language of the Baroque. Above the passage portal of the princely house are figures representing Minerva and Mercury. The English nine-panel ceiling in the banqueting hall makes the Fürstenpalais
once.
Leipziger Straße 9, 06667 Weißenfels
Guided tour: every last Sunday of the month 2 pm

2 Neu-Augustusburg Castle with castle church and princely crypt
Neu-Augustusburg Palace is one of the largest early Baroque palace complexes in Central Germany, built from 1660-1694 as the residence of the Dukes of Saxony Weißenfels, a Saxon collateral line. The castle church St. Trinitatis with the princely burial place (38 splendid sarcophagi) still documents the unique baroque splendour. Musical personalities such as Johann Sebastian Bach and Georg Friedrich Händel are closely associated with the castle's history. In addition to special exhibitions, the Museum Weißenfels in the Neu-Augustusburg Castle also presents an exhibition on the history of the town. Internationally known is the unique collection of historical and ethnological shoes - the shoe museum.
Zeitzer Straße 4, 06667 Weißenfels Tel.: 03443 2390017,
info@museum-weissenfels.de, www.museum-weissenfels.de
Guided tours of the princely crypt every last Saturday of the month 11-15 (except August)
April - September: Tue. - Sun. 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
October - March: Tue. - Fri. 10 a.m. - 4 p.m., Sat. & Sun. 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.

3 Gustav Adolf Memorial / Geleitshaus
Built in 1552 in the Renaissance style, the house initially served as a residence until 1555. Later it took on the function of the electoral escort office. In 1632, the body of the Swedish King Gustav II Adolf was autopsied in the oriel room. The Gustav Adolf Memorial commemorates the 30 Years War and its effects on Weißenfels as well as the Battle of Lützen. The highlight of the exhibition is a diorama with 10,000 pewter figures as well as the alleged bloodstain of the king in the autopsy room.
Große Burgstr. 22, 06667 Weißenfels
Tel: 03443 333521, hallo@geleitshaus.com,
www.geleitshaus.com
Opening hours: Tues. - Fri. 3 - 9 p.m., Sat. & Sun. 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

4 Heinrich Schütz House
The Heinrich Schütz House is the only original preserved residence of the composer. It was here that Heinrich Schütz created his late works. The highlight of the exhibition is the composer's room, which presents two fragments of music from the musician's hand.
Nikolaistrasse 13, 06667 Weißenfels, Germany, Tel.: 03443 302835
info@schuetzhaus-weissenfels.de,
www.schuetzhaus-weissenfels.de
The Heinrich Schütz Music Festival takes place annually in October.
Tues. - Sun. and holidays 10 - 17 h, and by appointment, 01.01., 24.12., 25.12., and 31.12. closed

5 City park
The city park invites you to rest and relax at any time of the year. Once laid out as a shooting ditch, it served as a cemetery from 1522 to 1904. After that it was redesigned as a park. The Weißenfels shoemaker's boy, actually city boy, got his name from the deeply rooted shoe tradition in Weißenfels. The Novalis grave, a bust commemorates one of Weißenfels' most famous sons, Friedrich von Hardenberg (1772-1801). He is better known under the name Novalis. He found his final resting place here, in the former cemetery. He was barely 30 years old.

6 Saint Claren Monastery
The former monastery of the Poor Clares was built in 1301 at its present location. After the introduction of the Reformation, the monastery became a convent for women in 1540. During the Weissenfels ducal period, Duke August of Saxony-Weissenfels founded the "Gymnasium Illustre Augusteum" in 1664. In this kind of high school the nobility and the future civil servants of the country were educated.
Rosalskyweg, 06667 Weißenfels
klostervereinweissenfels@web.de, www.kloster-st-claren.de
April - October: every first Sunday of the month 3 - 5 p.m. and every Thursday 2 - 5 p.m.

7 Novalis Memorial
Friedrich von Hardenberg, known as Novalis, lived in the house at Klosterstraße 24 with his family from the age of 13 until his early death at the age of 29. He went down in literary history as the most important German early Romantic.
The internationally appreciated exhibition documents the life and work of the poet. Worth seeing are the garden with pavilion and his gravesite in the city park.
Klosterstraße 24, 06667 Weißenfels, Tel.: 0 3443 234531,
info@novalis-weissenfels.de, www.novalis-weissenfels.de
April-September: Tue - Fri 10 am - 5 pm
Sat. - Sun. 10 - 12 h & 13 - 17 h
October-March: Tue. - Fri. 10 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Sat. - Sun. 10 - 12 h & 13 - 16 h

8 City Hall
The baroque town hall was inaugurated in its present form in 1722. From the previous building, which was destroyed by city fires, only the foundation walls and the basement with the seating niche portal are preserved. Two clocks and a moon phase clock are located on the town hall tower on the market side. The two lions bearing the town's coat of arms bear witness to the town's long connection with the Wettin dynasty. Minerva
and Justitia on the balcony serve as a reminder to the city's rulers to act wisely and justly.
Markt 1, 06667 Weißenfels, www.weissenfels.de

9 Church of Saint Mary
The town church of St. Mary was consecrated in 1303. The late Gothic three-nave hall church was extensively renovated and enlarged in the 15th/16th century. The church tower was rebuilt in baroque style after a destructive fire in 1718. For a time, the town church also functioned as a representative court church, and the most important furnishings date from this period. The organ of the town church was built in 1862/64 by the Weißenfels organ builder Friedrich Ladegast and served him as a demonstration instrument.
Marienkirchgasse 3, 06667 Weißenfels, Germany
every tuesday 12 o'clock organ music at market time

10 Bicycle and boat rental Weißenfels
Services: rental of boats, bicycles and sports equipment, luggage storage, travel information, snacks and drinks.
Dammstraße, 06667 Weißenfels, Phone: 0163 3663555
April to October
 Read more
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Condition: easy
  • always open

Tour itinerary:

Contact:

Tourist information Weißenfels

Market 3
06667 Weissenfels
Phone: +49 3443 / 303070
E-mail: info@weissenfelstourist.de
website: http://www.weissenfelstourist.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing