Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

City tour Bad Bibra

© Copyright by Transmedial
Tour dates

extremely lightweight

2.4 km

02:00 h

154 m

195 m

28 m

 
Height profile

Description:

Discover sights and historical places in Bad Bibra!

Tour Highlights:

1. tourist information
Guided tours of the town and Kneipp, guided tours of the church, accommodation service and sale of souvenirs. Kneipp workshops or herbal courses are available by appointment.
The staff will be happy to advise you!

Tourist-Information An der Finne, Bürgergarten 1,
06647 Bad Bibra, Phone 034465 701912
info@tourismus-finne.de, www.tourismus-finne.de
Mon. - Fri. 9.00
Discover sights and historical places in Bad Bibra!

Tour Highlights:

1. tourist information
Guided tours of the town and Kneipp, guided tours of the church, accommodation service and sale of souvenirs. Kneipp workshops or herbal courses are available by appointment.
The staff will be happy to advise you!

Tourist-Information An der Finne, Bürgergarten 1,
06647 Bad Bibra, Phone 034465 701912
info@tourismus-finne.de, www.tourismus-finne.de
Mon. - Fri. 9.00 - 15.00 hrs

Bürgergarten - fairground of the city of Bad Bibra.
Here, among other things, concerts and Germany's largest fairy tale procession with Christmas market take place in the pre-Christmas period.

2nd rectory
It was built in 1702-1704 at the suggestion of the pastor Erdmann Neumeister (German cantata poet). The new community centre in the converted monastery barn is also a venue for events, the rectory houses the parish office. Domberg - Oldest settlement core of today's town of Bad Bibra (first mention: deed of donation in 786). The name "Domberg" goes back to the Augustinian canons' monastery, which emerged from the Benedictine monastery founded in 963.
Church Square - Three monuments are dedicated to the fallen of the two World Wars and the German War of 1866 (Battle of Königskrätz).

Domberg 9, 06647 Bad Bibra

3rd Mary Magdalene Church
On the foundation walls of the Augustinian canons' monastery, the construction of a collegiate church began around 1100 and was supplemented with a Gothic west tower around 1402. The present church was built in 1868-1871, incorporating older parts of the previous building. It possesses the largest Gothic sculpture collection in the Burgenland district. Thanks to a generous donation by the former citizen of Bad Bibra, Joachim Haedrich from Carlsbad in California, the church has had a complete three-bell chime again since the year 2000. The bells bear the names Peace, Freedom and Family.

Church square, 06647 Bad Bibra

4. old town hall

Probably built in the 19th century, it now houses the Kneipp Information Centre, the town library and exhibitions on the history of the spa in the Baroque period, when the town held the title of "Fashionable Spa of the Dukes of Saxony-Weißenfels", as well as on the upper floor on the boxing legend Franz Diener. The staircase is decorated with a stone beaver, the heraldic animal of the town (design by Prof. E. Pfeifer, Munich).

Lauchaer Str. 85, 06647 Bad Bibra

5. bathing area with health fountain pavilion and Kneipp facilities
The bathing place impressively testifies to the spa tradition of the town, founded in the 17th century by the dukes of Saxony-Weissenfels. The Gesundbrunnen - covered by the charming pavilion built in 1879 - is the oldest ferruginous spring in Bad Weissenfels.
Bibras. It was first captured by Duke Johann Adolf of Saxony-Weissenfels in 1684. In 1777, the entrance portal to the spring was splendidly designed under Elector Friedrich August II, later King of Saxony.

Bathing place, 06647 Bad Bibra

6. bathhouse with foundation stone
The former bathhouse was built at the end of the 17th century. After its destruction by the Swedes and reconstruction in 1713, a new bathhouse was built in 1874 with bathing cells and halls. Today it is used as a residential building. The foundation stone from 1777 contains a Latin inscription under the coat of arms, which translates as: "Jehovah the Health Maker to the Glory, the Most Sublime Elector of Saxony Friedrich August, the Titus of our Age, surrounded these healing waters, enclosed by the exalted Johann Adolf in 1684 and renewed by the exalted Christian in 1728, with this wall in 1777".

Bathing place, 06647 Bad Bibra

Via the spa promenade you reach the bear park.

7. bear park
with Kneipp basin for treading water

Auenstraße, 06647 Bad Bibra

8. municipal forest Aue
Picturesque floodplain forest along the Saubach with rare flora and fauna. Highlights of the trail: two historic springs, Finnebahn viaducts and Nitzsche Mill.

9. healing fountain, barefoot path, Friedenshöhe
The Heilandsbrunnen is one of the idyllic gems in the Aue. The spring can be accessed from two sides via steps and was enclosed in 1907 (restored in 1996 on the occasion of the spring festival). Right next to it begins the barefoot path, the fun alternative to tiring walking on asphalt and gravel paths with its soft and hard surfaces for a natural massage of the soles of the feet. The Friedenshöhe, formerly Kaiser-Wilhelm-Höhe, was built in 1904.

10 .sister spring
The sister spring is characterized by its richness in various salts. The water shows more or less the same properties as the original well. Its inscription reads: "Healing sisters be helpful to all who trust you". According to legend, a benevolent fairy brought healing to three sisters at this spring. The spring was first tapped in 1686 and renovated in 2000.

11. viaducts
The two listed viaducts in the Saubach valley, the 20-metre-high Zwölf-Apostel bridge and the 29-metre-high and 100-metre-long Schnecktal bridge, are well worth seeing.
The Finnebahn was built in 1912/14 as a single-track branch line. It branched off from the Unstrutbahn in Laucha and met the Pfefferminzbahn in Kölleda. After the II. world war
the rails between Lossa and Kölleda were torn down due to reparation demands. Until the 60s passenger trains still ran between Laucha and Lossa, later only freight traffic. In 1994 the line was closed down.

More excursion tips:

Nitzsche-Mühle - In the catchment area of the Biberbach, which is rich in forage, there were 12 water mills in the past, some of which are still preserved and inhabited today. The Nitzsche Mill, formerly the Kneisel Mill, has been used as a grinding and saw mill since its construction in the 17th century.
Visits from the outside possible at any time throughout the year. Guided tours are available by prior appointment.

Balison outdoor adventure pool - With its giant water slide, swimmer's pool, adventure pool, mother-child area and extensive sunbathing lawns, this idyllic outdoor pool on the edge of the forest invites you to swim, relax and sunbathe.

Romanesque church Steinbach - The church was built around 1220, at the same time as the late Romanesque-early Gothic new building of Naumburg Cathedral. Fascinating are the ornamental forms of the late Romanesque: There are massive arches on the choir and apse and richly decorated capitals on the corner columns in the choir. The church is situated somewhat away from the village because Steinbach was destroyed during the 30 Years' War and was rebuilt on its present site. Today the church is part of the Romanesque Road. From Easter to October the church is open on weekends.

Linden Fountain - At the Linden Fountain (built in 2008) you can refresh yourself with Kneipp kicking or with an arm bath. The application is framed by musical sounds. The popular festival place accommodates benches, a grill pavilion and a small open-air stage.
 Read more
  • Difficulty: extremely lightweight
  • Condition: extremely lightweight
  • always open

Tour itinerary:

Contact:

Tourist information on the Finn

Citizen's garden 1
06647 Bath Bibra
Phone: +49 34465 / 701912
E-mail: info@saale-unstrut-tourismus.de
website: http://www.tourismus-finne.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing