Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

City tour Wettin

© Copyright by Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.
Tour dates

easy

2 km

01:30 h

78 m

97 m

17 m

 
Height profile

Description:

Walk in the footsteps of the Wettins and discover historical witnesses.

Tour Highlights: 

1 View from the Saale to the ancestral castle of the Wettins
The 500 m long castle complex stretches along the Saale on a porphyry rock. The viewer recognizes the tripartite nature of the castle. The Winckel tower of the lower castle is enthroned on the rocky peak. The elongated middle castle area follows in a westerly direction.
The upper castle with the spherical lookout point closes the
Walk in the footsteps of the Wettins and discover historical witnesses.

Tour Highlights: 

1 View from the Saale to the ancestral castle of the Wettins
The 500 m long castle complex stretches along the Saale on a porphyry rock. The viewer recognizes the tripartite nature of the castle. The Winckel tower of the lower castle is enthroned on the rocky peak. The elongated middle castle area follows in a westerly direction.
The upper castle with the dwarf viewpoint closes the castle area. Starting from the lower castle, the complex was extended to the left to the upper castle under the Wettin counts. Today the castle complex houses a grammar school with a branch for fine arts. The outdoor areas and the castle café are open to the public.
Lange Reihe / car park, 06193 Wettin-Löbejün
Guided tours: via Wettin-Information, Tel.: 034607 20320

2 View from the Winckel Wall into the Saale Valley
From the castle complex in the Winckelmauer area, visitors can enjoy a sweeping view of the Saale valley. As a landmark, the Johannashall chess pit on the horizon draws the eye. In addition, the division of the Saale into three arms can be seen.

Burgstraße 5, 06193 Wettin-Löbejün

3 Lower castle with outer castle (Petersgarten)

Archaeological finds prove an early settlement of the rock spur. Already in the 6th century Sorbs can be proven at the Saale. At first they built a place of refuge on the ridge. Later, this became a border fortress as a retreat against the advancing Franks. With the conquest of the West Slavic territories under King Heinrich I, the castle became the centre of an administrative district. In 961 it was mentioned in a document for the first time in a tithe award by the emperor to the monastery to be founded in Magdeburg. The Budziker family (later the Wettin family) came into possession of Wettin Castle by the middle of the 11th century at the latest. As ancestors of the later margraves, electors, Thuringian dukes and Saxon kings, they resided at the castle until the 13th century.
In the area of the outer castle (Petersgarten) stood the Petrikapelle.

Burgstraße 5, 06193 Wettin-Löbejün

4 Middle castle
The middle castle always served economic purposes. It housed stables, barns and the so-called Amtsgarten. A part of the middle castle (on the town side) is privately owned by individual families. The Saale wing belongs to the castle grammar school with classrooms and the administration.

Burgstrasse 4, 06193 Wettin-Löbejün

5 First Mining Office
Wettin has a very old mining history. Hard coal deposits were first mentioned in 1382. According to a legend, the discovery of coal goes back to a shepherd who was the first to find the black gold on the Tierberg in Wettin. The first mining office can be traced back to 1691.

Burgstrasse 8, 06193 Wettin-Löbejün

6 Upper castle
The upper castle is the second core castle of the complex. It was built in the form of a round castle. In the middle there was a mighty keep. In 1955 the special school for shepherds moved in here. Today the upper castle also belongs to the Wettin Castle Grammar School.

Burgstrasse 3, 06193 Wettin-Löbejün

7 City Hall
Wettin Town Hall impresses with its striking tower at the front of the building. It was rebuilt in the Renaissance style in 1660 after two major city fires. Documents report of a council cellar, a meeting room and an administration room. The building is currently used for a variety of purposes. Among other things, it houses the Wettin Information Centre.

Burgstrasse 1, 06193 Wettin-Löbejün
Wettin Information, Tel.: 034607 20320, wettin-info@mai-wl.de

8 Marketplace
The market square was the centre of the town in the Middle Ages. Town houses surround the area where breweries were once built. Today, visitors discover a miniature model of the Templar Chapel.

Market place, 06193 Wettin-Löbejün

9 St. Nicholas Church
The Nikolai Church was built in the 12th century in Romanesque style as a citizens' church and later redesigned in Gothic style. In the years of the GDR - time the church decayed. She could
could no longer be used as early as 1958. It was not until 1990 that the first renovation work began. Today the visitor finds a modern, bright church in a historical coat, in which church services and concerts take place. Changing art exhibitions enrich the church space.

Nikolaikirchplatz, 06193 Wettin-Löbejün
April - October 10:00 - 18:00
Guided tours: via the Wettin - Information 034607/20320

10 New mining office at the foot of the castle
At the foot of the Winckel tower of the lower castle, halfway up, there is a building showing a hammer and mallet on its gable end. This is the royal Prussian mining office from 1820. Until the mines were closed in 1893, this office was responsible for all mining in the northern and central Saalkreis.

Lange Reihe 1, 06193 Wettin-Löbejün
Today residential house - no viewing possible

11 Procession of the Wettin Princes
The famous Dresden Procession of Wettin Princes, designed by Wilhelm Walter at the end of the 19th century, can be found in a somewhat smaller format on a barn wall in a branch of Saalestraße. Benches invite you to look at the mural, on which 34 margraves, dukes, electors and kings from the Wettin dynasty can be seen. The epithets of the Wettins are impressive.

Saalestraße 8-9, 06193 Wettin-Löbejün

12 Templar Chapel in the OT Mücheln
The High Gothic Templar Chapel in Wettin OT Mücheln is one of the last remaining Templar chapels in Central Europe. It was built with the support of the counts of Brehna - Wettin around 1280 on a Templar court. The chapel is owned by the town of Wettin - Löbejün. Since 1989 it has been restored and used for cultural events.

OT Mücheln, Gimritzer Weg, 06193 Wettin-Löbejün
April - September 9:00 - 19:00
October - March 9:00 am until before dark.
Guided tours: Wettin Information, Tel.: 034607 20320
 Read more

Tour itinerary:

Contact:

Wettin Information

Burgstrasse 1
06193 Wettin-Löbejün
Phone: +49 34607 / 20320
E-mail: info@saale-unstrut-tourismus.de
website: http://www.saale-unstrut-tourismus.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing