Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Pleasure and culture in the Saale-Unstrut region

Bad Sulza drinking hall © Laura Schneider

16.07.2020, Laura Schneider

Whether for a weekend trip or an extended annual holiday, the Saale-Unstrut region offers so many cultural highlights and pleasurable moments that there is never a dull moment.

Where the wine flows

With the first vineyards that you see from the train window, the holiday feeling automatically sets in. No wonder that the Saale-Unstrut region is also called the Tuscany of the North. The best way to start your holiday is with a visit to one of the 60 winegrowers. At wineries such as the Born Winery in Höhenstedt, the Zahn Winery in Kaatschen or at the Herzoglicher Weinberg Freyburg, you can relax and taste your way through the range and find your new favourite wine.
You want to take a look behind the scenes? No problem! For example, you can gain exciting insights into wine production on a guided tour with the cellar master through the huge wine cellars of the winegrowers' association.

Just like a fairy tale!

The Neuenburg
High above Freyburg lies one of the largest castles in Germany: Neuenburg Castle. In the castle museum you can immerse yourself in the fascinating history of the castle's construction and rule and walk in the footsteps of the past. Neuenburg Castle is also home to the Wine Museum, which tells the story of wine culture in the middle of Germany.

The Neu-Augustusburg Castle
Interactive themed tours take place regularly at Neu-Augustusburg Palace. Go on a journey through time with the soprano Anna Magdalena Bach, the second wife of the famous composer Johann Sebastian Bach, discover old crafts on a tour of the shoe museum and candle dipping or explore the crypt on a guided tour.

The Dornburg Castles
In Dornburg, three castles are enthroned high above the Saale. Together they form a unique ensemble that already inspired Goethe. Just like he once did, today you can stroll through the magnificent rose garden and enjoy the magnificent view of the valley. In the historic stables of the castles, time seems to have stood still. Here you have the opportunity to experience one of the last preserved and accessible workshops of the Weimar Bauhaus.

On the way on the Saaleradweg

The Saale-Unstrut region is criss-crossed by hundreds of kilometres of cycle paths, so it's no wonder that cycling is one of the most popular leisure activities here. With a rental bike, take the Saale Cycle Path through pretty villages to Kaatschen. The Thuringian wine tavern of the Zahn winery is the perfect place for a lunch break.

A sea voyage is fun!

At the Geiseltalsee, the largest artificial lake in Germany, a very special adventure awaits you. Equipped with all kinds of delicacies, it's off to the feel-good lounge barbecue boat of the Geiseltal boat rental. When the grill is fired up in the middle of the lake while the boat bobs on the gentle waves, you wish this day would never end.

A visit to Naumburg Cathedral

In the pretty town of Naumburg you can discover the UNESCO World Heritage Site Naumburg Cathedral. On a guided tour through the impressive building, you will not only learn about the special features of the unique medieval architecture, but also get to know Uta, the "most beautiful woman of the Middle Ages".

The Naumburg Cathedral also includes the Children's Cathedral Construction Hut. Here, small and large children can slip into the role of the medieval cathedral builders themselves and thus go on an exciting journey through time as glass artists, stonemasons or architects.

Relax and enjoy

In the Saale-Unstrut region you will find three spas in the "spa triangle" with the brine spas Bad Sulza and Bad Kösen and the resort Bad Bibra. Once brine was boiled to table salt in Bad Sulza. With the discovery of the healing power of brine, the little town turned into a spa town. Today you can see the long spa tradition everywhere in the town. Take your time and stroll through the spa gardens, taste the water in the historic drinking hall and visit the unique inhalation and atomizer hall in the "Louise" graduation house.

In Bad Bibra you can follow in the footsteps of Kneipp. Kneipp courses for everyone" are offered here on a regular basis. During the course on herbs, you can try and sniff your way through the impressive variety of plants in the beautiful herb garden of the Sebastian Kneipp primary school in Saubach, before preparing pestos, spreads and herbal oils at the bathing area of Bad Bibra and learning a lot about the teachings of Kneipp. The water basins at the bathing place and the health fountain, from which strongly ferrous water bubbles, are open to visitors all around. So you can create your own little wellness programme at any time.

 

You want to know more about Laura's Saale-Unstrut-Trip? This way!

ERDF rgb web
Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing

What would you like
do next?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Genuss und Kultur in der Saale-Unstrut Region

Trinkhalle Bad Sulza © Laura Schneider

16.07.2020, Laura Schneider

Ganz egal, ob für einen Wochenendausflug oder für den ausgedehnten Jahresurlaub, in der Saale-Unstrut Region lassen sich so viele kulturelle Highlights und genussvolle Momente erleben, dass es nie langweilig wird.

Wo der Wein fliest

Mit den ersten Weinbergen, die man vom Zugfenster erblickt, stellt sich automatisch das Urlaubsgefühl ein. Kein Wunder, dass die Saale-Unstrut Region auch Toskana des Nordens genannt wird. Am besten startest du deinen Urlaub mit einem Besuch bei einem der 60 Winzer und Winzerinnen. In Weingütern wie dem Weingut Born in Höhenstedt, dem Weingut Zahn in Kaatschen oder am Herzoglichen Weinberg Freyburg kannst du dich ganz entspannt durch das Sortiment probieren und deinen neuen Lieblingswein finden.
Du möchtest einmal hinter die Kulissen schauen? Kein Problem! Spannende Einblicke in die Weinproduktion bekommst du zum Beispiel bei einer Führung mit der Kellermeisterin durch die riesigen Weinkeller der Winzervereinigung.

Wie im Märchen!

Die Neuenburg
Hoch über Freyburg liegt eine der größten Burgen Deutschlands: das Schloss Neuenburg. Im Burgmuseum kannst du in die faszinierende Bau- und Herrschaftsgeschichte der Burg eintauchen und auf den Spuren der Vergangenheit wandeln. Die Neuenburg beherbergt auch das Weinmuseum, das „Zwischen Fest und Alltag“ von der Weinkultur in der Mitte Deutschlands erzählt.

Das Schloss Neu-Augustusburg
Im Schloss Neu-Augustusburg finden regelmäßig interaktive Themenführungen statt. Begebe dich mit der Sopranistin Anna Magdalena Bach, der zweiten Ehefrau des berühmten Komponisten Johann Sebastian Bach, auf Zeitreise, entdecke beim Rundgang durch das Schuhmuseum und beim Kerzentauchen altes Handwerk oder erkunde bei einer Führung die Gruft.

Die Dornburger Schlösser
In Dornburg thronen hoch oben über der Saale gleich drei Schlösser. Zusammen bilden sie ein einzigartiges Ensemble, das bereits Goethe begeisterte. Genau wie er einst, kannst du heute durch den prächtigen Rosengarten wandeln und den grandiosen Ausblick ins Tal genießen. Im historischen Marstall der Schlösser scheint die Zeit stehen geblieben zu sein. Hier hast du die Möglichkeit eine der letzten, erhaltenen und zugänglichen Werkstätten des Weimarer Bauhauses zu erleben.

Unterwegs auf dem Saaleradweg

Die Saale-Unstrut Region durchziehen hunderte Kilometer Radwege, kein Wunder also, dass Radfahren hier zu den beliebtesten Freizeitaktivitäten gehört. Mit einem Leih-Rad, geht es auf dem Saaleradweg durch hübsche Dörfer nach Kaatschen. Die Thüringer Weinstube des Weinguts Zahn ist der perfekte Ort für die Mittagspause.

Eine Seefahrt die ist lustig!

Am Geiseltalsee, dem größten künstlichen See Deutschlands, wartet ein ganz besonderes Abenteuer auf dich. Ausgerüstet mit allerlei Leckereien geht es auf das Wohlfühl-Lounge Grillboot des Bootsverleihs Geiseltal. Wenn mitten auf dem See der Grill angeschmissen wird, während das Boot auf den leichten Wellen wippt, wünscht man sich, dass dieser Tag nie endet.

Ein Besuch im Naumburger Dom

Im hübschen Städtchen Naumburg kannst du die UNESCO-Welterbestätte Naumburger Dom entdecken. Bei einer Führung durch das beeindruckende Bauwerk lernst du nicht nur die Besonderheiten der einzigartigen mittelalterlichen Architektur kennen, sondern machst auch Bekanntschaft mit Uta der „schönsten Frau des Mittelalters“.

Zum Naumburger Dom gehört auch die Kinderdombauhütte. Hier können kleine und große Kinder selbst in die Rolle der mittelalterlichen Dombaumeister schlüpfen und so als Glaskünstler, Steinmetze oder Architekten auf eine spannende Zeitreise gehen.

Entspannen und genießen

In der Saale-Unstrut Region findet man im „Bäderdreieck“ mit den Sole-Heilbädern Bad Sulza und Bad Kösen und den Erholungsort Bad Bibra gleich drei Kurorte. Einst wurde in Bad Sulza Sole zu Speisesalz gesiedet. Mit der Entdeckung der Heilkraft der Sole, wandelte sich das Städtchen zur Kurstadt. Die lange Kurtradition kannst du heute überall im Ort erkennen. Nimm dir Zeit und spaziere ganz gemütlich durch den Kurpark, probiere in der historischen Trinkhalle das Wasser und besuche die einmalige Inhalations- und Zerstäuberhalle im Gradierwerk „Louise“.

In Bad Bibra kannst du dich auf die Spuren von Kneipp begeben. Regelmäßig werden hier „Kneippsche Kurse für Jedermann“ angeboten. Beim Kurs zum Thema Kräuter probierst und schnupperst du dich im wunderschönen Kräutergarten der Sebastian-Kneipp-Grundschule in Saubach durch die beeindruckende Pflanzenvielfalt, bevor du am Badeplatz von Bad Bibra Pestos, Aufstriche und Kräuteröle zubereitest und viel über die Lehren von Kneipp lernst. Die Wasserbecken am Badeplatz und der Gesundbrunnen, aus dem stark eisenhaltiges Wasser sprudelt, stehen rundum für Besucher offen. So kannst du zu jeder Zeit dein eigenes kleines Wellnessprogramm gestalten.

 

Du möchtest mehr über Lauras Saale-Unstrut-Trip erfahren? Hier geht es lang!

EFRE rgb web
Diesen Beitrag teilen
Aktie auf facebook
Aktie auf twitter
Aktie auf pinterest
Aktie auf linkedin
Aktie auf xing

Was möchten Sie
als Nächstes tun?