Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Monasteries as the cradle of culture on the Saale and Unstrut

Memleben Monastery

The monastery landscape on the Saale and Unstrut rivers offers historical personalities, architecture, culture and education, spirituality, wine and pleasure. So how about a trip to the historical monasteries?

In Memleben you start your journey at one of the oldest monastery towns on the Unstrut. At the former place of death of King Henry I and Emperor Otto the Great, a dreamlike monastery garden and a late Romanesque crypt offer the opportunity to rest. In the former cloister of the Benedictine monastery, visitors can learn a lot about monastic life and the death of a ruler in the Middle Ages.

Through the beautiful landscape of the Unstrut valley the monastery tour continues to Schulpforte. The famous Cistercian monastery of St. Marien zur Gorte is located directly at the gates of the town of Naumburg and was built in 1137 in close proximity to the river Saale. Visit the church, the cloister, the cloister areas and the surrounding monastery district and then fortify yourself in the Fischhaus an der Saale. Close to the local vineyards, a fantastic ambience invites you to eat and drink.

After the visit of the Benedictines and Cistercians, the Sisters of St. Clare lured to Weißenfels. A cloister that comes to life again after 500 years, a scriptorium that enchants with musical sounds, Romanesque and Gothic building elements let the visitor dive into the past and feel the medieval monastery flair on the Saale and Unstrut rivers.

Contact I
Memleben Monastery and Imperial Palace Museum
Thomas- Müntzer- Straße 48
06642 imperial palace
T 034672 60274
info@kloster-memleben.de
www.kloster-memleben.de
Opening hours
15 March to 31 October: daily 10am - 6pm
1 November to 14 March: outdoor facilities only, daily 10 am to 4 pm

Contact II
Cistercian monastery of Saint Mary to the gate
School Gate Foundation
Schulstrasse 22
06628 Naumburg OT School Gate
T 034463 628665
info@stiftung-schulpforte.de
www.stiftung-schulpforta.de
Opening hours
April to October: daily 10am - 6pm
November to March: daily 10 am to 4 pm

Contact III
St. Claren Monastery
Weissenfels citizens' association
Rosalskyweg 1
06667 Weissenfels
T 03443 4222073 or 0152 27156887
Klostervereinweissenfels@web.de
www.kloster-st-claren.de
Opening hours
May to October:
Thursdays: 2 - 6 pm
every 1st and 3rd Sunday of the month: 10-12 o'clock or by telephone




Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing

What would you like
do next?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Klöster als Wiege der Kultur an Saale und Unstrut

Kloster Memleben

Die Klosterlandschaft an Saale und Unstrut bietet historische Persönlichkeiten, Architektur, Kultur und Bildung, Spiritualität, Wein und Genuss. Wie wäre es also mit einer Reise zu den geschichtsträchtigen Klöstern?

In Memleben beginnen Sie die Reise an einem der ältesten Klosterorte an der Unstrut. Am einstigen Sterbeort König Heinrichs I. und Kaiser Ottos des Große bieten ein traumhafter Klostergarten und eine spätromanische Krypta Gelegenheit zur Ruhe. In der ehemaligen Klausur des Benediktinerklosters können Besucher vieles über das Klosterleben und über den Herrschertod im Mittelalter erfahren.

Durch die herrliche Landschaft des Unstruttals führt die Klosterreise weiter nach Schulpforte. Das berühmte Zisterzienserkloster St. Marien zur Pforte liegt direkt vor den Toren der Stadt Naumburg und wurde im Jahr 1137 in unmittelbarer Nähe zur Saale erbaut. Besichtigen Sie die Kirche, den Kreuzgang, die Klausurbereiche und den umliegende Klosterbezirk und stärken Sie sich anschließend im Fischhaus an der Saale. Nahe den örtlichen Weinlagen, lädt ein traumhaftes Ambiente zu Speis und Trank ein.

Nach dem Besuch der Benediktiner und Zisterzienser locken die Klarissenschwestern nach Weißenfels. Ein Kreuzgang, der nach 500 Jahren zu neuem Leben erwacht, ein Skriptorium, welches durch musikalische Klänge bezaubert, romanische und gotische Bauelemente lassen den Besucher in die Vergangenheit eintauchen und das mittelalterliche Klosterflair an Saale und Unstrut erspüren.

Kontakt I
Museum Kloster und Kaiserpfalz Memleben
Thomas- Müntzer- Straße 48
06642 Kaiserpfalz
T 034672 60274
info@kloster-memleben.de
www.kloster-memleben.de
Öffnungszeiten
15. März bis 31. Oktober: täglich 10- 18 Uhr
1. November bis 14. März: nur Außenanlagen, täglich 10- 16 Uhr

Kontakt II
Zisterzienserkloster Sankt Marien zur Pforte
Stiftung Schulpforta
Schulstraße 22
06628 Naumburg OT Schulpforte
T 034463 628665
info@stiftung-schulpforte.de
www.stiftung-schulpforta.de
Öffnungszeiten
April bis Oktober: täglich 10- 18 Uhr
November bis März: täglich 10- 16 Uhr

Kontakt III
Kloster St. Claren
Weißenfelser Bürgerverein
Rosalskyweg 1
06667 Weißenfels
T 03443 4222073 oder 0152 27156887
Klostervereinweissenfels@web.de
www.kloster-st-claren.de
Öffnungszeiten
Mai bis Oktober:
donnerstags: 14- 18 Uhr
jeden 1. und 3. Sonntag im Monat: 10- 12 Uhr oder nach telefonischer Absprache




Diesen Beitrag teilen
Aktie auf facebook
Aktie auf twitter
Aktie auf pinterest
Aktie auf linkedin
Aktie auf xing

Was möchten Sie
als Nächstes tun?