Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

On the road with a wheelchair in the Saale-Unstrut region

Nebra Ark © Jürgen Klug

23.07.2020, Jürgen Klug (shortened version)

Jürgen Klug reports on his blog about travelling with a handicap. On behalf of the Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V. he was on the road with his wife and son in Saale-Unstrut to test the region.

Naumburg

The first place we visited was Naumburg. Hardly arrived in the center of the city at the market, the impressive old city hall catches the eye, built at the end of the 15th century and rebuilt after the great city fire in 1517 in nine years. There we first ate in the oldest restaurant of the city, the Ratskeller. By the way, there is also a wheelchair accessible toilet at the town hall, which can be opened at any time with the Eurokey (fits all public toilets for people with disabilities).

After the refreshment we went to the landmark of the city, the Naumburg Cathedral, which is a World Heritage Site since 2018. It was largely built in the 13th century. However, first parts date back to the first half of the 11th century. At that time, people did not yet think about accessibility. Today, in the 21st century, things are different. Most of the rooms and buildings of the cathedral are easily accessible even with a wheelchair. For the buildings and parts of the building that are not easily accessible, further possibilities are to be examined. However, some things are difficult to implement because of the protection of historical monuments.

Overall, the city of Naumburg has a lot of charm and not only because of the cathedral and the town hall. But one reason I felt like a knight was the cobblestones in all facets, sometimes coarser, sometimes finer, which are ubiquitous in most historical, medieval towns. I'm used to such cobblestones from my Hemat, but after a lengthy tour of the city, I felt every bone in my body.

Merseburg

We also visited the city of Merseburg and its landmark, the Merseburg Cathedral. Here, too, the city impresses with its old, well-preserved and partly restored buildings. The cathedral itself, situated on a slight hill, towers over the city and seems self-contained. All the more I had the feeling to be in another world and time. Also here, almost all parts of the cathedral can be easily walked on, even if, as usual, on cobblestones. But if you arrive by car and have a permit, you can park for free right in front of the entrance.

Since both the Naumburg and the Merseburg cathedrals are administered and maintained by a foundation, a small fee in the form of a few talers is required at the entrance. What is to be got over, if one considers how much money the preservation of such buildings devours. For people with handicap and accompaniment there are reduced prices after presentation of the severely handicapped ID.

Freyburg (Unstrut)

We got a tip for a nice winery along the vineyards and castles. We arrived at the "Herzoglicher Weinberg Freyburg". There we were very kindly welcomed by the landlady, who not only served us a great wine, but also told us everything about the art of viticulture and wine culture during a nice get-together. The vineyard can be reached barrier-free. Just the thing for an epicurean like me. I could have stayed here forever.

cheeks (Unstrut)

Another destination was, among others, the Nebra Ark. The building, in which also regularly special exhibitions are to be seen, kidnaps one first of all into the modern age. A large, modern, imposing building that seems to be chiseled into the mountain. The story behind it, however, takes you back 3,600 years, to the time when the Nebra Sky Disk was created and a vanished European culture. The core of the Nebra Ark is the planetarium, which is also wheelchair accessible and where you can immerse yourself in the world of astronomy and the sky disc.

How

If you want to immerse yourself in a completely different world and experience fun for the whole family, you can't avoid a trip to the Wiehe model railway. Here, everything that makes the model railroader's heart beat faster is presented on 12,000 square meters. From Europe, China, USA and much more, you can marvel at everything here in different scales. A great and absolutely barrier-free experience.

Lake Geiseltalsee

The Geiseltalsee invites you to linger at the Marina Mücheln. There are plenty of leisure activities on the water, but they are not barrier-free or only partially barrier-free. Like a trip on the MS Geiseltalsee, which you can get on, but as a wheelchair user has no access to the decks. Here I would like to see an improvement.

Conclusion: A realization through my many trips is that there are still some weaknesses in the area of accessibility in Germany in an international comparison, but more and more regions are catching up and making great efforts to compensate for this. I also think this is extremely important, because as my trip to the Saale-Unstrut region showed, there are beautiful regions that are absolutely worth visiting. Who needs a vineyard in the south of France when there is an equally beautiful one within easy reach? 

Go to the detailed report on the blog this way along.

ERDF rgb web
Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing

What would you like
do next?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Mit dem Rollstuhl unterwegs in der Saale-Unstrut Region

Arche Nebra © Jürgen Klug

23.07.2020, Jürgen Klug (gekürtzte Variante)

Jürgen Klug berichtet auf seinem Blog zum Thema Reisen mit Handicap. Im Auftrag des Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V. war er zusammen mit seiner Frau und seinem Sohn in Saale-Unstrut unterwegs, um die Region zu testen.

Naumburg

Unser erster Ort, den wir bereisten, war Naumburg. Kaum im Zentrum der Stadt am Markt angekommen, fällt einem das beeindruckende alte Rathaus ins Auge, erbaut Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts und nach dem großen Stadtbrand 1517 in neun Jahren wiederaufgebaut. Dort haben wir erst mal in der ältesten Gaststätte der Stadt, dem Ratskeller, gespeißt. Übrigens gibt es am Rathaus auch eine rollstuhlgerechte Toilette, die jederzeit mit dem Euroschlüssel (passt auf alle öffentlichen Toiletten für Menschen mit Behinderung) geöffnet werden kann.

Nach der Stärkung ging es zum Wahrzeichen der Stadt, dem Naumburger Dom, der seit 2018 zum Weltkulturerbe zählt. Erbaut wurde er größtenteils im 13. Jahrhundert. Erste Teile gehen aber schon auf die erste Hälfte des 11. Jahrhunderts zurück. In dieser Zeit hat man sich noch keine Gedanken über Barrierefreiheit gemacht. Heute im 21. Jahrhundert ist das anders. Die allermeisten Räume und Gebäude des Doms sind auch mit einem Rollstuhl gut zu erreichen. Bei den Gebäuden und Gebäudeteilen, die nicht gut erreichbar sind, wolle man noch weitere Möglichkeiten prüfen. Manches ist aber wegen des Denkmalschutzes schwer umsetzbar.

Insgesamt hat die Stadt Naumburg viel Charme und das nicht nur wegen des Doms und des Rathauses. Ein Grund, warum ich mich aber wie ein Ritter fühlte, war das in den meisten historischen, mittelalterlichen Städten allgegenwärtige Kopfsteinpflaster in allen Facetten, mal gröber, mal feiner. Ich bin solches Pflaster aus meiner Hemat gewohnt, aber nach einer längeren Tour durch die Stadt spürte ich jeden einzelnen Knochen in meinem Körper.

Merseburg

Außerdem besuchten wir die Stadt Merseburg und ihr Wahrzeichen, dem Merseburger Dom. Auch hier besticht die Stadt durch ihre alten, gut erhaltenen und zum Teil restaurierten Gebäude. Der Dom selbst ragt, auf einer leichten Anhöhe gelegen, über die Stadt hinaus und wirkt in sich geschlossen. Umso mehr hatte ich das Gefühl, mich in einer anderen Welt und Zeit zu befinden. Auch hier sind fast alle Teile des Doms gut berollbar, wenn auch wie schon gewohnt über Kopfsteinpflaster. Dafür kann man, wenn man mit Auto anreist und einen Berechtigungsschein besitzt, direkt vor dem Eingang kostenlos parken.

Da sowohl der Naumburger, als auch der Merseburger Dom über eine Stiftung verwaltet und erhalten werden, wird jeweils am Eingang ein kleiner Obolus in Form von ein paar Talern verlangt. Was zu verschmerzen ist, wenn man bedenkt, wie viel Geld der Erhalt solcher Gebäude verschlingt. Für Personen mit Handicap und Begleitung gibt es nach Vorlage des Schwerbehindertenausweis ermäßigte Preise.

Freyburg (Unstrut)

Wir bekamen einen Tipp für ein schönes Weingut entlang der Weinberge und Burgen. Wir gelangten zum „Herzoglichen Weinberg Freyburg“. Dort wurden wir sehr freundlich von der Wirtin empfangen, die uns nicht nur einen tollen Wein servierte, sondern uns bei nettem Zusammensein alles über die Kunst des Weinbaus und der Weinkultur erzählte. Der Weinberg ist barrierefrei zu erreichen. Genau das Richtige für einen Genussmenschen wie mich. Hier hätte ich ewig verweilen können.

Wangen (Unstrut)

Ein weiteres Ziel war unter anderem die Arche Nebra. Das Gebäude, in der auch regelmäßig Sonderausstellungen zu sehen sind, entführt einen erst einmal in die Moderne. Ein großes, modernes, imposantes Gebäude, das wie in den Berg gemeißelt zu sein scheint. Die Geschichte dahinter führt einen aber wieder 3.600 Jahre zurück, in die Entstehungszeit der Himmelsscheibe von Nebra und einer untergegangenen Kultur Europas. Den Kern der Arche Nebra bildet das Planetarium, welches auch rollstuhlgerecht ist und in dem man in die Welt der Astronomie und der Himmelsscheibe eintauchen kann.

Wiehe

Wer in eine ganz andere Welt eintauchen und einen Spaß für die ganze Familie erleben möchte, der kommt an einem Ausflug zur Modellbahn Wiehe nicht herum. Hier wird auf 12.000 Quadratmetern alles präsentiert, was des Modelleisenbahners Herz höherschlagen lässt. Aus Europa, China, USA und vielem mehr gibt es hier alles in unterschiedlichen Maßstäben zu bestaunen. Ein tolles und absolut barrierefreies Erlebnis.

Geiseltalsee

Der Geiseltalsee lädt an der Marina Mücheln zum gemütlichen Verweilen ein. Auf dem Wasser gibt es reichlich Freizeitangebote, die allerdings nicht barrierefrei oder nur bedingt barrierefrei sind. Wie eine Fahrt auf der MS Geiseltalsee, auf die man zwar gelangt, aber als Rollstuhlfahrer keinen Zugang zu den Decks hat. Hier würde ich mir eine Nachbesserung wünschen.

Fazit: Eine Erkenntnis durch meine vielen Reisen ist, dass es zwar im internationalen Vergleich noch einige Schwächen im Bereich Barrierefreiheit in Deutschland gibt, immer mehr Regionen aber nachziehen und sehr bemüht sind, dies auszugleichen. Dies halte ich auch für extrem wichtig, denn wie meine Reise in die Saale-Unstrut Region gezeigt hat, gibt es wunderschöne und absolut sehenswerte Regionen, in die sich ein Besuch lohnt. Wer braucht schon einen Weinberg in Südfrankreich, wenn doch ein ebenso schöner in greifbarer Nähe ist? 

Zum ausführlichen Bericht auf dem Blog geht es hier entlang.

EFRE rgb web
Diesen Beitrag teilen
Aktie auf facebook
Aktie auf twitter
Aktie auf pinterest
Aktie auf linkedin
Aktie auf xing

Was möchten Sie
als Nächstes tun?