Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Did you already know? - Film sets and locations in Saale-Unstrut

Test Alt Text

Discover our top 5 filming locations in Saale-Unstrut!

The millennia-old cultural landscape on the Saale, Unstrut and Weißer Elster rivers is popular as a film backdrop. Whether it's well-known cinema blockbusters like "The Pope Joan", "The Medicus" or the Hollywood production "Monuments Men", crews have been drawn here for numerous national and international productions. But why?

Directors, producers and location scouts are particularly enthusiastic about the variety of impressive contemporary witnesses from the High Middle Ages through the period of the residential towns to the more recent past. The exciting combination of locations for fantasy adventures and scenes of important historical events is of course equally fascinating for guests.

Table of Contents

  • Querfurt Film Castle
  • Nebra Ark in Wangen
  • City of Weißenfels
  • City of Zeitz
  • Merseburg Imperial Cathedral

1st Filmburg Querfurt - a visit to "Die Päpstin", "Der Medicus" and "Räuber Hotzenplotz".

At the top of the list of the most sought-after film locations in Saale-Unstrut is Querfurt Castle. In more than 50 productions, the photogenic complex could shine with an appearance: Among them are cinema and television hits such as "The Pope Joan", "The Medicus", "The Danced Shoes" or "Jorinde & Joringel". As recently as May 2020, scenes were shot for the remake of the classic children's book "Räuber Hotzenplotz". Anyone who wants to see what happens at Querfurt Castle should make a note of spring 2022, because that's when the film starring Armin Rohde is due to be released.

Why is a visit to Filmburg Querfurt worthwhile?
How about a special guided tour for film enthusiasts? On the first Sunday of every month, you can also visit the historic costume workshop in the donkey barn with original costumes from major cinema productions (Pre-registration necessary). The special exhibitions in the castle are always dedicated to new areas around the film theme: Until May 2022, the focus is on silhouette animation under the theme "Quite a big trick".

Event tip
The highlight of the year is the annual summer cinema in August, when the screen is stretched out on the roundabout of the south bastion - simply great cinema.

2nd Nebra Ark - "Bibi & Tina" at the Kakmann Ranch

Only about 17 kilometres south of Querfurt Castle, above the Unstrut, lies the next filming location in Saale-Unstrut: Nebra Ark.

Cycling tour tip:
If you want to take a little more time, you can also cover the distance from Querfurt to Nebra Ark by bike. Simply discover the Sky Disc Cycle Route in the Saale-Unstrut region, which connects the site where the Nebra Sky Disc was found with the State Museum of Prehistory in Halle (see Sky Disc Cycle Route).

It's not uncommon for the Visitor Center around the site where the Nebra Sky Disk was found has attracted attention as a film set. The shimmering gold futuristic building is an architectural highlight in the Saale-Unstrut region and reflects the golden sun barque that forms the central element on the famous Nebra Sky Disk.
It was precisely this building that fired the imagination of filmmaker Detlef Buck. He transformed it into the eccentric villa of a megalomaniac crook when he discovered this location in Saale-Unstrut for his film "Bibi & Tina": "We were inspired and thought: This would be the ideal home for an antagonist à la Goldfinger," he said in an interview. The Kakmann Ranch of the villain Kakmann, played by Charly Hübner, in Nebra Ark was born.

Hiking Tip:
The exact location where the sky disc was found is a short hike from the visitor center, on the Mittelberg. A shuttle regularly takes visitors up there. But if you don't mind the 30-minute walk, you can even discover some modern and walk-through artworks. Now that's something different! (Click here to go to the circular route Arche Nebra)

Why is a visit to Nebra Ark worthwhile?
The staff of the Arche Nebra have a documentary on the filming ready, which they will gladly make available to interested visitors. But the actual subject of the museum, the Nebra Sky Disk, is also as exciting as a thriller: it tells the story of looted excavators who make the find of a lifetime by chance, persistent criminologists and a mysterious artefact of inestimable value. Changing exhibitions, lectures, themed walks and a varied programme during Saxony-Anhalt's holidays entice visitors to come back again and again.

3rd Weißenfels - "Once upon a time in Germany..."

Weißenfels is one of the region's residential towns and also one of the most changeable film locations in Saale-Unstrut.
In 2016, streets in the city on the Saale were transformed into bombed-out Frankfurt am Main after the Second World War during the filming of the movie "Once Upon a Time in Germany...". The popular actor Moritz Bleibtreu brought the glamour to Weißenfels. During the film he walks through the Nord- and Weinbergstraße. Children pull their miserable belongings on a handcart through the devastated town. A woman washes her feet in a bucket next to piles of rubble. "It's very rare that the city makes it possible for you to convert an entire street into a film set in the middle of the city centre," says director Sam Garbarski, appreciating the city of Weißenfels' generosity.

Why is a visit to Weißenfels worthwhile?
Besides its charm as a filming location in Saale-Unstrut, it is above all the musical side of the city that is worth experiencing. Important composers and musicians such as Bach, Händel and Schütz are associated with Weißenfels. Especially the latter, the city dedicates a whole museum - interactive and exciting. The Heinrich Schütz House  is the only surviving residence of the composer. On three floors, visitors learn how Schütz lived and worked. In fictional radio plays they listen to his memories, and in the restored composer's parlour they can view two original fragments of the composer's music found in the house.

Event tip:
Every year in October, the Heinrich Schütz Music Festival takes place in Weißenfels under a changing theme. A treat for music fans of the 17th century! (www.schuetz-musikfest.de)

4. Zeitz - "The Girl with the Golden Hands"

The social upheavals have left their mark on Zeitz: This makes the city interesting for filmmakers. In the residential town of Zeitz on the White Elster, producer Ingo Fliess found a small town that has not yet been completely modernized for the film "The Girl with the Golden Hands" (film release end of 2021) with Corinne Harfouch. Here, Ingo Fliess discovered exactly the locations in Saale-Unstrut that were perfect for a film set in 1999: Streetscapes through which one can imagine oneself in the past.
The search for scenery here is always an encounter with over 1000 years of history. It comes alive on guided tours of the city, cathedral and castle, which can be booked at the tourist information office.

Why is a visit to Zeitz worthwhile?
Picturesque welcomes the Moritzburg Castle Zeitz together with the attractive castle park welcomes its guests. Here you can visit the German Stroller Museum or wander through the extensive Castle Park with its charming theme gardens or listen to one or the other open-air concert on the Schlosspark stage. If you are interested in industrial history, you should especially visit the Briquette factory Herrmannschacht recommended - even as a very special wedding location the museum has its charm.

Cycling tour tip:
Even more industrial history in the Saale-Unstrut region can be found on the Recarbo Coal Cycle Route can be explored. It leads Recreation Park Mondsee - a former open-cast mine. Close to the lake, you can explore the sunken villages in green walkways.

5th Merseburg Cathedral - a touch of Hollywood with "Monuments Men

Even Hollywood recognized the charm of the filming locations in Saale-Unstrut. In 2013, George Clooney chose the Merseburg Cathedral as the backdrop for his film "Monuments Men". Quite unmistakably, the Ladegast organ dominates the scene in the final scene. Film fans are welcome to visit the magnificent over 1000-year-old cathedral and the organ.

Event tip:
The variety of sounds of the "Queen of Instruments" is presented every year in September by the Merseburg Organ Days to the show. Top-class concerts are offered for 10 days - a must for organ fans when visiting the Saale-Unstrut region!

Why is a visit to Merseburg worthwhile?
The grounds consisting of Merseburg's imperial cathedral, cathedral treasury and chapter house garden invite you to linger and explore for a while. Right next to the cathedral you can also explore the Kulturhistorisches Museum Schloss Merseburg with its permanent exhibitions on the city's history or the diverse special exhibitions. Adjacent to the cathedral-castle ensemble is the extensive castle park, which is often used for concerts in the summer.

Event tip:
Merseburg is also known for the famous Merseburg Spells. So it is not far-fetched that the city came up with a magic festival. It always takes place in October and transforms the centre from Kliaplatz to the Petrikloster into a magical mystical world full of fairytale creatures, wizards and witches. www.merseburg.de

You want more movies and film locations in Saale-Unstrut?

Here you will find a small selection.

  • "Mission Ulja Funk" - Nempitz,
  • Weißenfels © 2021
  • "Alfons Zitterbacke" - Merseburg © 2020
  • "Adam and Evelyn" - Naumburg, Weißenfels, Teutschenthal © 2018
  • "Bibi & Tina - Tohuwabohu total" - Vitzenburg © 2017
  • "Hanni & Nanni - More than Best Friends" - Burgscheidungen © 2017
  • "Paula" - Merseburg © 2016
  • "Tschick" - (Könnern), Petersberg © 2016
  • "Berlin Fairy Tale" - Saaleck © CHN 2015
  • "The Nanny" - Burgscheidungen © 2014
  • "Six at one stroke - From one who went out to learn to fear" - Schulpforte, Freyburg © 2014
  • "Lauf Junge Lauf" - Landsberg © 2013
  • "Our Mothers, Our Fathers" - Zeitz © 2012
Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing

What would you like
do next?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Schon gewusst? – Filmkulissen und Drehorte in Saale-Unstrut

Test Alt Text

Entdecken Sie unsere Top 5 der Drehorte in Saale-Unstrut!

Die Jahrtausende alte Kulturlandschaft an Saale, Unstrut und Weißer Elster ist als Filmkulisse beliebt. Ob es bekannte Kino-Blockbuster wie „Die Päpstin“, „Der Medicus“ oder die Hollywood-Produktion „Monuments Men“ sind, für zahlreiche nationale und internationale Produktionen zog es die Crews hierher. Aber warum?

Regisseure, Produzenten und Locationscouts begeistert vor allem die Vielfalt an beeindruckenden Zeitzeugen des Hochmittelalters über die Zeit der Residenzstädte bis in die jüngere Vergangenheit. Die spannende Verbindung von Drehorten für Fantasieabenteuer und Schauplätzen bedeutender geschichtlicher Ereignisse ist natürlich für Gäste ebenso faszinierend.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

  • Filmburg Querfurt
  • Arche Nebra in Wangen
  • Stadt Weißenfels
  • Stadt Zeitz
  • Kaiserdom Merseburg

1. Filmburg Querfurt – zu Besuch bei „Die Päpstin“, „Der Medicus“ und „Räuber Hotzenplotz“

Ganz oben auf der Liste der gefragtesten Drehorte in Saale-Unstrut steht die Burg Querfurt. In mehr als 50 Produktionen konnte die fotogene Anlage mit einem Auftritt glänzen: Darunter sind Kino- und Fernsehhits wie „Die Päpstin“, „Der Medicus“, „Die zertanzten Schuhe“ oder „Jorinde & Joringel“. Erst im Mai 2020 entstanden Szenen für die Neuverfilmung des Kinderbuchklassikers „Räuber Hotzenplotz“. Wer sehen möchte, was auf der Burg Querfurt passiert, sollte sich das Frühjahr 2022 vormerken, denn dann soll der Film mit Armin Rohde in der Hauptrolle in die Kinos kommen.

Warum lohnt sich ein Besuch der Filmburg Querfurt?
Wie wäre es mit einer Sonderführungen für Filminteressierte? Jeweils am ersten Sonntag im Monat kann dabei auch die historische Kostümwerkstatt im Eselstall mit Original-Kleidern großer Kinoproduktionen besichtigt werden (Voranmeldung notwendig). Die Sonderausstellungen in der Burg widmen sich immer wieder neuen Bereichen rund um das Filmthema: Noch bis Mai 2022 steht die Silhouettenanimation unter dem Thema „Ganz großer Trick“ im Fokus.

Veranstaltungstipp
Höhepunkt des Jahres ist das jährlich im August stattfindende Sommerkino, bei dem auf dem Rondell der Südbastion die Leinwand aufgespannt wird – einfach nur ganz großes Kino

2. Arche Nebra – „Bibi & Tina“ in der Kakmann-Ranch

Nur etwa 17 Kilometer südlich von Burg Querfurt liegt oberhalb der Unstrut der nächste Drehort in Saale-Unstrut: die Arche Nebra.

Radtour-Tipp:
Wer sich etwas mehr Zeit nehmen möchte, der kann die Strecke von Querfurt zur Arche Nebra auch per Fahrrad bewältigen. Einfach den Himmelsscheiben-Radweg in der Region Saale-Unstrut entdecken, der den Fundort der Himmelsscheibe von Nebra mit dem Landesmuseum für Vorgeschichte in Halle verbindet (siehe Himmelsscheiben-Radweg).

Es ist nicht ungewöhnlich, dass das Besucherzentrum rund um den Fundort der Himmelsscheibe von Nebra als Filmkulisse Beachtung fand. Der goldschimmernde futuristische Bau ist ein architektonisches Highlight in der Region Saale-Unstrut und spiegelt die goldene Sonnenbarke wider, die das zentrale Element auf der berühmten Himmelsscheibe von Nebra bildet.
Genau dieser Bau beflügelte die Fantasie des Filmemachers Detlef Buck. Er funktionierte ihn zur exzentrischen Villa eines größenwahnsinnigen Gauners um, als er diesen Drehort in Saale-Unstrut für seinen Film „Bibi & Tina“ entdeckte: „Wir waren inspiriert und dachten: Das wäre doch das ideale Zuhause für einen Antagonisten à la Goldfinger“, sagte er in einem Interview. Die Kakmann-Ranch des Bösewichts Kakmann, gespielt von Charly Hübner, in der Arche Nebra war geboren.

Wander-Tipp:
Der genaue Fundort der Himmelsscheibe ist, eine kleine Wanderung vom Besucherzentrum entfernt, auf dem Mittelberg zu finden. Ein Shuttle bringt regelmäßig Besucher hinauf. Wer aber den etwa 30-minütigen Marsch nicht scheut, kann sogar einige moderne und begehbare Kunstwerke entdecken. Das ist mal etwas anderes! (Hier geht es zum Rundweg Arche Nebra)

Warum lohnt sich ein Besuch in der Arche Nebra?
Die Mitarbeiter der Arche Nebra halten eine Dokumentation zu den Dreharbeiten bereit, die sie interessierten Besuchern gern zur Verfügung stellen. Doch auch das eigentliche Thema des Museums, die Himmelsscheibe von Nebra, ist spannend wie ein Thriller: Sie erzählt von Raubgräbern, die durch einen Zufall den Fund ihres Lebens machen, beharrlichen Kriminalisten und einem rätselhaften Artefakt von unschätzbarem Wert. Wechselnde Ausstellungen, Vorträge, Themenwanderungen und ein abwechslungsreiches Programm während der Ferien Sachsen-Anhalts locken immer wieder zu einem erneuten Besuch.

3. Weißenfels – „Es war einmal in Deutschland…“

Weißenfels ist eine der Residenzstädte der Region und darüber hinaus eine der wandelbaren Drehorte in Saale-Unstrut.
2016 avancierten Straßenzüge der Saalestadt bei Dreharbeiten zum Film „Es war einmal in Deutschland…“ zum zerbombten Frankfurt am Main nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg. Glanz brachte dabei der beliebte Schauspieler Moritz Bleibtreu nach Weißenfels. Während des Films läuft er durch die Nord- und Weinbergstraße. Kinder ziehen ihr armseliges Hab und Gut auf einem Handwagen durch die verwüstete Stadt. Eine Frau wäscht sich neben Schuttbergen die Füße im Eimer. „Dass es einem die Stadt möglich macht, mitten im Zentrum einen ganzen Straßenzug zum Filmset umzubauen, ist sehr selten“, schätzt Regisseur Sam Garbarski das Entgegenkommen der Stadt Weißenfels.

Warum lohnt sich ein Besuch in Weißenfels?
Neben ihrem Charme als Drehort in Saale-Unstrut, ist es vor allem die musikalische Seite der Stadt, die es zu erleben gilt. Mit Weißenfels sind bedeutende Komponisten und Musiker wie Bach, Händel und Schütz verbunden. Vor allem letzterem widmet die Stadt ein ganzes Museum – interaktiv und spannend. Das Heinrich-Schütz-Haus  ist das einzige erhaltene Wohnhaus des Komponisten. Auf drei Etagen erfahren Besucher, wie Schütz lebte und arbeitete. In fiktiven Hörspielen lauschen sie seinen Erinnerungen, in der wiederhergestellten Komponierstube können sie zwei im Haus gefundene originale Notenfragmente des Komponisten besichtigen.

Veranstaltungstipp:
Jährlich im Oktober findet unter einem wechselnden Thema in Weißenfels das Heinrich-Schütz-Musikfest statt. Für Musikfans des 17. Jahrhunderts ein Genuss! (www.schuetz-musikfest.de)

4. Zeitz – „Das Mädchen mit den goldenen Händen“

Die gesellschaftlichen Umbrüche haben in Zeitz Spuren hinterlassen: Das macht die Stadt für Filmemacher interessant. In der Residenzstadt Zeitz an der Weißen Elster fand der Produzent Ingo Fliess für den Film „Das Mädchen mit den goldenen Händen“ (Filmstart Ende 2021) mit Corinne Harfouch eine Kleinstadt, die noch nicht komplett modernisiert ist. Hier entdeckte Ingo Fliess genau die Drehorte in Saale-Unstrut, die für einen Film, der 1999 spiele, perfekt waren: Straßenzüge, durch die man sich in die vergangene Zeit hineinversetzen kann.
Die Suche nach Kulissen ist hier immer eine Begegnung mit der über 1000-jährigen Geschichte. Bei Stadt-, Dom- und Schlossführungen, die in der Tourist-Information gebucht werden können, wird sie lebendig.

Warum lohnt sich ein Besuch in Zeitz?
Malerisch begrüßt das Schloss Moritzburg Zeitz samt dem attraktiven Schlosspark seine Gäste. Hier können Sie das Deutsche Kinderwagenmuseum besuchen oder durch den weitläufigen Schlosspark mit seinen charmanten Themengärten wandeln oder dem ein oder anderen Open-Air Konzert auf der Schlossparkbühne lauschen. Wer sich für Industriegeschichte interessiert, dem sei vor allem die Brikettfabrik Herrmannschacht empfohlen – sogar als ganz besondere Hochzeitslocation hat das Museum seinen Reiz.

Radtour-Tipp:
Noch mehr Industriegeschichte in der Region Saale-Unstrut kann auf dem Recarbo-Kohle-Radweg erkundet werden. Er führt Erholungspark Mondsee – einem ehemaligen Tagebau. Gleich in der Nähe des Sees kann in begrünten Wandelgängen den versunkenen Ortschaften nachgegangen werden.

5. Merseburger Dom – ein Hauch von Hollywood mit „Monuments Men“

Auch Hollywood erkannte den Charme der Drehorte in Saale-Unstrut. George Clooney wählte 2013 den Merseburger Dom als Kulisse für seinen Film „Monuments Men“. Ganz unverkennbar dominiert in der Schlussszene die Ladegast-Orgel die Szene. Filmfans können den prächtigen über 1000 Jahre alten Dom und die Orgel gern besichtigen.

Veranstaltungstipp:
Die Klangvielfalt der „Königin der Instrumente“ stellen jedes Jahr im September die Merseburger Orgeltage zur Schau. Hochkarätig besetzte Konzerte werden 10 Tage lang geboten – ein Muss für Orgelfans, wenn Sie die Region Saale-Unstrut besuchen!

Warum lohnt sich ein Besuch in Merseburg?
Das Gelände aus Kaiserdom Merseburg, Domschatz und Kapitelhausgarten lädt zum längeren Verweilen und Erkunden ein. Gleich neben dem Dom können Sie auch das Kulturhistorische Museum Schloss Merseburg mit seinen Dauerausstellungen zur Stadtgeschichte oder den vielfältigen Sonderausstellungen erkunden. An das Dom-Schloss-Ensemble schließt sich der weitläufige Schlosspark an, der im Sommer immer wieder für Konzerte genutzt wird.

Veranstaltungstipp:
Merseburg ist auch bekannt für die berühmten Merseburger Zaubersprüche. Es liegt also nicht fern, dass sich die Stadt ein Zauberfest einfallen ließ. Es findet immer im Oktober statt und verwandelt das Zentrum vom Kliaplatz bis zum Petrikloster in eine zauberhaft mystische Welt voller Märchenwesen, Zauberer und Hexen. www.merseburg.de

Sie wollen noch mehr Filme und Drehorte in Saale-Unstrut?

Hier finden Sie eine kleine Auswahl.

  • „Mission Ulja Funk“ – Nempitz,
  • Weißenfels © 2021
  • „Alfons Zitterbacke“ – Merseburg © 2020
  • „Adam und Evelyn“ – Naumburg, Weißenfels, Teutschenthal © 2018
  • „Bibi & Tina – Tohuwabohu total“ – Vitzenburg © 2017
  • „Hanni & Nanni – Mehr als beste Freunde“ – Burgscheidungen © 2017
  • „Paula“ – Merseburg © 2016
  • „Tschick” – (Könnern), Petersberg © 2016
  • „Berlin Fairy Tale“ – Saaleck © CHN 2015
  • „Der Nanny“ – Burgscheidungen © 2014
  • „Sechs auf einen Streich – Von einem, der auszog, das Fürchten zu lernen“ – Schulpforte, Freyburg © 2014
  • „Lauf Junge Lauf“ – Landsberg © 2013
  • „Unsere Mütter, unsere Väter“ – Zeitz © 2012
Diesen Beitrag teilen
Aktie auf facebook
Aktie auf twitter
Aktie auf pinterest
Aktie auf linkedin
Aktie auf xing

Was möchten Sie
als Nächstes tun?