Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Dornburg castles

© Copyright by Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.

Description:

The balcony of Thuringia

Three castles, three characters - the unique ensemble of the Dornburg castles is enthroned on a rock above the Saale valley. The Dukes of Saxony-Weimar-Eisenach valued the "Balcony of Thuringia" as their summer residence. More than 800 years of history are united here. The Old Castle contains the remains of a medieval castle. The rococo castle is a gallant pleasure palace of the 18th century
The balcony of Thuringia

Three castles, three characters - the unique ensemble of the Dornburg castles is enthroned on a rock above the Saale valley. The Dukes of Saxony-Weimar-Eisenach valued the "Balcony of Thuringia" as their summer residence. More than 800 years of history are united here. The Old Castle contains the remains of a medieval castle. The rococo castle is a gallant pleasure palace of the 18th century with a porcelain collection. The Renaissance castle is closely connected with Johann Wolfang von Goethe. He adored the lovingly tended palace gardens - they are a delight for strollers and rose lovers. The wine from the Dornburg castle hill is also popular then and now.
On the edge of a shell limestone plateau with a magnificent view of the charming Saaleland is the unique ensemble of the Dornburg castles. The three castles from different eras invite you to a unique journey through time.

Rococo castle:
The walls of the Old Palace tell of the imperial palace of Otto I. In the Renaissance Palace visitors can relive the work of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe and in the Rococo Palace they can immerse themselves in the courtly dining culture. The park, which is designed according to French and English models, is unique in its five terraces with steeply sloping vineyards, rose trellises and arcades.

Walking terraces, vantage points and vineyards were created on a total of five levels. The vineyard cottage, rebuilt in 1999, and the old grape varieties tell of the more than 1000 year old winegrowing tradition in the Saale valley.



 Read more
Opening hours in the season April to October (Rococo and Renaissance castle):

daily (except Wednesdays) 10:00 - 17:00
on public holidays also open on Wednesdays

The garden is open daily from 9:00 am until nightfall. Dogs are allowed on a leash.

Bauhaus workshop:
November to March
Wednesday - Sunday: 10:00 - 16:00
April to October
Tuesday - Sunday: 10:00 - 17:00
  • for all weathers
  • for school classes
  • for families
  • for individual guests
  • Pets allowed
  • Suitable for seniors
Combination ticket (castles, Bauhaus workshop museum, ceramics museum Bürgel) 10,00 €
Combi-ticket reduced 7,00 €

Where:

Address:

Thuringian Palaces and Gardens Foundation

Max-Krehan-Strasse 2
07774 Camburg
Phone: +49 36427 / 215131
E-mail: schlossverwaltung@dornburg-schloesser.de
website: http://www.thueringerschloesser.de/objekt/dornburg/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Dornburger Schlösser

© Copyright by Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.

Beschreibung:

Der Balkon Thüringens

Drei Schlösser, drei Charaktere – das einzigartige Ensemble der Dornburger Schlösser thront auf einem Felsen über dem Saaletal. Die Herzöge von Sachsen-Weimar-Eisenach schätzten den „Balkon Thüringens“ als Sommerresidenz. Mehr als 800 Jahre Geschichte sind hier vereint. Das Alte Schloss birgt Reste einer mittelalterlichen Burg. Das Rokokoschloss ist ein galantes Lustschloss des 18. Jahrhunderts
Der Balkon Thüringens

Drei Schlösser, drei Charaktere – das einzigartige Ensemble der Dornburger Schlösser thront auf einem Felsen über dem Saaletal. Die Herzöge von Sachsen-Weimar-Eisenach schätzten den „Balkon Thüringens“ als Sommerresidenz. Mehr als 800 Jahre Geschichte sind hier vereint. Das Alte Schloss birgt Reste einer mittelalterlichen Burg. Das Rokokoschloss ist ein galantes Lustschloss des 18. Jahrhunderts mit Porzellansammlung. Das Renaissanceschloss ist eng mit Johann Wolfang von Goethe verbunden. Der schwärmte für die liebevoll gepflegten Schlossgärten – sie sind ein Hochgenuss für Flaneure und Rosenliebhaber. Auch der Wein vom Dornburger Schlossberg ist damals wie heute beliebt.
Am Rand eines Muschelkalkplateaus mit herrlichem Blick in das reizvolle Saaleland befindet sich das einzigartige Ensemble der Dornburger Schlösser. Die drei Schlösser aus unterschiedlichen Epochen laden zu einer einmaligen Zeitreise ein.

Rokokoschloss:
Die Mauern des Alten Schlosses berichten von der Kaiserpfalz Otto I. Im Renaissanceschloss können Besucher das Wirken Johann Wolfgang von Goethes nacherleben und im Rokokoschloss in die höfische Tafelkultur eintauchen. Einmalig ist der nach französischem und englischem Vorbild gestaltete Park, der auf fünf Terrassen mit steil abfallenden Weinbergen, Rosenspalieren und Laubengängen angelegt ist.

Auf insgesamt fünf Ebenen entstanden Wandelterrassen, Aussichtspunkte und Weinberge. Das 1999 wieder errichtete Weinberghäuschen und die alten Rebsorten berichten von der über 1000jährigen Weinbautradition im Saaletal.



 Mehr lesen
Öffnungszeiten in der Saison April bis Oktober (Rokkokoschloss und Renaissanceschloss):

täglich (außer mittwochs) 10:00 - 17:00 Uhr
an Feiertagen auch mittwochs geöffnet

Die Gartenanlage ist täglich von 9:00 Uhr bis zum Einbruch der Dunkelheit geöffnet. Hunde sind angeleint zulässig.

Bauhaus-Werkstatt:
November bis März
Mittwoch – Sonntag: 10:00 – 16:00 Uhr
April bis Oktober
Dienstag – Sonntag: 10:00 – 17:00 Uhr
  • für jedes Wetter
  • für Schulklassen
  • für Familien
  • für Individualgäste
  • Haustiere erlaubt
  • Senioren geeignet
Kombiticket (Schlösser, Bauhaus-Werkstatt-Museum, Keramik-Museum Bürgel) 10,00 €
Kombiticket ermäßigt 7,00 €

Wo:

Anschrift:

Stiftung Thüringer Schlösser und Gärten

Max-Krehan-Straße 2
07774 Camburg
Telefon: +49 36427 / 215131
E-Mail: schlossverwaltung@dornburg-schloesser.de
Webseite: http://www.thueringerschloesser.de/objekt/dornburg/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing