Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Eckartsburg

© Copyright by Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.

Description:

The Eckartsburg is a partly preserved ruin, which offers the visitor a lot of sights worth seeing.

The Eckartsburg can be divided into a main castle and an outer castle. One enters the outer castle through an 8.2 m long archway with a niche as a dwelling for the gatekeeper, also used as a prison (Stüntz). The keep, a prison or torture tower, has been preserved. The 2.50 m thick walls rest directly on the rock. The height of the tower is 22 m. Inside there is a
The Eckartsburg is a partly preserved ruin, which offers the visitor a lot of sights worth seeing.

The Eckartsburg can be divided into a main castle and an outer castle. One enters the outer castle through an 8.2 m long archway with a niche as a dwelling for the gatekeeper, also used as a prison (Stüntz). The keep, a prison or torture tower, has been preserved. The 2.50 m thick walls rest directly on the rock. The height of the tower is 22 m. Inside there is a barrel vault with an opening through which the prisoners were lowered. At a height of 9 m the actual tower door can be seen.

The main castle is entered through a gate 10.4 m long and 2.8 m wide with walls 3 m thick. On the south side are the only preserved living quarters, which today house the restaurant and the innkeeper's flat. In time for the castle's anniversary in 1998, the palace was rebuilt and now serves as a cultural centre.

The Jungfernturm on the south side of these former rooms has windows and pechnoses for defence. The showpiece of the castle is the 36 m high keep, which served as a watchtower and as accommodation. It has 5 floors, the first of which is filled with rubble. The thickness of the wall is 2.5 m up to the 3rd floor, then about 1.5 m, so that a battlement of 1 m exists.

The view from the large keep impresses numerous visitors. The original wheel of the forester Karl Freiherr von Drais, invented in Mannheim in 1817, is now back in its original place in the castle hall of the Eckartsburg. Of further interest to the visitor is the diorama and a smaller museum housed in the keep. Ekkehard I of Meissen had Eckartsburg Castle built in 998 to secure his empire and protect the trade routes. The large residential tower today houses a diorama. It shows the double battle of Jena and Auerstedt (14.10.1806) with over 6000 tin figures.

 Read more
April to May:

Tuesday - Sunday 11:00 - 18:00

June to October:

daily 11:00 - 18:00 o'clock

November to March:

Wednesday - Sunday 11:00 - 18:00
  • for school classes
  • for families
  • for individual guests
  • German
  • English

Where:

Address:

Eckartsburg

Castle trail 13 B
06648 Eckartsberga
Phone: +49 34467 4190 - 10
E-mail: info@eckartsburg.com
website: http://www.eckartsburg.com/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Eckartsburg

© Copyright by Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.

Beschreibung:

Die Eckartsburg ist eine zum Teil erhaltene Ruine, die dem Besucher viel Sehenswertes bietet.

Die Eckartsburg kann in Hauptburg und Vorburg unterschieden werden. Die Vorburg betritt man durch einen 8,2 m langen Torbogen mit Nische als Wohnung für den Torwächter, auch als Gefängnis (Stüntz) genutzt. Erhalten ist der Bergfried, ein Gefängnis- oder Marterturm. Die 2,50 m starken Mauern ruhen direkt auf dem Felsengestein. Die Höhe des Turmes beträgt 22 m. Im Inneren befindet sich ein
Die Eckartsburg ist eine zum Teil erhaltene Ruine, die dem Besucher viel Sehenswertes bietet.

Die Eckartsburg kann in Hauptburg und Vorburg unterschieden werden. Die Vorburg betritt man durch einen 8,2 m langen Torbogen mit Nische als Wohnung für den Torwächter, auch als Gefängnis (Stüntz) genutzt. Erhalten ist der Bergfried, ein Gefängnis- oder Marterturm. Die 2,50 m starken Mauern ruhen direkt auf dem Felsengestein. Die Höhe des Turmes beträgt 22 m. Im Inneren befindet sich ein Tonnengewölbe mit einer Öffnung, durch die die Gefangenen herabgelassen wurden. In 9 m Höhe ist die eigentliche Turmtür zu erkennen.

In die Hauptburg gelangt man durch ein 10,4 m langes und 2,8 m breites Tor mit 3 m starken Mauern. An der Südseite befinden sich die einzigen erhaltenen Wohnräume, in denen sich heute die Gaststätte und die Wirtswohnung befinden. Rechtzeitig zum Jubiläum der Burg im Jahre 1998 wurde der Palas wieder errichtet und dient heute als kulturelles Zentrum.

Der Jungfernturm an der Südseite dieser früheren Räume hat Fenster sowie Pechnasen zur Verteidigung. Prunkstück der Burg ist der 36 m hohe große Bergfried, der als Wachturm und als Unterkunft diente. Er besitzt 5 Geschosse, von denen das erste mit Schutt ausgefüllt ist. Die Mauerdicke beträgt bis zum 3. Stockwerk 2,5 m, danach ca. 1,5 m, so dass ein Wehrgang von 1 m vorhanden ist.

Die Aussicht vom großen Bergfried beeindruckt zahlreiche Besucher. Das früher hier befindliche Original-Laufrad des Forstmeisters Karl Freiherr von Drais, 1817 in Mannheim erfunden, befindet sich wieder an seiner ursprünglichen Stelle im Burgsaal der Eckartsburg. Von weiterem Interesse für den Besucher ist das im Bergfried untergebrachte Diorama und ein kleineres Museum. Ekkehard I. von Meißen ließ die Eckartsburg im Jahre 998 zur Sicherung seines Reiches und zum Schutz der Handelsstraßen errichten. Im großen Wohnturm ist heute ein Diorama untergebracht. Es zeigt mit über 6000 Zinnfiguren die Doppelschlacht von Jena und Auerstedt (14.10.1806).

 Mehr lesen
April bis Mai:

Dienstag - Sonntag 11:00 - 18:00 Uhr

Juni bis Oktober:

täglich 11:00 - 18:00 Uhr

November bis März:

Mittwoch - Sonntag 11:00 - 18:00 Uhr
  • für Schulklassen
  • für Familien
  • für Individualgäste
  • Deutsch
  • Englisch

Wo:

Anschrift:

Eckartsburg

Burgweg 13 B
06648 Eckartsberga
Telefon: +49 34467 4190 - 10
E-Mail: info@eckartsburg.com
Webseite: http://www.eckartsburg.com/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing