Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Dutch windmill Eckartsberga

© Copyright by Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.

Description:

A landmark of the town of Eckartsberga!

The Holländer Windmill in EckartsbergaThe Holländer Windmill on the Sachsenberg at the entrance to Eckartsberga is a landmark of the town of Eckartsberga. Built between 1830 and 1831 as a tower windmill by master miller Löffler and his seven sons, it was converted into a wood sawmill in 1849 after several fires. The tower of the windmill consists of limestone masonry. To
A landmark of the town of Eckartsberga!

The Dutch windmill in Eckartsberga

The Holländer windmill on the Sachsenberg at the entrance to Eckartsberga is a landmark of the town of Eckartsberga. Built between 1830 and 1831 as a tower windmill by the master miller Löffler and his seven sons, it was converted into a wood sawmill in 1849 after several fires. The tower of the windmill consists of limestone masonry. At the bottom the mill has a diameter of 8 meters. From the bottom to the top of the canopy the building is 13 metres high.

Instead of the four-winged cross that is common in Germany, this mill has a ten-cylinder wind turbine, which is otherwise only common in the Mediterranean region. This is a unique windmill design for Germany and also for northern Europe. The diameter of the wheel is 14 m.

For many years the Dutch windmill unused, doors and windows even walled up. Only in 1988 committed Eckartsbergaer began with the reconstruction of the monument. Unfortunately, in the night from 8th to 9th December 1993, an exceptionally strong storm destroyed the wind turbine. After extensive reconstruction work in 2006 the mill is now fully functional again.

Inside there is a small museum. Here the visitor gets a view into the heart of the old mill and can get an idea of the miller's craft with the lovingly displayed exhibits. Bread can be baked in the wood oven. The young visitors in particular can follow the development from the grain to the finished bread in an eventful way by grinding foam and the explanations of the mill warden.

Information: 034465/701912

 Read more
The Dutch windmill is currently closed. Extensive renovation work is being carried out.
The Dutch windmill is currently closed. Extensive renovation work is being carried out.

Where:

Address:

Tourist information on the Finn

Market 19a
06648 Eckartsberga
Phone: +49 34467 / 401679
E-mail: eckartsberga@tourismus-finne.de
website: http://www.tourismus-finne.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Holländer-Windmühle Eckartsberga

© Copyright by Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.

Beschreibung:

Ein Wahrzeichen der Stadt Eckartsberga!

Die Holländer-Windmühle in EckartsbergaDie Holländer-Windmühle auf dem Sachsenberg am Ortseingang von Eckartsberga ist ein Wahrzeichen der Stadt Eckartsberga. 1830 bis 1831 als Turmwindmühle vom Müllermeister Löffler und seinen sieben Söhnen erbaut, erfuhr sie nach mehreren Bränden im Jahre 1849 einen Umbau zur Holzsägemühle. Der Turm der Windmühle besteht aus einem Kalksteinmauerwerk. An
Ein Wahrzeichen der Stadt Eckartsberga!

Die Holländer-Windmühle in Eckartsberga

Die Holländer-Windmühle auf dem Sachsenberg am Ortseingang von Eckartsberga ist ein Wahrzeichen der Stadt Eckartsberga. 1830 bis 1831 als Turmwindmühle vom Müllermeister Löffler und seinen sieben Söhnen erbaut, erfuhr sie nach mehreren Bränden im Jahre 1849 einen Umbau zur Holzsägemühle. Der Turm der Windmühle besteht aus einem Kalksteinmauerwerk. An der Sohle hat die Mühle einen Durchmesser von 8 Metern. Vom Boden bis zur Haubenspitze ist das Bauwerk 13 Meter hoch.

Anstelle des in Deutschland üblichen vierflügligen Kreuzes besitzt diese Mühle ein zehnspeichiges Windrad, wie es sonst nur im Mittelmeerraum üblich ist. Dies ist damit eine für Deutschland und auch für das nördliche Europa einmalige Ausführung an einer Windmühle. Der Durchmesser des Rades beträgt 14 m.

Viele Jahre war die Holländer-Windmühle ungenutzt, Türen und Fenster sogar zugemauert. Erst 1988 begannen engagierte Eckartsbergaer mit dem Wiederaufbau des Denkmals. Leider zerstörte in der Nacht vom 8. zum 9. Dezember 1993 ein außergewöhnlich starker Sturm das Windrad. Nach umfangreichen Rekonstruktionsarbeiten im Jahre 2006 ist die Mühle nun wieder voll funktionstüchtig.

Im Inneren befindet sich kleines Museum. Hier erhält der Besucher einen Blick in das Herz der alten Mühle und kann sich mit den liebevoll ausgestellten Exponaten ein Bild über das Müllerhandwerk verschaffen. Im Holzbackofen kann Brot gebacken werden. Beim Schaumahlen und den Erklärungen des Mühlenwarts dazu können insbesondere die jungen Besucher den Werdegang vom Korn zum fertigen Brot erlebnisreich nachvollziehen.

Information: 034465/701912

 Mehr lesen
Die Holländer-Windmühle ist derzeit geschlossen. Es werden umfangreiche Sanierungsarbeiten ausgeführt.
Die Holländer-Windmühle ist derzeit geschlossen. Es werden umfangreiche Sanierungsarbeiten ausgeführt.

Wo:

Anschrift:

Tourist-Information an der Finne

Markt 19a
06648 Eckartsberga
Telefon: +49 34467 / 401679
E-Mail: eckartsberga@tourismus-finne.de
Webseite: http://www.tourismus-finne.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing