Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Coal Railway Tunnel

© Copyright by city of Bad Dürrenberg

Description:

Probably the oldest railway tunnel in Germany from 1836

The tunnel was created with the construction of the coal railway Tollwitz - Dürrenberg. In the opening year 1836 it caused a sensation in the professional world with its impressive length of 177 m. At that time it was called an "underground arched path", which at its deepest point was up to 5 m below the surface. The building is also located in a
Probably the oldest railway tunnel in Germany from 1836

The tunnel was created with the construction of the coal railway Tollwitz - Dürrenberg. In the opening year 1836 it caused a sensation in the professional world with its impressive length of 177 m. At that time it was called an "underground arched path", which at its deepest point was up to 5 m below the surface. The building is also located in a curve with a constant gradient towards the former production area of the salt works. The brick lining was made of brick and natural stone. The Tollwitz entrance was equipped with lockable gates. The tunnel was the first German 'railway tunnel'.

Even today you can see the original cast-iron plaque in the Borlach Museum, which was attached to the wing wall of the tunnel portal for the opening. After the coal railway was shut down in 1935, the eastern access road was filled in, but the tunnel itself remained almost completely intact. During the Second World War, local residents used the tunnel as an air-raid shelter. The tunnel portal in the former salt works area was preserved and was renovated some time ago. Guided tours of Germany's oldest railway tunnel are held on special occasions.
 Read more
Can be visited as part of bookable guided tours
  • for school classes
  • for families
  • for individual guests
  • Suitable for seniors
  • for children (3-6 years)
  • for children (6-10 years)
  • for children (from 10 years)
  • Cash payment
Guide fee 9,00 € per group plus 2,00 € per person (reduced 1,00 €), ca. 45 min
by car:
via the A9

by public transport:
by bus and train from and to Leipzig, Weißenfels, tram line 5

by bike:
via the Saale cycle path

Where:

Address:

City of Bad Dürrenberg

Main Street
06231 Bad Dürrenberg
Phone: +49 3462 / 9987024
E-mail: tourist@badduerrenberg.de
website: http://www.badduerrenberg.eu/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Kohlebahntunnel

© Copyright by Stadt Bad Dürrenberg

Beschreibung:

Der wohl älteste Eisenbahntunnel Deutschlands von 1836

Der Tunnel entstand mit dem Bau der Kohleneisenbahn Tollwitz – Dürrenberg. Im Eröffnungsjahr 1836 sorgte er in der Fachwelt für Aufsehen, mit seiner damaligen imposanten Länge von nach heutigen Maß 177 m. Er wurde zu damaliger Zeit als „unterirdischer gewölbter Weg“ bezeichnet, welcher an der tiefsten Stelle bis zu 5 m unter der Erdoberfläche lag. Das Bauwerk befindet sich außerdem noch in einer
Der wohl älteste Eisenbahntunnel Deutschlands von 1836

Der Tunnel entstand mit dem Bau der Kohleneisenbahn Tollwitz – Dürrenberg. Im Eröffnungsjahr 1836 sorgte er in der Fachwelt für Aufsehen, mit seiner damaligen imposanten Länge von nach heutigen Maß 177 m. Er wurde zu damaliger Zeit als „unterirdischer gewölbter Weg“ bezeichnet, welcher an der tiefsten Stelle bis zu 5 m unter der Erdoberfläche lag. Das Bauwerk befindet sich außerdem noch in einer Kurve bei stetigem Gefälle hin zum ehemaligen Produktionsgelände der Saline. Die Ausmauerung erfolgte mit Ziegel- und Natursteinen. Die Tollwitzer Einfahrt war mit verschließbaren Toren versehen. Der Stollen war der erste deutsche ‚Eisenbahntunnel‘.

Noch heute kann man im Borlachmuseum die Originale gusseiserne Tafel besichtigen, die an der Flügelmauer des Tunnelportales zur Eröffnung angebracht wurde. Nach Stilllegung der Kohleneisenbahn 1935 wurde die östliche Zufahrt zugeschüttet, der Tunnel blieb aber selber in fast vollständiger Länge erhalten. Im zweiten Weltkrieg nutzten Anwohner den Tunnel als Luftschutzraum. Das Tunnelportal im ehemaligen Salinegelände blieb erhalten und wurde vor einiger Zeit saniert. Zu besonderen Anlässen werden Führungen durch Deutschlands ältesten Eisenbahntunnel durchgeführt.
 Mehr lesen
Im Rahmen von buchbaren Führungen zu besichtigen
  • für Schulklassen
  • für Familien
  • für Individualgäste
  • Senioren geeignet
  • für Kinder (3-6 Jahre)
  • für Kinder (6-10 Jahre)
  • für Kinder (ab 10 Jahre)
  • Deutsch
Führungsgebühr 9,00 € pro Gruppe plus 2,00 € pro Person (ermäßigt 1,00 €), ca. 45 min
mit dem PKW:
über die A9

mit dem öffentlichen Personennahverkehr:
mit dem Bus und Zug von und nach Leipzig, Weißenfels, Straßenbahnlinie 5

mit dem Fahrrad:
über den Saale-Radwanderweg

Wo:

Anschrift:

Stadt Bad Dürrenberg

Hauptstraße
06231 Bad Dürrenberg
Telefon: +49 3462 / 9987024
E-Mail: tourist@badduerrenberg.de
Webseite: http://www.badduerrenberg.eu/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing