Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Margaret church of Steinbach

© Copyright by Transmedial

Description:

The Margareten church, built around 1220, is a treasure of Romanesque architecture.

Between Bad Bibra and Steinbach, the church stands today without its village Steinbach and for this reason alone it seems to be something special. The Margareten church, built around 1220, is a treasure of Romanesque architecture, and the creation of such a church, which is not usual for a small village, can only be explained by the effect of the Augustinian canonry. It was built
The Margareten church, built around 1220, is a treasure of Romanesque architecture.

Between Bad Bibra and Steinbach, the church stands today without its village Steinbach and for this reason alone it seems to be something special. The Margareten church, built around 1220, is a treasure of Romanesque architecture.

The emergence of such a church, which is not usual for a small village, can only be explained by the effect of the Augustinian canonry. It was probably built by master builders of the Naumburg cathedral building school. Like the Naumburg Cathedral, it is decorated with many ornamental forms that were typical of the late Romanesque period. The village of Steinbach itself was first mentioned in a document in 952. The old Steinbach is said to have stood in the area of today's church and was probably completely destroyed in the 30-year war and has been rebuilt in its present location. Remains of a place near the church could not be proven until today.
The late Romanesque complex shows a typical staggering: a square west tower, a rectangular nave, a choir in the east, to which the apse is attached. The tower was certainly built later. It was completed with a Baroque decoration, partly covered with slate, and the round-arched and richly articulated columned portal was particularly skilfully designed: beautiful capitals with plant motifs and remains of an eagle and a tympanum (arched field) above the door. Arched friezes on the choir and apse with different consoles, a staircase frieze on the choir gable and the beaded embrasure on the original windows are striking. Inside the church, the massive arches of the choir and apse are impressive. Then one discovers the richly decorated capitals, plant ornaments and a face, on the corner columns in the choir. Through these columns and also through the unevenness on the plastered side walls of the choir, one can imagine an original cross vault. Today, the choir has a flat wooden ceiling, as was also common in the Romanesque period.
Nevertheless, the church raises many questions when you look at it and, despite building research, it still holds many a secret. Where was the village that once belonged to the church? Who gave the order for the elaborate decorative ornamentation, which was otherwise reserved for an important cathedral or monastery church. Let us wish the church that it will remain with us for a long time to come and that many a secret can still be revealed.

open church on weekends from May to October

 Read more
  • for all weathers
  • for individual guests
  • Suitable for seniors
You can find more information at www.strassederromanik.de.

Where:

Address:

Margaret church of Steinbach

At the Steinbach
06647 Bath Bibra
Phone: +49 34465 / 701912
E-mail: info@tourismus-finne.de
website: http://www.strassederromanik.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Margareten Kirche zu Steinbach

© Copyright by Transmedial

Beschreibung:

Die um 1220 entstandene Margareten-Kirche ist eine Kostbarkeit romanischer Baukunst.

Zwischen Bad Bibra und Steinbach, steht die Kirche heute ohne ihr Dorf Steinbach und schon deswegen scheint sie etwas Besonderes zu sein. Die um 1220 entstandene Margareten-Kirche ist eine Kostbarkeit romanischer Baukunst.Das Entstehen einer solchen für ein kleines Dorf nicht üblichen Kirche kann man sich nur durch die Wirkung des Augustiner- Chorherrenstifts erklären. Errichtet wurde sie
Die um 1220 entstandene Margareten-Kirche ist eine Kostbarkeit romanischer Baukunst.

Zwischen Bad Bibra und Steinbach, steht die Kirche heute ohne ihr Dorf Steinbach und schon deswegen scheint sie etwas Besonderes zu sein. Die um 1220 entstandene Margareten-Kirche ist eine Kostbarkeit romanischer Baukunst.

Das Entstehen einer solchen für ein kleines Dorf nicht üblichen Kirche kann man sich nur durch die Wirkung des Augustiner- Chorherrenstifts erklären. Errichtet wurde sie wahrscheinlich von Baumeistern der Naumburger Dombauschule. Sie ist wie der Naumburger Dom mit vielen Schmuckformen ausgestattet, die für die Spätromanik typisch waren. Das Dorf Steinbach selbst wurde im Jahre 952 erstmals urkundlich erwähnt. Das alte Steinbach soll im Bereich der heutigen Kirche gestanden haben und wurde vermutlich im 30-jährigen Krieg völlig zerstört und ist an heutiger Stellen neu entstanden. Reste eines Ortes nahe der Kirche konnten bis heute nicht nachgewiesen werden.
Die spätromanische Anlage zeigt eine typische Staffelung: einen quadratischen Westturm, ein Rechteckschiff, einen Chor im Osten, an welchem sich die Apsis anschließt. Der Turm ist sicher später entstanden. Er wurde mit einer Barockhabe ergänzt und teilweise mit Schiefer verkleidet.Das rundbogige und reich gegliederte Säulenportal wurde besonders kunstfertig gestaltet: schöne Kapitelle mit Pflanzenmotiven und Reste eines Adlers und eine Tympanon (Bogenfeld) über der Tür. Bogenfriese an Chor und Apsis mit unterschiedlichen Konsolen, ein Treppenfries am Chorgiebel und die Wulstlaibung an den ursprünglichen Fenstern fallen auf. Man staunt über den kleinen Quaderbau mit solch einer Fülle reizvoller Steinmetzarbeiten.Im Inneren der Kirche beeindrucken die wuchtigen Bögen an Chor und Apsis. Dann entdeckt man die reich verzierten Kapitelle, Pflanzenornamente und ein Gesicht, an den Ecksäulen im Chor. Durch diese Säulen und auch durch die Unebenheiten an den verputzten Seitenwänden des Chores ahnt man ein ursprüngliches Kreuzgewölbe. Heute besitzt der Chor eine flache Holzdecke, wie sie auch in der Romanik schon üblich war.
Dennoch wirft die Kirche beim Betrachten viele Fragen auf und birgt sie trotz Bauforschung noch so manches Geheimnis. Wo blieb das einst zur Kirche gehörende Dorf? Wer gab den Auftrag für die aufwändige Schmuckornamentik, welche sonst nur einem bedeutenden Dom oder Klosterkirchen vorbehalten blieb. Wollen wir der Kirche wünschen, dass sie uns noch lang erhalten bleibt und so manches Geheimnis noch gelüftet werden kann.

offene Kirche an den Wochenenden von Mai bis Oktober

 Mehr lesen
  • für jedes Wetter
  • für Individualgäste
  • Senioren geeignet
Nähere Informationen finden Sie unter www.strassederromanik.de

Wo:

Anschrift:

Margareten Kirche zu Steinbach

Am Steinbach
06647 Bad Bibra
Telefon: +49 34465 / 701912
E-Mail: info@tourismus-finne.de
Webseite: http://www.strassederromanik.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing