Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Memleben Monastery and Imperial Palace Museum

© Copyright by Stiftung Kloster und Kaiserpfalz Memleben

Description:

Fascinating journey through time at the place where Emperor Otto I died and the site of a medieval monastery.

Far away from hectic, hustle and bustle and noise, the small town of Memleben is located in the Unstrut valley. Once the site of a palatinate, it was a hive of activity, where King Heinrich I and Emperor Otto I took up residence with numerous followers. Today, visitors take a break in a medieval monastery complex. 

Review: Memleben goes back in the 10th century as
Fascinating journey through time at the place where Emperor Otto I died and the site of a medieval monastery.

Far away from hectic, hustle and bustle and noise, the small town of Memleben is located in the Unstrut valley. Once the site of a palatinate, it was a hive of activity, where King Heinrich I and Emperor Otto I took up residence with numerous followers. Today, visitors take a break in a medieval monastery complex. 

Review: Memleben goes down in history in the 10th century as the place where King Henry I (†936) and Emperor Otto the Great (†973) died. The foundation of the monastery by Emperor Otto II served to secure the so-called Memoria. Prayerful remembrance, especially cultivated in monasteries, was of special importance for the ancestors and their own family in the Middle Ages for the salvation of souls after death. Thanks to the benevolent support of the Ottonians, the Memleben monastery quickly developed into an important imperial abbey, which, although it had to suffer a number of setbacks from 1015 onwards, ultimately existed until the 16th century. The Benedictine spirit can still be felt within the monastery walls today. The breathtaking architecture, the ground plan of a monumental church from the 10th century and the ruins of a second church from the 13th century, tell of the times when the monks made a significant contribution to the development of the cultural landscape along the Saale and Unstrut rivers. But also modern monks regularly move into the former monastery. Benedictine monks from Münsterschwarzach Abbey, for example, invite visitors to pray in the late Romanesque crypt of the "Belebtes Kloster" (lively monastery). In addition, open discussions and a monastery workshop offer the opportunity to learn something about current monastic life. 

Another highlight is the visit of the exhibitions. This is not only about conveying historical facts. With its numerous interactive stations, the museum turns the multifaceted history of Memleben into an exciting journey through time, which is a great adventure for children and adults alike.  
 Read more
Mid-March to 31st October:
daily 10:00 - 18:00 o'clock

1 November to the beginning of March:
daily 10:00-16:00 only outdoor area
  • for all weathers
  • for school classes
  • for families
  • for individual guests
  • for children (any age)
  • German
  • English
  • French
  • Cash payment
  • EC card
  • WC facility
  • Nappy-changing room
  • Disabled WC
  • Disabled access
Adults: 8,00€
adults reduced: 7,00€
Children: 5,00€
Children reduced: 4,00€
Family ticket: 20,00€
by car:
- A 4 direction Chemnitz, exit Apolda - B 87 direction Apolda, Eckartsberga, Naumburg - at Eckartsberga on the B 250 via Bad Bibra to Nebra, from there direction Memleben
- A 38 towards Leipzig, exit Eisleben - B 180 towards Querfurt - after Querfurt on the B 250 to Nebra, from there towards Memleben
- A 9 direction Leipzig, exit Naumburg - B 180 via Naumburg to Freyburg, follow the Freyburg bypass (B 176/180), continue on B180 via Gleina, direction Querfurt - before Steigra turn left (cement plant) and follow the signs to Nebra, from there direction Memleben
- A 14 direction Leipzig, Schkeuditzer Kreuz - A 9 to exit Leipzig-West - B 181 direction Merseburg, via Braunsbedra to Freyburg - B 180 direction Querfurt - before Steigra turn left (cement plant) and follow the signs to Nebra, from there direction Memleben
- A 14 direction Leipzig, exit Halle/Trotha - B 6 to Halle - B 80 direction Eisleben - before Eisleben on the B 180 direction Querfurt - B 250 to Nebra, in Nebra direction Memleben
- A 9 towards Leipzig, exit Leipzig-West - B 181 towards Merseburg, via Braunsbedra to Freyburg - B 180 towards Querfurt before Steigra turn left (cement plant) and follow the signs to Nebra, from there towards Memleben

by public transport:
from Naumburg main station (with ICE stop) take the Burgenlandbahn to Nebra and from there take the bus (Kupfer-Wein-Linie) to Memleben The bus stop is located directly in front of the monastery. The travel time from Naumburg main station is one hour.

by bike:
via the Unstrutradweg

Where:

Address:

Memleben Monastery and Imperial Palace Foundation

Thomas-Müntzer-Strasse 48
06642 Imperial Palace OT Memleben
Phone: +49 34672 / 60274
E-mail: info@kloster-memleben.de
website: http://www.kloster-memleben.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Museum Kloster und Kaiserpfalz Memleben

© Copyright by Stiftung Kloster und Kaiserpfalz Memleben

Beschreibung:

Faszinierende Zeitreise am Sterbeort Kaiser Ottos I. und Standort eines mittelalterlichen Klosters.

Fern ab von Hektik, Trubel und Lärm liegt ganz beschaulich im Unstruttal der kleine Ort Memleben. Dort, wo einst als Standort einer Pfalz buntes Treiben herrschte und König Heinrich I. sowie Kaiser Otto I. mit zahlreichen Gefolgsleuten ihr Quartier bezogen, nehmen Besucher in einer mittelalterlichen Klosteranlage heute eine Auszeit. 

Rückblick: Memleben geht im 10. Jahrhundert als
Faszinierende Zeitreise am Sterbeort Kaiser Ottos I. und Standort eines mittelalterlichen Klosters.

Fern ab von Hektik, Trubel und Lärm liegt ganz beschaulich im Unstruttal der kleine Ort Memleben. Dort, wo einst als Standort einer Pfalz buntes Treiben herrschte und König Heinrich I. sowie Kaiser Otto I. mit zahlreichen Gefolgsleuten ihr Quartier bezogen, nehmen Besucher in einer mittelalterlichen Klosteranlage heute eine Auszeit. 

Rückblick: Memleben geht im 10. Jahrhundert als Sterbeort König Heinrichs I. (†936) und Kaiser Otto des Großen (†973) in die Geschichte ein. Die Stiftung des Klosters durch Kaiser Otto II. diente der Absicherung der sogenannten Memoria. Das Gebetsgedenken, vor allem in Klöstern gepflegt, war für die Vorfahren und die eigene Familie im Mittelalter von besonderer Bedeutung für das Seelenheil nach dem Tod. Durch wohlwollende Förderung der Ottonen entwickelte sich das Kloster Memleben rasch zu einer bedeutenden Reichsabtei, die ab 1015 zwar einige Rückschläge erfahren musste, letztlich aber bis ins 16. Jahrhundert bestand.  Der benediktinische Geist ist bis heute in den Klostermauern zu spüren. Die atemberaubende Architektur, der Grundriss einer Monumentalkirche des 10. Jahrhunderts und die Ruine einer zweiten Kirche des 13. Jahrhunderts, erzählen aus den Zeiten als die Mönche einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Entwicklung der Kulturlandschaft an Saale und Unstrut leisteten. Aber auch moderne Mönche ziehen regelmäßig in das ehemalige Kloster ein. So laden Benediktiner aus der Abtei Münsterschwarzach Besucher zum „Belebten Kloster“ in die spätromanische Krypta zu Gebeten ein. Zudem bieten offene Gespräche und eine Klosterwerkstatt die Möglichkeit, einiges über das aktuelle Klosterleben zu erfahren. 

Ein weiteres Highlight ist die Besichtigung der Ausstellungen. Hier geht es nicht nur um die Vermittlung historischer Fakten. Das Museum macht mit zahlreichen interaktiven Stationen die facettenreiche Geschichte Memlebens regelrecht zu einer erlebnisreichen Zeitreise, die für Kinder und Erwachsene gleichermaßen ein großes Abenteuer ist.  
 Mehr lesen
Mitte März bis 31. Okotber:
täglich 10:00 - 18:00 Uhr

1. November bis Anfang März:
täglich 10:00-16:00 Uhr nur Außenanlage
  • für jedes Wetter
  • für Schulklassen
  • für Familien
  • für Individualgäste
  • für Kinder (jedes Alter)
  • Deutsch
  • Englisch
  • Französisch
  • Barzahlung
  • EC-Karte
  • WC-Anlage
  • Wickelraum
  • Behindertengerechtes WC
  • Behindertengerechter Zugang
Erwachsene: 8,00€
Erwachse ermäßigt.: 7,00€
Kinder: 5,00€
Kinder ermäßigt.: 4,00€
Familienkarte: 20,00€
mit dem PKW:
- A 4 Richtung Chemnitz, Ausfahrt Apolda — B 87 Richtung Apolda, Eckartsberga, Naumburg — bei Eckartsberga auf die B 250 über Bad Bibra nach Nebra, von dort Richtung Memleben
- A 38 Richtung Leipzig, Ausfahrt Eisleben — B 180 Richtung Querfurt — hinter Querfurt auf die B 250 nach Nebra, von dort Richtung Memleben
- A 9 Richtung Leipzig, Ausfahrt Naumburg — B 180 über Naumburg nach Freyburg, Ortsumgehung Freyburg (B 176/180) folgen, weiter auf B180 über Gleina, Richtung Querfurt — vor Steigra links abbiegen (Zementwerk) und der Beschilderung nach Nebra folgen, von dort Richtung Memleben
- A 14 Richtung Leipzig, Schkeuditzer Kreuz — A 9 bis Ausfahrt Leipzig-West — B 181 Richtung Merseburg, über Braunsbedra bis Freyburg — B 180 Richtung Querfurt — vor Steigra links abbiegen (Zementwerk) und der Beschilderung nach Nebra folgen, von dort Richtung Memleben
- A 14 Richtung Leipzig, Ausfahrt Halle/Trotha — B 6 nach Halle — B 80 Richtung Eisleben — vor Eisleben auf die B 180 Richtung Querfurt — B 250 nach Nebra, in Nebra Richtung Memleben
- A 9 Richtung Leipzig, Ausfahrt Leipzig-West — B 181 Richtung Merseburg, über Braunsbedra bis Freyburg — B 180 Richtung Querfurt vor Steigra links abbiegen (Zementwerk) und der Beschilderung nach Nebra folgen, von dort Richtung Memleben

mit dem öffentlichen Personennahverkehr:
aus Naumburg Hauptbahnhof (mit ICE-Halt) fahren Sie weiter mit der Burgenlandbahn bis Nebra und von dort mit dem Bus (Kupfer-Wein-Linie) bis Memleben. Die Bushaltestelle befindet sich direkt vor dem Kloster. Die Fahrzeit von Naumburg Hauptbahnhof beträgt eine Stunde.

mit dem Fahrrad:
über den Unstrutradweg

Wo:

Anschrift:

Stiftung Kloster und Kaiserpfalz Memleben

Thomas-Müntzer-Straße 48
06642 Kaiserpfalz OT Memleben
Telefon: +49 34672 / 60274
E-Mail: info@kloster-memleben.de
Webseite: http://www.kloster-memleben.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing