Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Goseck Castle

© Copyright by Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.

Description:

As "Gozacha civitas" Goseck is already mentioned in the Hersfeld tithe register in the 9th century.

Goseck Castle is thus one of the border castles on the Saale. The "castrum antiquissimum" was the ancestral castle of the Counts Palatine of Saxony, who, with Frederick I around 1000, are first documented as the Goseck family of counts. Frederick I built a chapel of St. Simeon next to the castle as the burial place of his family. The sons Adalbert, Dedo and Friedrich were not only important for Goseck
As "Gozacha civitas" Goseck is already mentioned in the Hersfeld tithe register in the 9th century.

Goseck Castle is thus one of the border castles on the Saale. The "castrum antiquissimum" was the ancestral castle of the Counts Palatine of Saxony, who, with Frederick I around 1000, are first documented as the Goseck family of counts. Frederick I built a chapel of St. Simeon next to the castle as the burial place of his family. The sons Adalbert, Dedo and Friedrich were not only important for Goseck. Adalbert (1000-1072) attended the cathedral school in Halberstadt and became canon and provost there in 1032. In 1043 he was appointed archbishop of Hamburg and Bremen. Missionaries reached as far as Iceland and Greenland on his behalf. In 1060 he established the dioceses of Ratzeburg and Mecklenburg. Count Palatine Dedo founded a Benedictine monastery on the site of the old castle in 1041. His brother Friedrich II founded a provostry in nearby Sulza. Already in 1183 the sale of monastery goods began, and in 1540 the monastic period ended with secularisation. In 1548 it came into the possession of Georg von Altensee.

Through changing owners and extensive rebuilding in the 16th and 17th centuries, especially by the von Pöllnitz family, the former monastery complex acquired its Renaissance character. In the period from 1840 to 1945 Goseck was owned by the Counts of Zech-Burkersroda. After 1945 the castle was a school and youth hostel. Since 1997 the complex has been owned by the foundation.

Today, the "European Music and Cultural Centre Schloss Goseck", which was founded by Schloss Goseck e.V. in 1998, has its headquarters here. The top-class Goseck Castle Concerts are mainly dedicated to old music and have an aura that reaches far beyond the borders of the Saale-Unstrut region.

The Gosecker Heimat- und Kulturverein has lovingly furnished a Heimatstube. It offers an insight into past life in the Saale valley. Especially in the warm season the castle courtyard with its famous 170 year old ginkgo tree invites you to stay.
The oldest solar observatory with 7,000 years is located very close to Goseck. It is a station on the tourist route "Heavenly Paths". There is an information centre at the castle.
 Read more
1 April to 31 October:
daily 11:00 - 17:00 o'clock

1 November to 31 March:
only if registered in time

Guided tours are currently only offered by appointment.
3,00 € for visit of the church
(2,00 € reduced for pupils and students, children under 6 years: free admission)

Guided tours:
4,00 € per person
(3,00 € reduced for pupils and students), minimum 20,00 € per guided tour

Where:

Address:

Castle Goseck e.V.

Burgstrasse 53b
06667 Goseck
Phone: +49 3443 / 348258-0
E-mail: brief@schlossgoseck.de
website: http://www.schlossgoseck.org/index.php?id=6

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Schloss Goseck

© Copyright by Transmedial

Beschreibung:

Als „Gozacha civitas“ wird Goseck bereits im 9. Jahrhundert im Hersfelder Zehntregister erwähnt.

Schloss Goseck gehört somit zu den Grenzburgen an der Saale. Das „castrum antiquissimum“ war die Stammburg der Pfalzgrafen von Sachsen, die mit Friedrich I. um 1000 erstmals sicher als Gosecker Grafengeschlecht belegt sind. Friedrich I. erbaute neben der Burg eine St. Simeonskapelle als Grablege seines Geschlechtes. Die Söhne Adalbert, Dedo und Friedrich waren nicht nur für Goseck von Bedeutung
Als „Gozacha civitas“ wird Goseck bereits im 9. Jahrhundert im Hersfelder Zehntregister erwähnt.

Schloss Goseck gehört somit zu den Grenzburgen an der Saale. Das „castrum antiquissimum“ war die Stammburg der Pfalzgrafen von Sachsen, die mit Friedrich I. um 1000 erstmals sicher als Gosecker Grafengeschlecht belegt sind. Friedrich I. erbaute neben der Burg eine St. Simeonskapelle als Grablege seines Geschlechtes. Die Söhne Adalbert, Dedo und Friedrich waren nicht nur für Goseck von Bedeutung. Adalbert (1000-1072) besuchte die Domschule in Halberstadt und wurde dort Domherr und 1032 Dompropst. Im Jahre 1043 erhielt er die Berufung zum Erzbischof von Hamburg und Bremen. Missionare gelangten in seinem Auftrag bis nach Island und Grönland. 1060 errichtete er die Bistümer Ratzeburg und Mecklenburg. Pfalzgraf Dedo gründete im Jahre 1041 an der Stelle der alten Burg ein Benediktinerkloster. Sein Bruder Friedrich II. hat im nahe gelegenen Sulza eine Propstei gegründet. Bereits 1183 setzte der Verkauf von Klostergütern ein, im Jahre 1540 endete die Klosterzeit mit der Säkularisation. 1548 gelangte er in den Besitz von Georg von Altensee.

Durch wechselnde Besitzer und umfangreiche Umbauten im 16. und 17. Jahrhundert, vor allem durch die Familie von Pöllnitz, erhielt die frühere Klosteranlage ihren Renaissancecharakter. In der Zeit von 1840 bis 1945 befand sich Goseck im Eigentum der Grafen von Zech-Burkersroda. Nach 1945 war das Schloss Schule und Jugendherberge. Seit 1997 ist die Anlage im Eigentum der Stiftung.

Heute hat hier das „Europäische Musik- und Kulturzentrum Schloss Goseck“ seinen Sitz, welches vom Schloss Goseck e.V. im Jahr 1998 gegründet wurde. Die hochkarätigen Gosecker Schlosskonzerte widmen sich überwiegend der alten Musik und haben eine Ausstrahlung, die weit über die Grenzen der Saale-Unstrut-Region hinausreicht.

Der Gosecker Heimat- und Kulturverein hat liebevoll eine Heimatstube eingerichtet. Sie bietet Einblick in vergangene Lebenswelten im Saaletal. Besonders in der warmen Jahreszeit lädt der Schlosshof mit seinem berühmten ca. 170 Jahre alten Ginkgobaum zum Verweilen ein.
Das mit 7.000 Jahren älteste Sonnenobservatorium befindet sich ganz in der Nähe von Goseck. Es ist eine Station auf der touristischen Route „Himmelswege“. Auf dem Schloss befindet sich ein Informationszentrum.
 Mehr lesen
1. April bis 31. Oktober:
täglich 11:00 - 17:00 Uhr

1. November bis 31. März:
nur bei rechtzeitiger Anmeldung

Führungen werden zur Zeit nur auf Voranmeldung angeboten.
3,00 € für Besichtigung der Kirche
(2,00 € ermäßigt für Schüler und Studenten, Kinder bis 6 Jahre: freier Eintritt)

Führungen:
4,00 € pro Person
(3,00 € ermäßigt für Schüler und Studenten), mindestens 20,00 € pro Führung

Wo:

Anschrift:

Schloss Goseck e.V.

Burgstraße 53b
06667 Goseck
Telefon: +49 3443 / 348258-0
E-Mail: brief@schlossgoseck.de
Webseite: http://www.schlossgoseck.org/index.php?id=6

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing