Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Schulpforte - Former Cistercian monastery and state school Pforta

© Copyright by Photo-Temple, Naumburg

Description:

In the former monastery grounds of the Cistercian Order it houses the present Pforta State School.

The Pforte Monastery, founded in 1137, is a former Cistercian monastery. The area of approx. 16 hectares is surrounded by the historic monastery wall. You can visit the Gothic monastery church (built in 1137 as a Romanesque basilica, Gothic reconstruction 1251 - 1268), the partially preserved Romanesque cloister (12th century), a late Romanesque chapel (ca. 1240), the historical cemetery with
In the former monastery grounds of the Cistercian Order it houses the present Pforta State School.

The Pforte Monastery, founded in 1137, is a former Cistercian monastery. The area of approx. 16 hectares is surrounded by the historic monastery wall. You can visit the Gothic monastery church (built in 1137 as a Romanesque basilica, Gothic reconstruction 1251 - 1268), the partially preserved Romanesque cloister (12th century), a late Romanesque chapel (ca. 1240), the historical cemetery with dead lamp (1268) and a farm building from the monastery period, which houses a panther mill from 1708. In the monastery church of St. Mary's to the Gate, precious remains of the former furnishings can be seen: valuable parts of the original glazing, especially the restored grisaille rose window on the north side of the choir. There is also the wooden panel cross (1240/50), with remains of the original painting. 

The Pforta State School, founded in 1543 by Duke Moritz of Saxony, later Elector, in the secularised Cistercian monastery, is a boarding school with a long tradition and is sponsored by the state of Saxony-Anhalt. It was one of the first state secondary schools in Germany and counts famous personalities such as Nietzsche, Fichte and Klopstock among its pupils. Today, gifted pupils from all over Germany are taught in the branches of music, natural sciences and languages from grade 9 to grade 12.
 Read more
April - October:
daily 10:00 - 18:0

November - March:
Tuesday - Sunday 10:00 - 16:00
  • for all weathers
  • for school classes
  • for families
  • for individual guests
  • Suitable for seniors
  • for children (from 10 years)
  • German
  • English
  • Cash payment
  • EC card
  • WC facility
  • Nappy-changing room
  • Disabled WC
Guided tours from 5,00 €
audio guide 4,00 €
by public transport:
- Arrival by train to Naumburg or Bad Kösen. From here buses run.

on foot:
from Bad Kösen you can reach Schulpforte in about 45 minutes on foot

by bike:
via the Saale cycle path. Between Bad Kösen and Naumburg turn off to the Fischhaus and after 500 m you are on the monastery grounds.

Where:

Address:

Stiftung Schulpforta - Visitor Centre

Schulstrasse 26
06628 Bad Kösen
Phone: +49 34463 / 28115
E-mail: info@stiftung-schulpforta.de
website: http://www.stiftung-schulpforta.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Schulpforte - Ehemaliges Zisterzienserkloster und Landesschule Pforta

© Copyright by Photo-Tempel, Naumburg

Beschreibung:

Es beherbergt im früheren Klostergelände des Zisterzienserordens die heutige Landesschule Pforta.

Das Kloster Pforte, gegründet 1137, ist ein ehemaliges Zisterzienserkloster. Das Areal von ca. 16 Hektar ist umgeben von der historischen Klostermauer. Besichtigen können Sie die gotische Klosterkirche (1137 als romanische Basilika erbaut, gotischer Umbau 1251 – 1268), den teilweise erhaltenen romanischen Kreuzgang (12. Jh.), eine spätromanische Kapelle (ca. 1240), den historischen Friedhof mit
Es beherbergt im früheren Klostergelände des Zisterzienserordens die heutige Landesschule Pforta.

Das Kloster Pforte, gegründet 1137, ist ein ehemaliges Zisterzienserkloster. Das Areal von ca. 16 Hektar ist umgeben von der historischen Klostermauer. Besichtigen können Sie die gotische Klosterkirche (1137 als romanische Basilika erbaut, gotischer Umbau 1251 – 1268), den teilweise erhaltenen romanischen Kreuzgang (12. Jh.), eine spätromanische Kapelle (ca. 1240), den historischen Friedhof mit Toteleuchte (1268) und ein Wirtschaftsgebäude aus der Klosterzeit, das eine Panstermühle aus dem Jahr 1708 beherbergt. In der Klosterkirche Sankt Marien zur Pforte sind kostbare Reste der einstigen Ausstattung zu sehen: wertvolle Teile der originalen Verglasung, insbesondere die restaurierte Grisaille-Fensterrose auf der Nordseite des Chores. Außerdem das hölzerne Tafelkreuz (1240/50), mit Resten der originalen Bemalung. 

Die Landesschule Pforta, 1543 von Herzog Moritz von Sachsen, dem späteren Kurfürsten, im säkularisierten Zisterzienserkloster begründet, ist ein traditionsreiches Internatsgymnasium in Trägerschaft des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt. Sie entstand als eine der ersten staatlichen höheren Schulen Deutschlands und zählt berühmte Persönlichkeiten wie Nietzsche, Fichte und Klopstock zu ihren Schülern.  Heute werden begabte Schülerinnen und Schüler aus ganz Deutschland in den Zweigen Musik, Naturwissenschaften und Sprachen von der 9. Klasse bis zum Abitur in Klasse 12 geführt.
 Mehr lesen
April - Oktober:
täglich 10:00 - 18:0 Uhr

November - März:
Dienstag - Sonntag 10:00 - 16:00 Uhr
  • für jedes Wetter
  • für Schulklassen
  • für Familien
  • für Individualgäste
  • Senioren geeignet
  • für Kinder (ab 10 Jahre)
  • Deutsch
  • Englisch
  • Barzahlung
  • EC-Karte
  • WC-Anlage
  • Wickelraum
  • Behindertengerechtes WC
Führungen ab 5,00 €
Audioguide 4,00 €
mit dem öffentlichen Personennahverkehr:
- Anreise per Bahn bis Naumburg oder Bad Kösen. Von hier verkehren Busse.

zu Fuß:
von Bad Kösen ist Schulpforte in ca. 45 Minuten zu Fuß zu erreichen

mit dem Fahrrad:
über den Saaleradweg. Zwischen Bad Kösen und Naumburg biegen Sie zum Fischhaus ab und sind nach 500 m auf dem Klostergelände.

Wo:

Anschrift:

Stiftung Schulpforta - Besucherzentrum

Schulstraße 26
06628 Bad Kösen
Telefon: +49 34463 / 28115
E-Mail: info@stiftung-schulpforta.de
Webseite: http://www.stiftung-schulpforta.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing