Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Town church St. Wenzel with Hildebrandt organ

© Copyright by ©manuel frauendorf fotografie

Description:

The Evangelical Lutheran Town Church of St. Wenceslas is the main church of the town.

As the most prominent church building and landmark of the council town of Naumburg, the Wenzelskirche is one of the most significant buildings on the Saale. The late Gothic building from 1426 received its west portal in 1510/1520 and a baroque interior in 1724. The beautiful Hildebrandt organ is a jewel of baroque organ building tradition. Johann Sebastian Bach and Gottfried Silbermann took over the organ in 1746.
The Evangelical Lutheran Town Church of St. Wenceslas is the main church of the town.

As the most prominent church building and landmark of the council town of Naumburg, the Wenzelskirche is one of the most significant buildings on the Saale. The late Gothic building from 1426 received its west portal in 1510/1520 and a baroque interior in 1724. The beautiful Hildebrandt organ is a jewel of baroque organ building tradition. Johann Sebastian Bach and Gottfried Silbermann undertook the examination of this organ in 1746. The organ was extensively restored from 1993 to 2000. It is the only authentically preserved Bach organ in the world. From May to October, "Orgel punkt Zwölf" (30-minute organ concerts) take place on Wednesdays, Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays at 12:00.

The baroque high altar from 1680 and paintings from the workshop of Lucas Cranach the Elder are worthy of note. The gravestone of August Leubelfing, page of the Swedish king Gustav Adolf, is also remarkable. The steeple of the Lutheran Wenceslas Church is the highest tower in the city at 72 metres. It has a viewing platform in its steeple at a height of 53 metres, which is open daily from April to October. Six bells hang in the tower. The three larger ones were cast in 1518 by Martin Hilliger from Freiberg and have been hanging since 2000, restored, in a massive, late Gothic wooden belfry dating from 1521/23. In the tower lantern hangs the gate, school and confession bell from 1763 in addition to two clock chimes.
 Read more
April and November
weekdays Mon - Sat 13:00 - 15:00 hrs

May - October weekdays Mon - Sat 10:00 - 17:00 hrs
  • Bad weather offer
  • for all weathers
  • for school classes
  • for families
  • for individual guests
  • Suitable for seniors
  • for children (any age)
  • Suitable for prams
  • German
  • English
  • Cash payment
  • WC facility
  • Disabled access
entrance free
by car:
Motorway exit Naumburg, continue B 180 to Naumburg

with the train:
Naumburg main station, tram to Curt-Becker-Platz stop, then 3 min on foot

Where:

Address:

City church St. Wenceslas

Pot market
06618 Naumburg
Phone: +49 3445 / 201516
E-mail: info@kirche-naumburg.de
website: http://www.evangelische-kirche-naumburg.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Stadtkirche St. Wenzel mit Hildebrandt-Orgel

© Copyright by ©manuel frauendorf fotografie

Beschreibung:

Die evangelisch-lutherische Stadtkirche St. Wenzel ist die Hauptkirche der Stadt.

Als das markanteste Kirchenbauwerk und Wahrzeichen der Ratsstadt von Naumburg gehört die Wenzelskirche zu den bedeutsamsten Bauwerken an der Saale. Der spätgotische Bau von 1426 erhielt 1510/1520 sein Westportal und 1724 im Innern eine barocke Ausstattung. Die wunderschöne Hildebrandt-Orgel ist ein Juwel barocker Orgelbautradition. Johann Sebastian Bach und Gottfried Silbermann übernahmen 1746
Die evangelisch-lutherische Stadtkirche St. Wenzel ist die Hauptkirche der Stadt.

Als das markanteste Kirchenbauwerk und Wahrzeichen der Ratsstadt von Naumburg gehört die Wenzelskirche zu den bedeutsamsten Bauwerken an der Saale. Der spätgotische Bau von 1426 erhielt 1510/1520 sein Westportal und 1724 im Innern eine barocke Ausstattung. Die wunderschöne Hildebrandt-Orgel ist ein Juwel barocker Orgelbautradition. Johann Sebastian Bach und Gottfried Silbermann übernahmen 1746 die Prüfung dieser Orgel. Die Orgel wurde von 1993 bis 2000 aufwändig restauriert. Sie ist die einzige authentisch erhaltene Bachorgel weltweit. Von Mai bis Oktober finden mittwochs, samstags, sonntags und feiertags 12:00 Uhr "Orgel punkt Zwölf" (30-minütige Orgelkonzerte) statt.

Hervorhebenswert sind u. a. der barocke Hochaltar von 1680 sowie Gemälde aus der Werkstatt von Lucas Cranach d. Ä.. Bemerkenswert ist auch die Grabplatte des August Leubelfing, Page des Schwedenkönigs Gustav Adolf.  Der Kirchturm der evangelischen Wenzelskirche ist mit 72 Metern der höchste Turm der Stadt. Er besitzt in seiner Türmerwohnung in 53 Metern Höhe eine Aussichtsplattform, die von April bis Oktober täglich geöffnet hat. Sechs Glocken hängen im Turm. Die drei größeren wurden 1518 von Martin Hilliger aus Freiberg gegossen und hängen seit dem Jahre 2000 restauriert in einem massiven, spätgotischen Holzglockenstuhl aus den Jahren 1521/23. In der Turmlaterne hängt neben zwei Uhrschlagschalen die Tor-, Schul- und Beichtglocke aus dem Jahre 1763.
 Mehr lesen
April und November
werktags Mo - Sa 13:00 - 15:00 Uhr

Mai - Oktober werktags Mo - Sa 10:00 - 17:00 Uhr
  • Schlechtwetterangebot
  • für jedes Wetter
  • für Schulklassen
  • für Familien
  • für Individualgäste
  • Senioren geeignet
  • für Kinder (jedes Alter)
  • Kinderwagentauglich
  • Deutsch
  • Englisch
Eintritt frei
mit dem PKW:
Autobahn-Abfahrt Naumburg, Weiter B 180 bis Naumburg

mit den Bahn:
Hauptbahnhof Naumburg, Straßenbahn bis Haltestelle Curt-Becker-Platz, dann 3 min zu Fuß

Wo:

Anschrift:

Stadtkirche St. Wenzel

Topfmarkt
06618 Naumburg
Telefon: +49 3445 / 201516
E-Mail: info@kirche-naumburg.de
Webseite: http://www.evangelische-kirche-naumburg.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing