Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

City wall

© Copyright by Stadt Querfurt

Description:

The city wall was a ring-shaped enclosure of the city in the 13th century.

The inner city wall has a circumference of 1030 m. It was a ring-like enclosure of the town in the 13th century and adjoins the fortification of the castle to the east. The inner city wall, which is still well preserved in parts, comprises the medieval town consisting of the market, church square, Nebraer Straße, Schloßstraße, Klippe and Tränkstraße. This could only be reached through three town gates (the
The city wall was a ring-shaped enclosure of the city in the 13th century.

The inner city wall has a circumference of 1030 m. It was a ring-like enclosure of the town in the 13th century and adjoins the fortification of the castle to the east. The inner city wall, which is still well preserved in parts, comprises the medieval town consisting of the market, church square, Nebraer Straße, Schloßstraße, Klippe and Tränkstraße. This could only be reached through three town gates (the Steinwegpforte, the Tränktor and the inner Nebraer Tor). In the north-west and in the east there is a double wall with a maximum height of seven metres and a thickness of 1.6 to 1.8 metres. On the west and south sides it reaches a height of five to six meters. In the so-called "Schießgraben", a kennel of the inner city wall, there is the longest preserved part. 

The 5400 Saxon cubits (one Saxon cubit = ca. 56.53 cm) long outer city wall consisted of four gates and 20 alternating round and square towers. It included all former suburbs (Braunsgasse, Lederberg, Klosterstraße, Steinweg, Neuendorf, Freimarkt and Entenplan). The outer city wall included four access gates (Lederbergisches Tor, Döcklitzer Tor, Steinweger Tor and the outer Nebraer Tor). In the 19th century it was largely demolished. Only four defence towers and a few short sections of the wall remained. 
 Read more
  • for school classes
  • for families
  • for individual guests
  • Pets allowed
  • Suitable for seniors
  • for children (any age)
by car:
- via the A 38 from Göttingen (AS 19 Lutherstadt Eisleben) or Leipzig (AS 20 Querfurt)
- coming from the south, take the A 71 (AS Artern) or the B 180 and B 250 to Querfurt.

by train:
- from Merseburg station with the regional train to Querfurt, main station, possible
- From the ICE junction Halle/Saale take the train to Röblingen am See. From there, a bus line operates on behalf of Deutsche Bahn to Querfurt. From several cities in the region, bus lines run via Querfurt, so there are several options for travelling to the city by public transport.

by plane:
Airport Halle-Leipzig (60 km away)
This ensures a fast connection with other European countries. Near Querfurt (approx. 5 km away) is the Allstedt airfield, which is open for business aircraft. Charter flights are possible here.

Where:

Address:

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Stadtmauer

© Copyright by Stadt Querfurt

Beschreibung:

Die Stadtmauer stellte eine ringartige Eingrenzung der Stadt im 13. Jahrhundert dar.

Die innere Stadtmauer hat einen Umfang von 1030 m. Sie stellte eine ringartige Eingrenzung der Stadt im 13. Jahrhundert dar und schließt östlich an die Umwehrung der Burg an. Die heute in Teilen noch gut erhaltene innere Stadtmauer umfaßt die mittelalterliche Stadt bestehend aus Markt, Kirchplatz, Nebraer Straße, Schloßstraße, Klippe und Tränkstraße. Diese konnte nur durch drei Stadttore (der
Die Stadtmauer stellte eine ringartige Eingrenzung der Stadt im 13. Jahrhundert dar.

Die innere Stadtmauer hat einen Umfang von 1030 m. Sie stellte eine ringartige Eingrenzung der Stadt im 13. Jahrhundert dar und schließt östlich an die Umwehrung der Burg an. Die heute in Teilen noch gut erhaltene innere Stadtmauer umfaßt die mittelalterliche Stadt bestehend aus Markt, Kirchplatz, Nebraer Straße, Schloßstraße, Klippe und Tränkstraße. Diese konnte nur durch drei Stadttore (der Steinwegpforte, dem Tränktor und dem inneren Nebraer Tor) erreicht werden. Im Nordwesten und im Osten befindet sich eine doppelte Mauer mit einer maximalen Höhe von sieben Metern und einer Stärke von 1,6 bis 1,8 m. An der West- und Südseite erreicht sie eine Höhe von fünf bis sechs Metern. Im so genannten "Schießgraben", ein  Zwinger der inneren Stadtmauer, befindet sich der längste erhaltene Teil. 

Die 5400 sächsische Ellen (eine sächs. Elle = ca. 56,53 cm) lange äußere Stadtmauer bestand aus vier Toren sowie 20 abwechselnd runden und quadratischen Türmen. Sie schloß sämtliche ehemaligen Vorstädte (Braunsgasse, Lederberg, Klosterstraße, Steinweg, Neuendorf, Freimarkt und Entenplan) ein. Zur äußeren Stadtmauer gehörten vier Zugangstore (Lederbergisches Tor, Döcklitzer Tor, Steinweger Tor und das äußere Nebraer Tor). Im 19. Jahrhundert wurde sie zum größten Teil abgerissen. Lediglich vier Wehrtürme und einige kurze Abschnitte der Mauer blieben erhalten. 
 Mehr lesen
  • für Schulklassen
  • für Familien
  • für Individualgäste
  • Haustiere erlaubt
  • Senioren geeignet
  • für Kinder (jedes Alter)
mit dem PKW:
- über die A 38 aus Richtung Göttingen (AS 19 Lutherstadt Eisleben) oder Leipzig (AS 20 Querfurt)
- aus Süden kommend nutzen Sie die A 71 (AS Artern) oder die B 180 und B 250 bis Querfurt.

mit der Bahn:
- vom Bahnhof Merseburg mit der Regionalbahn bis Querfurt, Hauptbahnhof, möglich
- vom ICE-Knotenpunkt Halle/Saale nehmen Sie die Bahn bis Röblingen am See. Von dort verkehrt eine Kraftomnibuslinie im Auftrag der Deutschen Bahn bis nach Querfurt. Von mehreren Städten der Region führen Omnibuslinien über Querfurt, so dass eine Anreise mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln in mehreren Varianten möglich ist.

mit dem Flugzeug:
Flughafen Halle-Leipzig (60 km entfernt)
Dadurch wird eine schnelle Verbindung mit anderen europäischen Staaten gewährleistet. In der Nähe von Querfurt (ca. 5 km entfernt ) befindet sich der Flugplatz Allstedt, der für Geschäftsflugzeuge geöffnet ist. Charterflüge sind hier möglich.

Wo:

Anschrift:

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing