Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Steinernes Picture Book

© Copyright by Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.

Description:

The stone picture book is a picture relief that was worked in rock.

Not far from the Naumburg district of Großjena, twelve more than man-high picture reliefs from the stone wall on a large sandstone terrace wall, in the middle of a vineyard. The so-called "Stone Album" is one of the most unusual monuments to wine and the largest picture relief in the European cultural area that has ever been carved into a standing rock.
The stone picture book is a picture relief that was worked in rock.

Not far from the Naumburg district of Großjena, twelve more than man-high picture reliefs from the stone wall on a large sandstone terrace wall, in the middle of a vineyard. The so-called "Stone Album" is one of the most unusual monuments to wine and the largest picture relief ever carved into a standing rock in the European cultural area.

The originator was the jeweller Johann Christian Steinauer, who came into wealth in Naumburg from 1705 as purveyor to the court of Duke Christian II of Saxony-Weissenfels. Steinauer acquired a vineyard around 1720. At that time, the ownership of vineyards was considered a status symbol of the wealthy Naumburg citizenship. As a tribute to the Duke, Steinauer had a relief carved from the rocks of his vineyard on the occasion of his tenth anniversary of the throne. Most of the twelve reliefs bear the date of 17 March 1722 for this purpose, although some of them were only created in the course of the following years. As the motifs of reliefs two and three do not match the ten others and bear coats of arms, it is assumed that they were created first.

In order to finance his project, Steinauer created a relief foundation, in which many friends took part and thus courted the Duke's favour. Among them were merchants from Augsburg and Berlin and the Naumburg pastor Fleuter.

The sculptor himself is unknown, but he created a masterpiece. Twelve scenes were created over a length of 150 metres. Ten of them contain stories from the Bible. The two others show a fox hunt and the equestrian portrait of Duke Christian. Of the ten Bible stories, six deal directly with biblical wine stories. Thus, the intoxication of Lot by his daughters can be seen, as well as Noah as the first winegrower, Christ in the wine press, Joshua and Caleb returning with a heavy grape, and the parable of the workers in the Lord's vineyard. Picture number five shows the wedding at Canaan, where Jesus, according to the Bible, changed water into wine, with an inscription: "God always makes wine out of water/ Blessed is the fruit/ Damned shall be the mixer/ who does not seek refreshment.

The relief idea probably goes back to different origins. On the one hand there was already a two-metre high winged angel carved in sandstone in the Kroppen valley. On the other hand, in the rococo era, the written or painted album page dedicated to wine or hunting was very fashionable. The latter is referred to both by the inscriptions in the reliefs, which are thought to be a kind of dedication sheet by Steinauer's friends, and by the fact that the reliefs (album sheets) are linked to drinking or wine and the deep piety of the mostly biblical motifs. Both are characteristic of the period mentioned.

Time has severely damaged the reliefs of red sandstone. Due to the acid rain and the salt crystallization, which led to the blasting of different layers, is very advanced. In 1995, first exploratory measures began to prevent the further deterioration of the cultural monument. By the year 2000, around 3,000 litres of stone strengthener had been introduced into the rocks via boreholes and parts particularly at risk were secured with salt storage mortar. In order to finance further maintenance, the "Müller Stiftung Berlin" and the "Gerd Erbslöh Stiftung" were founded with the support of the "Deutsche Stiftung Denkmalschutz" and other donors, with the aim of preserving the rock reliefs. 

 Read more
  • for families
  • for individual guests
  • Suitable for seniors

Where:

Address:

Saale-Unstrut-Tourism e.V.

Pot market 6
06618 Naumburg
Phone: +49 3445 / 23379 - 0
E-mail: info@saale-unstrut-tourismus.de
website: http://www.saale-unstrut-tourismus.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Steinernes Bilderbuch

© Copyright by Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.

Beschreibung:

Das Steinerne Bilderbuch ist ein Bildrelief, das in Felsgestein gearbeitet wurde.

Unweit des Naumburger Ortstteils Großjena prangen an einer großen Sandstein-Terrassenmauer, inmitten eines Weinbergs, zwölf mehr als mannshohe Bildreliefs aus der Steinwand. Das sogenannte "Steinerne Album" ist eines der ungewöhnlichsten Denkmäler für Wein und das größte Bildrelief im europäischen Kulturraum, das je in ein stehendes Felsgestein gearbeitet wurde.Urheber war der Juwelier Johann
Das Steinerne Bilderbuch ist ein Bildrelief, das in Felsgestein gearbeitet wurde.

Unweit des Naumburger Ortstteils Großjena prangen an einer großen Sandstein-Terrassenmauer, inmitten eines Weinbergs, zwölf mehr als mannshohe Bildreliefs aus der Steinwand. Das sogenannte "Steinerne Album" ist eines der ungewöhnlichsten Denkmäler für Wein und das größte Bildrelief im europäischen Kulturraum, das je in ein stehendes Felsgestein gearbeitet wurde.

Urheber war der Juwelier Johann Christian Steinauer, der ab 1705 in Naumburg als Hoflieferant von Herzog Christian II. von Sachsen-Weißenfels zu Reichtum kam. Steinauer erwarb um 1720 einen Weinberg. Der Besitz von Weinbergen galt zu jener Zeit als Statussymbol der wohlhabenden Naumburger Bürgerschaft. Als Huldigung an den Herzog lies Steinauer aus Anlass von dessen zehnjährigem Thronjubiläum ein Relief aus den Felsen seines Weinbergs herausarbeiten. Die meisten der zwölf Reliefs tragen zu diesem Zweck das Datum des 17. März 1722, obwohl einige von ihnen erst im Laufe der nächsten Jahre entstanden sind. Da die Motive der Reliefs zwei und drei nicht zu den zehn übrigen passen und Wappen tragen, wird angenommen, dass sie zuerst entstanden sind.

Zur Finanzierung seines Vorhabens schuf Steinauer eine Reliefstiftung, an der sich viele Freunde beteiligten und so um die Gunst des Herzogs warben. Zu ihnen zählten unter anderen Handelsherren aus Augsburg und Berlin sowie der Naumburger Pastor Fleuter.

Der Bildhauer selbst ist unbekannt, doch er schuf ein Meisterwerk. Auf einer Länge von 150 Metern entstanden zwölf Szenen. Zehn davon beinhalten Geschichten aus der Bibel. Die beiden übrigen zeigen eine Fuchsjagd und das Reiterbild Herzog Christians. Von den zehn Bibelgeschichten setzen sich sechs direkt mit biblischen Weingeschichten auseinander. So ist die Berauschung Lots durch seine Töchter ebenso zu sehen, wie Noah als erster Weinbauer, Christus in der Kelter, Josua und Kaleb, die mit einer schweren Weintraube zurückkehren und das Gleichnis von den Arbeitern im Weinberg des Herrn. Bild Nummer fünf zeigt die Hochzeit zu Kanaa, wo Jesus der Bibel nach Wasser in Wein verwandelte, samt einer Inschrift: "Gott macht immer aus Wasser Wein/ Gesegnet ist die Frucht/ Verdammt soll der Mischer sein/ der nicht Erquickung sucht."

Die Reliefidee geht vermutlich auf verschiedene Ursprünge zurück. Zum einen stand im Kroppental bereits ein in Sandstein gehauener zwei Meter hohen geflügelten Engel. Zum anderen war in der Epoche des Rokoko das geschriebene oder gemalte Albumblatt, das sich dem Wein oder der Jagd widmete, groß in Mode. Auf letzteres verweisen sowohl die Inschriften in den Reliefs, wohinter eine Art Widmungsblätter Steinauerscher Freunde vermutet wird, als auch die inhaltliche Bindung der Reliefs (Albumblätter) ans Trinken beziehungsweise an den Wein und die tiefe Frömmigkeit der meist biblischen Motive. Beides ist bezeichnend für den genannten Zeitabschnitt.

Die Zeit hat den Reliefs aus Buntsandstein stark zugesetzt. Aufgrund des sauren Regens und der Salzauskristallisationen, welche zum Absprengen verschiedener Schichten führte, ist sehr weit fortgeschritten. 1995 begannen erste Sondierungsmaßnahmen, um den weiteren Verfall des Kulturdenkmales zu verhindern. Bis zum Jahr 2000 wurden rund 3.000 Liter Steinfestiger über Bohrungen in die Felsen eingebracht und mit Salzspeichermörtel besonders gefährdete Teile gesichert. Zur Finanzierung der weiteren Pflege wurde mit Unterstützung der "Deutschen Stiftung Denkmalschutz" und weiteren Stiftern die "Müller Stiftung Berlin" und die "Gerd Erbslöh Stiftung" gegründet, die den Erhalt der Felsenreliefs zum Ziel haben. 

 Mehr lesen
  • für Familien
  • für Individualgäste
  • Senioren geeignet

Wo:

Anschrift:

Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.

Topfmarkt 6
06618 Naumburg
Telefon: +49 3445 / 23379 - 0
E-Mail: info@saale-unstrut-tourismus.de
Webseite: http://www.saale-unstrut-tourismus.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing