Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Collegiate Church of St. Peter

© Copyright by Jürgen Götz (engineering office Götz & Ilsemann, Beelitz)

Description:

Sisters and brothers live in the collegiate church of Petersberg from the year 1180

The former Augustinian canon's monastery on the Petersberg near Halle is considered to be a landscape-dominating and widely visible group of buildings enthroned on a porphyry rock with its dominating church. The Augustinian Canonry was founded in 1124 by the Wettin Count Dedo IV and completed by his brother Margrave Konrad von Wettin. Fires, 1199 and last
Sisters and brothers live in the collegiate church of Petersberg from the year 1180

The former Augustinian canon's monastery on the Petersberg near Halle is considered to be a landscape-dominating and widely visible group of buildings enthroned on a porphyry rock with its dominating church. The Augustinian Canonry was founded in 1124 by the Wettin Count Dedo IV and completed by his brother Margrave Konrad von Wettin. Fires, in 1199 and last in 1565, largely destroyed the collegiate church. Until 1827 it was used to obtain materials for other building projects. Schinkel's interest as a Romanesque building gained special significance through Schinkel. Extensive reconstruction measures in the 19th century still characterize the picture today. An important aspect is the architectural-art historical significance of the monument as a three-nave Romanesque basilica on a cruciform ground plan. Also the landscape-forming role should not be forgotten, the landmark - standing on a porphyry rock - can be easily seen from afar.

The Petersberg currently has an annual number of visitors of about 50,000 people and the trend is rising. The monastery complex is actively used by groups and also individuals. Also important are the visitors who come from far outside the region. After the renovation and restoration of the medieval complex, visitors will be able to see a jewel that fits in gracefully with the Romanesque street. A jewel on the Petersberg is thus open to tourism. 
 Read more
  • Bad weather offer
  • for all weathers
  • for school classes
  • for families
  • for individual guests
  • Suitable for seniors
  • for children (any age)
  • German
  • English
The visit of the collegiate church is free of charge. A donation to maintain the facility is requested.
by car:
via the A14

by train:
the collegiate church is 15 km away from the main station Halle (Saale)

by bus:
in the village Petersberg please use the large parking lot

on foot:
the hiking trail to the collegiate church takes 15 minutes

Where:

Address:

Ecclesiastical Foundation Petersberg

Mountain trail 11
06193 Petersberg
Phone: +49 34606 / 20409
E-mail: Petersberg@christusbruderschaft.de
website: http://www.petersberg-freundeskreis.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Stiftskirche St. Peter

© Copyright by Jürgen Götz (Ingenieurbüro Götz & Ilsemann, Beelitz)

Beschreibung:

In der Stiftskirche Petersberg aus dem Jahr 1180 leben heute Schwestern und Brüder

Das ehemalige Augustiner-Chorherrenstift auf dem Petersberg bei Halle gilt als landschaftsdominierende und weithin sichtbare auf einem Porphyrfelsen thronende Gebäudegruppe mit ihrer beherrschenden Kirche. Das Augustiner Chorherrenstift wurde im Jahre 1124 durch den wettinischen Grafen  Dedo IV. gegründet und von seinem Bruder Markgraf Konrad von Wettin vollendet. Brände, 1199 und zuletzt
In der Stiftskirche Petersberg aus dem Jahr 1180 leben heute Schwestern und Brüder

Das ehemalige Augustiner-Chorherrenstift auf dem Petersberg bei Halle gilt als landschaftsdominierende und weithin sichtbare auf einem Porphyrfelsen thronende Gebäudegruppe mit ihrer beherrschenden Kirche. Das Augustiner Chorherrenstift wurde im Jahre 1124 durch den wettinischen Grafen  Dedo IV. gegründet und von seinem Bruder Markgraf Konrad von Wettin vollendet. Brände, 1199 und zuletzt 1565, zerstörten die Stiftskirche weitgehend. Bis 1827 diente zur Materialgewinnung für andere Bauvorhaben. Das Interesse als romanisches Bauwerk fand durch Schinkel seine besondere Bedeutung. Weitreichende Wiederaufbaumaßnahmen im 19. Jahrhundert prägen das Bild bis heute.  Ein wichtiger Aspekt ist die architektonisch-kunsthistorische Bedeutung des Denkmals als dreischiffige romanische Basilika auf kreuzförmigem Grundriss. Auch die landschaftsbildprägende Rolle ist nicht zu vergessen, das - auf einem Porphyrfelsen stehende – schon von weitem gut wahrnehmbare Landmarke darstellt.

Der Petersberg hat derzeit eine jährliche Besucherzahl von ca. 50.000 Menschen bei steigender Tendenz. Die Klosteranlage wird von Gruppen und auch Einzelpersonen rege genutzt. Bedeutend sind auch die Besucher, die von weit außerhalb der Region diese Anlage  besuchen. Nach der Sanierung und Wiederherstellung der mittelalterlichen Anlage zeigt sich den Besuchern ein Kleinod, das sich im Rahmen der Straße der Romanik würdevoll einfügt. Dem Tourismus steht damit ein Juwel auf dem Petersberg offen. 
 Mehr lesen
  • Schlechtwetterangebot
  • für jedes Wetter
  • für Schulklassen
  • für Familien
  • für Individualgäste
  • Senioren geeignet
  • für Kinder (jedes Alter)
  • Deutsch
  • Englisch
Der Besuch der Stiftskirche ist kostenfrei. Um eine Spende zum Erhalt der Anlage wird gebeten.
mit dem PKW:
über die A14

mit dem Zug:
vom Hauptbahnhof Halle (Saale) liegt die Stiftskirche 15 km entfernt

mit dem Bus:
im Dorf Petersberg nutzen Sie bitte den großen Parkplatz

zu Fuß:
der Wanderweg zur Stiftskirche beträgt 15 Min

Wo:

Anschrift:

Kirchliche Stiftung Petersberg

Bergweg 11
06193 Petersberg
Telefon: +49 34606 / 20409
E-Mail: Petersberg@christusbruderschaft.de
Webseite: http://www.petersberg-freundeskreis.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing