Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Deep cellar Merseburg

© Copyright by Sascha Rosick

Description:

A fantastic world under the city of Merseburg.

Vaults over 700 years old! An almost forgotten world!
The origin of this underground vault system dates back to the 13th century. The vaulted cellars in the Tiefer Keller quarter have survived fires, the economic and cultural rise and fall of the city and even the demolition of the old town during the socialist era. This makes them one of the oldest buildings in the
A fantastic world under the city of Merseburg.

Vaults over 700 years old! An almost forgotten world!

The origin of this underground vault system dates back to the 13th century. The vaulted cellars in the Tiefer Keller quarter have survived fires, the economic and cultural rise and fall of the city and even the demolition of the old town during the socialist era. They are thus among the oldest buildings in the city.

The cellars bear witness to the rich trading town of Merseburg from the Romanesque to the late Baroque period. They tell us about a warehouse management which had to keep large quantities of different goods cool. The owners of the wine and beer cellars had the wine cellars decorated with elaborate initials, which were chiselled into the sandstone doorways and some of which are still preserved today. Flat stairs facilitated the transport of loads. Four different altitudes ensured different temperatures and degrees of humidity.

The extensive vaulted cellars were built as a store for natural produce. The ice of the Saale was beaten in winter and brought to the cellars, where it provided ideal storage temperatures all year round. In addition to local goods such as fish, meat and beer, supra-regional goods such as oil could also be stored here. In the course of time, the facilities were continuously expanded and dug deeper into the ground. Interestingly enough, the youngest cellars are located at the bottom, the oldest at the top.

For the transport of goods over long distances, cooling storage facilities were also the basis for constant economic relations in medieval times. Spoiled goods would have interrupted, if not even ended, this. Situated on the Via Regia, the prosperous city of Merseburg was an important trading centre just outside the gates of Leipzig for many centuries. You can feel this significance every step you take through these once luxurious cold storage chambers in the labyrinth beneath the city.

For years, the Merseburger Kunstverein has been committed to the preservation, expansion and development of the extensive area. At present, it is therefore possible to visit the cellars with widths of between 2 and 6 metres as part of a guided tour over a total length of over 300 metres. The highest vaults are up to 2.70 metres high. When the vaults were uncovered, another special feature came to light - a fountain in the middle of the cellar.

In the future, art exhibitions will fill the deep cellars with new life. A skilfully spanned arc between history and modernity, which will make your visit an unforgettable experience.


 Read more
Public cellar tours:
every first Saturday of the month at 14:30

Meeting place: Deep cellar 3 (cathedral gallery)

Group tours are possible at any time by arrangement.
  • Bad weather offer
  • for all weathers
  • for families
  • for individual guests
  • Suitable for seniors
5,00 € per person
Total length over 300 meters on 4 height levels.

According to the intended purpose of the building, constant temperatures of around 10 degrees Celsius and a humidity of around 90 percent prevail at all times of the year. For the duration of your visit, please dress appropriately for these conditions and wear sturdy shoes. Some stairs lead down to the cellars, which are up to 8 meters below ground level. Access is not barrier-free.

Where:

Address:

Merseburg Art Association e.V.

Deep cellar 3
06217 Merseburg
Phone: +49 3461 / 2899232
E-mail: merkunst@web.de
website: http://www-tiefer-keller.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Tiefer Keller Merseburg

© Copyright by Sascha Rosick

Beschreibung:

Eine phantastische Welt unter der Stadt Merseburg.

Über 700 Jahre alte Gewölbe! Eine fast vergessene Welt!
Der Ursprung dieses unterirdischen Gewölbesystems geht bis in das 13. Jahrhundert zurück. Die Kellergewölbe im Quartier Tiefer Keller haben Feuersbrünste, wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Auf- und Abstieg der Stadt und sogar den Flä­chenabriss der Altstadt in sozialistischer Zeit überlebt. Damit gehören sie zu den ältesten Bauwerken der
Eine phantastische Welt unter der Stadt Merseburg.

Über 700 Jahre alte Gewölbe! Eine fast vergessene Welt!

Der Ursprung dieses unterirdischen Gewölbesystems geht bis in das 13. Jahrhundert zurück. Die Kellergewölbe im Quartier Tiefer Keller haben Feuersbrünste, wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Auf- und Abstieg der Stadt und sogar den Flä­chenabriss der Altstadt in sozialistischer Zeit überlebt. Damit gehören sie zu den ältesten Bauwerken der Stadt.

Die Keller sind Zeugnis der reichen Handels­stadt Merseburg von der Romanik bis zum Spätbarock. Sie berichten uns von einer Lagerwirtschaft, die große Mengen unterschiedlichster Waren kühl halten mussten. Die Wein- und Bierkeller ließen die Besitzer mit kunstvollen Initialen versehen, die in die Sandsteintürbögen gemeißelt wurden und teilweise heute noch erhalten sind. Flache Treppen erleichterten den Lastentransport. Vier unterschiedliche Höhen­lagen gewährleisteten unterschiedliche Temperaturen und Feuchtigkeitsgrade.

Angelegt wurden die weitläufigen Gewölbekeller als Naturalienlager. Das Eis der Saale wurde im Winter geschlagen und in die Keller verbracht, wo es das ganze Jahr über für ideale Lagertemperaturen sorgte. Hier konnten neben heimischen Waren wie Fisch, Fleisch und Bier auch überregionale Waren, wie beispielsweise Öl, gelagert werden. Im Laufe der Zeit wurden die Anlagen immer weiter ausgebaut und tiefer ins Erdreich gegraben. Somit befinden sich interessanterweise die jüngsten Keller ganz unten, die ältesten jedoch oben.

Für einen Warentransport über weite Strecken waren in mittelalterlicher Zeit zudem kühlende Lagermöglichkeiten Grundlage für konstante Wirtschaftsbeziehungen. Verdorbene Ware hätte diese unterbrochen, wenn nicht gar beendet. An der Via Regia liegend, ist die wohlhabende Stadt Merseburg über viele Jahrhunderte hindurch ein wichtiger Warenumschlagplatz unmittelbar vor den Toren der Stadt Leipzig gewesen. Man spürt diese Bedeutung bei jedem Schritt durch diese einst luxuriösen Kühlkammern im Labyrinth unter der Stadt.

Seit Jahren engagiert sich der Merseburger Kunstverein für den Erhalt, den Ausbau und die Erschließung des weitläufigen Areals. Gegenwärtig ist es somit möglich, im Rahmen eines geführten Rundganges auf einer Gesamtlänge von über 300 Metern die Keller mit Breiten zwischen 2 und 6 Metern zu besichtigen. Dabei weisen die höchsten Gewölbe Höhen bis zu 2,70 Metern auf. Beim Freilegen der Gewölbe kam eine weitere Besonderheit zum Vorschein - ein Brunnen mitten im Keller.

In Zukunft werden Kunstausstellungen die Tiefen Keller mit neuem Leben füllen. Ein gekonnt gespannter Bogen zwischen Geschichte und Moderne, der Ihren Besuch zu einem unvergesslichen Erlebnis werden lässt.


 Mehr lesen
Öffentliche Kellerführungen:
jeden ersten Samstag im Monat um 14:30 Uhr

Treffpunkt: Tiefer Keller 3 (Domgalerie)

Gruppenführungen sind jederzeit nach Absprache möglich.
  • Schlechtwetterangebot
  • für jedes Wetter
  • für Familien
  • für Individualgäste
  • Senioren geeignet
5,00 € pro Person
Gesamtlänge über 300 Meter auf 4 Höhenebenen.

Gemäß dem Bestimmungszweck des Bauwerkes herrschen zu jeder Jahreszeit konstante Temperaturen um die 10 Grad Celsius und eine Luftfeuchtigkeit um die 90 Prozent. Bitte kleiden Sie sich für die Dauer Ihres Besuches diesen Bedingungen angemessen und tragen Sie festes Schuhwerk. Einige Treppen führen in die Kelleranlagen hinunter, welche bis zu 8 Metern unter der Erde liegen. Der Zugang ist nicht barrierefrei.

Wo:

Anschrift:

Merseburger Kunstverein e.V.

Tiefer Keller 3
06217 Merseburg
Telefon: +49 3461 / 2899232
E-Mail: merkunst@web.de
Webseite: http://www-tiefer-keller.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing