Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Triassic Exhibition

© Copyright by Geo-Nature Park Saale-Unstrut-Triasland

Description:

The Triassic Exhibition gives an overview of the Germanic Triassic and its fossils.

In Nebra, the Triassic exhibition presents a small-scale overview of the Germanic Triassic in more than 20 showcases and posters, with fossils in the foreground. But also the geology and regional relation to the rocks are treated. After all, Nebra red sandstone was used in Berlin and Hamburg, while the stones of the Lower Muschelkalk were used especially in regional buildings
The Triassic Exhibition gives an overview of the Germanic Triassic and its fossils.

In Nebra, the Triassic exhibition presents a small-scale overview of the Germanic Triassic in more than 20 showcases and posters, with fossils in the foreground. But also the geology and regional relation to the rocks are treated. After all, Nebra red sandstone was used in Berlin and Hamburg, while the stones of the Lower Muschelkalk were used especially in regional buildings (Naumburg Cathedral, Neuchâtel Freyburg/U).

The image of the hostile and more fossilised mottled sandstone and Lower Muschelkalk experiences a different representation. Diagenetic findings are rare, but this does not correspond purely to the primary conditions. Unfortunately, the strong decline of mining or its industrialization has a negative effect. New finds become rarer, while historical material is often scattered. It is therefore all the more gratifying that the exhibition can build on two old collections that have remained in the region. One part comes from the holdings of Neuchâtel Castle (Freyburg/U) and goes to H. Drescher from the 1950/60s with holdings from the 19th century. Further material belongs to the Geological-Palaeontological Collections of the Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg, also with evidence from the mid-19th century onwards (Giebel, v. Fritsch). In the context of an international triassic symposium in 1999, these were part of an exhibition to whose contents and exhibits the Nebra Triassic exhibition falls back in a reduced form.

The stone industry, which is almost 1000 years old, brought to light early fossil finds and found its way into literature. The first descriptions of Triassic fossils come from here. Already in 1710 Büttner described cephalopods (cephalopods) from Querfurt. In 1852 Professor Schmidt from Jena described the region as one of the richest in fossils in the whole of Thuringia. Numerous vertebrate finds led to the first descriptions of marine reptiles and fish of the Triassic (by Meyer, at Münster). The sea lily finds of Freyburg/U., which have become classics, are not the only spectacular finds of this Central German Triassic landscape. However, one searches in vain for typical shell limestone fossils, such as Ceratites. Instead there are Discoptychites ("Ammonites") and Nautilids from the Lower Muschelkalk. In addition to Nothosaurus and Placodus remains (bastard lizard, cobble-toothed dinosaurs), the exhibition also features amphibian remains from the Middle Bunter Sandstone. It is rare to see material from Carnallicrinus, & Co. in this quality in such a small space.
 Read more
Tuesday - Friday 10:00 - 16:00
Saturday and Sunday by arrangement
  • Bad weather offer
  • for all weathers
  • for families
  • for individual guests
  • Suitable for seniors
  • Cash payment
Further information can be found at www.naturpark-saale-unstrut.de.

Where:

Address:

Saale-Unstrut-Triasland Geo-Nature Park

Promenade 13 a
06642 Nebra
Phone: +49 34461 / 26905
E-mail: info@naturpark-saale-unstrut.de
website: http://www.naturpark-saale-unstrut.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Triasausstellung

© Copyright by Geo-Naturpark Saale-Unstrut-Triasland

Beschreibung:

Die Trias-Ausstellung gibt einen Überblick zur Germanischen Trias und deren Fossilien.

In Nebra präsentiert im kleinen Rahmen die Trias-Ausstellung in über 20 Vitrinen und Postern einen Überblick zur Germanischen Trias, deren Fossilien im Vordergrund stehen. Aber auch die Geologie und regionale Beziehung zum Gestein werden behandelt. Immerhin wurde Nebraer Buntsandstein in Berlin und Hamburg verbaut, während Werksteine des Unteren Muschelkalks besonders bei regionalen Bauten
Die Trias-Ausstellung gibt einen Überblick zur Germanischen Trias und deren Fossilien.

In Nebra präsentiert im kleinen Rahmen die Trias-Ausstellung in über 20 Vitrinen und Postern einen Überblick zur Germanischen Trias, deren Fossilien im Vordergrund stehen. Aber auch die Geologie und regionale Beziehung zum Gestein werden behandelt. Immerhin wurde Nebraer Buntsandstein in Berlin und Hamburg verbaut, während Werksteine des Unteren Muschelkalks besonders bei regionalen Bauten Verwendung fanden (Naumburger Dom, Neuenburg Freyburg/U).

Das Bild des lebensfeindlichen und fossilleeren Buntsandsteins und Unteren Muschelkalks erfährt eine andere Darstellung. Diagenetisch bedingt sind Funde zwar selten, was aber nicht rein den primären Verhältnissen entspricht. Leider wirkt sich der starke Rückgang des Abbaus bzw. dessen Industrialisierung nachteilig aus. Neue Funde werden seltener, während historisches Material vielfach verstreut ist. Umso erfreulicher ist es, dass die Ausstellung auf zwei alte Sammlungen, die in der Region verblieben sind, aufbauen kann. Ein Teil entstammt den Beständen des Schloss Neuenburg (Freyburg/U) und geht auf H. Drescher aus den 1950/60er Jahre zurück mit Beständen aus dem 19.Jh. Weiteres Material gehört zu den der Geologisch-Paläontologischen Sammlungen der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg, ebenfalls mit Belegen ab der Mitte des 19. Jh. (Giebel, v. Fritsch). Im Rahmen eines internationalen Trias-Symposiums 1999 waren diese Teil einer Ausstellung, auf deren Inhalte und Exponate die Nebraer Triasausstellung in reduzierter Form zurückgreift.

Die fast 1000-jährige Steinindustrie hat früh Fossilfunde zu Tage gebracht und Eingang in der Literatur gefunden. Erste Beschreibungen triassischer Fossilien stammen von hier. Bereits 1710 beschreibt Büttner Cephalopoden (Kopffüßer) von Querfurt. Der Jenaer Professor Schmidt bezeichnete 1852 die Region als eine der fossilreichsten in ganz Thüringen. Zahlreichen Wirbeltierfunden führten zu ersten Beschreibungen mariner Reptilien und Fische der Trias (v. Meyer, zu Münster). Die zu Klassikern gewordenen Seelilienfunde von Freyburg/U. sind nicht die einzigen spektakulären Funde dieser mitteldeutschen Triaslandschaft. Allerdings sucht man nach typischen Muschelkalkfossilien, wie Ceratiten, vergebens. Anstelle finden sich Discoptychiten ("Ammoniten")und Nautiliden aus dem Unteren Muschelkalk. Neben Nothosaurier- und Placodus-Resten (Bastardechse, Pflasterzahnsaurier) besticht die Ausstellung mit Amphibienresten aus dem Mittleren Buntsandstein. Selten sieht man Material von Carnallicrinus, & Co. in dieser Qualität, auf so engem Raum.
 Mehr lesen
Dienstag - Freitag 10:00 Uhr - 16:00 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag nach Vereinbarung
  • Schlechtwetterangebot
  • für jedes Wetter
  • für Familien
  • für Individualgäste
  • Senioren geeignet
Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter www.naturpark-saale-unstrut.de

Wo:

Anschrift:

Geo-Naturpark Saale-Unstrut-Triasland e.V.

Promenade 13 a
06642 Nebra
Telefon: +49 34461 / 26905
E-Mail: info@naturpark-saale-unstrut.de
Webseite: http://www.naturpark-saale-unstrut.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing