Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Walk through Memleben

© Copyright by Falko Matte
Tour dates

extremely lightweight

2.2 km

00:31 h

113 m

121 m


 
Height profile

Description:

Discover sights and historical places in Memleben

Tour Highlights:
1 Memleben Monastery - Tourist Information
In the 10th century the place Memleben goes down in history. King Henry I and his son Emperor Otto I stayed here several times. As the place of death of Henry I (†936), Memleben stands at the beginning of Otto's reign, but at the same time also at the end of his emperorship, as Otto I dies here. The spirit of the former
Discover sights and historical places in Memleben

Tour Highlights:
1 Memleben Monastery - Tourist Information
In the 10th century the place Memleben goes down in history. King Henry I and his son Emperor Otto I stayed here several times. As the place of death of Henry I (†936), Memleben stands at the beginning of Otto's reign, but at the same time also at the end of his emperorship, as Otto I dies here. The spirit of the former Benedictine monastery, founded after Otto's death, can still be felt today. The magnificent ruins of the monastery church
fits idyllically between the monastery garden and the cloister buildings. The well-preserved late Romanesque crypt exerts a spiritual attraction on many. In addition to five exhibition areas, Memleben Monastery offers a regular programme of events, supported at times by Benedictine monks.
Museum of Memleben Monastery and Imperial Palace,
Thomas-Müntzer-Straße 48, 06642 Emperor's palace OT Memleben
Monastery gate with information terminal and free information material from the region
F15. March - 31 October: daily 10:00 - 18:00

2 Café at the monastery
Just opposite the museum Kloster und Kaiserpfalz you can stay overnight comfortably and centrally or enjoy homemade cake. Ice cream specialties and the beer garden are a good reason for a break, especially on warm days.
The in-house children's playground is particularly popular.

3 Memleben adventure animal park
Enjoy the great family experience in the Unstruttal and experience animals and nature up close. The Memleben adventure animal park offers numerous attractions and 3 shows which
can be found both covered and under the open sky. With the combination of indoor and outdoor areas, young and old have lots of fun regardless of the weather. You can expect: the parrot show (animal adventures full of obstacles with the macaws, cockatoos and grey parrots), the circus world in the new circus palace (changing shows with breathtaking artists and heart-stopping jokers) or the sea bear show. Exclusive insights into the great diversity of species are provided by exciting animal presentations such as the "Africa Safari".
Mönchsweg 1-2, 06642 Kaiserpfalz see www.erlebnistierpark.de

4 Memleben local history museum
The former residential and day labourer's cottage was first mentioned in a document in 1872, but is probably older. Acquired in 1994 by the partner association Wendelstein/Unteres Schwarzachtal, it was allowed to be used by the Heimatverein since then. In 2016 it was donated to the Heimatverein. The character of the Heimathaus was hardly changed visually thanks to loving renovation work in keeping with the preservation order (1994-2005, again from 2014). The complete renovation was rounded off with the planting of a pear tree in front of the Heimathaus to restore the typical character of the house.
image of the village. The Heimathaus is a clubhouse and meeting place for numerous cultural events in the village. The highlight is the opening of the house on the Open Monument Day in September.
Volkmar-Kroll Str. 5, 06642 Emperor's palace OT Memleben

5 Church of Saint Martin in Memleben
An imposing landmark of Memleben is the 30m high former fortified tower of the church of Memleben. The gothic sacral building was built in the 15th century and was baroqueized in the 18th century. The original fortified church is 30m long and 10.5m wide. 4 buttresses each support the southern and northern walls of the nave. The interior was renovated in 1726 and stucco was added to the wooden barrel ceiling. Since then a floating baptismal angel adorns the room. The pulpit altar, the altar crucifix and several wooden reliefs can be seen. The organ (1781, general repair from 2013-.
2016) can be heard at church services and concerts. From 1575 3 church bells are documented: The oldest fell victim to the metal donation in the 2nd World War. The bell from 1797 (bell foundry Laucha) is still present today. Since 2007 a sponsoring association has been supporting the church community in necessary restoration work. Thus, the restoration of the stucco ceiling, painting work in the sacristy, the
Repair of the tower stairs and the wall and the extension of the benches realized.
Am Plan, 06642 Imperial Palace
Open daily from April to September.

6 Stork's Nest, Restaurant & Pension "Zum Storchennest
The life of the storks is transmitted with a camera to an in-house TV system. In the pension you can stay overnight comfortably and be spoiled with regional dishes. Directly behind the house runs the Unstrut, here offers itself
a good fishing possibility for you. Boat and bicycle hire can be arranged here.
Am Plan 10, 06642 Imperial Palace
Specialities from the "Heißen Stein" and game dishes Right next to the restaurant is an inhabited stork's nest (April - August).

7 Walk along the Unstrut
The Unstrut is one of the two eponymous rivers of the Saale-Unstrut region, on which the power of the element was used as a transport route in earlier times. Today it is a popular destination for cyclists and water walkers. Various landing stages, locks and bridges along the river offer the desired anchor point on the way into the wine-growing area, in order to get to know the region not only from the water. The new hay bridge takes you to the other side of the Unstrut and offers a view of the Unstrut valley and the vineyards of the "Steinklöbe" single vineyard site.

8 Tumuli
From the monastery, take a detour into the nearby forest. There you will find some information boards on the "Archaeological Hiking Trail", which will give you an understanding of the history as well as the visible ground monuments. Some tumuli bear witness to the past. A barrow or a burial mound is a round earth-stone mound. Within it are burials from the Neolithic period with post-mortem burials from the Bronze Age,
which are often equipped with grave goods. The mounds may have fixtures, for example made of concentric circles, stone burial chambers or stone cists. Please follow the signs
 Read more
  • Difficulty: extremely lightweight
  • Condition: extremely lightweight
  • always open

Tour itinerary:

Contact:

Tourist information on the Finn

Thomas-Müntzer-Strasse 48
06642 Imperial Palace OT Memleben
Phone: +49 34465 / 701912
E-mail: info@saale-unstrut-tourismus.de
website: http://www.tourismus-finne.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Ortsspaziergang Memleben

© Copyright by Falko Matte
Tourdaten

sehr leicht

2.2 km

01:00 h

113 m

121 m


 
Höhenprofil

Beschreibung:

Entdecken Sie Sehenswürdigkeiten und historische Plätze in Memleben an der Unstrut.

Highlights der Tour:

1 Kloster Memleben – Tourist-Information
Im 10. Jh. geht der Ort Memleben in die Geschichte ein. Mehrfach halten sich König Heinrich I. und sein Sohn Kaiser Otto I. an diesem Ort auf. Als Sterbeort Heinrichs I. (†936) steht Memleben am Beginn der Herrschaft Ottos, gleichzeitig aber auch am Ende seines Kaisertums, da Otto I. hier verstirbt. Der Geist des einstigen
Entdecken Sie Sehenswürdigkeiten und historische Plätze in Memleben an der Unstrut.

Highlights der Tour:

1 Kloster Memleben – Tourist-Information
Im 10. Jh. geht der Ort Memleben in die Geschichte ein. Mehrfach halten sich König Heinrich I. und sein Sohn Kaiser Otto I. an diesem Ort auf. Als Sterbeort Heinrichs I. (†936) steht Memleben am Beginn der Herrschaft Ottos, gleichzeitig aber auch am Ende seines Kaisertums, da Otto I. hier verstirbt. Der Geist des einstigen Benediktinerklosters, das nach dem Tod Ottos gegründet wird, ist heute noch zu spüren. Die prächtige Klosterkirchenruine fügt sich idyllisch zwischen Klostergarten und Klausurbauten ein. Die gut erhaltene spätromanische Krypta übt auf viele eine spirituelle Anziehungskraft aus. Neben fünf Ausstellungsbereichen bietet das Kloster Memleben ein regelmäßiges Veranstaltungsprogramm an, das zeitweise von Benediktinermönchen unterstützt wird.

Museum Kloster und Kaiserpfalz Memleben,
Thomas-Müntzer-Straße 48, 06642 Kaiserpfalz OT Memleben
Klosterpforte mit Infoterminal und kostenfreiem Infomaterial aus der Region.
15. März – 31. Oktober: täglich 10.00 – 18.00 Uhr

2 Café am Kloster
Gleich gegenüber dem Museum Kloster und Kaiserpfalz können Sie bequem und zentral übernachten oder selbstgebackenen Kuchen genießen. Eisspezialitäten und der Biergarten sind gerade an warmen Tagen ein guter Grund für eine Pause. Besonders beliebt ist der hauseigene Kinderspielplatz.

3 Erlebnistierpark Memleben
Genießen Sie das große Familienerlebnis im Unstruttal und erleben Sie Tiere und Natur hautnah. Der Erlebnistierpark Memleben bietet zahlreiche Attraktionen und 3 Shows, die
sowohl überdacht als auch unter freiem Himmel zu finden sind. Mit der Kombination von Indoor- und Outdoorbereichen haben Jung und Alt wetterunabhängig jede Menge Spaß. Es erwarten Sie: die Papageienshow (tierische Abenteuer voller Hindernisse mit den Aras, Kakadus und Graupapageien), die Zirkuswelt im neuen Zirkuspalast (wechselnde Shows mit atemberaubenden Artisten und herzerfrischenden Spaßmachern) oder die Seebären-Show. Exklusive Einblicke in die große Artenvielfalt erhalten Sie bei spannenden Tierpräsentationen wie der „Afrika Safari“.

Mönchsweg 1-2, 06642 Kaiserpfalz siehe www.erlebnistierpark.de

4 Heimathaus Memleben
Das ehemalige Wohn- und Tagelöhnerhäuschen fand 1872 erstmalig urkundliche Erwähnung, ist vermutlich aber älter. 1994 durch den Partnerverein Wendelstein/Unteres Schwarzachtal erworben, durfte es seitdem vom Heimatverein genutzt werden. 2016 ging es per Schenkung in den Besitz des Heimatvereins über. Der Charakter des Heimathauses wurde Dank liebevoller denkmalgerechter Sanierungsarbeiten (1994-2005, wieder ab 2014) optisch kaum verändert. Abgerundet wurde die vollständige Sanierung mit dem Pflanzen eines Birnbaums vor das Heimathaus zur Wiederherstellung des typischen Ortsbildes. Das Heimathaus ist Vereinshaus und Treffpunkt für zahlreiche kulturelle Veranstaltungen im Ort. Höhepunkt ist die Öffnung des Hauses zum Tag des Offenen Denkmals im September.

Volkmar-Kroll Str. 5, 06642 Kaiserpfalz OT Memleben

5 Kirche Sankt Martin in Memleben
Ein imposantes Wahrzeichen Memlebens ist der 30m hohe ehemalige Wehrturm der Kirche von Memleben. Der gotische Sakralbau entstand im 15. Jahrhundert und wurde im 18. Jahrhundert barockisiert. Die ursprüngliche Wehrkirche ist 30m lang und 10,5m breit. Je 4 Strebepfeiler stützen die südliche und nördliche Mauer des Kirchenschiffs. Der Innenraum wurde 1726 erneuert und an die Holztonnendecke Stuck angebracht. Seitdem ziert ein schwebender Taufengel den Raum. Der Kanzelaltar, das Altarkruzifix und mehrere Holzreliefs sind zu sehen. Die Orgel (1781, Generalreparatur von 2013-
2016) ist bei Gottesdiensten und Konzerten zu hören. Ab 1575 sind 3 Kirchenglocken dokumentiert: Die Älteste fiel der Metallspende im 2. Weltkrieg zum Opfer. Die Glocke von 1797 (Glockengießerei Laucha) ist heute noch vorhanden. Seit 2007 unterstützt ein Förderverein die Kirchengemeinde bei notwendigen Restaurierungsarbeiten. So wurden bereits die Restaurierung der Stuckdecke, Malerarbeiten in der Sakristei, die Reparatur der Turmtreppe und der Mauer und die Erweiterung der Sitzbänke realisiert.

Am Plan, 06642 Kaiserpfalz
Von April bis September täglich geöffnet.

6 Storchennest, Restaurant & Pension "Zum Storchennest“
Das Leben der Störche wird mit einer Kamera auf eine hauseigene TV-Anlage übertragen. In der Pension können Sie bequem übernachten und sich mit regionalen Speisen verwöhnen lassen. Direkt hinter dem Haus verläuft die Unstrut, hier bietet sich Ihnen eine gute Angelmöglichkeit. Boots- und Fahrradverleih vermittelt man Ihnen hier gern.

Am Plan 10, 06642 Kaiserpfalz
Spezialitäten vom „Heißen Stein“ und Wildgerichte Gleich neben der Gaststätte befindet sich ein bewohntes Storchennest (April - August).

7 Spaziergang an der Unstrut
Die Unstrut ist einer der beiden namengebenden Flüsse der Region Saale-Unstrut, auf denen in der früheren Zeit die Kraft des Elements als Transportweg genutzt wurde. Heute ist er für Radler und Wasserwanderer ein beliebtes Ziel. Verschiedene Anlegestellen, Schleusen und Brücken bieten entlang des Flusses auf den Weg hinein in das Weinanbaugebiet den gewünschten Ankerpunkt, um die Region nicht nur vom Wasser aus kennenzulernen. Über die neue Heubrücke gelangen Sie auf die andere Seite der Unstrut und können den Blick in das Unstruttal und auf die Weinberge der Einzellage „Steinklöbe“ werfen.

8 Hügelgräber
Vom Kloster unternehmen Sie einen Abstecher in den nahegelegenen Wald. Dort finden Sie auf dem „Archäologischen Wanderweg“ einige Infotafeln, die Ihnen die Geschichte sowie die sichtbaren Bodendenkmale näherbringt. Einige Hügelgräber zeugen von der Vergangenheit. Ein Hügelgrab oder ein Grabhügel ist eine runde Erd-Steinaufschüttung. Darin befinden sich Grablegen aus der Jungsteinzeit mit Nachbestattungen der Bronzezeit,
die oft mit Beigaben ausgestattet sind. Die Hügel können Einbauten haben, zum Beispiel aus konzentrischen Kreisen, steinernen Grabkammern oder Steinkisten. Bitte folgen Sie der Beschilderung.
 Mehr lesen
  • Schwierigkeit: sehr leicht
  • Kondition: sehr leicht
  • immer geöffnet

Tourenverlauf:

Kontakt:

Tourist-Information an der Finne

Thomas-Müntzer-Straße 48
06642 Kaiserpfalz OT Memleben
Telefon: +49 34465 / 701912
E-Mail: info@saale-unstrut-tourismus.de
Webseite: http://www.tourismus-finne.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing