Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Castle bike tour, royal cities³ Merseburg Weißenfels Zeitz

© Copyright by Transmedial
Tour dates

easy

76.5 km

05:04 h

85 m

289 m

293 m

360 m
 
Height profile

Description:

Discover the former residence towns of Merseburg, Weißenfels and Zeitz by bike!

Impressive castle complexes bear witness to the cultural heritage of the cities. Exhibitions in the residence cities invite you to linger.

You can also enjoy culture by bike: The Castle Cycle Tour takes you to ducal palaces in Weißenfels, Merseburg and Zeitz. The total route of the tour should be divided into two or more daily stages in order to allow sufficient time to visit the venerable
Discover the former residence towns of Merseburg, Weißenfels and Zeitz by bike!

Impressive castle complexes bear witness to the cultural heritage of the cities. Exhibitions in the residence cities invite you to linger.

You can also enjoy culture by bike: The Castle Cycle Tour takes you to ducal palaces in Weißenfels, Merseburg and Zeitz. The total route of the tour should be divided into two or more daily stages in order to have enough time to visit the venerable residence towns and their numerous sights.

Stage 1: Zeitz - Weißenfels (Saale-Unstrut-Elster-Rad-Acht) The first stage of the Castle Cycle Tour follows the cycle path "Saale-Unstrut-Elster-Radacht". It begins in Zeitz and ends after about 50 km in Weißenfels. Even the beginning of the tour is culturally rich: Zeitz tells more than 1000 years of history. For more than 600 years the town was the seat of a bishop. The Michaeliskirche and the cathedral St. Peter and Paul bear witness to this. The baroque castle Moritzburg with its gatehouse, park and cathedral forms a remarkable ensemble. Both the Romanesque street and the "Garden Dreams" project lead here. Weißenfels, situated in the middle of the idyllic Saale landscape, was also a cultural focal point of supra-regional radiance in the Baroque era. Schloss Neu-Augustusburg became the centre of the fine arts. Heinrich Schütz, Johann Sebastian Bach, Georg Friedrich Händel, Georg Philipp Telemann and other great names are closely associated with Weißenfels. Besides the castle, the Heinrich Schütz House and the castle church are important sights.  

Stage 2: Weißenfels - Merseburg (Saale cycle path) The second stage leads from Weißenfels 30 km along the Saale cycle path to Merseburg. The local St. Johannes and Laurentius Cathedral is considered one of the most important cathedral buildings in Germany. Its foundation stone was laid over 1000 years ago. The church received its present form under Bishop Thilo von Trotha (1443-1514), who also had the neighbouring mighty Renaissance castle built. Saxon dukes later redesigned it in the late Renaissance style, added a Baroque pleasure garden and finally a pavilion for garden parties. Today the castle also houses a cultural history museum worth seeing. Total length: 80 km Historic Places: Zeitz - cathedral and castle Weißenfels - castle Neu-Augustusburg, Heinrich-Schütz-Haus Merseburg - castle and cathedral ensemble
 Read more
Start: Merseburg, Weißenfels or Zeitz
Point of origin:
Destination: Weißenfels, Merseburg or Zeitz
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Condition: easy
  • Suitable for cycling
  • Family friendly
  • Culturally interesting
  • Refreshment stop
  • Multi-day tour
  • Accommodation
  • Signage
  • Good connection to public transport
  • Mostly sunny
Directions: From Weißenfels to Merseburg along the river Saale The Saale cycle path from Weißenfels to Merseburg runs for about 30 km from Weißenfels - Weindörfer Burgwerben and Kriechau - Schkortleben - Großkorbetha - Bad Dürrenberg with spa gardens - Leuna with plastic park; From Zeitz to Weißenfels along the Saale-Unstrut-Elster-Radacht The Castle Cycle Tour from Zeitz to Weißenfels runs for about 50 km along the eastern route of the Saale-Unstrut-Elster-Radacht. Route Zeitz - Grana - Droyssig - Osterfeld - Großgestewitz - Mertendorf - Wethau - Schönburg - Leißling

Road markings: The path is not marked with a signpost. Between Weißenfels and Merseburg the tour runs on the Saaleradweg. Between Weißenfels and Zeitz on the Saale-Unstrut-Elster-Radacht.
  • always open

Tour itinerary:

Contact:

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Schlösserradtour, Residenzstädte³ Merseburg Weißenfels Zeitz

© Copyright by Transmedial
Tourdaten

leicht

76.5 km

05:04 h

85 m

289 m

293 m

360 m
 
Höhenprofil

Beschreibung:

Entdecken Sie die ehemaligen Residenzstädte Merseburg, Weißenfels und Zeitz mit dem Rad!

Imposante Schlossanlagen zeugen vom kulturellen Erbe der Städte. Ausstellungen in den Residenzstädten laden zum Verweilen ein.

Kulturgenuss geht auch per Fahrrad: Die Schlösser-Radtour führt zu herzoglichen Schlossanlagen in Weißenfels, Merseburg und Zeitz. Die Gesamtstrecke der Tour sollte in zwei oder mehr Tagesetappen geteilt werden, um ausreichend Zeit für Besichtigungen der ehrwürdigen
Entdecken Sie die ehemaligen Residenzstädte Merseburg, Weißenfels und Zeitz mit dem Rad!

Imposante Schlossanlagen zeugen vom kulturellen Erbe der Städte. Ausstellungen in den Residenzstädten laden zum Verweilen ein.

Kulturgenuss geht auch per Fahrrad: Die Schlösser-Radtour führt zu herzoglichen Schlossanlagen in Weißenfels, Merseburg und Zeitz. Die Gesamtstrecke der Tour sollte in zwei oder mehr Tagesetappen geteilt werden, um ausreichend Zeit für Besichtigungen der ehrwürdigen Residenzstädte und ihrer zahlreichen Sehenswürdigkeiten zu haben.

Etappe 1: Zeitz – Weißenfels (Saale-Unstrut-Elster-Rad-Acht) Die erste Etappe der Schlösser-Radtour folgt dem Radweg „Saale-Unstrut-Elster-Radacht“. Sie beginnt in Zeitz und endet nach etwa 50 km in Weißenfels. Bereits der Anfang der Tour hat es kulturell in sich: Zeitz erzählt mehr als 1000 Jahre Geschichte. Über 600 Jahre war die Stadt Bischofssitz. Davon zeugen die Michaeliskirche und der Dom St. Peter und Paul. Das Barockschloss Moritzburg ergibt mit Torhaus, Park und dem Dom ein bemerkenswertes Gesamtensemble. Sowohl die Straße der Romanik als auch das Projekt „Gartenträume“ führen hierher.  Auch Weißenfels, mitten in der idyllischen Saale-Landschaft gelegen, war im Barock ein kultureller Brennpunkt von überregionaler Strahlkraft. Schloss Neu-Augustusburg wurde zum Zentrum der schönen Künste. Heinrich Schütz, Johann Sebastian Bach, Georg Friedrich Händel, Georg Philipp Telemann und weitere große Namen sind eng mit Weißenfels verbunden. Neben dem Schloss sind das Heinrich-Schütz- Haus und die Schlosskirche bedeutende Sehenswürdigkeiten.  

Etappe 2: Weißenfels – Merseburg (Saaleradweg) Die zweite Etappe führt von Weißenfels 30 km entlang des Saaleradweges nach Merseburg. Der hiesige Dom St. Johannes und Laurentius gilt als einer der bedeutendsten Kathedralbauten Deutschlands. Vor über 1000 Jahren wurde sein Grundstein gelegt. Die heutige Gestalt erhielt das Gotteshaus unter Bischof Thilo von Trotha (1443-1514), der auch das benachbarte mächtige Renaissance-Schloss erbauen ließ. Sächsische Herzöge gestalteten es später im Stil der Spätrenaissance um, fügten einen barocken Lustgarten und schließlich einen Pavillon für Gartenfeste hinzu. Heute befindet sich im Schloss auch ein sehenswertes kulturhistorisches Museum.   Gesamtlänge: 80 km  Historische Orte: Zeitz – Dom und Schloss Weißenfels – Schloss Neu-Augustusburg, Heinrich-Schütz-Haus Merseburg – Schloss- und Domensemble
 Mehr lesen
Start: Merseburg, Weißenfels oder Zeitz
Ausgangspunkt:
Ziel: Weißenfels, Merseburg oder Zeitz
  • Schwierigkeit: leicht
  • Kondition: leicht
  • Fahrradtauglich
  • Familienfreundlich
  • Kulturell interessant
  • Einkehrmöglichkeit
  • Mehrtagestour
  • Unterkunftsmöglichkeit
  • Beschilderung
  • Gute Anbindung an ÖPNV
  • Überwiegend sonnig
Wegbeschreibung: Von Weißenfels nach Merseburg entlang der Saale Auf ungefähr 30 km führt der Saale-Radweg von Weißenfels nach Merseburg  Strecke Weißenfels - Weindörfer Burgwerben und Kriechau - Schkortleben - Großkorbetha - Bad Dürrenberg mit Kurpark - Leuna mit Plastikpark;  Von Zeitz nach Weißenfels entlang der Saale-Unstrut-Elster-Radacht Die Schlösser-Radtour von Zeitz nach Weißenfels verläuft auf ungefähr 50 km entlang der Ostroute der Saale-Unstrut-Elster-Radacht.  Strecke Zeitz - Grana - Droyßig - Osterfeld - Großgestewitz - Mertendorf - Wethau - Schönburg - Leißling

Wegekennzeichen: Der Weg ist nicht mit einem Wegekennzeichen markiert. Zwischen Weißenfels und Merseburg läuft die Tour auf dem Saaleradweg. Zwischen Weißenfels und  Zeitz auf der Saale-Unstrut-Elster-Radacht.
  • immer geöffnet

Tourenverlauf:

Kontakt:

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing