Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

City walk Laucha

© Copyright by Transmedial
Tour dates

extremely lightweight

2.2 km

01:30 h

107 m

119 m

9 m

 
Height profile

Description:

Discover sights and historical places in Laucha an der Unstrut.

Tour Highlights:

1 Market place and town hall
The eye-catcher on the market square is the magnificent town hall, inaugurated in 1563, testimony to the former wealth of the city. It is a typical Renaissance building. The rectangular ground plan, the multitude of asymmetrically arranged windows with bar embrasures, the column-supported cross-vaulted ceilings on the ground floor bear witness to this. The double-barrelled staircase added in 1913
Discover sights and historical places in Laucha an der Unstrut.

Tour Highlights:

1 Market place and town hall
The eye-catcher on the market square is the magnificent town hall, inaugurated in 1563, testimony to the former wealth of the city. It is a typical Renaissance building. The rectangular ground plan, the large number of asymmetrically arranged windows with bar embrasures, the column-supported cross-vaulted ceilings on the ground floor bear witness to this. The double flight of stone stairs, added in 1913, leads to the council hall with the original preserved
beautiful wooden beam ceiling and the stained glass windows donated by Laucha companies. In addition, changing exhibitions invite you to linger. On the ground floor there is a small museum on the history of the Unstrutbahn.

Market 1, 06636 Laucha an der Unstrut

2 St. Mary's Church
The Marienkirche, built between 1479 and 1514, is a late Gothic building which, due to several building measures, also shows typical features of the Renaissance. For example, the crossed bars at the entrance portal and the tracery windows with fish bubble pattern. The tower and roof collapsed in the fire of 1731 and were rebuilt. The tower is 56 m high and can be visited on guided tours. Worth seeing inside are the baptismal font from 1538 and the stained glass windows designed in 1896-98. The almost completely restored Eifert organ is worth hearing, e.g. during the regular organ week at the beginning of September.

Market 10, 06636 Laucha an der Unstrut

3 The old school from 1615
At its time it was the most modern school far and wide. The classrooms were large, bright through many windows on both sides, the roof already covered with tiles. A special ornament is the round arch portal with beautiful Renaissance decoration and two ornate seat stones. The inscription plate above the portal contains information about currently important persons, including the admonition: "You cannot learn, my little son, without the help of the teacher, therefore go to the teacher with haste.

4 City wall with upper gate
Walking along the promenade, you can see the well-preserved 1112 m long city wall from the 15th century. The only preserved town gate, the Upper Gate, is a rare sight. It is a forced gate with an outer gate, a barbican with walls and battlements as well as stairs to the battlements and an inner gate. In front of the passage to the inner gate there used to be a portcullis. Above the passage, an apartment was later built for the gatekeeper, which today houses a small museum.

5 Bell museum
The Laucha Museum is the only bell museum in Germany where you can relive the process of a bell casting from the drawing to the finished bell in an original bell foundry workshop with the help of the equipment and the necessary tools. From 1790 to 1911, the Ulrich family cast over 5000 bells here and made the town famous in Germany and abroad.

Bell museum street 2a, 06636 Laucha an der Unstrut
April to October: Wed.-Sun. and public holidays 10.00-12.00 h and 14.00-16.00 h

6 Unstrut mill and Unstrut lock
The Laucha mill is a townscape-defining ensemble of buildings. The grain mill, newly built in 1847, has been generating electricity on the side since 1910. Around 1975 the mill was shut down. After years of standstill, a mill enthusiast was found who first thoroughly renovated the buildings and then repaired the turbines, which today once again supply electricity. The old equipment of the flour mill is still in its original condition. The Unstrutschschleuse was important for the Unstrutsch navigation since 1728. Today it is used by water hikers.

7 Old sugar factory
The site of the sugar factory, which was dismantled in 1947, offers an example of the upgrading of an industrial wasteland that is worth seeing and emulating. In addition to the symbolically preserved factory chimney, many farm buildings were renovated by the two local investors and facilities that were ripe for demolition were dismantled. Thus, the unsightly wasteland developed into an attractive industrial area with a variety of uses. There is a wine press, a canoe rental, a hostel and holiday apartments, event rooms and a place for large events.

Old sugar factory 5, 06636 Laucha an der Unstrut
Guided tours possible by appointment.

8 town houses
Beautiful richly decorated doorways and gateways from the 16th-18th centuries can be found, for example, in the Obere Hauptstraße 37, 12 and No. 10 as well as in the Große Salzstraße 9.

Upper main street, 06636 Laucha an der Unstrut

Tip: Laucha-Dorndorf airfield
The glider airfield, which was opened in 1932, is located on the Dorndorf plateau. After a decade-long break, it was reopened in 1993 and developed into an important centre for air sports. In addition to the "Haus der Luftsportjugend" (House of Air Sports Youth) with a youth hostel, many air sports clubs pursue their hobby here, such as glider pilots, ultralight pilots, motor pilots, paraglider pilots, model aircraft builders and balloon pilots. The annual highlight is the flying days on the weekend before Whitsun.

At the airfield, 06636 Laucha an der Unstrut

Tourist-Information Laucha an der Unstrut
Guided city tours, guided tours of the Bell Museum and guided tours of the Old Sugar Factory by prior arrangement.

Market 1, 06636 Laucha an der Unstrut, Tel. 034462 70021
 Read more
  • Difficulty: extremely lightweight
  • Condition: extremely lightweight
  • always open

Tour itinerary:

Contact:

City information Laucha an der Unstrut

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Stadtrundgang Laucha

© Copyright by Transmedial
Tourdaten

sehr leicht

2.2 km

01:30 h

107 m

119 m

9 m

 
Höhenprofil

Beschreibung:

Entdecken Sie Sehenswürdigkeiten und historische Plätze in Laucha an der Unstrut.

Highlights der Tour:

1 Marktplatz und Rathaus
Blickfang am Marktplatz ist das 1563 eingeweihte prächtige Rathaus, Zeugnis vom einstigen Reichtum der Stadt. Es ist ein typischer Renaissance-Bau. Davon zeugen der rechteckige Grundriss, die Vielzahl der asymetrisch angeordneten Fenster mit Stablaibung, die säulengestützten Kreuzgewölbedecken im Erdgeschoss. Die 1913 angebaute doppelläufige
Entdecken Sie Sehenswürdigkeiten und historische Plätze in Laucha an der Unstrut.

Highlights der Tour:

1 Marktplatz und Rathaus
Blickfang am Marktplatz ist das 1563 eingeweihte prächtige Rathaus, Zeugnis vom einstigen Reichtum der Stadt. Es ist ein typischer Renaissance-Bau. Davon zeugen der rechteckige Grundriss, die Vielzahl der asymetrisch angeordneten Fenster mit Stablaibung, die säulengestützten Kreuzgewölbedecken im Erdgeschoss. Die 1913 angebaute doppelläufige Steintreppe führt in den Ratssaal mit der original erhaltenen
wunderschönen Holzbalkendecke und den von Lauchaer Firmen gespendeten Buntglasfenstern. Außerdem laden wechselnde Ausstellungen zum Verweilen ein. Im Erdgeschoss befindet sich ein kleines Museum zur Geschichte der Unstrutbahn.

Markt 1, 06636 Laucha an der Unstrut

2 Marienkirche
Die 1479 bis 1514 erbaute Marienkirche ist ein spätgotischer Bau, der durch mehrfache Baumaßnahmen auch typische Merkmale der Renaissance aufweist. So die überkreuzten Stäbe am Eingangsportal und die Maßwerkfenster mit Fischblasenmuster. Turm und Dach sind bei dem Brand von 1731 eingestürzt und neu erbaut worden. Der Turm ist 56 m hoch und bei angemeldeten Führungen begehbar. Sehenswert im Inneren sind der Taufstein von 1538 und die 1896-98 gestalteten Buntglasfenster. Hörenswert ist die fast völlig restaurierte Eifert-Orgel, z. b. bei der regelmäßig Anfang September stattfindenden Orgelwoche.

Markt 10, 06636 Laucha an der Unstrut

3 Die alte Schule von 1615
Sie war zu ihrer Zeit die modernste Schule weit und breit. Die Klassenräume waren groß, durch viele Fenster auf beiden Seiten hell, das Dach bereits mit Ziegeln gedeckt. Eine besondere Zierde ist das Rundbogenportal mit schönem Renaissancedekor und zwei verzierten Sitzsteinen. Die über dem Portal angebrachte Inschriftentafel enthält Angaben zu derzeit wichtigen Personen, darunter die Mahnung: Lernen kannst du mein Söhnchen, nicht ohne Hilfe des Lehrers, hin zum Lehrer darum begib dich eilenden Schrittes.

4 Stadtmauer mit Obertor
Bei einem Spaziergang auf der Promenade hat man die gut erhaltene 1112 m lange Stadtmauer aus dem 15. Jh. im Blick. Das einzige erhaltene Stadttor, das Obertor, ist eine seltene Sehenswürdigkeit. Es ist ein Zwingtor mit einem Außentor, einer Barbakane mit Mauern und Zinnen sowie Treppen zum Wehrgang und einem Innentor. Vor der Durchfahrt zum Innentor war früher ein Fallgitter angebracht. Über der Durchfahrt wurde später eine Wohnung für den Torwächter gebaut, in der sich heute ein kleines Museum befindet.

5 Glockenmuseum
Das Lauchaer Museum ist das einzige Glockenmuseum in Deutschland, in dem man in einer original erhaltenen Glockengießerwerkstatt den Werdegang eines Glockengusses von der Zeichnung bis zur fertigen Glocke anhand der Einrichtung und der benötigten Werkzeuge nacherleben kann. Von 1790 bis 1911 goss hier die Familie Ulrich über 5000 Glocken und machte die Stadt in Deutschland und im Ausland bekannt.

Glockenmuseumsstraße 2a, 06636 Laucha an der Unstrut
April bis Oktober: Mi.–So. und Feiertage 10.00–12.00 Uhr und 14.00–16.00 Uhr

6 Unstrutmühle und Unstrutschleuse
Die Lauchaer Mühle ist ein stadtbildprägendes Gebäudeensemble. Die 1847 neu gebaute Getreidemühle hat seit 1910 nebenbei bereits Strom erzeugt. Um 1975 wurde die Mühle stillgelegt. Nach jahrelangem Stillstand fand sich ein Mühlenfreund, der zunächst die Gebäude gründlich sanierte und dann die Turbinen instand setzte, die heute wieder Strom liefern. Die alten Einrichtungen der Getreidemühle sind noch im Original erhalten. Die Unstrutschleuse war seit 1728 wichtig für die Unstrutschifffahrt. Heute wird sie von den Wasserwanderern genutzt.

7 Alte Zuckerfabrik
Ein sehenswertes und nachahmenswertes Beispiel der Aufwertung einer Industriebrache bietet das Gelände der 1947 demontierten Zuckerfabrik. Neben dem symbolisch erhaltenen Fabrikschornstein wurden von den beiden einheimischen Investoren viele Wirtschaftsgebäude saniert und abrissreife Anlagen zurückgebaut. So entwickelte sich aus der unansehnlichen Brache ein schmuckes Gewerbegebiet mit vielfältiger Nutzung. Es gibt dort eine Weinkelterei, einen Kanuverleih, ein Hostel und Ferienwohnungen, Veranstaltungsräume und einen Ort für Großveranstaltungen.

Alte Zuckerfabrik 5, 06636 Laucha an der Unstrut
Führungen nach Anmeldung möglich.

8 Bürgerhäuser
Schöne reich verzierte Tür- und Toreingänge aus dem 16.-18. Jh. findet man z. b. in der Oberen Hauptstraße 37, 12 und Nr. 10 sowie in der Großen Salzstraße 9.

Obere Hauptstraße, 06636 Laucha an der Unstrut

Tipp: Flugplatz Laucha-Dorndorf
Auf dem Dorndorfer Plateau befindet sich der 1932 eröffnete Segelflugplatz. Nach jahrzehntelanger Pause konnte er 1993 wieder in Betrieb genommen und zu einem bedeutenden Zentrum des Luftsportes ausgebaut werden. Neben dem Haus der Luftsportjugend mit einer Jugendherberge betreiben hier viele Luftsportvereine ihr Hobby, so die Segelflieger, Ultraleichtflieger, Motorflieger, Gleitschirmflieger, Flugmodellbauer und Ballonflieger. Jährlicher Höhepunkt sind die Flugtage am Wochenende vor Pfingsten.

Am Flugplatz, 06636 Laucha an der Unstrut

Tourist-Information Laucha an der Unstrut
Stadtführungen, Glockenmuseumsführungen und Führungen Alte Zuckerfabrik auf Voranmeldung

Markt 1, 06636 Laucha an der Unstrut, Tel. 034462 70021
 Mehr lesen
  • Schwierigkeit: sehr leicht
  • Kondition: sehr leicht
  • immer geöffnet

Tourenverlauf:

Kontakt:

Stadtinformation Laucha an der Unstrut

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing