Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

"DRESDEN" - Reading with Prof. Dr. Michael Göring

© Copyright by DAVID AUSSERHOFER, DAVID_AUSSERHOFER

Description:

At the end of the Zeitz Literature Day, Prof. Dr. Michael Göring will read from his novel "Dresden".

The novel tells the story of the Gersberger family in the crucial years leading up to the fall of communism, a moving family history in which things also get into disarray for Fabian, a visitor to the West:
"Fabian felt awake, clear and open to new things, a feeling he did not experience for the first time in Dresden, and again he asked himself: Why here of all places?"
Fabian travels for the first time in 1975 to
At the end of the Zeitz Literature Day, Prof. Dr. Michael Göring will read from his novel "Dresden".

The novel tells the story of the Gersberger family in the crucial years leading up to the fall of communism, a moving family history in which things also get into disarray for Fabian, a visitor to the West:
"Fabian felt awake, clear and open to new things, a feeling he did not experience for the first time in Dresden, and again he asked himself: Why here of all places?"
Fabian travels to Dresden for the first time in 1975. He stays with friends of his parents. The student from Cologne wants to see if life in the "East Zone" is really as bad as his father always claims. Fabian quickly makes friends with his peers in Saxony and falls head over heels in love with Anne. This confusion of feelings is quickly caught up with everyday life in divided Germany, and when Fabian travels to Dresden again a year later, Anne is married and has given birth to their son Leo.
What could have been a great love affair despite the Iron Curtain develops into a deep friendship over the years. Fabian comes almost every year, seeks Anne's closeness, experiences how her brother Kai wants to swim through the Elbe to the West and fails. While Kai withdraws from the family in hatred of the GDR regime, his father Ekki remains convinced that the GDR is capable of reform. On 1 October 1989, Kai is on the train from Prague to Hof, and Fabian meets Anne in East Berlin.
Michael Göring, born in 1956, grew up in Westphalia. He has published five novels to date, most recently "Dresden. Novel of a Family". Michael Göring received the Dr Günther Buch Prize in 2019 for his work as a writer and in the humanities. Göring headed the non-profit ZEIT Foundation until the end of 2021 and teaches cultural and media management at the University of Music and Theatre in Hamburg.
 Read more
  • Bad weather offer
  • Target group adults
  • Target group seniors
  • entrance free

When:

Thursday 09.06.22 19:00

Where:

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

„DRESDEN“ – Lesung mit Prof. Dr. Michael Göring

© Copyright by DAVID AUSSERHOFER, DAVID_AUSSERHOFER

Beschreibung:

Zum Abschluss des Zeitzer Literaturtages liest Prof. Dr. Michael Göring aus seinem Roman „Dresden“.

Der Roman erzählt die Geschichte der Familie Gersberger in den entscheidenden Jahren bis zur Wende, eine bewegende Familiengeschichte, in der auch beim Westbesucher Fabian einiges in Unordnung gerät:
»Fabian fühlte sich wach, klar und offen für Neues, ein Gefühl, das er nicht zum ersten Mal in Dresden erlebte, und wieder fragte er sich: Warum gerade hier?«
Fabian reist 1975 zum ersten Mal nach
Zum Abschluss des Zeitzer Literaturtages liest Prof. Dr. Michael Göring aus seinem Roman „Dresden“.

Der Roman erzählt die Geschichte der Familie Gersberger in den entscheidenden Jahren bis zur Wende, eine bewegende Familiengeschichte, in der auch beim Westbesucher Fabian einiges in Unordnung gerät:
»Fabian fühlte sich wach, klar und offen für Neues, ein Gefühl, das er nicht zum ersten Mal in Dresden erlebte, und wieder fragte er sich: Warum gerade hier?«
Fabian reist 1975 zum ersten Mal nach Dresden. Er kommt bei Freunden der Eltern unter. Der Student aus Köln will sehen, ob das Leben in der „Ostzone“ wirklich so schlecht ist, wie sein Vater immer behauptet. Fabian freundet sich schnell mit Gleichaltrigen in Sachsen an und verliebt sich Hals über Kopf in Anne. Diese Verwirrung der Gefühle wird rasch eingeholt vom Alltag im geteilten Deutschland, und als Fabian ein Jahr später erneut nach Dresden reist, ist Anne verheiratet und hat ihren Sohn Leo zur Welt gebracht.
Was trotz des Eisernen Vorhangs eine große Liebe hätte werden können, entwickelt sich über die Jahre zu einer tiefen Freundschaft. Fabian kommt fast jedes Jahr, sucht Annes Nähe, erlebt, wie ihr Bruder Kai durch die Elbe schwimmend in den Westen will und scheitert. Während Kai sich im Hass auf das DDR-Regime der Familie entzieht, ist dessen Vater Ekki weiterhin davon überzeugt, dass die DDR reformfähig ist. Am 1. Oktober 1989 sitzt Kai im Zug von Prag nach Hof, und Fabian trifft sich mit Anne in Ostberlin.
Michael Göring, Jahrgang 1956, ist in Westfalen aufgewachsen. Von ihm erschienen bislang fünf Romane, zuletzt 2021 bei Osburg „Dresden. Roman einer Familie“. Für sein schriftstellerisches und geisteswissenschaftliches Werk erhielt Michael Göring 2019 den Dr. Günther Buch-Preis. Göring leitete bis Ende 2021 die gemeinnützige ZEIT-Stiftung und unterrichtet Kultur- und Medienmanagement an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hamburg.
 Mehr lesen
  • Schlechtwetterangebot
  • Zielgruppe Erwachsene
  • Zielgruppe Senioren
  • Eintritt frei

Wann:

Donnerstag 09.06.22 19:00

Wo:

Veranstaltungsort:

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing