Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Theatre "The Count of Monte Cristo

Description:



"You are the breath, the water, the fire and the earth... Edmond!"

What a title! More is hardly possible in world literature. Alexandre Dumas's story of the seafarer Edmond Dantès, who later becomes an avenging angel in his own right as the Count of Monte Cristo, published between 1844 and 1846 as a serial novel for the magazine "Le Journal des débats", still achieves unimagined worldwide success today.


"You are the breath, the water, the fire and the earth... Edmond!"

What a title! More is hardly possible in world literature. Alexandre Dumas' story of the seafarer Edmond Dantès, who later becomes an avenging angel in his own right as the Count of Monte Christo, published between 1844 and 1846 as a serial novel for the magazine "Le Journal des débats", still achieves unimagined success worldwide today. Even the name of one of the most famous Cuban cigar brands can be traced back to Dumas' literary feat: the workers rolling tobacco leaves were read to while they worked and "The Count of Monte Christo" was one of the most popular stories. It probably also had something to do with the fact that an individual in post-Napoleonic France in the 1830s freed himself from his personal hell and took up arms against the sky-scraping injustice done to him. Edmond, who returns to France as a mysterious, sophisticated Count of Monte Cristo endowed with seemingly infinite wealth, encounters a bigot-libidinous, self-enriching upper class, whom he seduces, fools and ultimately plunges into their abyss with brilliantly vicious intelligence.
Filmed many times and already realised as a great musical, this story has hardly ever been seen as a play on the theatre stage. Especially not as a guest performance on a theatre tour. So it's high time! Especially when you have an author like Susanne Felicitas Wolf at your side. She is the specialist for dramatisations of the "thick tomes", she always seeks and finds the connection to our time. In the case of Dumas' novel, these are religious fanaticism, intrigues and conspiracies, criticism of an affluent society and its handling of resources, spiritual questions, traumas and the mechanisms of collective repression.
Her "Pope Joan", based on the bestseller by Donna W. Cross, brought our theatrelust great success in 2014 and the Inthega prize "Die Neuberin" for the best touring theatre production in the 2013/14 season. And right now, in times of pandemic and crisis, we want to dare great things again and bring a story to the stage that tells of absolute determination, willpower, dangerous adventures, loneliness, ethos and great love. And those who know our theatre work know that this will be done with imagination and the diverse, associative means of theatre. A great challenge that we take on with the greatest possible theatrical enthusiasm.
 Read more

When:

Friday 11.11.22 19:00

Where:

Venue:

Culture house Weißenfels

Merseburger Street 14
06667 Weissenfels
Phone: +49 3443 / 370339
E-mail: veranstaltungsmanagement@weissenfels.de

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Theater "Der Graf von Monte Christo"

Beschreibung:



„Du bist der Atem, das Wasser, das Feuer und die Erde… Edmond!“

Was für ein Titel! Mehr ist in der Weltliteratur kaum möglich.  Alexandre Dumas zwischen 1844 und 1846 als Fortsetzungsroman für die Zeitschrift „Le Journal des débats“ erschienene Geschichte des Seefahrers Edmond Dantès, der später als Graf von Monte Christo zum Racheengel in eigener Sache wird, erzielt bis heute weltweit ungeahnte


„Du bist der Atem, das Wasser, das Feuer und die Erde… Edmond!“

Was für ein Titel! Mehr ist in der Weltliteratur kaum möglich.  Alexandre Dumas zwischen 1844 und 1846 als Fortsetzungsroman für die Zeitschrift „Le Journal des débats“ erschienene Geschichte des Seefahrers Edmond Dantès, der später als Graf von Monte Christo zum Racheengel in eigener Sache wird, erzielt bis heute weltweit ungeahnte Erfolge. Sogar der Name einer der berühmtesten kubanischen Zigarrenmarken geht  auf Dumas literarische Großtat zurück: Den Tabakblätter rollenden Arbeiterinnen und Arbeitern wurde während der Arbeit vorgelesen und „Der Graf von Monte Christo“ war eine der beliebtesten Geschichten. Vermutlich hat es auch daran gelegen haben, dass sich ein einzelner im nachnapoleonischen Frankreich der 1830er Jahre aus seiner persönlichen Hölle befreit und gegen das ihm angetane, himmelschreiende Unrecht zu Felde zieht. Der als geheimnisvoll-, mondäner, mit scheinbar unendlichem Reichtum ausgestatteter Graf von Monte Christo nach Frankreich zurückkehrende Edmond, trifft auf eine bigott-libidinöse, selbstbereichernde Upper Class, die er mit brillant-bösartiger Intelligenz verführt, narrt und schließlich in ihren Abgrund stürzt.
Vielfach verfilmt und bereits als großes Musical umgesetzt, hat man diese Geschichte als Schauspiel auf der Theaterbühne bisher kaum gesehen. Schon gar nicht als Gastspiel auf Theatertournee. Es ist also höchste Zeit! Vor allem dann, wenn man eine Autorin wie Susanne Felicitas Wolf an seiner Seite hat. Sie ist die Spezialistin für Dramatisierungen der „dicken Wälzer“, sie sucht und findet immer die Verbindung zu unserer Zeit. Im Falle von Dumas Roman sind das religiöser Fanatismus, Intrigen und Verschwörungen,  Kritik an einer Überfluss-Gesellschaft und ihrem Umgang mit Ressourcen, spirituelle Fragestellungen, Traumata und die Mechanismen kollektiver Verdrängung.
Ihre „Päpstin“ nach dem Bestseller von Donna W. Cross bescherte unserer theaterlust 2014 einen großen Erfolg und den Inthega-Preis „Die Neuberin“ für die beste Tourneetheaterproduktion in der Spielzeit 2013/14. Und gerade jetzt, in Zeiten von Pandemie und Krise, wollen wir wieder Großes wagen und eine Geschichte auf die Bühne bringen, die von absoluter Entschlossenheit, Willensstärke, gefährlichen Abenteuern, Einsamkeit, Ethos und großer Liebe erzählt. Und wer unsere Theaterarbeit kennt, weiß, dass dies mit Phantasie und den vielfältigen, assoziativen Mitteln des Theaters geschehen wird. Eine große Herausforderung, der wir uns mit größtmöglicher Theaterlust stellen.
 Mehr lesen

Wann:

Freitag 11.11.22 19:00

Wo:

Veranstaltungsort:

Kulturhaus Weißenfels

Merseburger Straße 14
06667 Weißenfels
Telefon: +49 3443 / 370339
E-Mail: veranstaltungsmanagement@weissenfels.de

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing