Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
s

Theatre "Recipient unknown

Description:

The event will be moved from 28.10.2022 to 15.04.2023.

The two friends Max Eisenstein and Martin Schulze ran a successful art gallery in San Francisco until Martin returned to Germany with his young family in 1932. From then on, the two men maintained an intensive correspondence that reflected their family friendship and their cosmopolitan, liberal spirit.
While Martin in his old home Munich is becoming more and more
The event will be moved from 28.10.2022 to 15.04.2023.

The two friends Max Eisenstein and Martin Schulze ran a successful art gallery in San Francisco until Martin returned to Germany with his young family in 1932. From then on, the two men maintained an intensive correspondence that reflected their family friendship and their cosmopolitan, liberal spirit.
While Martin is putting down more and more social roots in his old home in Munich and beginning to make friends with the new political system, Max, a Jew in America, is worried about developments in Germany. He fears above all for his young sister Gisela, who works as an actress in Berlin.
One day Max receives a letter written to his sister in Germany with the note: RECIPIENT UNKNOWN - an alarming sign for him.
Worried about his sister, he desperately asks his friend Martin in Germany for help: in fact, the young Jewish woman is being persecuted by the SA and seeks refuge with Martin. But Martin - by now euphoric about the new political system of the National Socialists - demands that the correspondence between the former friends must end. Since letters from abroad are controlled and censored by state organs, he understandably could not and did not want to afford any more contact with a Jew and thus create a danger for himself and his family.
Then Max makes a surprising decision and the fate of the former friends takes an unexpected turn.
This "letter drama" was first published in 1938 and immediately caused a tremendous stir. Even at this early stage, the fictional correspondence narratively portrayed the corrosive poison of National Socialism. Its late publication in Germany in 2000 amounted to a literary sensation.
 Read more
  • published

When:

Saturday 15.04.23 20:00 - 22:00

Where:

Venue:

Culture house Weißenfels

Merseburger Street 14
06667 Weissenfels
Phone: +49 3443 / 370339
E-mail: veranstaltungsmanagement@weissenfels.de

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Theater "Empfänger unbekannt"

Beschreibung:



Die beiden Freunde Max Eisenstein und Martin Schulze haben in San Francisco eine erfolgreiche Kunstgalerie betrieben bis Martin 1932 mit seiner jungen Familie nach Deutschland zurückkehrt. Die beiden Männer unterhalten fortan einen intensiven Briefwechsel, der ihre familiäre Freundschaft und ihren weltoffenen, liberalen Geist spiegelt.
Während Martin in seiner alten Heimat München mehr und mehr


Die beiden Freunde Max Eisenstein und Martin Schulze haben in San Francisco eine erfolgreiche Kunstgalerie betrieben bis Martin 1932 mit seiner jungen Familie nach Deutschland zurückkehrt. Die beiden Männer unterhalten fortan einen intensiven Briefwechsel, der ihre familiäre Freundschaft und ihren weltoffenen, liberalen Geist spiegelt.
Während Martin in seiner alten Heimat München mehr und mehr gesellschaftliche Wurzeln schlägt und beginnt, sich mit dem neuen politischen System anzufreunden, macht sich der Jude Max in Amerika Sorgen über die Entwicklungen in Deutschland. Er fürchtet vor allem um seine junge Schwester Gisela, die als Schauspielerin in Berlin arbeitet.
Eines Tages erhält Max einen an seine Schwester in Deutschland geschriebenen Brief mit dem Vermerk zurück: EMPFÄNGER UNBEKANNT – für ihn ein alarmierendes Zeichen.
In Sorge um die Schwester bittet er seinen Freund Martin in Deutschland verzweifelt um Hilfe: tatsächlich wird die junge jüdische Frau von der SA verfolgt und sucht bei Martin Zuflucht. Aber Martin – inzwischen dem neuen politischen System der Nationalsozialisten euphorisch zugetan- verlangt, dass der Briefwechsel der ehemaligen Freunde zu enden hat. Da Briefe aus dem Ausland durch staatliche Organe kontrolliert und zensiert werden, könne und wolle er sich verständlicherweise keinen Kontakt mehr zu einem Juden leisten und damit eine Gefahr für sich und seine Familie heraufbeschwören.
Da trifft Max eine überraschende Entscheidung und das Schicksal der ehemaligen Freunde nimmt eine unerwartete Wendung.
Dieses „Letter-Drama“ wurde 1938 erstmals veröffentlicht und erregte sogleich ungeheures Aufsehen. Schon zu diesem frühen Zeitpunkt hat der fiktive Briefwechsel das zersetzende Gift des Nationalsozialismus erzählerisch dargestellt. Die späte Veröffentlichung in Deutschland im Jahre 2000 kam einer literarischen Sensation gleich.
 Mehr lesen

Wann:

Freitag 28.10.22 20:00

Wo:

Veranstaltungsort:

Kulturhaus Weißenfels

Merseburger Straße 14
06667 Weißenfels
Telefon: +49 3443 / 370339
E-Mail: veranstaltungsmanagement@weissenfels.de

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing