Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Of landgraves, kings and emperors

Eckartsburg from above Eckartsberga

Embedded in dreamlike landscapes, a castle-monastery-castle excursion offers wonderful historical and Romanesque insights into the Saale and Unstrut rivers.

Start your day trip as Landgrave of Thuringia and climb the mighty keep of the romantic castle complex in Eckartsberga. From there you can let your gaze wander far into the country and get an overview of Eckartsburg Castle. First mentioned in 1134, a small inner courtyard and a castle restaurant invite you to linger. Romanesque elements draw the eye there again and again.

Via the Finne mountain range you reach the Unstrut valley and immerse yourself in the medieval everyday life of the monastery in Memleben. At the place where King Henry I and Emperor Otto the Great died, the development of architectural styles from Romanesque to Gothic is easy to follow thanks to the remains of two monastery churches (10th and 13th centuries). Above all, a late Romanesque crypt is the secret tip here. A midday snack or a piece of homemade cake from the monastery shop provides refreshment for the journey on to the most powerful castle complex on the Saale and Unstrut rivers.

Arrived at Querfurt Castle, a magnificent castle complex presents itself to you. As the largest castle in Central Germany, it even surpasses the famous Wartburg in Eisenach seven times in size. The oldest components date back to the 9th century. The castle church is particularly recommended for Romanesque pilgrims.

Contact I
Eckartsburg
Castle trail 13B
06648 Eckartsberga 
T 034467 20415
www.eckartsburg.de
Opening hours
April-October   
daily from 10.00 o'clock
November-March  
Sat/Sun from 11.00
January
only by arrangement

Contact II
Memleben Monastery and Imperial Palace Museum
Thomas-Müntzer-Strasse 48
06642 Imperial Palace OT Memleben
info@kloster-memleben.de
www.kloster-memleben.de
Opening hours
March 15 to October 31.
daily 10.00 to 18.00 hours
11/01 to 03/14.
10.00 to 16.00 hours
outdoor only

Contact III
Querfurt Castle
06268 Cross ford
burg.querfurt@saalekreis.de
www. burg-querfurt.com
Opening hours
November - March
Monday closed
Tuesday - Sunday 10:00 - 16:00
April - October
Closed on Mondays
Tuesday - Sunday 10:00 -18:00

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing

What would you like
do next?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Von Landgrafen, Königen und Kaisern

Eckartsburg von oben Eckartsberga

Eingebettet in traumhafte Landschaften bietet ein Burg-Kloster-Burg-Ausflug wunderbare historische und roman(t)ische Einblicke an Saale und Unstrut.

Beginnen Sie Ihren Tagesausflug als Landgraf von Thüringen und erklimmen den mächtigen Bergfried der romantischen Burganlage in Eckartsberga. Von dort lassen Sie Ihren Blick weit ins Land schweifen und verschaffen sich einen Überblick von der Eckartsburg. 1134 erstmalig erwähnt, laden ein kleiner Innenhof sowie ein Burgrestaurant zum Verweilen ein. Romanische Elemente ziehen dort den Blick immer wieder auf sich.

Über den Höhenzug der Finne gelangen Sie ins Unstruttal und tauchen im Kloster Memleben in den mittelalterlichen Klosteralltag ein. Am Sterbeort von König Heinrich I. und Kaiser Otto dem Großen ist die Entwicklung der Baustile von der Romanik zur Gotik durch die Reste zweier Klosterkirchen (10. und 13. Jh.) gut nachvollziehbar. Vor allem eine spätromanische Krypta ist hier der Geheimtipp. Ein Mittagsimbiss oder ein Stück hausgemachter Kuchen aus dem Klosterladen, sorgt für eine Stärkung für die Weiterreise zur mächtigsten Burganlage an Saale und Unstrut.

Angekommen an der Burg Querfurt, präsentiert sich Ihnen eine prächtige Burganlage. Als größte Burg Mitteldeutschlands übertrifft sie sogar die berühmte Eisenacher Wartburg um ein siebenfaches in der Größe. Die ältesten Bauteile reichen bis in das 9. Jh. zurück. Für Romanik-Pilger ist die Burgkirche besonders zu empfehlen.

Kontakt I
Eckartsburg
Verbandsgemeinde An der Finne
Haus des Gastes/ Tourist-Information
Bürgergarten 1
06647 Bad Bibra
T 034465 701912
www.vgem-finne.de

Kontakt II
Museum Kloster und Kaiserpfalz Memleben
Thomas-Müntzer-Straße 48
06642 Kaiserpfalz OT Memleben
info@kloster-memleben.de
www.kloster-memleben.de
Öffnungszeiten
15.03. bis 31.10.
täglich 10.00 bis 18.00 Uhr
01.11. bis 14.03.
10.00 bis 16.00 Uhr
nur Außenanlage

Kontakt III
Burg Querfurt
06268 Querfurt
burg.querfurt@saalekreis.de
www. burg-querfurt.de
Öffnungszeiten
November – März
Montag geschlossen
Dienstag – Sonntag 10:00 – 16:00 Uhr
April – Oktober
Montags geschlossen
Dienstag – Sonntag 10:00 -18:00 Uhr

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Aktie auf facebook
Aktie auf twitter
Aktie auf pinterest
Aktie auf linkedin
Aktie auf xing

Was möchten Sie
als Nächstes tun?