Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Early blossomers in Saale-Unstrut - winter bulbs and spring snowflakes entice you outdoors

Early bloomers in Saale-Unstrut - Winterlings (c) Heidi Heldt

Explore early bloomers in Saale-Unstrut - here is where to find them

The first rays of sunshine in spring are always the moment when we start looking for suitable destinations for a spring hike. Saale-Unstrut, as a nature-oriented travel region, has a few beautiful places to offer, where winter bulbs and mullein are in full bloom.

Did you know that... the first Winter Lilies came to came over the Alps to Central Europe as early as the 16th century?
placeholder

Winterling Days in Ostrava are celebrated every year

Harmoniously embedded in the cultural landscape of Saxony-Anhalt, to the north-east of Halle, lies the Baroque Castle Ostrava. The location and building are intercultural in their history: The palace was designed by the electoral Hanoverian court architect Louis Remy de la Fosse in the French-Italian style, on a Slavic settlement island of
The castle was built in the 9th century and is surrounded by one of the first English landscape gardens on German soil. The 14-hectare castle park is a paradise for dreamy walks and leisurely strolls.

Our tip: Winterling Days from mid-February to mid-March 2022

During the Winterling Days, visitors can expect cultural and culinary delights in addition to the impressive natural experience offered by the bright yellow early-flowering meadows in the park. The current programme is available at www.ostrau.de to find.

Early bloomers in Saale-Unstrut (c) Heidi Heldt
Early bloomers in Saale-Unstrut (c) Heidi Heldt
Winter flowers (c) Heidi Heldt
Winter flowers (c) Heidi Heldt
Early bloomers in Saale-Unstrut - Winterlings (c) Heidi Heldt
Early bloomers in Saale-Unstrut - Winterlings (c) Heidi Heldt

Near Jena there is a whole hiking trail to the Winterlings

In the Thuringian part of Saale-Unstrut, not far from Jena in the Rautal, numerous hikers enjoy the yellow blossoms of the winter butterfly every year. The unique occurrence of this early-flowering plant near Closewitz on this scale is extremely unusual. From Closewitz it is only about 700 metres to the sea of blossoms.

Presumably in the 17th century, the wintercreepers migrated with vines from southern Europe - lucky for today's people who are looking for early bloomers in Saale-Unstrut. The favourable climate of the Jena valley basin and the near-natural composition of the forest stand favour the natural spread of the winter bulbs.

Our tip: Winterlinge circular trail near Jena
At www.visit-jena.de you will find the most important information on the Winterlinge circular trail. There is also a short video to whet your appetite to go on the trail of the Winterlings.

Did you know that... about 300 flowers grow on one square metre? This means that there are about 1.6 million yellow-flowered plants growing in the entire area around Closewitz. It can be as many as 5 million.
placeholder

The Märzenbechertal valley near Landgrafroda

In the Ziegelroda forest, not far from Querfurt, southwest of the district of Landgrafroda lies the Märzenbecher Valley. The slopes of the Kerbtal are overgrown with beech and oak trees and offer the best conditions for the marchflowers. They have spread widely and form a refreshing sight after the long winter period during the flowering season between the end of February and the beginning of April.

Hikers experience a carpet of millions of the white, calyx-like flowers with the typical green dots. The Marzenbecher is a protected species and attracts numerous visitors from near and far to Saale-Unstrut every year. 

The Märzenbechertal valley near Landgrafroda has even been designated as an areal natural monument since 1989. 
Let's go there! Early blossoms in Saale-Unstrut couldn't be more fascinating.

Our tip: Hike through the Märzenbechertal valley
You can start in Landgrafenroda at the fire station. A short round trip is around 4 kilometres, but it is also possible to spend the day longer in the Ziegelroda forest.

Fairy-cup forest near Ossig in the Zeitz forest

Not far from Zeitz - between the Gutenborn municipality and Weather Station - the small village of Ossig lies in the middle of the Aga-Elster Valley and Zeitz Forest landscape conservation area in the extreme south of Saxony-Anhalt on the border to Thuringia. The characteristic hilly landscape, the highest point of which is the Grabeholzhöhe at 299 metres above sea level, encompasses the deep valleys of the White Elster and the Aga as well as the adjacent plateaus. The Zeitz Forest is the largest, relatively undeveloped forest area in southern Saxony-Anhalt.

Especially in spring - at the time of the early blossoms - the inhabitants of Ossig get more visitors than they are used to. Sun-seekers and spring excursionists are on their way to the mullein forest to find the small calyx flowers with the green dots.

It depends a little on the weather and precipitation when the snowflakes are in full bloom. Sometimes it can be as early as mid-February, in other years actually as late as March. Maybe you should just plan several trips so as not to miss the most beautiful moment.

Our tip: From Ossig along the Märzenbecherweg trail
If you follow the Aga from Ossig, you will soon come across a signpost that leads you through the Märzenbecherwald. If the excursion is not enough for you, take the path towards Breitenbach. Varied, romantic and beautiful.

The Ossiger Raststübl is a small refreshment stop. However, as there are only a few seats in the restaurant, the operators would be pleased if you could book in advance (Tel. 034423 22019).

With care and caution to the joys of spring!
An important note should be made here. The snowflake is a protected species and therefore worthy of protection. Please stay on the paths and ensure with your considerate behaviour that the joys of spring can give us pleasure for many years to come.

Marzenbecher near Neuengönna and Hirschroda

In the Erdengraben between Dornburg and Neuengönna, the Marzenbecher occurs over a larger area. Its habitat is the moist, loamy soil of floodplain and deciduous forests. As you have already read, Saale-Unstrut can enjoy several meadows and forests where the mullein occurs in abundance.

The small village of Neuengönna lies between the City of Light Jena and Dornburg-Camburg with its beautiful Dornburg Castles. From Dornburg in a northerly direction along the Saale, the route goes via Hirschroda to Camburg. 

Marchflower very close (c) Municipality of Gutenborn, Kinderfestverein Ossig e.V.
Marchflower very close (c) Municipality of Gutenborn, Kinderfestverein Ossig e.V.
Our tip: Take the public transport to the snowflakes

Neuengönna is very easy to reach by train - or rather: the places around it. Coming from Jena, you should get off at Porstendorf and then walk for about half an hour to Neuengönna. The second option is to get off in Dornburg-Camburg - this way you have the Dornburg castles above the vine-covered shell limestone rock right in front of you as another highlight of the hike. If you prefer to start from Dornburg in the direction of Camburg If you want to hike, that is also possible. Between Hirschroda and Wichmar, the snowflake also appears in large numbers.

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing

What would you like
do next?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Frühblüher in Saale-Unstrut – Winterlinge und Märzenbecher locken nach draußen

Frühblüher in Saale-Unstrut - Winterlinge (c) Heidi Heldt

Frühblüher in Saale-Unstrut erkunden - hier sind sie zu finden

Die ersten Sonnenstrahlen im Frühjahr sind immer wieder der Moment, an dem wir uns auf die Suche nach den passenden Zielen für eine Frühjahrswanderung machen. Saale-Unstrut als naturnahe Reiseregion hat ein paar wunderschöne Orte zu bieten, an denen Winterlinge und Märzenbecher in voller Blüte stehen.

Wussten Sie, dass... die ersten Winterlinge schon im 16. Jahrhundert über die Alpen nach Mitteleuropa kamen?
placeholder

Winterling-Tage in Ostrau werden jedes Jahr gefeiert

Harmonisch eingebettet in die Kulturlandschaft Sachsen-Anhalts liegt, nordöstlich von Halle, das Barockschloss Ostrau. Standort und Gebäude sind in ihrer Geschichte interkulturell geprägt: Das Schloss wurde vom kurfürstlich-hannoverschen Hofarchitekten Louis Remy de la Fosse im französisch-italienischen Stil entworfen, auf einer slawischen Siedlungsinsel aus
dem 9. Jahrhundert errichtet und es ist umgeben von einem der ersten englischen Landschaftsgärten auf deutschem Boden. Der 14 Hektar große Schlosspark ist ein Paradies für verträumte Spaziergänge und gemächlichen Lustwandel.

Unser Tipp: Winterling-Tage von Mitte Februar bis Mitte März 2022

Im Rahmen der Winterling-Tage erwartet die Besucher neben dem beeindruckenden Naturerlebnis, das die leuchtend gelben Frühblüher-Wiesen im Park bieten, auch kultureller und kulinarischer Genuss. Das aktuelle Programm ist unter www.ostrau.de zu finden.

Frühblüher in Saale-Unstrut (c) Heidi Heldt
Frühblüher in Saale-Unstrut (c) Heidi Heldt
Winterlinge (c) Heidi Heldt
Winterlinge (c) Heidi Heldt
Frühblüher in Saale-Unstrut - Winterlinge (c) Heidi Heldt
Frühblüher in Saale-Unstrut - Winterlinge (c) Heidi Heldt

Bei Jena gibt es einen ganzen Wanderweg zu den Winterlingen

Im thüringischenTeil von Saale-Unstrut, nicht weit von Jena entfernt im Rautal, erfreuen sich jedes Jahr zahlreiche Wanderer an den gelben Blüten des Winterlings. Das einmalige Vorkommen dieses Frühblühers bei Closewitz in dieser Größenordnung ist ausgesprochen ungewöhnlich. Von Closewitz aus sind es nur rund 700 Meter, bis das Blütenmeer erreicht ist.

Vermutlich im 17. Jahrhundert sind die Winterlinge mit Weinreben aus Südeuropa eingewandert – ein Glück für die heutigen Menschen, die auf der Suche nach Frühblühern in Saale-Unstrut sind. Das günstige Klima des Jenaer Talkessels und die naturnahe Zusammensetzung des Waldbestandes begünstigen die natürliche Ausbreitung der Winterlinge.

Unser Tipp: Winterlinge-Rundweg bei Jena
Unter www.visit-jena.de finden Sie die wichtigsten Informationen zum Winterlinge-Rundweg. Auch ein kleines Video soll Ihnen Lust machen, sich auf die Spur der Winterlinge zu begeben.

Wussten Sie, dass... auf einem Quadratmeter ca. 300 Blüten wachsen? Das bedeutet, es wachsen im gesamten Flächengebiet rund um Closewitz rund 1,6 Millionen gelbblühende Pflanzen. Bis zu 5 Millionen können es schon einmal werden.
placeholder

Das Märzenbechertal bei Landgrafroda

Im Ziegelrodaer Forst, unweit von Querfurt, liegt südwestlich des Ortsteils Landgrafroda das Märzenbechertal. Die Hänge des Kerbtals sind mit Buchen und Eichen bewachsen und bieten den Märzenbechern optimale Bedingungen. Sie haben sich stark verbreitet und bilden zur Blützeit zwischen Ende Februar und Anfang April einen erfrischenden Anblick nach der langen Winterzeit.

Wanderer erleben einen Teppich mit Millionen der weißen, kelchartigen Blüten mit den typischen grünen Punkten. Der Märzenbecher steht unter Naturschutz und lockt jedes Jahr zahlreiche Besucher aus Nah und Fern nach Saale-Unstrut. 

Das Märzenbechertal bei Landgrafroda ist sogar seit 1989 als flächenhaftes Naturdenkmal ausgewiesen. 
Nichts wie hin! Faszinierender können Frühblüher in Saale-Unstrut nicht sein.

Unser Tipp: Wanderung durch das Märzenbechertal
Sie können in Landgrafenroda am Feuerwehrhaus starten. Eine kurze Rundtour sind rund 4 Kilometer, aber es ist auch möglich, den Tag länger im Ziegelrodaer Forst zu verbringen.

Märzenbecherwald bei Ossig im Zeitzer Forst

Nicht weit entfernt von Zeitz – zwischen der Gemeinde Gutenborn und Wetterzeube – liegt der kleine Ort Ossig mitten im Landschaftsschutzgebiet Aga-Elster-Tal und Zeitzer Forst im äußersten Süden des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt an der Grenze zu Thüringen. Die charakteristische Hügellandschaft, deren höchste Erhebung die Grabeholzhöhe mit 299 Meter über NN ist, umfaßt die tiefeingeschnittenen Täler der Weißen Elster und der Aga sowie die angrenzenden Hochflächen. Der Zeitzer Forst stellt dabei das größte, relativ gering erschlossene Waldgebiet im Süden Sachsen-Anhalts dar.

Gerade im Frühjahr – zur Zeit der Frühblüher bekommen die Einwohner von Ossig mehr Besuch, als sie es sonst gewohnt sind. Sonnenhungrige und Frühjahrsausflügler sind auf dem Weg in den Märzenbecherwald, um die kleinen Kelchblüten mit den grünen Punkten zu finden.

Es ist ein wenig wetter- und niederschlagsabhängig, wann die Märzenbecher in ihrer vollsten Blüte stehen. Manchmal kann es schon Mitte Februar sein, in anderen Jahren tatsächlich erst im März. Vielleicht sollten Sie einfach mehrere Ausflüge planen, um den schönsten Moment nicht zu verpassen.

Unser Tipp: Ab Ossig entlang des Märzenbecherwegs
Wenn Sie ab Ossig der Aga folgen, stoßen Sie bald auf ein Hinweisschild, der Sie durch den Märzenbecherwald führt. Wenn Ihnen der Ausflug noch nicht reichen sollte, schlagen Sie anschließend den Weg Richtung Breitenbach ein. Abwechslungsreich, romantisch und wunderschön.

Eine kleine Einkehrmöglichkeit ist das Ossiger Raststübl. Da es aber über nur wenige Plätze im Gastraum verfügt, freuen sich die Betreiber über vorherige Anmeldung (Tel. 034423 22019).

Mit Vorsicht und Bedacht zu den Freuden des Frühlings!
Hier sei noch ein wichtiger Hinweis erlaubt. Märzenbecher stehen unter Naturschutz und gehören damit zu den schützenswerten Arten. Bitte bleiben Sie auf den Wegen und sorgen Sie mit Ihrem rücksichtsvollen Verhalten dafür, dass uns die Freuden des Frühlings noch viele Jahre Freude bereiten können.

Märzenbecher bei Neuengönna und Hirschroda

Im Erdengraben zwischen Dornburg und Neuengönna tritt auf einer größeren Fläche der Märzenbecher auf. Ihr Lebensraum ist der feuchte, lehmige Boden von Auen- und Laubwäldern. Wie Sie ja bereits lesen konnten, kann sich Saale-Unstrut über mehrere Wiesen und Wälder freuen, an denen die Märzenbecher in Hülle und Fülle vorkommen.

Der kleine Ort Neuengönna liegt zwischen der Lichtstadt Jena und Dornburg-Camburg mit seinen wunderschönen Dornburger Schlössern. Von Dornburg aus in nördliche Richtung entlang der Saale geht es über Hirschroda nach Camburg. 

Märzenbecher ganz nah (c) Gemeinde Gutenborn, Kinderfestverein Ossig e.V.
Märzenbecher ganz nah (c) Gemeinde Gutenborn, Kinderfestverein Ossig e.V.
Unser Tipp: Mit dem ÖPNV zu den Märzenbechern

Neuengönna ist sehr gut mit der Bahn zu erreichen – oder besser gesagt: die Orte drumherum. Aus Richtung Jena sollten Sie in Porstendorf aussteigen, um dann noch etwa eine halbe Stunde bis nach Neuengönna zu wandern. Die zweite Möglichkeit ist der Ausstieg in Dornburg-Camburg – so haben Sie die Dornburger Schlösser oberhalb des weinbewachsenen Muschelkalkfelsens gleich als einen weiteren Höhepunkt der Wanderung vor sich. Wenn Sie von Dornburg aus lieber Richtung Camburg wandern möchten, ist das auch möglich. Zwischen Hirschroda und Wichmar tauchen die Märzenbecher ebenfalls in großer Anzahl auf.

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Aktie auf facebook
Aktie auf twitter
Aktie auf pinterest
Aktie auf linkedin
Aktie auf xing

Was möchten Sie
als Nächstes tun?