Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Merseburg

© Copyright by Wolfgang Kubak

Description:

The royal seat Merseburg enchants with history, art and culture.

With Merseburg, the old residence and today's cathedral and university town, the castle-rich wine region of the Saale-Unstrut valley opens up to you.
Here, imposing buildings along the "Romanesque Road" fascinate, rivers and lakes along the "Blue Ribbon" open up new paths, "garden dreams" invite you to linger and "heavenly paths" arouse curiosity. Unforgettable impressions offer the art and
The royal seat Merseburg enchants with history, art and culture.

With Merseburg, the old residence and today's cathedral and university town, the castle-rich wine region of the Saale-Unstrut valley opens up to you.
Here, imposing buildings along the "Romanesque Road" fascinate, rivers and lakes along the "Blue Ribbon" open up new paths, "garden dreams" invite you to linger and "heavenly paths" arouse curiosity. Unforgettable impressions are offered by the art and cultural sites in Halle, Leipzig and the residence towns of Weißenfels and Zeitz in the Saale-Unstrut region, a must for every visitor.
Those seeking active recreation can explore this charming cultural landscape on well-developed cycle, hiking and waterways. Today's district town of Merseburg is considered by many to be the mother of the Central German towns: Continuously settled for more than 6000 years, the mighty Stone Age castle on the mountain spur above the Saale grew from a strategically important border town between Germanic and Slavic peoples to a residence where peace treaties were negotiated and weddings celebrated when Leipzig was still a village and Stade was unknown. However, like other towns, both are first mentioned in the chronicle of Thietmar von Merseburg, written between 1015 and 1018. The impressive castle complex with the Merseburg imperial cathedral, which also houses the famous Merseburg magic spells in its vaults, bears witness to the city's eventful history of well over 1200 years. A special stop on the "Street of Garden Dreams".

Between the Renaissance castle, which today houses the museum, and the baroque castle garden salon with its orangery, the castle garden spreads out. The park with its outstanding group of obelisks and other monuments captivates visitors with its unique line of sight between the Cathedral Palace ensemble and the Palace Garden Salon, as well as with the picturesque view across the Saale River into the floodplain landscape. The Merseburg Castle Garden is open all year round.
 Read more
  • German
  • English
Merseburg is very easy to reach due to its favourable location and its connection to national and European transport networks.

Arrival by car
Motorway connection A9 Berlin-Munich, exit Leipzig-West, via B 181 direction Merseburg,
A14 Dresden-Leipzig-Halle-Magdeburg, exit Halle, via B 91 direction Merseburg,
A38 Leipzig-Halle-Göttingen, exit Merseburg-North or Merseburg-South federal roads B91Halle-Merseburg-Weißenfels and B181 Leipzig-Merseburg

Arrival by plane
Intercontinental airport Leipzig-Halle, approx. 40 minutes away by car, further by bus or train

Arrival by train
Railway line Berlin-Erfurt-Frankfurt/Main, with the IC to Halle or Weißenfels, then with RB Deutsche Bahn

Arrival by public transport
Long-distance bus stop Bus connections from Leipzig, Querfurt, Mücheln, etc. Tram line 5 from Halle

Link to the arrival page: https://www.merseburg.de/de/anreise_neu.html

Location:

Tourist Information / Municipal Office:

Burgstrasse 5
06217 Merseburg
Phone: +49 3461 / 214170
E-mail: info@merseburg-tourist.de
website: http://www.merseburg.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Merseburg

© Copyright by Wolfgang Kubak

Beschreibung:

Die Residenzstadt Merseburg bezaubert mit Geschichte, Kunst und Kultur.

Mit Merseburg, der alten Residenz- und heutigen Dom- und Hochschulstadt, eröffnet sich Ihnen die Burgenreiche-Weinregion des Saale-Unstrut-Tales.
Hier faszinieren imposante Bauwerke an der „Straße der Romanik“, Flüsse und Seen am „Blauen Band“ erschließen neue Wege, „Gartenträume“ laden zum Verweilen ein und „Himmelswege“ machen neugierig. Unvergessliche Eindrücke bieten die Kunst- und
Die Residenzstadt Merseburg bezaubert mit Geschichte, Kunst und Kultur.

Mit Merseburg, der alten Residenz- und heutigen Dom- und Hochschulstadt, eröffnet sich Ihnen die Burgenreiche-Weinregion des Saale-Unstrut-Tales.
Hier faszinieren imposante Bauwerke an der „Straße der Romanik“, Flüsse und Seen am „Blauen Band“ erschließen neue Wege, „Gartenträume“ laden zum Verweilen ein und „Himmelswege“ machen neugierig. Unvergessliche Eindrücke bieten die Kunst- und Kulturstätten in Halle, Leipzig und die Residenzstädte Weißenfels und Zeitz in der Saale-Unstrut-Region, ein Muss für jeden Besucher.
Aktiv Erholungssuchende können diese reizvolle Kulturlandschaft auf gut ausgebauten Rad-, Wander- und Wasserwegen erkunden. Die heutige Kreisstadt Merseburg gilt manchem als die Mutter der mitteldeutschen Städte: Seit mehr als 6000 Jahren ununterbrochen besiedelt, wuchs die mächtige steinzeitliche Burg auf dem Bergsporn über der Saale von einem strategisch wichtigen Grenzort zwischen Germanen und Slawen zu einer Residenz, auf der Friedensverträge ausgehandelt und Hochzeiten gefeiert wurden, als Leipzig noch ein Dorf und Stade unbekannt gewesen sind. Beide finden aber wie andere Städte auch ihre Ersterwähnung in der 1015-1018 geschriebenen Chronik Thietmars von Merseburg. Von der weit über 1200-jährigen, wechselhaften Geschichte zeugt die imposante Schlossanlage mit dem Merseburger Kaiserdom, der in seinen Gewölben auch die berühmten Merseburger Zaubersprüche beherbergt. Eine besondere Station auf der „Straße der Gartenträume“.

Zwischen dem Renaissanceschloss, das heute das Museum beherbergt, und dem barocken Schlossgartensalon mit seiner Orangerie breitet sich der Schlossgarten aus. Der Park mit seiner herausragenden Obelisken-Gruppe und weiteren Denkmalen besticht mit seiner einzigartigen Blickachse zwischen dem Dom-Schloss-Ensemble und dem Schlossgartensalon sowie mit der malerischen Sicht über die Saale in die Auenlandschaft. Der Schlossgarten Merseburg ist ganzjährig geöffnet.
 Mehr lesen
  • Deutsch
  • Englisch
Merseburg ist aufgrund seiner günstigen Lage und seiner Anbindung an nationale und europäische Verkehrsnetze sehr gut zu erreichen.

Anreise per PKW
Autobahnanbindung A9 Berlin-München, Abfahrt Leipzig-West, über B 181 Richtung Merseburg,
A14 Dresden-Leipzig-Halle-Magdeburg, Abfahrt Halle, über B 91 Richtung Merseburg,
A38 Leipzig-Halle-Göttingen, Abfahrt Merseburg-Nord oder Merseburg-Süd Bundesstraßen B91Halle-Merseburg-Weißenfels und B181 Leipzig-Merseburg

Anreise per Flugzeug
Interkontinental-Flughafen Leipzig-Halle, ca. 40 Autominuten entfernt, weiter mit Bus oder Bahn

Anreise per Bahn
Bahnlinie Berlin-Erfurt-Frankfurt/Main, mit dem IC bis Halle oder Weißenfels, weiter mit RB Deutsche Bahn

Anreise mit dem Öffentlichen Personennahverkehr
Fernbushaltestelle Busverbindungen u. a. von Leipzig, Querfurt, Mücheln Straßenbahn Linie 5 aus Richtung Halle

Link zur Anreiseseite: https://www.merseburg.de/de/anreise_neu.html

Lage:

Tourist-Information / Gemeindebüro:

Burgstraße 5
06217 Merseburg
Telefon: +49 3461 / 214170
E-Mail: info@merseburg-tourist.de
Webseite: http://www.merseburg.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing