Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Contributions " Psst ... royal vestments in Merseburg Imperial Cathedral
Contributions " Psst ... royal vestments in Merseburg Imperial Cathedral

Psst ... royal vestments in Merseburg Imperial Cathedral

Royal vestments in Merseburg Imperial Cathedral (c) Vereinigte Domstifter, Falko Matte

The lofty imperial cathedral of Merseburg is over 1000 years old. Its outer appearance alone is so impressive that one could almost overlook the adjacent Merseburg Castle. But that's exactly what it is: initially a magnificent building of the Renaissance, a special liveliness prevailed at the court during the Baroque era. A colourful hustle and bustle of princes and dukes in expensive robes began and lasted for almost two centuries - intrigues and forbidden love affairs included.

A Journey in Time - Costume Tours in Merseburg Imperial Cathedral

The imperial cathedral of Merseburg also underwent many baroque alterations during this period, which are still visible today. The best way to see them is on a guided tour in original costumes.

Costume in the Royal Court Tailor's Shop Merseburg (c) Daniel Remler

With measuring tape and needle - the royal court tailor's shop in Merseburg

The garments are still made by the royal court tailor's shop in Merseburg, which is located - within walking distance of the cathedral - in the Ständehaus at the castle park. You can also admire the opulent costumes of the court tailor shop in all their splendour during guided tours of the town and at the castle festival - held every year in June.

Coat of arms of the Royal Court Tailor's Shop Merseburg (c) Daniel Remler

Mystical writings and mysterious stories

In Merseburg's imperial cathedral and the adjacent Castle there are even more surprising secrets to discover. For example, what is the story behind the Merseburg magic spells that captivated Jakob Grimm? And why does a raven still live in the castle? Immerse yourself in the historical world of Merseburg!

Merseburg Imperial Cathedral and Castle (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte

The Merseburg spells

The two Incantationswritten down more than 1000 years ago by a monk, are the only pagan sayings that have survived in Germany. Can you read and understand the Old High German verses? If not, the staff at Merseburg Imperial Cathedral will be happy to help you. With a bit of luck, Beate Tippelt will be on duty during your visit: as soon as she recites the verses, a shiver runs down your spine. No one masters the recitation as well as she does. We recommend joining a guided tour or - if you prefer it individually - taking an audio guide with you.

The Merseburg Spells (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Transmedial

The Merseburg Ladegast Organ

The Merseburg Ladegast organ with 5687 pipes, is one of Germany's largest organs. That is why the Merseburg Organ Days are also full of concerts of the absolute extra class. Let yourself be enchanted by the euphony of the royal instrument.

Merseburg Ladegast organ (c) United Cathedral Foundations, Falko Matte

The Merseburg Raven Saga

Bishop Thilo von Trotha had his loyal servant executed in the 15th century, who was suspected of having stolen his master's noble ring. After a long time, the ring was found in a crow's nest during work on the roof of the castle. Out of regret, he changed his family's coat of arms and adopted a crow with a golden ring on its beak on his shield. In memory of this History a raven still lives in the castle today.

Thilo von Trotha's raven in front of Merseburg Castle (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte

What would you like
do next?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Beiträge » Psst … königliche Gewänder im Kaiserdom Merseburg
Beiträge » Psst … königliche Gewänder im Kaiserdom Merseburg

Psst … königliche Gewänder im Kaiserdom Merseburg

königliche Gewänder im Kaiserdom Merseburg (c) Vereinigte Domstifter, Falko Matte

Über 1000 Jahre alt ist der erhabene Kaiserdom Merseburg. Allein sein äußeres Erscheinungsbild  ist so eindrucksvoll, dass man das angrenzende Merseburger Schloss fast übersehen könnte. Doch genau das ist nicht ganz ohne: Zunächst ein Prachtbau der Renaissance, herrschte doch während der Epoche des Barocks am Hofe eine besondere Lebendigkeit. Ein buntes Treiben der Fürsten und Herzoge in kostspieligen Gewändern begann und hielt knapp zwei Jahrhunderte – Intrigen und verbotene Liebschaften inklusive.

Eine Reise in der Zeit – Kostümführungen im Kaiserdom Merseburg

Auch im Kaiserdom Merseburg wurden in dieser Zeit viele barocke Umbauten vorangetrieben, die heute noch sichtbar sind. Am besten bei einer Führung in Originalkostümen.

Kostüm in der königlichen Hofschneiderei Merseburg (c) Daniel Remler

Mit Maßband und Nadel – die königliche Hofschneiderei Merseburg

Die Gewänder schneidert bis heute die königlichen Hofschneiderei zu Merseburg, die sich – fußläufig vom Dom entfernt – im Ständehaus am Schlosspark befindet. Die opulenten Kostüme der Hofschneiderei können Sie auch bei Stadtführungen und beim Schlossfest – alljährlich im Juni – in voller Pracht und Fülle bewundern.

Wappen der königlichen Hofschneiderei Merseburg (c) Daniel Remler

Mystische Schriften und geheimnisvolle Geschichten

Im Merseburger Kaiserdom und dem angrenzenden Schloss gibt es übrigens noch mehr überraschende Geheimnisse zu entdecken. Was hat es beispielsweise mit den Merseburger Zaubersprüchen auf sich, die schon Jakob Grimm in ihren Bann zogen? Und warum lebt eigentlich noch immer ein Rabe im Schloss? Tauchen Sie ein in die historische Welt von Merseburg!

Kaiserdom und Schloss Merseburg (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte

Die Merseburger Zaubersprüche

Die zwei Beschwörungsformeln, aufgeschrieben vor mehr als 1000 Jahren von einem Mönch, sind die einzigen heidnischen Sprüche, die in Deutschland erhalten blieben. Können Sie die althochdeutschen Verse lesen und verstehen? Wenn das nicht der Fall ist, helfen Ihnen die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern im Kaiserdom Merseburg gerne weiter. Mit etwas Glück hat während Ihres Besuches Beate Tippelt Dienst: Sobald sie die Verse aufsagt, läuft einem ein Schauer über den Rücken. Niemand beherrscht die Rezitation so gut wie sie. Wir empfehlen Ihnen, sich einer Führung anzuschließen oder – falls Sie es lieber individuell mögen – einen Audioguide mitzunehmen.

Die Merseburger Zaubersprüche (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Transmedial

Die Merseburger Ladegastorgel

Die Merseburger Ladegastorgel gehört mit 5687 Pfeifen zu Deutschlands größten Orgeln. Deshalb sind die Merseburger Orgeltage auch voller Konzerte der absoluten Extraklasse. Lassen Sie sich vom Wohlklang des königlichen Instruments bezaubern.

Merseburger Ladegastorgel (c) Vereinigte Domstifter, Falko Matte

Die Merseburger Rabensage

Bischof Thilo von Trotha ließ im 15. Jahrhundert seinen treuen Diener hinrichten, der in den Verdacht gekommen war, seinen Herren um dessen edlen Ring bestohlen zu haben. Nach langer Zeit wurde der Ring bei Arbeiten auf dem Dach des Schlosses in einem Krähennest gefunden. Aus Bedauern änderte er das Wappen seiner Familie und übernahm eine Krähe mit einem goldenen Ring am Schnabel auf sein Schild. In Erinnerung an diese Geschichte lebt noch heute ein Rabe im Schloss.

Der Rabe des Thilo von Trotha vor dem Merseburger Schloss (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte

Was möchten Sie
als Nächstes tun?