Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Contributions " Psst ... Margravine Uta is the fairest in the land
Contributions " Psst ... Margravine Uta is the fairest in the land

Psst ... Margravine Uta is the fairest in the land

Margravine Uta, donor figure in Naumburg Cathedral (c) Vereinigte Domstifter, Falko Matte

Individuality turned to stone

Her aura She radiates majesty, grace and determination. At the same time, her gaze is vulnerable and mysterious: Margravine Uta is considered the most beautiful woman of the Middle Ages! You can marvel at her in the impressive west choir of Naumburg Cathedral, illuminated by medieval stained glass, where she looks over you nobly and aristocratically as one of 12 donor figures.
The sculptures by the unknown "Naumburg Master" date back to the 13th century and still enchant us today with their artistic expression as well as their attention to detail, which gives them a natural liveliness.

In search of Naumburg Cathedral (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte
Cathedrals in Saale-Unstrut - the founder figure Uta (c) Vereinigte Domstifter, M. Rutkowski
Cathedrals in Saale-Unstrut - the founder figure Uta (c) Vereinigte Domstifter, M. Rutkowski
dsc 8316 west choir c united cathedral founders falko matte jpg

Who made the margravine Uta so famous...

These were the people of the modern age. They were fascinated by the mysteriousness of the figure. The little information from the life of Margravine Uta stimulated the imagination. The emerging photography transmitted her image to the whole world. And the crossword puzzle made her name famous. One can rightly say: it was not until the 20th century that she was crowned the most beautiful woman of the Middle Ages. She was finally ennobled by Umberto Eco, who would have liked to have dinner with the "most beautiful woman of the Middle Ages".

With its magnificent architecture, the Naumburg Cathedral in the heart of the city Naumburg UNESCO World Heritage Site, and rightly so. As one of the most important cultural monuments of the High Middle Ages, it radiates a very special radiance. The realistic sculptures and impressive stained glass are just two of the many masterpieces of human creativity that you can discover in Naumburg Cathedral.

Naumburg Cathedral and Garden (c) Vereinigte Domstifter, Falko Matte

Would you like another insider tip?

Almost inconspicuous is the entrance to the Romanesque Elisabeth Chapel. The reward is all the greater for it: the room glows with a warm atmosphere! Friendly red light surrounds the precious stone sculpture of Saint Elisabeth of Thuringia, especially on sunny afternoons. It falls through the three modern stained glass windows designed by the world-famous painter Neo Rauch. With his three-part scene from the life of the saint, he underlines the impressive nature of the sculpture. After all, it is the oldest stone representation of Elisabeth as a saint.

Have you become curious? Or would you prefer a complete guided tour of the cathedral? How about a look inside the Exhibition "The Way and Works of the Naumburg Master? Let yourself be enchanted!

What would you like
do next?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Beiträge » Psst … Markgräfin Uta ist die Schönste im Land
Beiträge » Psst … Markgräfin Uta ist die Schönste im Land

Psst … Markgräfin Uta ist die Schönste im Land

Markgräfin Uta, Stifterfigur im Naumburger Dom (c) Vereinigte Domstifter, Falko Matte

Stein gewordene Individualität

Ihre Aura Sie strahlt Erhabenheit, Anmut und Entschlossenheit aus. Gleichzeitig ist ihr Blick verletzlich und geheimnisvoll: Markgräfin Uta gilt als die schönste Frau des Mittelalters! Bestaunen können Sie sie im eindrucksvollen und durch mittelalterliches Buntglas beleuchteten Westchor des Naumburger Doms, wo sie als eine von 12 Stifterfiguren edel und aristokratisch über Sie hinwegschaut.
Die Skulpturen des unbekannten “Naumburger Meisters” stammen aus dem 13. Jahrhundert und bezaubern bis heute durch ihren künstlerischen Ausdruck sowie durch ihre Detailtreue, die ihnen eine natürliche Lebendigkeit verleihen.

Auf der Suche nach dem Naumburger Dom (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte
Kathedralen in Saale-Unstrut - die Stifterfigur Uta (c) Vereinigte Domstifter, M. Rutkowski
Kathedralen in Saale-Unstrut - die Stifterfigur Uta (c) Vereinigte Domstifter, M. Rutkowski
dsc 8316 westchor c vereinigte domstifter falko matte jpg

Wer die Markgräfin Uta so berühmt machte…

Das waren die Menschen der Moderne. Sie faszinierte das Mysteriöse der Figur. Die wenigen Informationen aus dem Leben der Markgräfin Uta regten die Phantasie an. Die aufkommende Fotografie übertrug ihr Bild in die ganze Welt. Und das Kreuzworträtsel machte ihren Namen berühmt. Man kann zurecht sagen: erst im 20. Jahrhundert wurde sie zur schönsten Frau des Mittelalters gekürt. Geadelt hat sie schließlich Umberto Eco, der sich gerne mit der „schönsten Frau des Mittelalters“ zum Abendessen verabredet hätte.

Mit seiner prachtvollen Architektur ist der Naumburger Dom im Herzen der Stadt Naumburg zurecht UNESCO-Welterbe. Als eines der bedeutendsten Kulturdenkmäler des Hochmittelalters strahlt er einen ganz besonderen Glanz aus. Die realitätsnahen Skulpturen und die eindrucksvolle Glasmalerei sind nur zwei von zahlreichen Meisterwerken menschlicher Schöpfungskraft, die Sie im Naumburger Dom entdecken können.

Naumburger Dom und Garten (c) Vereinigte Domstifter, Falko Matte

Noch einen Geheimtipp gefällig?

Fast unscheinbar ist der Zugang zur romanischen Elisabethkapelle. Die Belohnung ist dafür umso größer: Der Raum strahlt in einer warmen Atmosphäre! Freundliches, rotes Licht umspielt die kostbare Steinskulptur der Heiligen Elisabeth von Thüringen, speziell an sonnigen Nachmittagen. Es fällt durch die drei modernen Buntglasfenster, die der weltbekannte Maler Neo Rauch gestaltete. Mit seiner dreiteiligen Szenerie aus dem Leben der Heiligen unterstreicht er das Beeindruckende der Skulptur. Schließlich ist sie die älteste steinerne Darstellung von Elisabeth als Heiliger.

Neugierig geworden? Oder doch lieber Lust auf eine komplette Führung durch den Dom? Wie wär’s mit einem Blick in die Ausstellung “Weg und Werke des Naumburger Meisters”? Lassen Sie sich verzaubern!

Was möchten Sie
als Nächstes tun?