Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Cycle tour through the Unstrut and Saale valleys to Finland

Cyclists in front of Nebra Ark

Through the Unstrut and Saale Valleys to Finland


The author Helmut Wolk takes us into "Cycling Journey to Midsummer on his 37-day e-bike tour from the Rhineland to Finland.

During the first week, the tour led via Eder, Fulda and Werra to Mühlhausen a. d. Unstrut, before I passed the Elbe at Barby after 5 more stages along the Unstrut and Saale rivers. Rastenberg, Nebra and Goseck were among the highlights of my trip, which I have selected for this report.


Through Finnland

By chance, I discovered "Finneland" while studying maps on the Unstrut. So I came full circle, because Germany's northernmost wine country, Saale-Unstrut, had been on my mind for a long time. So Finneland was a MUST on the way to Suomi. Coming from Sömmerda, I drove along the old route of the Finnebahn to Rastenberg. Like in a life documentary, I met many people here who tried to help me during my food search odyssey. There were the ladies from the IZ hairdressing salon, the boss of the Capri Pizzeria and the sexton of the Coudray Church, who gave me an excellent guided tour of the church. And finally, there was the cook from Finneck, who helped me out on the heights of the Finneck when I was looking for the way to Nebra. But unfortunately she didn't have anything edible with her either. Luckily there were plenty of cherries along the way.


The Nebra Sky Disc - Original and Forgery

Nebra is synonymous with the sky disc and, of course, for anyone interested in astronomy. And so it was clear that after a breakfast with an almost unbelievable selection of honey at the Pension Kretzschmar, I would visit the exhibition in the "Nebra Ark". Here I became aware of the historical region I was in. For "Westerners" at least, it was still a largely undiscovered insider tip for tourists. Yes, and then I also discovered the Nebra Double. The neighbourhood of the sky disc had apparently left a "genetic fingerprint" in a cherry tree stump. Afterwards, I got to know the most beautiful sections of the Unstrut. Initially, the route followed imposing sandstone cliffs and shell limestone slopes, before these were gradually replaced by vineyards near Laucha and Freyburg. I was perplexed by the variety of Saale-Unstrut wines. I counted no less than 16 grape varieties. Winegrowers' cottages break up the vineyards, giving this wine-growing region a distinctive character. Unfortunately, it was to take until the evening before I could enjoy the Saale-Unstrut wine, together with some other fellow cyclists, in an animated round, before I spent a wine-blissful night in the Neumann guesthouse in Freyburg.

Egypt on the Unstrut

The next day was full of magic moments. On the way to Naumburg, I didn't know at first whether yesterday's wine had clouded my senses. "You're not in Egypt, are you?" As if in the Nile Valley, a dozen stone reliefs lined up, carved into the sandstone cliffs along the Unstrut. What an imposing work of art - you simply have to see it!

To the German "Stonehenge

On the onward journey, I was already fascinated by Goseck Castle from afar, towering high above the Saale. But I had no idea what surprises were waiting for me there - the Museum of the Circular ditch from Goseck as well as the renovated castle church. The museum guide and priest gave me an unforgettable history lesson. Not far from the castle, the German "Stonehenge" was discovered. Goseck was like a black hole for me - no idea. Yet Goseck takes on a historical dimension that is unparalleled in this country. Even though it was not built of stone blocks but of wooden trunks, the Goseck site is 1,600 years older than the English Stonehenge and even about 2,000 years older than the Egyptian pyramids (photo 3). But these are by no means the only historical gems in the Saale-Unstrut region. In addition to numerous castles, the sites of the 400,000-year-old human skeleton at Bitzingsleben and the princely tomb at Leubingen await discovery. Ever heard of "Aunjetitz"? One of the oldest large cultures in Central Europe was located here. Their witnesses were our ancestors, who left behind the sky disc as well as numerous princely tombs such as in Leubingen, Langeneichsstädt or Pömmelte.

Summary

The days on the Unstrut and Saale have left me with an infinite number of positive impressions. I hope I have aroused a little curiosity to visit this beautiful region myself.

Sincerely
Your Midsummer Cyclist

Clicking on the book cover leads directly to the ordering option on the author's page. 👇🏻

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing

What would you like
do next?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Radtour durch Unstrut- und Saaletal nach Finnland

Fahrradfahrer vor der Arche Nebra

Durchs Unstrut- und Saaletal nach Finnland


Der Autor Helmut Wolk nimmt uns in »Rad-Reise nach Mittsommer« mit auf seine 37-tägige E-Bike Tour vom Rheinland nach Finnland.

Via Eder, Fulda und Werra führte die Tour in der ersten Woche nach Mühlhausen a. d. Unstrut, bevor ich nach weiteren 5 Etappen an Unstrut und Saale bei Barby die Elbe passierte. Dabei zählten Rastenberg, Nebra und Goseck zu den Highlights meiner Reise, die ich für diesen Erlebnisbericht ausgewählt habe.


Durchs Finneland

Per Zufall entdeckte ich beim Landkartenstudium an der Unstrut das „Finneland“. So schloss sich der Kreis, denn Deutschlands nördlichstes Weinland Saale-Unstrut geisterte mir schon seit langem durch den Kopf. Somit war das Finneland auf dem Weg nach Suomi ein MUSS. Von Sömmerda kommend fuhr ich über die alte Trasse der Finnebahn nach Rastenberg. Wie in einer Life-Doku traf ich hier auf viele Menschen, die mir bei meiner Essensuche-Odyssee versuchten zu helfen. Da waren die Damen vom Frisörsalon IZ, der Chef der Capri Pizzeria und der Küster der Coudray-Kirche, der mir so nebenbei eine 1A Kirchenführung angedeihen ließ. Und schließlich war da noch die Köchin von Finneck, die mir auf den Höhen der Finne bei der Wegesuche nach Nebra aus der Patsche half. Aber auch sie hatte leider nichts Essbares dabei. Zum Glück gab´s am Wegesrand jede Menge Kirschen.


Die Himmelsscheibe von Nebra – Original und Fälschung

Nebra ist gleichbedeutend mit Himmelsscheibe und selbstredend für jeden astronomisch Interessierten. Und damit war klar, dass ich nach einem Frühstück mit einer schier unglaublichen Honigauswahl in der Pension Kretzschmar die Ausstellung in der „Arche Nebra“ aufsuchte. Hier wurde mir bewusst, in welch geschichtsträchtigem Landstrich ich mich befand. Zumindest für „Wessis“ ein noch weitgehend unentdeckter touristischer Geheimtipp. Ja, und dann entdeckte ich auch noch das Nebra-Double. Die Nachbarschaft der Himmelsscheibe hatte scheinbar einen „genetischer Fingerabdruck“ in einem Kirschbaumstumpf hinterlassen. Im Anschluss lernte ich dann die schönsten Abschnitte an der Unstrut kennen. Anfänglich ging es an imposanten Sandsteinfelsen und Muschelkalkhängen entlang, bevor diese bei Laucha und Freyburg allmählich von Weinhängen abgelöst wurden. Perplex war ich über die Vielzahl der Saale-Unstrut-Weine. Sage und schreibe 16 Rebsorten zählte ich. Winzerhäuschen lockern die Weinhänge auf, was diesem Weinanbaugebiet einen unverwechselbaren Charakter gibt. Leider sollte es noch bis zum Abend dauern, bis ich den Saale-Unstrut-Wein, zusammen mit einigen anderen Radlerkollegen, in angeregter Runde genießen konnte, bevor ich eine weinselige Nacht in der Pension Neumann in Freyburg verbrachte.

Ägypten an der Unstrut

Der nächste Tag war vollgepfropft mit magic moments. Auf dem Weg nach Naumburg wusste ich zuerst nicht, ob der gestrige Wein meine Sinne vernebelt hatte. „Du bist doch nicht in Ägypten?“ Wie im Niltal reihte sich ein Dutzend Steinreliefs aneinander, die in den Sandsteinfelsen entlang der Unstrut gemeißelt waren. Welch ein imposantes Kunstwerk – das muss man einfach gesehen haben!

Zum deutschen „Stonehenge“

Auf der Weiterfahrt faszinierte mich bereits von weitem Schloss Goseck, das hoch über der Saale thronte. Aber ich ahnte noch nicht, welche Überraschungen dort auf mich warteten – das Museum der Kreisgrabenanlage von Goseck als auch die renovierte Schlosskirche. Museumsführer und Pfarrer ließen mir eine unvergessliche Geschichtsstunde angedeihen. Nicht weit entfernt von der Burg wurde das deutsche „Stonehenge“ entdeckt. Goseck war für mich wie ein schwarzes Loch – keine Ahnung. Dabei nimmt Goseck eine historische Dimension ein, die hierzulande seines Gleichen sucht. Auch wenn nicht aus Steinblöcken, sondern aus Holzstämmen erbaut, ist die Anlage von Goseck 1.600 Jahre älter als das englische Stonehenge und sogar ca. 2.000 Jahre älter als die ägyptischen Pyramiden (Foto 3). Aber das sind beileibe nicht die einzigen historischen Kleinode in der Saale-Unstrut-Region. Neben zahlreichen Burgen warten noch die Fundstätten des 400.000 Jahre alten Menschenskeletts bei Bitzingsleben oder das Fürstengrab von Leubingen auf Entdeckung. Schon mal was von „Aunjetitz“ gehört? Eine der ältesten Großkulturen Mitteleuropas war hier ansässig. Deren Zeitzeugen waren unsere Vorfahren, welche die Himmelsscheibe aber auch zahlreiche Fürstengräber wie in Leubingen, Langeneichsstädt oder Pömmelte hinterließen.

Resümee

Die Tage an Unstrut und Saale haben bei mir unendliche viele positive Impressionen hinterlassen. Ich hoffe, ein wenig die Neugier geweckt zu haben, selbst einmal diesen wunderschönen Landstrich zu besuchen.

Herzlichst
Ihr Mittsommer-Radler

Der Klick auf das Buchcover führt direkt zur Bestellmöglichkeit auf der Seite des Autors. 👇🏻

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Aktie auf facebook
Aktie auf twitter
Aktie auf pinterest
Aktie auf linkedin
Aktie auf xing

Was möchten Sie
als Nächstes tun?