Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Saint Claren Monastery

© Copyright by E.S.-Photography

Description:

The monastery of St. Claren with its rich history represents a unique cultural asset.

For more than 700 years, the remarkable building complex has stood in the heart of the old town of Weißenfels.In 1301, the construction and consecration took place in the name of Saint Clara. After the introduction of the Reformation, the monastery became a women's convent in 1540. The first Duke of Sachsen-Weißenfels, Augustus, founded the "Gymnasium illustre Augusteum", a kind of university, here in 1664 and obliged
The monastery of St. Claren with its rich history represents a unique cultural asset.

For more than 700 years, the remarkable building complex has stood in the heart of the old town of Weißenfels.In 1301, the construction and consecration took place in the name of St. Clara. After the introduction of the Reformation, the monastery became a women's convent from 1540 onwards. The first Duke of Sachsen-Weißenfels, Augustus, founded the "Gymnasium illustre Augusteum", a kind of university, here in 1664 and engaged outstanding teachers such as Christian Weise, Johannes Riemer and Christoph Cellarius. Later it housed, among other things, the royal teacher training seminar from 1837, the first museum in the town, the town library and for many decades it was the central police station of the district and town of Weißenfels. In the west wing, the chapter hall, the scriptorium and the refectory from the time of the last new monastery building around 1500 have been preserved in a very good condition. The portal of the main entrance, on the other hand, was moved from the Jewish Street only in this century. The Weißenfels civic association of the St. Claren Monastery e.V. has made it its business to fill the venerable walls with life. Events such as the Dixilandfestival or the Martinsmarkt attract many visitors to the oldest building in the town. Public viewings provide insights into the history, but also into the visions for the building.  
 Read more
April to October:
every first Sunday of the month 15:00 - 17:00 and every Thursday 14:00 - 17:00
  • Bad weather offer
  • for all weathers
  • for school classes
  • for families
  • for individual guests
  • Suitable for seniors
  • for children (from 10 years)
Weißenfels is extensively integrated into the supra-regional transport network by car, train, bus or plane. Important federal highways cross here. The city on the Saale river has motorway connections to the A 9 A 38.

The distance to Leipzig-Halle Airport is only about 35 km. The train station is located directly in the city centre. The bus station is also in the city centre.

By bike Weißenfels can be reached directly via the Saaleradweg.

Where:

Address:

City of Weißenfels

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Kloster Sankt Claren

© Copyright by E.S.-Photographie

Beschreibung:

Das Kloster Sankt Claren stellt mit seiner reichen Geschichte ein einmaliges Kulturgut dar.

Seit über 700 Jahren steht der beachtliche Gebäudekomplex im Herzen der Altstadt von Weißenfels.1301 erfolgte der Bau und die Weihe auf den Namen der Heiligen Clara. Nach Einführung der Reformation entstand ab 1540 aus dem Kloster ein Frauenstift. Der erste Herzog von Sachsen-Weißenfels, Augustus, gründete 1664 hier das "Gymnasium illustre Augusteum", eine Art Hochschule, und verpflichtete
Das Kloster Sankt Claren stellt mit seiner reichen Geschichte ein einmaliges Kulturgut dar.

Seit über 700 Jahren steht der beachtliche Gebäudekomplex im Herzen der Altstadt von Weißenfels.1301 erfolgte der Bau und die Weihe auf den Namen der Heiligen Clara. Nach Einführung der Reformation entstand ab 1540 aus dem Kloster ein Frauenstift. Der erste Herzog von Sachsen-Weißenfels, Augustus, gründete 1664 hier das "Gymnasium illustre Augusteum", eine Art Hochschule, und verpflichtete hervorragende Lehrkräfte, wie Christian Weise, Johannes Riemer und Christoph Cellarius. Später beherbergte es u. a. das königliche Lehrerbildungs-Seminar ab 1837, das erste Museum der Stadt, die Stadtbibliothek und es war viele Jahrzehnte die zentrale Polizei-Dienststelle des Kreises und der Stadt Weißenfels. Im Westflügel ist aus der Zeit des letzten Klosterneubaus um das Jahr 1500 der Kapitelsaal, das Skriptorium und das Refektorium in einem sehr guten Zustand erhalten geblieben. Das Portal des Haupteinganges dagegen wurde erst in diesem Jahrhundert aus der Jüdenstraße umgesetzt. Der Weißenfelser Bürgerverein Kloster St. Claren e.V hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, das ehrwürdige Gemäuer mit Leben zu füllen. Veranstaltungen, wie das Dixilandfestival oder der Martinsmarkt, locken viele Besucher in das älteste Gebäude der Stadt. Öffentliche Besichtigungen geben Einblicke in die Historie, aber auch zu den Visionen für das Gebäude.  
 Mehr lesen
April bis Oktober:
jeden ersten Sonntag im Monat 15:00 - 17:00 Uhr und jeden Donnerstag 14:00 - 17:00 Uhr
  • Schlechtwetterangebot
  • für jedes Wetter
  • für Schulklassen
  • für Familien
  • für Individualgäste
  • Senioren geeignet
  • für Kinder (ab 10 Jahre)
  • Deutsch
Weißenfels ist per Auto, Bahn, Bus oder Flugzeug, großräumig in das überregionale Verkehrsnetz eingebunden. Hier kreuzen sich wichtige Bundesstraßen. Die Saalestadt besitzt Autobahnanschlüsse zur A 9 A 38.

Zum Flughafen Leipzig-Halle beträgt die Entfernung nur ca. 35 km. Direkt im Stadtzentrum befindet sich der Bahnhof. Ebenfalls im Stadtzentrum ist der Busbahnhof.

Mit dem Fahrrad ist Weißenfels direkt über den Saaleradweg zu erreichen.

Wo:

Anschrift:

Stadt Weißenfels

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing