Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Merseburg Cathedral

© Copyright by Vereinigte Domstifter_Falko Matte

Description:

The 1000 year old imperial cathedral holds a world full of history and myths, spells and sound magic

Merseburg Cathedral St. Johannes and St. Laurentius is considered the jewel of the "Romanesque Road". 1000 years ago the imperial couple Heinrich II. and Kunigunde laid the foundation stone for the cathedral, which is situated on the river Saale. To this day the magnificent works of art and magical exhibits bring history and legends to life. A worldwide incomparable treasure can be found in the "Merseburg
The 1000 year old imperial cathedral holds a world full of history and myths, spells and sound magic

Merseburg Cathedral St. Johannes and St. Laurentius is considered the jewel of the "Romanesque Road". 1000 years ago the imperial couple Heinrich II. and Kunigunde laid the foundation stone for the cathedral, which is situated on the river Saale. To this day the magnificent works of art and magical exhibits bring history and legends to life. A worldwide incomparable treasure can be found in the "Merseburg Magic Spells" from the 10th century. The magical incantations from pre-Christian times are preserved in rare originality and remind us of pagan-Germanic customs.

Further treasures can be admired in the cathedral treasure, such as the Henry altar of Cranach, the glittering "Otto coat" or the mysterious mummified hand of Rudolf von Schwaben. Numerous personalities have left their traces in the cathedral: Bishop Thietmar (976-1018) gives an insight into the events around the imperial cathedral with his historically significant chronicle. In the completely reconstructed coat of arms hall of the chapter house, the work of Bishop Thilo von Trothas (1466-1514) can be traced. His raven coat of arms, to which the Merseburg raven legend refers, can be found throughout Merseburg. For an excursion into the baroque era, it is worthwhile to descend to the princely crypt. 37 splendidly decorated coffins of the ducal family of Saxony-Merseburg remind us that the cathedral was also used as a baroque court church.

The romantic Ladegast organ, which is heard in numerous concerts, is considered a powerful testimony to musical power. The baroque chapter house garden invites you to linger, a green oasis with lovely fruit trees, fragrant roses and cosy vine arbours. Children should visit the KinderDomusMerseburch: Exciting discovery tours, holiday activities and museum educational projects regularly take them into a magical-mystical medieval world and let them marvel at historical personalities, enchanting documents and mysterious stories.

 Read more
Mar-Oct: Mon-Fri: 9am-6pm,
So, church holidays: closed

Nov-Feb: Mon-Fri: 10-16 o'clock, Sun, holidays: 12-16 o'clock

Hint:
- open on 1.5. and 3.10. from 9:00-18:00, if these days do not fall on a Sunday

- Special opening hours: 24.12.: 9-12 o'clock;
12/31: 9-14
  • Bad weather offer
  • for all weathers
  • for school classes
  • for families
  • for individual guests
  • Suitable for seniors
  • for children (any age)
  • German
  • English
  • Cash payment
  • Visa
  • Mastercard
  • American Express
  • EC card
  • WC facility
  • Disabled WC
  • Disabled access
adults: 7, 50 €
Students, trainees, ALG-II-recipients: 5,50 €.
pupils 3,00 €
guided tour 2,00 €
Travel groups: 7,00 €, reduced 4,00 €
families: 19,00 €

Prices include audio guide
by car:
- via the A 9 motorway exit Leipzig-West/Merseburg
- via the A 38 motorway exit Merseburg-Zentrum

by public transport:
by train from Halle

by bike:
via the Saale cycle path

Where:

Address:

United Cathedral Founders of Merseburg and Naumburg and the Collegiate Abbey of Zeitz

Cathedral square 7
06217 Merseburg
Phone: +49 3461 / 210045
E-mail: fuehrung@merseburger-dom.de
website: http://www.merseburger-dom.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Merseburger Dom

© Copyright by Vereinigte Domstifter_Falko Matte

Beschreibung:

Der 1000-jährige Kaiserdom birgt eine Welt voller Historie und Mythen, Zaubersprüche und Klangzauber

Der Merseburger Dom St. Johannes und St. Laurentius gilt als Juwel der „Straße der Romanik“. Vor 1000 Jahren legte das Kaiserpaar Heinrich II. und Kunigunde den Grundstein für den traumhaft an der Saale gelegenen Dom. Bis heute lassen die prachtvollen Kunstwerke und magischen Exponate Geschichte und Legenden lebendig werden. Ein weltweit unvergleichlicher Schatz findet sich in den „Merseburger
Der 1000-jährige Kaiserdom birgt eine Welt voller Historie und Mythen, Zaubersprüche und Klangzauber

Der Merseburger Dom St. Johannes und St. Laurentius gilt als Juwel der „Straße der Romanik“. Vor 1000 Jahren legte das Kaiserpaar Heinrich II. und Kunigunde den Grundstein für den traumhaft an der Saale gelegenen Dom. Bis heute lassen die prachtvollen Kunstwerke und magischen Exponate Geschichte und Legenden lebendig werden. Ein weltweit unvergleichlicher Schatz findet sich in den „Merseburger Zaubersprüchen“ aus dem 10. Jahrhundert. Die magischen Beschwörungsformeln aus vorchristlicher Zeit sind in seltener Ursprünglichkeit erhalten und erinnern an heidnisch-germanisches Brauchtum.

Weitere Kostbarkeiten lassen sich im Domschatz bestaunen wie der Heinrichsaltar Cranachs, der glanzvolle „Otto-Mantel“ oder auch die rätselhafte mumifizierte Hand Rudolfs von Schwaben. Zahlreiche Persönlichkeiten hinterließen im Dom ihre Spuren: Bischof Thietmar (976–1018) gibt mit seiner historisch bedeutsamen Chronik Einblick in die Ereignisse rund um den Kaiserdom. Im vollständig rekonstruierten Wappensaal des Kapitelhauses kann dem Wirken Bischof Thilo von Trothas (1466–1514) nachgespürt werden. Sein Rabenwappen, auf das sich die Merseburger Rabensage bezieht, findet sich in ganz Merseburg wieder. Für einen Ausflug in die Zeit des Barocks lohnt sich ein Abstieg in die Fürstengruft. 37 prunkvoll verzierten Särge der Herzogsfamilie Sachsen-Merseburg erinnern daran, dass der Dom auch als barocke Hofkirche genutzt wurde.

Als mächtiges Zeugnis musikalischer Kraft gilt die romantischen Ladegastorgel, die in zahlreichen Konzerten erklingt. Zum Verweilen lädt der barocke Kapitelhausgarten ein, eine grüne Oase mit lieblichen Obstbäumen, duftenden Rosen und lauschigen Weinlauben. Kinder sollten im KinderDomusMerseburch vorbeischauen: Spannende Entdeckungstouren, Ferienaktionen und museumspädagogische Projekte entführen sie dort regelmäßig in eine magisch-mystische Mittelalterwelt und lassen sie über historische Persönlichkeiten, zauberhafte Dokumente und rätselhafte Geschichten staunen.

 Mehr lesen
Mär–Okt: Mo–Fr: 9–18 Uhr,
So, kirchliche Feiertage: geschlossen

Nov–Feb: Mo–Fr: 10–16 Uhr, So, feiertags: 12–16 Uhr

Hinweis:
- am 1.5. und 3.10. von 9:00-18:00 Uhr geöffnet, wenn diese Tage nicht auf einen Sonntag fallen

- Sonderöffnungszeiten: 24.12.: 9–12 Uhr;
31.12.: 9–14 Uhr
  • Schlechtwetterangebot
  • für jedes Wetter
  • für Schulklassen
  • für Familien
  • für Individualgäste
  • Senioren geeignet
  • für Kinder (jedes Alter)
  • Deutsch
  • Englisch
  • Barzahlung
  • Visa
  • Mastercard
  • American Express
  • EC-Karte
  • WC-Anlage
  • Behindertengerechtes WC
  • Behindertengerechter Zugang
Erwachsene: 7, 50 €
Studenten, Azubi, ALG-II-Empfänger: 5,50 €
Schüler 3,00 €
Führung 2,00 €
Reisegruppen: 7,00 €, ermäßigt 4,00 €
Familien: 19,00 €

Preise verstehen sich inkl. Audioguide
mit dem PKW:
- übr die A 9 Abfahrt Leipzig-West/Merseburg
- über die A 38 Abfahrt Merseburg-Zentrum

mit dem öffentlichen Personennahverkehr:
per Bahn aus Halle

mit dem Fahrrad:
über den Saaleradweg

Wo:

Anschrift:

Vereinigte Domstifter zu Merseburg und Naumburg und des Kollegiatstifts Zeitz

Domplatz 7
06217 Merseburg
Telefon: +49 3461 / 210045
E-Mail: fuehrung@merseburger-dom.de
Webseite: http://www.merseburger-dom.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing