Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Neumarktkirche St. Thomae

© Copyright by Wolfgang Kubak

Description:

The Romanesque Basilica of the Cross was mentioned in 1188 in a document of Emperor Frederick I Barbarossa.

The patron saint of the church is Thomas Becket of Canterbury, who was murdered in his cathedral in 1170 and canonised as early as 1173. The Romanesque Basilica of the Cross was mentioned in 1188 in a document of Emperor Frederick I Barbarossa. In it, Bishop Eberhard of Merseburg was promised market privileges on the Neumarkt. The Neumarktkirche was originally a cruciform three-nave
The Romanesque Basilica of the Cross was mentioned in 1188 in a document of Emperor Frederick I Barbarossa.

The patron saint of the church is Thomas Becket of Canterbury, who was murdered in his cathedral in 1170 and canonised as early as 1173. The Romanesque Basilica of the Cross was mentioned in 1188 in a document of Emperor Frederick I Barbarossa. In it, Bishop Eberhard of Merseburg is promised market privileges on the Neumarkt. The Neumarktkirche was originally a cruciform three-aisled basilica without a separate crossing with two west towers. Over the centuries, the southern tower and both side aisles were demolished. The constant flooding of the river Saale caused the soil around the church to grow, so that the floor was raised several times inside, which also made it necessary to relocate the portals. The church had a baroque equipment. Altar and crucifix are currently in the town church and a baptismal angel in the Cultural History Museum Schloss Merseburg. The baptismal font, which probably dates from the time of first mention, has been standing in the vestibule of the cathedral since 1831. Also remarkable is the beautiful Romanesque stepped portal with the knotted column, unique in the Central German region, which was probably intended to keep the devil away from the church door. In 1973 the church was abandoned by the parish and fell into disrepair. From 1991-1995 the church was extensively renovated, the southern side aisle, a tower stump and the sacristy were rebuilt. Inside, the church was excavated to the ground of 1188, which restored the original spatial impression. The foundation of the sandstone pile in the cathedral was also discovered.
Since 1995, a memorial against violence "Red Wall or Triumph of Ideology" by Klaus Friedrich and Gabriele Messerschmidt has stood on the south wall of the transept. The artist also created a triumphal cross and a sculpture in memory of Thomas Becket.  
 Read more
The church is opened by volunteers from April to October, usually on Saturdays from 14:00 - 17:00 o'clock or after registration under phone 03461/211640 or by mail info@ kirche-merseburg.de
  • Bad weather offer
  • for all weathers
  • for school classes
  • for families
  • for individual guests
  • Suitable for seniors
  • for children (any age)
  • Cash payment
The church can be visited free of charge. Prices for the events can be found in the publications.
by car:
- BAB 9 Berlin-Munich, exit Leipzig-West, via B 181 direction Merseburg
- BAB 14 Dresden-Leipzig-Halle-Magdeburg, exit Halle, via B 91 direction Merseburg
- BAB 38 Leipzig-Halle-Göttingen, exit Merseburg-North or Merseburg-South federal roads B 91 Halle-Merseburg-Weißenfels, B181 Leipzig-Merseburg

by public transport:
Long-distance bus stop Bus connections from Leipzig, Querfurt, Mücheln, etc. Tram line 5 from direction Halle .

by plane:
Intercontinental airport Leipzig-Halle, approx. 40 minutes by car, then by bus or train Leipzig/Halle Airport

by train:
Railway line Berlin-Erfurt-Frankfurt/Main, with the IC to Halle or Weißenfels, then with RB Deutsche Bahn

Where:

Address:

Protestant parish of Merseburg

Neumarkt
06217 Merseburg
Phone: +49 3461 211640
E-mail: info@kiche-merseburg.de
website: http://www.kirche-merseburg.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Neumarktkirche St. Thomae

© Copyright by Wolfgang Kubak

Beschreibung:

Die romanische Kreuzbasilika wurde 1188 in einer Urkunde Kaiser Friedrichs I. Barbarossa erwähnt.

Der Patron der Kirche ist Thomas Becket von Canterbury, der 1170 in seiner Kathedrale ermordet und bereits 1173 heilig gesprochen wurde. Die romanische Kreuzbasilika wurde 1188 in einer Urkunde Kaiser Friedrichs I. Barbarossa erwähnt. Dem Merseburger Bischof Eberhard werden darin Marktprivilegien auf dem Neumarkt zugesagt. Die Neumarktkirche war ursprünglich eine kreuzförmige dreischiffige
Die romanische Kreuzbasilika wurde 1188 in einer Urkunde Kaiser Friedrichs I. Barbarossa erwähnt.

Der Patron der Kirche ist Thomas Becket von Canterbury, der 1170 in seiner Kathedrale ermordet und bereits 1173 heilig gesprochen wurde. Die romanische Kreuzbasilika wurde 1188 in einer Urkunde Kaiser Friedrichs I. Barbarossa erwähnt. Dem Merseburger Bischof Eberhard werden darin Marktprivilegien auf dem Neumarkt zugesagt. Die Neumarktkirche war ursprünglich eine kreuzförmige dreischiffige Basilika ohne ausgeschiedene Vierung mit zwei Westtürmen. Im Laufe der Jahrhunderte wurden der südliche Turm und beide Seitenschiffe abgerissen. Das ständige Hochwasser der Saale führte dazu, dass man das Erdreich um die Kirche hat anwachsen lassen, so dass auch im Inneren der Fußboden mehrfach angehoben wurde, was auch die Verlegung der Portale notwendig machte.  Die Kirche hatte eine barocke Ausstattung. Altar und Kruzifix befinden sich zurzeit in der Stadtkirche und ein Taufengel im Kulturhistorischen Museum Schloss Merseburg. Der Taufstein, der wohl aus der Zeit der Ersterwähnung stammen dürfte, steht seit 1831 in der Vorhalle des Domes. Bemerkenswert ist auch das schöne romanische Stufenportal mit der im mitteldeutschen Raum einmaligen Knotensäule, die wohl den Teufel von der Kirchentür fernhalten sollte.  1973 wurde die Kirche von der Gemeinde aufgegeben und verfiel zusehends. Von 1991-1995 wurde die Kirche umfassend saniert, das südliche Seitenschiff , ein Turmstumpf und die Sakristei neu aufgebaut. Im Innern wurde die Kirche bis zum Grund von 1188 ausgegraben, wodurch der ursprüngliche Raumeindruck wieder hergestellt wurde. Auch das Fundament des im Dom befindlichen Sandsteintaufsteins wurde dabei entdeckt.
Seit 1995 steht an der Südwand des Querschiffes ein Mahnmal gegen Gewalt "Rote Wand oder Triumph der Ideologie" von Klaus Friedrich und Gabriele Messerschmidt. Von der Künstlerin stammen des Weiteren ein Triumphkreuz und eine Skulptur zum Gedächtnis an Thomas Becket.  
 Mehr lesen
Die Kirche wird durch ehrenamtliche Mitarbeiter von April bis Oktober geöffnet, in der Regel samstags von 14:00 - 17:00 Uhr oder nach Anmeldung unter Telefon 03461/211640 oder per Mail info@ kirche-merseburg.de
  • Schlechtwetterangebot
  • für jedes Wetter
  • für Schulklassen
  • für Familien
  • für Individualgäste
  • Senioren geeignet
  • für Kinder (jedes Alter)
  • Deutsch
Die Kirche ist kostenfrei zu besichtigen. Preise zu den Veranstaltungen entnehmen Sie bitte den Veröffentlichungen.
mit dem PKW:
- BAB 9 Berlin-München, Abfahrt Leipzig-West, über B 181 Richtung Merseburg
- BAB 14 Dresden-Leipzig-Halle-Magdeburg, Abfahrt Halle, über B 91 Richtung Merseburg
- BAB 38 Leipzig-Halle-Göttingen, Abfahrt Merseburg-Nord oder Merseburg-Süd Bundesstraßen B 91 Halle-Merseburg-Weißenfels, B181 Leipzig-Merseburg

mit dem Öffentlichen Personennahverkehr:
Fernbushaltestelle Busverbindungen u. a. von Leipzig, Querfurt, Mücheln Straßenbahn Linie 5 aus Richtung Halle .

mit dem Flugzeug:
Interkontinental-Flughafen Leipzig-Halle, ca. 40 Autominuten entfernt, weiter mit Bus oder Bahn Flughafen Leipzig/Halle

mit der Bahn:
Bahnlinie Berlin-Erfurt-Frankfurt/Main, mit dem IC bis Halle oder Weißenfels, weiter mit RB Deutsche Bahn

Wo:

Anschrift:

Evangelisches Kirchspiel Merseburg

Neumarkt
06217 Merseburg
Telefon: +49 3461 211640
E-Mail: info@kiche-merseburg.de
Webseite: http://www.kirche-merseburg.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing