Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Castle Neu-Augustusburg

© Copyright by E.S. - Photography

Description:

The castle Neu-Augustusburg is enthroned far visibly above the Saale city of Weißenfels.

The residence of the Dukes of Weißenfels "Schloss Neu-Augustusburg" in the form of a monumental three-winged complex was built on the foundation walls of the former Weißenfels castle between 1660 and 1694. Until 1746, the castle served as the residence of the Saxonian branch line Saxony-Weißenfels and quickly developed into a cultural stronghold.

Johann Beer served at the Weißenfels court
The castle Neu-Augustusburg is enthroned far visibly above the Saale city of Weißenfels.

The residence of the Dukes of Weißenfels "Schloss Neu-Augustusburg" in the form of a monumental three-winged complex was built on the foundation walls of the former Weißenfels castle between 1660 and 1694. Until 1746, the castle served as the residence of the Saxonian branch line Saxony-Weißenfels and quickly developed into a cultural stronghold.

Johann Beer served as ducal concertmaster at the Weißenfels court, while Johann Phillip Krieger held the position of court kapellmeister. The personal physician of Duke Johann Adolf I of Weißenfels was a certain Georg Händel, who one day took his seven-year-old son with him to Weißenfels. In the presence of the Duke, the little Georg Friedrich Händel played the Schlosskirchen organ so impressively that the Duke convinced his father to provide a musical education for his son.

Thus Weißenfels is regarded as the place of discovery of the talent of Georg Friedrich Händel. Another world-class artist is also associated with Weißenfels Castle: Johann Sebastian Bach was the resident court conductor at Weißenfels. The Comedy Hall integrated into the south wing of the castle served as a stage for Caroline Neuber, for example. Opposite the Comedy Hall in the north wing is the impressive castle church of St. Trinitatis, which is still preserved today and is one of the most beautiful early baroque churches in Central Germany.

Equipped with frescoes and magnificent stucco work by Italian masters as well as a Förner organ, the church holds another treasure in the cellars: The prince's crypt with magnificently decorated tin and wooden sarcophagi of the Dukes of Saxony-Weissenfels. The Museum Weißenfels in Neu-Augustusburg Palace today houses an exhibition on the Duchy of Saxony-Weißenfels and the history of the town. It also houses the largest shoe museum in the new federal states with shoes from all over the world and prominent personalities. The castle church with Förner organ as well as constantly changing special exhibitions can be visited during the opening hours of the museum. 
 Read more
April to September:
Tuesday - Sunday 10:00 - 17:00

October to March:
Tuesday - Sunday 10:00 - 16:00
  • Bad weather offer
  • for all weathers
  • for school classes
  • for families
  • for individual guests
  • Suitable for seniors
  • for children (3-6 years)
  • for children (6-10 years)
  • for children (from 10 years)
  • Cash payment
  • WC facility
  • Nappy-changing room
Adults 5 €.
reduced* 3 € (students, trainees, benefit recipients, people with a handicap, groups of 15 persons or more)
Students 1 €
Prince's crypt 5 €
Photo and video permission for private purposes 1,50 €
Guided tour 45 minutes up to 20 persons 40 € plus admission
Guided tour 45 minutes outside opening hours up to 20 people 80 € plus admission
by car:
- via the A 9 and A 38

by plane:
The distance to Leipzig-Halle Airport is only about 35 km

with the open local public transport system:
- Train station in the city centre
- Bus station in the city centre

by bike:
via the Saale cycle path

Where:

Address:

City of Weißenfels

Zeitzer Strasse 4
06667 Weissenfels
Phone: +49 3443 / 2390017
E-mail: info@museum-weissenfels.de
website: http://www.weissenfels.de/de/schloss-neu-augustusburg.html

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Schloss Neu-Augustusburg

© Copyright by E.S. - Photographie

Beschreibung:

Das Schloss Neu-Augustusburg thront weit sichtbar über der Saalestadt Weißenfels.

Auf den Grundmauern der einstigen Weißenfelser Burg wurde in den Jahren 1660 bis 1694 die Residenz der Weißenfelser Herzöge "Schloss Neu-Augustusburg" in Form einer monumentalen Dreiflügelanlage erbaut. Das Schloss diente bis 1746 als Residenz der kursächsischen Nebenlinie Sachsen-Weißenfels und entwickelte sich schnell zu einer kulturellen Hochburg.

Johann Beer fungierte am Weißenfelser Hof
Das Schloss Neu-Augustusburg thront weit sichtbar über der Saalestadt Weißenfels.

Auf den Grundmauern der einstigen Weißenfelser Burg wurde in den Jahren 1660 bis 1694 die Residenz der Weißenfelser Herzöge "Schloss Neu-Augustusburg" in Form einer monumentalen Dreiflügelanlage erbaut. Das Schloss diente bis 1746 als Residenz der kursächsischen Nebenlinie Sachsen-Weißenfels und entwickelte sich schnell zu einer kulturellen Hochburg.

Johann Beer fungierte am Weißenfelser Hof als herzoglicher Konzertmeister, während Johann Phillip Krieger die Stelle des Hofkapellmeisters inne hatte. Leibarzt des Weißenfelser Herzogs Johann Adolf I. war ein gewisser Georg Händel, der seinen siebenjährigen Sohn eines Tages mit nach Weißenfels nahm. Der kleine Georg Friedrich Händel spielte im Beisein des Herzogs so beeindruckend an der Schlosskirchenorgel, dass dieser den Vater überzeugte, eine musikalische Bildung für den Sohn vorzusehen.

Somit gilt Weißenfels als Entdeckungsort des Talents von Georg Friedrich Händel. Auch ein weiterer Künstler von Weltrang steht mit dem Weißenfelser Schloss in Verbindung: Johann Sebastian Bach fungierte als Weißenfelser Hofkapellmeister von Haus aus. Der in den Südflügel des Schlosses integrierte Komödiensaal diente beispielsweise Caroline Neuber als Bühne. Gegenüber des Komödiensaals befindet sich im Nordflügel die heute noch erhaltene und beeindruckende Schlosskirche St. Trinitatis, die zu den schönsten frühbarocken Kirchen Mitteldeutschlands zählt.

Ausgestattet mit Fresken und prachtvollen Stuckaturen italienischer Meister sowie einer Förner-Orgel hält die Kirche in den Kellerräumen einen weiteren Schatz bereit: Die Fürstengruft mit prunkvoll verzierten Zinn- und Holzsarkophagen der Herzöge von Sachsen-Weißenfels. Das Museum Weißenfels im Schloss Neu-Augustusburg beherbergt heute eine Ausstellung zum Herzogtum Sachsen-Weißenfels sowie zur Geschichte der Stadt. Außerdem befindet sich hier das größte Schuhmuseum der neuen Bundesländer mit Schuhen aus aller Welt sowie prominenter Persönlichkeiten. Die Schlosskirche mit Förner-Orgel sowie ständig wechselnde Sonderausstellungen können während der Öffnungszeiten des Museums besichtigt werden. 
 Mehr lesen
April bis September:
Dienstag - Sonntag 10:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Oktober bis März:
Dienstag - Sonntag 10:00 - 16:00 Uhr
  • Schlechtwetterangebot
  • für jedes Wetter
  • für Schulklassen
  • für Familien
  • für Individualgäste
  • Senioren geeignet
  • für Kinder (3-6 Jahre)
  • für Kinder (6-10 Jahre)
  • für Kinder (ab 10 Jahre)
  • Deutsch
  • WC-Anlage
  • Wickelraum
Erwachsene 5 €
ermäßigt* 3 € (Studierende, Auszubildende, Leistungsempfangende, Menschen mit Handycap, Gruppen ab 15 Personen)
Schüler 1 €
Fürstengruft 5 €
Foto- und Videoerlaubnis für private Zwecke 1,50 €
Führung 45 Minuten bis zu 20 Personen 40 € zzgl. Eintritt
Führung 45 Minuten außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten bis zu 20 Personen 80 € zzgl. Eintritt
mit dem PKW:
- über die A 9 und A 38

mit dem Flugzeug:
Zum Flughafen Leipzig-Halle beträgt die Entfernung nur ca. 35 km

mit dem öffnetlichen Personennahverkehr:
- Bahnhof im Stadtzentrum
- Busbahnhof im Stadtzentrum

mit dem Fahrrad:
über den Saaleradweg

Wo:

Anschrift:

Stadt Weißenfels

Zeitzer Straße 4
06667 Weißenfels
Telefon: +49 3443 / 2390017
E-Mail: info@museum-weissenfels.de
Webseite: http://www.weissenfels.de/de/schloss-neu-augustusburg.html

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing