Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Bad Sulzaer wine hiking trail

Tour dates

medium

8.4 km

02:18 h

125 m

227 m

133 m

132 m
 
Height profile

Description:

You couldn't count them, the many vines that grow along the way.

The wine trail lives up to its name. And where there are vineyards, there are uphill stretches. But the town and the spa gardens are very relaxed.

Starting point for the hike is the Thuringian Weintor (S). We are going in the direction of the graduation house "Louise". From there we go to the little frequented residential street "Am Gradierwerk" below the Sonnenburg with vineyard cottage and
You couldn't count them, the many vines that grow along the way.

The wine trail lives up to its name. And where there are vineyards, there are uphill stretches. But the town and the spa gardens are very relaxed.

Starting point for the hike is the Thuringian Weintor (S). We are going in the direction of the graduation house "Louise". From there we go to the little frequented residential street "Am Gradierwerk" below the Sonnenburg with vineyard houses and dry stone walls. After the last houses the path becomes a nature trail. About 100 m we walk parallel to the railway line. Then we turn left and after a few meters we reach the country road towards Sonnendorf. Along the road we now walk steadily uphill. To the left and right the wine grows on the Sonnendorf slope (1).

We walk to the next big bend in the road. There we turn slightly right into a short forest. Straight ahead we continue along old fruit trees. Not so steep anymore but still slightly uphill. When we reach the next vineyard slope we have also crossed the invisible border to Saxony-Anhalt (2).

From here you can look into the Ilm and Saale valley. We walk only a short distance along the vineyard and then turn left. After about 100 m we come to a road. Here we turn left again. At the highest point of the hike we cross the border to Thuringia again. Always straight ahead on a flat path in the direction of Sonnendorf (3).

Who wants can make a detour to the Thuringian winery. Otherwise we walk straight on past the village. You should definitely plan a short, worthwhile detour to the Sonnendorf rest area (4). Just turn left after crossing the road a few meters. From the covered seating area there is a wonderful view over the vineyards and to Bad Sulza.

Strengthened, you go back on the mountain path further straight ahead. To the left of us are the vineyards. After approx. 3.8 km of the entire route, a path turns left to the Sonnenburg. But we stay on the path straight ahead, walk through the forest for a while and then pass a large meadow. The path now goes steadily downhill. We walk through the forest for a short while and reach the first houses of Bad Sulza. On the path "Unter den Sonnenberg" we walk down into the valley and turn left on the road "General-Morand-Weg".

First we walk over the Emsenbach and then through the railway underpass (5). Following the course of Gernstedter Straße we pass the cemetery and reach "Carl-Spaeter-Straße". We walk straight on until we reach the main street - "Ludwig-Wiegand-Straße". Here we turn right and after about 100 m left into "Kirchstraße". After a few steps we turn left again into "Kurparkstraße" and in the Kurpark we meet the Historical Inhalatorium with the Tourist Information (6). Here you can get the stamp for the hike. We leave the building behind us and walk through the spa gardens (those who have time and leisure can try the brine with a small detour in the drinking hall) in the direction of Ilm.

We follow the path below the Sophienstraße and then pass under a railway bridge. After 200 m we meet a water wheel (7) on the right and turn left there. Over serpentines we go uphill to the copy of the Goethe-Gartenhaus (8). We continue along the parking lot of the Toskana-Therme until we reach the main road - "Albert-Lindner-Straße". We turn right, follow the road until we reach the Thuringian Wine Gate on our left again.



 Read more
Start: Thuringian wine gate Bad Sulza
Starting point: Thuringian wine gate Bad Sulza
Destination: Thuringian wine gate Bad Sulza
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Condition: easy
  • Family friendly
  • Refreshment stop
  • Suitable for winter use
  • Signage
  • Tour with dog
Directions: Thuringian Wine Gate - Under the Sun Castle - On the Sonnendorf Slope - Sonnendorf Seating Area - Under the Sunny Mountains - Spa Park with Tourist Information - Goethe Garden House 2 - Thuringian Wine Gate

Thuringian Tuscany is the name given to the area around Bad Sulza. The hilly landscape and sometimes also the very special light remind of the region in Italy. Mild climate and the valley position make the viticulture possible. Proof of this is the fact that it has been cultivated in Bad Sulza for over 800 years. The vineyards around Bad Sulza and Auerstedt are characterized by shell limestone. Where orchids also feel at home, fruity grape varieties thrive. Even red wines achieve a convincing quality.

Author's tip: The Louise graduation house is located directly at the start. It is good for the bronchial tubes and you can breathe deeply. Brine trickles over the branches of the blackthorn, creating a salty, fine precipitation. You will also pass directly by the copy of the Goethe Garden House. Why not just take a look inside. The Goethe Garden will also surprise you with vines.

Approach: Start at the Thüringer Weintor. You can reach it with the navigation input: Am Gradierwerk 1, 99518 Bad Sulza. From the station it is only a few minutes walk along Albert-Lindner-Str.

Parking: Free parking spaces are available at the graduation house.

Road markings: Table 1:
Thüringer Weintor past the graduation works/caravan parking lot level crossing keep right

Table 2:
Under the Sonnenburg straight on to the road to Sonnendorf  

Table 3:
At the Sonnendorfer Hang Straße uphill to the left bend - go straight on here

Plate 4:
Under the lime tree uphill left direction Sonnendorf/ crossing left

Plate 5:
Sonnendorf seating group - road to the Sonnenburg car park - straight out and downhill to the left  

Plate 6:
Unter den Sonnenbergen - right to crossroads - left to railway underpass - up Gernstedter Str./Nordfriedhof-Bergab Carl-Spaeter-Str.- right Ludwig-Wiegand-Str.-

Plate 7:
Back side of the town hall - Markt-Untere Marktstr.-Hainstr.-left in Kirchstr.-right Kurpark show area "Old grape varieties

Plate 8:
Goethe Garden House 2 and back to the Thuringian Wine Gate.


  • always open

Tour itinerary:

Contact:

Spa society Heilbad Bad Sulza mbH

Spa gardens 2
99518 Bad Sulza
Phone: +49 36461 / 8210
E-mail: info@bad-sulza.de
website: http://www.bad-sulza.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Bad Sulzaer Weinwanderweg

Tourdaten

mittel

8.4 km

02:18 h

125 m

227 m

133 m

132 m
 
Höhenprofil

Beschreibung:

Man könnte sie gar nicht zählen, die vielen Weinstöcke, die am Wegesrand wachsen.

Der Weinwanderweg macht seinem Namen alle Ehre. Und wo es Weinberge gibt, geht´s auch mal bergauf. Ganz entspannt läuft es sich dafür im Städtchen und dem Kurpark.

Ausgangspunkt für die Wanderung ist dasThüringer Weintor (S). Wir begeben uns in Richtung Gradierwerk „Louise“. Von dort geht es zur wenig befahrenen Anwohnerstraße „Am Gradierwerk“ unterhalb der Sonnenburg mit Weinberghäuschen und
Man könnte sie gar nicht zählen, die vielen Weinstöcke, die am Wegesrand wachsen.

Der Weinwanderweg macht seinem Namen alle Ehre. Und wo es Weinberge gibt, geht´s auch mal bergauf. Ganz entspannt läuft es sich dafür im Städtchen und dem Kurpark.

Ausgangspunkt für die Wanderung ist dasThüringer Weintor (S). Wir begeben uns in Richtung Gradierwerk „Louise“. Von dort geht es zur wenig befahrenen Anwohnerstraße „Am Gradierwerk“ unterhalb der Sonnenburg mit Weinberghäuschen und Trockenmauern. Nach den letzten Häusern wird der Weg zu einem Naturpfad. Ca. 100 m laufen wir parallel der Bahnstrecke. Danach biegen wir links ab und erreichen nach wenigen Metern die Landstraße Richtung Sonnendorf. Entlang der Straße geht es jetzt stetig bergauf. Links und rechts wächst am  Sonnendorfer Hang (1) der Wein.

Wir laufen bis zur nächsten großen Straßenkehre. Dort biegen wir leicht rechts in ein kurzes Waldstück ab. Geradeaus geht es weiter an alten Obstbäumen. Nicht mehr ganz so steil aber immer noch leicht bergauf. Wenn wir am nächsten Weinhang angelangt sind haben wir auch die unsichtbare Grenze zu Sachsen-Anhalt (2) überquert.

Von hier kann man ins Ilm- und Saaletal schauen. Wir wandern nur ein kurzes Stück entlang des Weinberges und biegen dann links ab. Nach ca. 100 m kommen wir auf eine Fahrstraße. Hier biegen wir erneut links ab. Am höchsten Punkt der Wanderung überqueren wir wieder die Landesgrenze zu Thüringen. Immer geradeaus geht es auf einem ebenen Weg in Richtung Sonnendorf (3).

Wer will kann einen Abstecher zum Thüringer Weingut machen. Ansonsten laufen wir weiter geradeaus am Ort vorbei. Unbedingt einplanen sollte man einen kurzen, lohnenden Abstecher zum Rastplatz Sonnendorf (4). Hierfür einfach nach dem Überqueren der Fahrstraße wenige Meter nach links abbiegen. Von der überdachten Sitzgruppe aus bietet sich ein wunderschöner Blick über die Weinberge und nach Bad Sulza.

Gestärkt geht es zurück auf dem Höhenweg weiter geradeaus. Links von uns liegen die Weinhänge. Nach ca. 3,8 km gesamter Wegstrecke biegt ein Weg nach links zur Sonnenburg ab. Wir bleiben aber auf dem Weg geradeaus, laufen noch ein Stück durch den Wald und kommen dann an einer großen Wiese vorbei. Es geht jetzt stetig bergab.  Wir laufen noch ein kurzes Stück durch den Wald und erreichen gleich darauf die ersten Häuser von Bad Sulza. Auf dem Weg „Unter den Sonnenberg“ gehen wir bis ins Tal und biegen auf der Straße „General-Morand-Weg“ links ab.

Erst laufen wir über den Emsenbach und dann durch die Bahnunterführung (5). Dem Verlauf der Gernstedter Straße folgend kommen wir am Friedhof vorbei zur „Carl-Spaeter-Straße“. Wir laufen geradeaus bis wir die Hauptstraße – „Ludwig-Wiegand-Straße“ erreichen. Hier geht es rechts entlang und nach ca. 100 m links in die „Kirchstraße“. Nach wenigen Schritten biegen wir abermals links in die „Kurparkstraße“ ab und treffen im Kurpark auf das Historische Inhalatorium mit der Tourist-Information (6). Hier gibt es den Stempel für die Wanderung. Wir lassen das Gebäude hinter uns liegen und gehen durch den Kurpark (Wer Zeit und Muße hat, kann mit kleinem Umweg in der Trinkhalle die Sole probieren.) in Richtung Ilm.

Wir folgen dem Weg unterhalb der Sophienstraße und unterqueren danach eine Eisenbahnbrücke. Nach 200 m treffen wir rechts auf ein Wasserrad (7) und biegen dort links ab. Über Serpentinen geht es bergauf zur Kopie des Goethe-Gartenhauses (8). Weiter geht es am Parkplatz der Toskana-Therme entlang bis zur Hauptstraße – „Albert-Lindner-Straße“. Wir biegen rechts ab, folgen den Straßenverlauf bis wir wieder links von uns das Thüringer Weintor erreichen.



 Mehr lesen
Start: Thüringer Weintor Bad Sulza
Ausgangspunkt: Thüringer Weintor Bad Sulza
Ziel: Thüringer Weintor Bad Sulza
  • Schwierigkeit: mittel
  • Kondition: leicht
  • Familienfreundlich
  • Einkehrmöglichkeit
  • Wintertauglich
  • Beschilderung
  • Tour mit Hund
Wegbeschreibung: Thüringer Weintor - Unter der Sonnenburg – Am Sonnendorfer Hang – Sonnendorfer Sitzgruppe – Unter den Sonnenbergen – Kurpark mit Tourist-Information – Goethe Gartenhaus 2 – Thüringer Weintor

Thüringer Toskana wird die Gegend um Bad Sulza genannt. Die hügelige Landschaft und manchmal auch das ganz spezielle Licht erinnern an die Region in Italien. Mildes Klima und die Tallage machen den Weinbau möglich. Nachweislich wird der seit über 800 Jahren in Bad Sulza. Die Weinberge rund um Bad Sulza und Auerstedt sind vom Muschelkalk geprägt. Dort wo sich auch Orchideen wohl fühlen, gedeihen fruchtigen Rebsorten. Selbst Rotweine erreichen eine überzeugende Qualität.

Anfahrt: Start am Thüringer Weintor. Das erreichen Sie mit der Navigationseingabe: Am Gradierwerk 1, 99518 Bad Sulza. Vom Bahnhof sind es nur wenige Gehminuten zu Fuß entlang der Albert-Lindner-Str.

Parken: Kostenlose Parkplätze gibt es am Gradierwerk.

Wegekennzeichen: Tafel 1:
Thüringer Weintor vorbei an Gradierwerk/ Carvanstellplatz-Bahnübergang rechts halten

Tafel 2:
Unter der Sonnenburg gerade aus zur Straße nach Sonnendorf  

Tafel 3:
Am Sonnendorfer Hang Straße bergauf zur Linksbiegung - hier Weg gerade aus gehen

Tafel 4:
Unter der Linde bergan links Richtung Sonnendorf/ Kreuzung links

Tafel 5:
Sonnendorfer Sitzgruppe - Straße zum Parkplatz Sonnenburg-gerade aus und links bergab  

Tafel 6:
Unter den Sonnenbergen - rechts bis Kreuzung-links Bahnunterführung-bergauf Gernstedter Str./Nordfriedhof-bergab Carl-Spaeter- Str.- rechts Ludwig-Wiegand-Str.-

Tafel 7:
Rückseite Rathaus - Markt-Untere Marktstr.-Hainstr.-links in Kirchstr.-rechts Kurpark-Schauanlage  „Alte Rebsorten“

Tafel 8:
Goethe Gartenhaus 2 und zurück zum Thüringer Weintor.


  • immer geöffnet

Tourenverlauf:

Kontakt:

Kurgesellschaft Heilbad Bad Sulza mbH

Kurpark 2
99518 Bad Sulza
Telefon: +49 36461 / 8210
E-Mail: info@bad-sulza.de
Webseite: http://www.bad-sulza.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing