Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Elster raft ditch hiking trail

© Copyright by Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.
Tour dates

easy

11.6 km

02:46 h

93 m

114 m


16 m
 
Height profile

Description:

A trail that recalls the history of log rafting.

The hiking trail has its origins in the 16th century and is considered the longest energy pipeline of the past (from Muldenberg in the Vogtland region to the cities of Halle and Leipzig). A technical masterpiece that can still be seen on the approx. 10 km long hiking trail. Between 1578 and 1580, Elector August I of Saxony had a raft ditch constructed to enable timber rafting. The
A trail that recalls the history of log rafting.

The hiking trail has its origins in the 16th century and is considered the longest energy pipeline of the past (from Muldenberg in the Vogtland region to the cities of Halle and Leipzig). A technical masterpiece that can still be seen on the approx. 10 km long hiking trail. Between 1578 and 1580, Elector August I of Saxony had a raft ditch constructed to enable timber to be rafted. The wood transported in this way was specifically used to fire boiling pans to turn brine into table salt. 

The hike leads through such tranquil places as Schladebach with a small farm café.
A waterway cross - en miniature - a technical masterpiece, if you consider that the construction was started in the 16th century - is crossed, the village stream crosses here with the Elster raft ditch. In Kötzschau, the restaurant "zur Mühle" invites you to take a break - children will also enjoy the beautifully designed playground. About 200 m away from the trail, at the former Kötzschau manor house, Master Adebar lives in his eyrie - a stork chronicle leaves no questions unanswered about the arrival of the storks and the number of their young. The salt deposits in the region have been known since the Middle Ages and in Kötzschau there was one of the oldest salt works in the region. In Nempitz the eye of the hiker is delighted by well-kept green spaces and a small, fine park with several surprises. A guided tour through Nempitz can be booked and then you will not only learn about the secrets of the park and the place...
Between Schladebach and Nempitz, 15 panels provide information about everything worth knowing about the technology and history of the raft ditch, as well as salt production in the salt works. Salt was vital and served to preserve food, which is why it was also called "white gold".
The hiking trail leads on natural paths along the raft ditch through sparse forests, past meadows and through beautiful villages. There are resting places everywhere and between Schladebach and Kötzschau you can choose a trail variant that takes you to a small mountain with a resting place - the view of the surrounding villages is included.

 Read more
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Condition: easy
Author's Tip: Start the hike at a "Lost Places" - the lock ruin in Wüsteneutzsch - the ruin inspires not only the technically interested among the hikers - with its dimensions and the question What-If the Elster-Saale Canal, which would connect the White Elster near Leipzig with the Saale near Leuna, actually existed. This leaves a lot of room for dreams and speculations. For the time being, that's the way it has to be, because there is no completion in sight.
For a long time, the deepest borehole in the world was considered to be the geological land survey near Schladebach with a fabulous depth of 1748 m and this in the period from 1884 to 1893. The most important concern was the search for hard coal.

Parking: Parking spaces in the village centre of Schladebach
Public parking lot for hikers at the Wüsteneutzsch lock ruins

More info / links: Route characteristics: natural hiking trails, short stretch of asphalt              
  • always open

Tour itinerary:

Contact:

Saale-Unstrut-Tourism e.V.

Pot market 6
06618 Naumburg
Phone: +49 3445 / 237790
E-mail: info@saale-unstrut-tourismus.de
website: http://www.saale-unstrut-tourismus.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Elster-Floßgraben Wanderweg

© Copyright by Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.
Tourdaten

leicht

11.6 km

02:46 h

93 m

114 m


16 m
 
Höhenprofil

Beschreibung:

Ein Wanderweg der an die Geschichte der Scheitholzflößerei erinnert.

Der Wanderweg hat seine Ursprünge im 16 Jh. und gilt als längste Energiepipeline der Vergangenheit (vom vogtländischen Muldenberg bis in die Städte Halle und Leipzig). Eine technische Meisterleistung, die man auf dem ca. 10 km langen Wanderweg noch immer sehen kann. In den Jahren 1578 bis 1580 ließ Kurfürst August I. von Sachsen einen Floßgraben anlegen, der das Holzflößen ermöglichen sollte. Das
Ein Wanderweg der an die Geschichte der Scheitholzflößerei erinnert.

Der Wanderweg hat seine Ursprünge im 16 Jh. und gilt als längste Energiepipeline der Vergangenheit (vom vogtländischen Muldenberg bis in die Städte Halle und Leipzig). Eine technische Meisterleistung, die man auf dem ca. 10 km langen Wanderweg noch immer sehen kann. In den Jahren 1578 bis 1580 ließ Kurfürst August I. von Sachsen einen Floßgraben anlegen, der das Holzflößen ermöglichen sollte. Das so transportierte Holz wurde gezielt zur Befeuerung von Siedepfannen genutzt, um Sole in Speisesalz zu verarbeiten. 

Die Wanderung führt durch so beschauliche Orte wie Schladebach mit einem kleinem Hof Café.
Ein Wasserstraßenkreuz – en miniature – eine technische Meisterleistung, wenn man bedenkt, dass mit dem Bau im 16ten Jahrhundert begonnen wurde - wird überquert, der Dorfbach kreuzt sich hier mit dem Elster Floßgraben. In Kötzschau lädt die Gaststätte zur Mühle zur Rast ein - auch Kinder kommen auf dem schön angelegten Spielplatz auf ihre Kosten. Etwa 200 m vom Weg entfernt, am ehemaligen Gutshof Kötzschau, bewohnt Meister Adebar seinen Horst - eine Storchenchronik lässt keine Fragen zur Ankunft der Störche und zur Anzahl ihrer Jungen offen. Die Salzvorkommen in der Region sind schon seit dem Mittelalter bekannt und in Kötzschau gab es eine der ältesten Salinen der Region. In Nempitz erfreut das Auge des Wanderers Allerorten gepflegte Grünflächen und ein kleiner, feiner Park mit etlichen Überraschungen. Eine Führung durch Nempitz kann gebucht werden und dann erfährt man nicht nur von den Geheimnissen des Parks und des Ortes…
Zwischen Schladebach und Nempitz informieren 15 Tafeln über alles Wissenswerte zur Technik und Geschichte des Floßgrabens, sowie der Salzgewinnung in den Salinen.  Salz war lebenswichtig und diente der Konservierung von Lebensmitteln, weshalb es auch das „weiße Gold“ genannt wurde.
Der Wanderweg führt auf naturbelassen Wegen entlang des Floßgrabens durch lichte Wälder, vorbei an Wiesen und durch wunderschöne Dörfer. Überall finden sich Rastmöglichkeiten und zwischen Schladebach und Kötzschau kann man eine Wegevariante wählen, über die man einen kleinen Berg mit Rastplatz erreicht – die Aussicht auf die umliegenden Dörfer ist inklusive.

 Mehr lesen
  • Schwierigkeit: leicht
  • Kondition: leicht
Tipp des Autors: Beginnen Sie die Wanderung an einem „Lost Places“ - der Schleusenruine in Wüsteneutzsch - die Ruine begeistert nicht nur die Technikinteressierte unter den Wanderern - mit seinen Ausmaßen und der Frage Was-Wäre-Wenn es den Elster-Saale-Kanal, der die Weiße Elster bei Leipzig mit der Saale bei Leuna verbinden würde, tatsächlich gebe. Da bleibt viel Raum für Träume und Spekulationen. Einstweilen muss es dabeibleiben, denn eine Fertigstellung ist nicht in Sicht.
Als tiefstes Bohrloch der Welt galt lange Zeit, die geologische Landuntersuchung in der Nähe von Schladebach mit einer sagenhaften Tiefe von 1748 m und dies in der Zeit von 1884 – 1893. Das wichtigste Anliegen war die Steinkohlesuche.

Parken: Parkplätze im Dorfkern von Schladebach
Öffentlicher Wanderparkplatz an der Schleusenruine Wüsteneutzsch

Weitere Infos / Links: Wegebeschaffenheit: naturbelassene Wanderwege, kurzes Stück Asphalt              
  • immer geöffnet

Tourenverlauf:

Kontakt:

Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V.

Topfmarkt 6
06618 Naumburg
Telefon: +49 3445 / 237790
E-Mail: info@saale-unstrut-tourismus.de
Webseite: http://www.saale-unstrut-tourismus.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing