Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Ilmtal Cycle Path

© Copyright by Weimarer Land
Tour dates

easy

121.1 km

08:07 h

119 m

759 m

538 m

1171 m
 
Height profile

Description:

The Ilmtal cycle path is one of the most popular cycle paths in Germany.

The trail crosses villages, passes castles, palaces and historic mills. Parks invite you to linger, restaurants to stop at and cyclist-friendly accommodation to stay overnight.

The cycle route is suitable for a 3-day tour with connections to long-distance cycle routes as well as for shorter day trips. The Regional Express trains with free bike transport and bike compartments
The Ilmtal cycle path is one of the most popular cycle paths in Germany.

The trail crosses villages, passes castles, palaces and historic mills. Parks invite you to linger, restaurants to stop at and cyclist-friendly accommodation to stay overnight.

The cycle route is suitable for a 3-day tour with connections to long-distance cycle routes as well as for shorter day trips. The Regional Express trains with free bike transport and bike compartments run hourly in each direction.
Extended Tour Description:
Start in Allzunah at the Rennsteig. Through the valley to Stützerbach. From Manebach to Ilmenau, from here through the Schortetal to Langewiesen and Gräfinau-Angstedt. 

Direction Stadtilm further to the spa town Bad Berka. Via small villages to the park on the Ilm in Weimar.

From Weimar through Tiefurt and Kromsdorf. From Oßmannstedt via the Wielandgut to Eberstedt and Bad Sulza. Out of town, vineyards line the way to the mouth of the Saale, where you can follow the Saaleradweg or stop for a bite to eat.
Passenger car: The A4 and A71 offer ideal travel options to the starting point of your choice.
Public Transportation: You can get to the starting point Allzunah via the railway stations: Rennsteig, Gehlberg and Ilmenau. From Ilmenau by bus in the direction of Frauenwald. It is possible to have bicycles brought from Ilmenau to Allzunah by transfer. On weekends and public holidays there is a direct connection to Erfurt-Bahnhof/Rennsteig.
Stations for "crossers" or downstream are in Stadtilm, Kranichfeld, Tannroda, Hetschburg, Bad Berka, Mellingen, Weimar, Oßmannstedt, Apolda, Niedertrebra and Bad Sulza. At the end point Großheringen the local train station can be used.

 
Additional info:
For 123 km, the Ilmtal cycle path follows the blue ribbon of the Ilm from its source in the Thuringian Forest to the mouth of the Saale near Großheringen. It overcomes a difference in altitude of 750-120 m above sea level. The level of difficulty is easy to medium and suitable for families with children.


It was the first cycle route in Thuringia to be awarded four stars by the General German Bicycle Club (ADFC) as an ADFC quality cycle route.


 Read more
Start: Allzunah/Rennsteig
Starting point: Town centre
Goal: Katschen-Weichau
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Condition: medium
  • Suitable for cycling
  • Culinary interesting
  • Family friendly
  • Culturally interesting
  • Refreshment stop
  • Multi-day tour
  • Accommodation
  • Signage
  • Predicate path
  • Certified ADFC cycle route
  • Good connection to public transport
Directions: Start of the Ilmtal cycle path is Allzunah on the Rennsteig. From here it goes down through the valley to Stützerbach, a popular climatic health resort on the Rennsteig, whose advantages were already appreciated by Goethe. Following in the footsteps of the poet-prince, you will reach Ilmenau - the university and Goethe city on the Ilm - via Manebach. From here the path leads through the Schorta Valley to Langewiesen and Gräfinau-Angstedt. 

On the way to Stadtilm, several possible detours are tempting, such as the salt works in Oberilm or the museum brewery in Singen. But the art and mustard mill in Kleinhettstedt is also worth a visit before reaching the two-castle town of Kranichfeld with its impressive landmarks. Through picturesque landscapes, the route continues on to the spa town of Bad Berka. Here the spa gardens in the heart of the town offer artistic attractions for eyes and ears, Kneipp facilities and the Goethe Fountain, whose water promises healing effects. Via small villages you finally reach the park on the Ilm in the cultural city of Weimar. Here you should plan a longer stay to be inspired by this city of classics.

From Weimar, the cycle path leads through the parks of Tiefurt and Kromsdorf, which are connected by the Maria Pavlovna Promenade. In both places the castles tell stories about the court of the muses of Duchess Anna Amalia and the work of Grand Duchess Maria Pavlovna. In Oßmannstedt you visit the Wielandgut before continuing on to Eberstedt. Here the next stop is the historical oil mill. Down the hill it is a relaxed ride to Bad Sulza, Thuringia's popular spa and wine town. After a leisurely stroll through the historic spa gardens, it is worth visiting the "Trinkhalle" and the Gradiwerwerk "Louise". From the town, vineyards line the path to the mouth of the Saale, where you can either continue along the Saale cycle path or stop for a bite to eat.



Author's Tip: After Oberroßla it is worth making a detour to the bell city of Apolda. Art and modern knitwear fashion are equally at home here. The Kunsthaus Apolda Avantgard has exhibitions by high-ranking artists and is a must for all art lovers.



Approach: By car, the A4 and A71 offer ideal travel options to the starting point of your choice.

Road markings: Cyclist in front of green-blue wavy line
More info / links: www.outdooractive.com/de/route/radtour/thueringer-wald/ilmtal-radweg-vom-rennsteig-durchs-weimarer-land-bis-zur-saale/106657992/
www.weimarer-land-tourismus.de/de/aktiv/radfahren/ilmtal-radweg/

  • always open

Tour itinerary:

Contact:

Weimarer Land Tourism e.V.

Bahnhofstraße 28
99510 Apolda
Phone: +49 03644 / 519975
E-mail: info@weimarer-land.de
website: http://www.ilmtal-radweg.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Ilmtal-Radweg

© Copyright by Weimarer Land
Tourdaten

leicht

121.1 km

08:07 h

119 m

759 m

538 m

1171 m
 
Höhenprofil

Beschreibung:

Der Ilmtal-Radweg ist einer der beliebtesten Radwege in Deutschland.

Der Weg durchquert Dörfer, führt vorbei an Burgen, Schlössern und historischen Mühlen. Parkanlagen laden zum Verweilen, Gaststätten zur Einkehr und radlerfreundliche Beherbergungsbetriebe zum Übernachten ein.

Der Radweg eignet sich für eine 3-Tage-Tour mit Anschlüssen an Fernradwege sowie für kürzere Tagesausflüge. Die Regional-Express-Züge mit kostenloser Fahrradmitnahme und Fahrradabteilen
Der Ilmtal-Radweg ist einer der beliebtesten Radwege in Deutschland.

Der Weg durchquert Dörfer, führt vorbei an Burgen, Schlössern und historischen Mühlen. Parkanlagen laden zum Verweilen, Gaststätten zur Einkehr und radlerfreundliche Beherbergungsbetriebe zum Übernachten ein.

Der Radweg eignet sich für eine 3-Tage-Tour mit Anschlüssen an Fernradwege sowie für kürzere Tagesausflüge. Die Regional-Express-Züge mit kostenloser Fahrradmitnahme und Fahrradabteilen verkehren stündlich in jeder Richtung.
Erweiterte Tourbeschreibung:
Start in Allzunah am Rennsteig. Durch das Tal nach Stützerbach. Von Manebach bis nach Ilmenau, von hier durch das Schortetal nach Langewiesen und Gräfinau-Angstedt. 

Richtung Stadtilm weiter in die Kurstadt Bad Berka. Über kleine Dörfer zum Park an der Ilm in Weimar.

Von Weimar durch Tiefurt und Kromsdorf. Von Oßmannstedt über das Wielandgut nach Eberstedt und Bad Sulza. Aus der Stadt heraus säumen Weinberge den Weg bis zur Saalemündung, wo Sie dem Saaleradweg folgen oder einkehren können.
Pkw: Die A4 und A71 bieten ideale Anreisemöglichkeiten zum Ausgangspunkt Ihrer Wahl.
Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel: Zum Ausgangspunkt Allzunah kommen Sie über die Bahnhöfe: Rennsteig, Gehlberg und Ilmenau. Ab Ilmenau mit dem Bus Richtung Frauenwald. Es besteht die Möglichkeit, Räder per Transfer von Ilmenau nach Allzunah bringen zu lassen. Am Wochenende und an Feiertagen steht die Direktverbindung Erfurt-Bahnhof/Rennsteig zur Verfügung.
Bahnhöfe für „Quereinsteiger“ bzw. flussabwärts gibt es in Stadtilm, Kranichfeld, Tannroda, Hetschburg, Bad Berka, Mellingen, Weimar, Oßmannstedt, Apolda, Niedertrebra und Bad Sulza. Am Endpunkt Großheringen kann der dortige Bahnhof genutzt werden.

 
Zusatzinfos:
Auf 123 km folgt der Ilmtal-Radweg dem blauen Band der Ilm von deren Ursprung im Thüringer Wald bis zur Mündung der Saale bei Großheringen. Er überwindet einen Höhenunterschied von 750–120 m ü. N. N. Der Schwierigkeitsgrad ist leicht bis mittel und für Familien mit Kindern geeignet.


Als erste Radroute in Thüringen wurde er vom Allgemeinen Deutschen Fahrrad-Club (ADFC) als ADFC-Qualitätsradroute mit vier Sternen ausgezeichnet.


 Mehr lesen
Start: Allzunah/Rennsteig
Ausgangspunkt: Ortsmitte
Ziel: Kaatschen-Weichau
  • Schwierigkeit: leicht
  • Kondition: mittel
  • Fahrradtauglich
  • Kulinarisch interessant
  • Familienfreundlich
  • Kulturell interessant
  • Einkehrmöglichkeit
  • Mehrtagestour
  • Unterkunftsmöglichkeit
  • Beschilderung
  • Prädikatsweg
  • Zertifizierte ADFC-Radroute
  • Gute Anbindung an ÖPNV
Wegbeschreibung: Start des Ilmtal-Radweges ist Allzunah am Rennsteig. Von hier geht es durch das Tal hinab nach Stützerbach, einem beliebten Luftkurort am Rennsteig, dessen Vorzüge bereits Goethe zu schätzen wusste.  Auf den Spuren des Dichterfürsten gelangt man über Manebach bis nach Ilmenau – der Universitäts- und Goethestadt an der Ilm. Von hier führt der Weg durch das Schortetal  nach Langewiesen und Gräfinau-Angstedt. 

Auf dem Weg nach Stadtilm locken mehrere mögliche Abstecher, etwa die Saline in Oberilm oder die Museumsbrauerei in Singen. Aber auch die Kunst- und Senfmühle in Kleinhettstedt lohnt einen Besuch bevor die Zwei-Burgen-Stadt Kranichfeld mit ihren beeindruckenden Wahrzeichen erreicht wird. Durch malerische Landschaften führt der Weg weiter in die Kurstadt Bad Berka. Hier bietet der Kurpark  im Herzen der Stadt Künstlerisches für Augen und Ohren, Kneippanlagen und den Goethebrunnen, dessen Wasser heilende Wirkung verspricht. Über kleine Dörfer erreicht man schließlich den Park an der Ilm der Kulturstadt Weimar. Hier ist ein längerer Aufenthalt einzuplanen, um sich von der Klassikerstadt begeistern zu lassen.

Von Weimar aus führt der Radweg durch die Parkanlagen von Tiefurt und Kromsdorf, die durch den Maria-Pawlowna-Promenadenweg miteinander verbunden sind. In beiden Orten erzählen die Schlösser Geschichten über den Musenhof der Herzogin Anna Amalia und das Wirken der Großherzogin Maria Pawlowna.  In Oßmannstedt stattet man dem Wielandgut einen Besuch ab, bevor es weiter nach Eberstedt geht. Hier lockt mit der historischen Ölmühle bereits der nächste Halt. Hügelabwärts radelt es sich entspannt bis nach Bad Sulza, Thüringens beliebter Kur- und Weinstadt. Nach einem gemütlichen Bummel durch den historischen Kurpark, lohnt ein Besuch der Trinkhalle und des Gradiwerwerks „Louise“. Aus der Stadt heraus säumen Weinberge den Weg bis zur Saalemündung, wo man entweder dem Saaleradweg weiter folgt oder einkehrt.



Tipp des Autors: Nach Oberroßla lohnt sich ein Abstecher in die Glockenstadt Apolda. Hier sind Kunst und moderne Strickmoden gleichermaßen zu Hause. Das Kunsthaus Apolda Avantgard weist Ausstellungen hochrangiger Künstler auf und ist ein Muss für alle Kunstinteressierten.



Anfahrt: Mit dem Auto bieten die A4 und A71 ideale Anreisemöglichkeiten zum Ausgangspunkt Ihrer Wahl.

Wegekennzeichen: Radfahrer vor grün-blauer Wellenlinie
Weitere Infos / Links: www.outdooractive.com/de/route/radtour/thueringer-wald/ilmtal-radweg-vom-rennsteig-durchs-weimarer-land-bis-zur-saale/106657992/
www.weimarer-land-tourismus.de/de/aktiv/radfahren/ilmtal-radweg/

  • immer geöffnet

Tourenverlauf:

Kontakt:

Weimarer Land Tourismus e.V.

Bahnhofstraße 28
99510 Apolda
Telefon: +49 03644 / 519975
E-Mail: info@weimarer-land.de
Webseite: http://www.ilmtal-radweg.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing