Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

SaaleHorizontal

© Copyright by JenaKultur, C. Häcker
Tour dates

medium

72.6 km

22:53 h

128 m

401 m

2452 m

2403 m
 
Height profile

Description:

The Saale horizontal runs through the landscape on narrow paths.

The panorama of the SaaleHorizontale is overwhelming. The Leuchtenburg greets you from afar, the big city roars in the valley.
On the SaaleHorizontale you will experience millennial history as well as rare plants. The ascents are sometimes gentle, sometimes steeper and reward you with nature and landscape. Pine groves, beech forests, orchards and field margins offer plenty of variety.
The
The Saale horizontal runs through the landscape on narrow paths.

The panorama of the SaaleHorizontale is overwhelming. The Leuchtenburg greets you from afar, the big city roars in the valley.
On the SaaleHorizontale you will experience millennial history as well as rare plants. The ascents are sometimes gentle, sometimes steeper and reward you with nature and landscape. Pine groves, beech forests, orchards and field margins offer plenty of variety.
The Dornburg castles, the ruins of the Kunitzburg and Lobdeburg castles, hospitable villages and ancient rocks are exciting witnesses of time. Restaurants and hostels lie along the way.
The trail has been divided into 17 short tours. Hiking routes can be put together individually via access routes and exit options. The unmistakable SaaleHorizontale trademark makes it easy to hike without a map. Information boards on the Panorama Trail provide orientation assistance at selected points.
Extended Tour Description:
Stage for the day 1: Jena (Lobeda) - Ziegenhain
From the stop Platanenstraße up to the Lobdeburg and the Johannisberg. Continue to the Fürstenbrunnen. Through beech forest into the Ziegenhainer valley. Ascent to the Fuchsturm.

Stage for the day 2: Ziegenhain/Steinkreuz - Beutnitz 
From Ziegenhain to the Fuchsturm. On the slopes of the Gembden valley descent to Wogau. Continue on the Jenzig Ridge to the Jenzighaus to the village of Laasan. From the ruin Kunitzburg to the Königsstuhl. Descent to Beutnitz.

Stage for the day 3: Beutnitz - Dornburg 
From Beutnitz to below the rocky Zietschkuppe. Above the Zietschgrund into the Tautenburg forest. Past the observatory to the ruins of Tautenburg. Through beech forest, along forest meadows to the viewpoint Hohe Lehde. Via the Sophienterrasse descent to Dorndorf. Ideal for a break and tired feet is the Kneipp facility at the Stockborn spring. Cross the historic Carl-Alexander bridge. Ascent to Dornburg. 

Stage for the day 4: Dornburg - Jena, Carl-Zeiß-Platz 
From Dornburg to Neuengönna and up to the Plattenberg. Through deciduous forest and meadows to the Weidenberg, then down Rautal. At the Steinbach up to the Windknollen. At the Napoleonstein descent over the Landgrafen into the Mühltal.
More info: The trail is 72 km long. It stretches along the shell limestone slopes on both sides of the Saale between Jena and Dornburg. Fantastic views of the middle Saale valley are offered from numerous vantage points.

www.saalehorizontale.de/startseite
www.visit-jena.de/sehen-und-erleben/aktiv-und-natur/saalehorizontale/
 Read more
Start: depending on the daily stage or short tour
Starting point: depending on the daily stage or short tour
Destination: depending on the daily stage or short tour
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Condition: easy
  • Family friendly
  • Nature Highlight
  • Refreshment stop
  • Multi-day tour
  • Accommodation
  • Signage
  • Predicate path
  • Tour with dog
  • Quality trail Wanderbares Deutschland
  • Good connection to public transport
Directions: Stage for the day 1: Jena (Lobeda) - goat grove
There is no shortage of vantage points along the Saale horizontal. Jena from far away, from close up or from the very top. The views of the university town embedded in the Saale valley are always captivating. Just a moment ago the characteristic JenTower greets you between the trees, then a sleepy little village lies between orchards. The first stage starts at the bus stop Platanenstraße. It goes quickly up to the Lobdeburg and along the steep slope up to the Johannisberg. Over the meadow at the Sommerlinde further to the shady Fürstenbrunnen. The horizontal path above the Pennickental runs close to the steep rock and offers wonderful views of the Saale valley and Jena. Through dense beech forest the horizontal path leads into the Ziegenhainer valley. Before the ascent to the Fuchsturm begins, Ziegenhain is reached.

Stage for the day 2: Goat grove/Stone cross - Beutnitz 
From Ziegenhain the SaaleHorizontal leads steeply up to the Fuchsturm, a former keep. On the slopes of the Gembdental the descent to Wogau then follows. From here the path climbs up again to the Jenzig ridge. The path then leads level to the Jenzighaus and then drops through forest down to Laasan, a small village at the end of the path. Following the road for a few hundred metres, the SaaleHorizontale turns off across meadows and fields to the ruins of the Kunitzburg, which is enthroned above the Saale at the end of the mountain. Through beautiful beech forest the path reaches the Königsstuhl with a magnificent view of the Dornburg castles. Then the descent to Beutnitz follows.

Stage 3: Beutnitz - Dornburg 
From Beutnitz the route leads through orchard meadows and scattered vineyards to below the rocky Zietschkuppe. The SaaleHorizontal leads above the Zietschgrund into the Tautenburg Forest. Past the observatory, the path leads to the Tautenburg ruins with a beautiful view of the village of the same name. The trail continues through beech forest and along forest meadows to the Hohe Lehde lookout point. The descent to Dorndorf takes place via the Sophienterrasse. Ideal for a break and tired feet is the Kneipp facility at the Stockborn spring. The path crosses the Saale river very close to it, crossing the historic Carl-Alexander bridge. In a small side valley the short ascent to Dornburg then follows. 

Stage 4: Dornburg - Jena, Carl-Zeiß-Platz 
From Dornburg, the route runs along the Burgschädel down to Neuengönna and then back up to the Plattenberg with a sweeping view of the Alte Gleisberg and the Gleistal. Through dense deciduous forest and colourful meadows, the SaaleHorizontal winds its way up to the Weidenberg before descending into the Rautal. Along the murmuring Steinbach stream it climbs up to the Windknollen, a former battlefield between Napoleonic and Prussian troops in 1806. At the Napoleonstein the descent begins over the Landgrafen into the Mühltal.

Road markings: SH
More info / links: Hiking with a wide view on the SaaleHorizontale hiking trail means pure hiking pleasure for active people. The trail is 72 km long. It stretches along the shell limestone slopes on both sides of the Saale between Jena and Dornburg. Fantastic views of the middle Saale valley are offered from numerous vantage points.

https://www.saalehorizontale.de/startseite
https://www.visit-jena.de/sehen-und-erleben/aktiv-und-natur/saalehorizontale/
  • always open

Tour itinerary:

Contact:

Jena Tourist Information

Market 16
07749 Jena
Phone: +49 3641 / 498050
E-mail: tourist-info@jena.de
website: http://www.saalehorizontale.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

SaaleHorizontale

© Copyright by JenaKultur, C. Häcker
Tourdaten

mittel

72.6 km

22:53 h

128 m

401 m

2452 m

2403 m
 
Höhenprofil

Beschreibung:

Auf schmalen Pfaden zieht sich die SaaleHorizontale durch die Landschaft.

Das Panorama der SaaleHorizontale ist überwältigend. Aus der Ferne grüßt die Leuchtenburg, im Tal lärmt die Großstadt.
Auf der SaaleHorizontale erleben Sie tausendjährige Geschichte ebenso wie seltene Pflanzen. Die Anstiege verlaufen mal sanft, mal steiler und belohnen Sie mit Natur und Landschaft. Kiefernhaine, Buchenwälder, Streuobstwiesen und Feldraine bieten reichlich Abwechslung.
Die
Auf schmalen Pfaden zieht sich die SaaleHorizontale durch die Landschaft.

Das Panorama der SaaleHorizontale ist überwältigend. Aus der Ferne grüßt die Leuchtenburg, im Tal lärmt die Großstadt.
Auf der SaaleHorizontale erleben Sie tausendjährige Geschichte ebenso wie seltene Pflanzen. Die Anstiege verlaufen mal sanft, mal steiler und belohnen Sie mit Natur und Landschaft. Kiefernhaine, Buchenwälder, Streuobstwiesen und Feldraine bieten reichlich Abwechslung.
Die Dornburger Schlösser, die Ruinen der Kunitzburg und der Lobdeburg, gastliche Dörfchen und uraltes Gestein sind spannende Zeitzeugen. Gaststätten und Herbergen liegen am Weg.
Der Weg wurde in 17 Kurztouren unterteilt. Wanderrouten lassen sich über Zuwegungen und Ausstiegsmöglichkeiten individuell zusammenstellen. Das unverwechselbare Markenzeichen der SaaleHorizontale erleichtert das Wandern ohne Karte. Informationstafeln zum Panoramaweg geben an ausgewählten Punkten Orientierungshilfe.
Erweiterte Tourbeschreibung:
Tagesetappe 1: Jena (Lobeda) – Ziegenhain
Von der Haltestelle Platanenstraße hinauf zur Lobdeburg und zum Johannisberg. Weiter zum Fürstenbrunnen.  Durch Buchenwald ins Ziegenhainer Tal. Aufstieg zum Fuchsturm.

Tagesetappe 2: Ziegenhain/Steinkreuz – Beutnitz 
Von Ziegenhain zum Fuchsturm. An den Hängen des Gembdentals Abstieg nach Wogau. Weiter auf den Jenzigrücken bis zum Jenzighaus zum Dorf Laasan. Von der Ruine Kunitzburg zum Königsstuhl. Abstieg nach Beutnitz.

Tagesetappe 3: Beutnitz – Dornburg 
Von Beutnitz bis unter die felsige Zietschkuppe. Oberhalb des Zietschgrundes in den Tautenburger Wald. Vorbei am Observatorium zur Ruine Tautenburg. Durch Buchenwald, entlang von Waldwiesen bis zum Aussichtspunkt Hohe Lehde. Über die Sophienterrasse Abstieg nach Dorndorf. Ideal für eine Pause und müde Füße ist hier die Kneipp-Anlage an der Stockbornquelle. Querung über die historische Carl-Alexander-Brücke. Anstieg nach Dornburg. 

Tagesetappe 4: Dornburg – Jena, Carl-Zeiß-Platz 
Von Dornburg nach Neuengönna und hinauf auf den Plattenberg. Durch Laubwald und Wiesen auf den Weidenberg, dann hinunter Rautal. Am Steinbach hinauf auf den Windknollen. Am Napoleonstein Abstieg über den Landgrafen ins Mühltal.
Weitere Infos: Der Weg ist 72 km lang. Er erstreckt sich entlang der Muschelkalkhänge zu beiden Seiten der Saale zwischen Jena und Dornburg. Fantastische Aussichten ins mittlere Saaletal bieten sich von zahlreichen Aussichtspunkten.

www.saalehorizontale.de/startseite
www.visit-jena.de/sehen-und-erleben/aktiv-und-natur/saalehorizontale/
 Mehr lesen
Start: je nach Tagesetappe oder Kurztour
Ausgangspunkt: je nach Tagesetappe oder Kurztour
Ziel: je nach Tagesetappe oder Kurztour
  • Schwierigkeit: mittel
  • Kondition: leicht
  • Familienfreundlich
  • Natur Highlight
  • Einkehrmöglichkeit
  • Mehrtagestour
  • Unterkunftsmöglichkeit
  • Beschilderung
  • Prädikatsweg
  • Tour mit Hund
  • Qualitätsweg Wanderbares Deutschland
  • Gute Anbindung an ÖPNV
Wegbeschreibung: Tagesetappe 1: Jena (Lobeda) - Ziegenhain
An Aussichtspunkten mangelt es an der SaaleHorizontale nicht. Jena von Ferne, aus der Nähe oder von ganz oben. Immer wieder fesseln die Ausblicke auf die ins Saaletal gebettete Universitätsstadt. Gerade grüßt noch der charakteristische JenTower zwischen den Bäumen herüber, dann liegt verschlafen ein kleines Dorf zwischen Streuobstwiesen. Die erste Etappe startet an der Haltestelle Platanenstraße. Rasch geht es hinauf zur Lobdeburg und am steilen Hang entlang bis auf den Johannisberg. Über die Wiese an der Sommerlinde weiter zum schattigen Fürstenbrunnen.  Der Horizontalweg oberhalb des Pennickentals verläuft dicht am steilen Fels und bietet herrliche Aussichten ins Saaletal und auf Jena. Durch dichten Buchenwald führt die Horizontale ins Ziegenhainer Tal. Bevor der Aufstieg zum Fuchsturm beginnt, ist Ziegenhain erreicht.

Tagesetappe 2: Ziegenhain/Steinkreuz - Beutnitz 
Von Ziegenhain führt die SaaleHorizontale steil zum Fuchsturm, einem ehemaligen Bergfried hinauf. An den Hängen des Gembdentals erfolgt dann der Abstieg nach Wogau. Von hier geht es wieder bergan auf den Jenzigrücken. Der Weg führt dann eben bis zum Jenzighaus und fällt dann durch Wald hinab nach Laasan, einem kleinen Dorf am Ende des Weges. Der Straße wenige hundert Meter folgend biegt die SaaleHorizontale über Wiesen und Felder zur Ruine der Kunitzburg ab, die am Ende des Berges oberhalb der Saale thront. Durch schönen Buchenwald gelangt der Weg zum Königsstuhl mit großartiger Aussicht zu den Dornburger Schlössern. Dann erfolgt der Abstieg nach Beutnitz.

Tagesetappe 3: Beutnitz - Dornburg 
Von Beutnitz geht es durch Streuobstwiesen und vereinzelte Weinberge bis unter die felsige Zietschkuppe. Die SaaleHorizontale führt oberhalb des Zietschgrundes in den Tautenburger Wald. Vorbei am Observatorium führt der Weg zur Ruine Tautenburg mit schöner Aussicht auf die gleichnamige Ortschaft. Im Weiteren verläuft der Weg durch Buchenwald und entlang von Waldwiesen bis zum Aussichtspunkt Hohe Lehde. Über die Sophienterrasse erfolgt der Abstieg nach Dorndorf. Ideal für eine Pause und müde Füße ist hier die Kneipp-Anlage an der Stockbornquelle. Ganz dicht der Saale kommt der Weg bei deren Querung über die historische Carl-Alexander-Brücke. In einem kleinen Seitental erfolgt dann der kurze Anstieg nach Dornburg. 

Tagesetappe 4: Dornburg - Jena, Carl-Zeiß-Platz 
Von Dornburg geht es am Burgschädel hinunter nach Neuengönna und dann wieder hinauf auf den Plattenberg mit weiträumiger Aussicht auf den Alten Gleisberg und das Gleistal. Durch dichten Laubwald und bunte Wiesen schlängelt sich die SaaleHorizontale auf den Weidenberg, bevor sie ins Rautal hinunterführt. Am murmelnden Steinbach entlang geht es hinauf auf den Windknollen, ein ehemaliges Schlachtfeld zwischen napoleonischen und preußischen Truppen 1806. Am Napoleonstein beginnt der Abstieg über den Landgrafen ins Mühltal.

Wegekennzeichen: SH
Weitere Infos / Links: Wandern mit Weitsicht auf dem Wanderweg SaaleHorizontale bedeutet Wandervergnügen pur für aktive Menschen. Der Weg ist 72 km lang. Er erstreckt sich entlang der Muschelkalkhänge zu beiden Seiten der Saale zwischen Jena und Dornburg. Phantastische Aussichten ins mittlere Saaletal bieten sich mannigfaltig von zahlreichen Aussichtspunkten.

https://www.saalehorizontale.de/startseite
https://www.visit-jena.de/sehen-und-erleben/aktiv-und-natur/saalehorizontale/
  • immer geöffnet

Tourenverlauf:

Kontakt:

Jena Tourist-Information

Markt 16
07749 Jena
Telefon: +49 3641 / 498050
E-Mail: tourist-info@jena.de
Webseite: http://www.saalehorizontale.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing