Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Saale cycle path

© Copyright by Vincent Grätsch
Tour dates

medium

403.8 km

04:28 h

49 m

740 m

3225 m

3914 m
 
Height profile

Description:

The Saale cycle path experience

Stage 1
The river Saale has its source in the Fichtelgebirge near Zell, on the northern slope of the large Waldstein. If you arrive by train, we recommend the train stations in Hof or Münchberg as starting point. From Münchberg you go to Zell, from there the cycle path always follows the Saale via Schwarzenbach a.d.Saale with its town centre and the Erika-Fuchs-Haus, the popular comic museum, to
The Saale cycle path experience

Stage 1
The river Saale has its source in the Fichtelgebirge near Zell, on the northern slope of the large Waldstein. If you arrive by train, we recommend the train stations in Hof or Münchberg as starting point. From Münchberg you go to Zell, from there the cycle path always follows the Saale via Schwarzenbach a.d.Saale with its town centre and the Erika-Fuchs-Haus, the popular comic museum, to Hof. With a view of the first houses in the town, it is worth making a detour to the Untreusee, a local recreation centre of the people of Hof. Passing the attractive indoor swimming pool and further through the Saale floodplains you reach the Hofer Saalebrücke. From here you can best explore Hof's old town with the Michaeliskirche (built in 1230), the neo-Gothic town hall, the magnificent Biedermeier facades of Ludwigstraße or the Museum Bayerisches Vogtland. During a rest you can enjoy the excellent Hof sausage and bakery products. After a view of the charming Art Nouveau building in the Bürgerpark Theresienstein, which is one of the most beautiful German parks, the route always leads along the Saale out of the city.

Stage 2
From Hof, the cycle path runs through hilly countryside and shady forests, partly together with the Jean-Paul hiking trail. The climb behind the underpass of the A 72 motorway is rewarded with a shot to the 17th century Fattigsmühle. Soon you will reach the small village of Joditz with a church worth seeing and the private Jean-Paul Museum (open on request). Outside the village, the bathing lake and camping site invite you to stay. Shortly before Hirschberg the cycle path leads downhill to Untertiefengrün. Here was and is the Saale border river, but today "only" between Bavaria and Thuringia. On the other bank of the Saale lies the Thuringian Hirschberg with its castle on the Lohberg. Shortly before Rudolphstein you cross the motorway A 9. The cycle path leads past Rudolphstein Castle into the valley and climbs the little used country road towards Pottiga. Downhill to Blankenberg and then steeply uphill again in Blankenstein.

Stage 3
This stage begins in Blankenstein and leads you through the Thuringian Slate Mountains and along the Saale reservoirs. In some places you can expect steep gradients and a hilly route, but the unique panoramic views are worth every effort. On challenging paths via Harra and through the railway viaduct Lemnitzhammer you cycle along the banks of the Bleiloch Reservoir, the largest reservoir in Germany, over the bridge to Saaldorf. On forest paths you will reach the next stage destination: Saalburg. Here, many tourist attractions invite you to park your bike and explore: climbing forest, boat hire, passenger boat trip or summer toboggan run. On the former railway line of the Oberlandbahn you ride via Gräfenwarth to Burgk, where the famous Burgk Castle and the Saaleturm await you. From up there you will enjoy an unforgettable view of the fjord-like landscape. When you are back in the saddle, you will cross the wooden bridge to the other side of the Saale. You cycle on forest paths close to the river bank to Walsburg and follow the original course of the Saale to Ziegenrück. Only the rushing of the water and the rustling of the leaves accompany you here. In Ziegenrück it is worth visiting the hydroelectric power museum and stopping at the cycle-friendly hosts.

Stage 4
Well rested, this stage begins with an ascent through untouched nature to Paska. Afterwards you will be "rewarded" with a rushing descent to Linkenmühle. The mill ferry takes you from Easter to the end of the autumn holidays comfortably and quickly to Altenroth. Outside the ferry times you can use an alternative route, which is not signposted. This route leads you over public roads from Ziegenrück to Altenbeuthen and is quite arduous. Between Ziegenrück and the mill ferry or in the direction of Altenbeuthen, a bike shuttle bus can be used from May to October to easily overcome the sometimes steep gradient. In Reitzengeschwenda you can visit the folklore museum, which gives interesting insights into the history of the region. From here, you ride leisurely downhill to the Hohenwarte dam, which makes an impressive impression, before the tour continues on a flat route to Kaulsdorf. The section to Saalfeld is again characterised by some steep ascents and descents. The town of Saalfeld, known as the "Stone Chronicle of Thuringia", invites you to a leisurely stroll through the town. You shouldn't miss a detour to the "most colourful show grottoes in the world" with fairy world and grottoneum.

Stage 5
The fifth section from Saalfeld is particularly interesting for culture lovers. From here on, the Saale cycle path is now family-friendly. The tour first takes you to Rudolstadt. High above the historic old town the residence castle Heidecksburg towers majestically. Here you can be enchanted by the "Rococo en miniature" - a fantastic world of miniatures in the style of Rococo. Or you can visit the Schillerhaus, the first meeting place of Goethe and Schiller. From Rudolstadt the path leads you directly past the Weissenburg Castle - here you can take a short break with impressive views over the Saale valley - before your next destination is the traditional rafting village of Uhlstädt with its rafting museum. Continuing on via Freienorla, where the Orla flows into the Saale, the bower of Orlamünde lies high above the Saale valley. Later you already see the "queen of the Saale valley" - the light castle - enthroned above the slopes. Discover the fascinating seven "porcelain worlds" here. Also the historical old town of Kahla and the porcelain factory with factory outlet are worth a visit. Only a few kilometres further you discover the lively university and light city of Jena - embedded in southern seeming shell limestone slopes - always a popular destination for people interested in cultural history and botany. Among other things, discover the world's oldest planetarium here, before you end the evening in the picturesque pub mile in Wagnergasse.

Stage 6
You leave Jena via the Kunitzer Hausbrücke with a view of the Kunitzburg. Even from a distance, the famous Dornburg castles soon greet you from the imposing shell limestone cliffs. At the train station in Dornburg (Saale) you can park your bikes and visit the castles with their exhibitions and the castle park on foot. Back on the cycle path, a short ascent at the Dorndorf cement works provides a beautiful view into the Saale valley. You should take a break on this stage at the weir in Döbritschen or in Camburg, at the walls of the Camburg and the Cyriak ruins. In the following wine village Kaatschen you can enjoy Thuringian wines in the winery directly on the banks of the Saale. A little later you will see the famous Saale castles Saaleck and Rudelsburg on the horizon - a steep ascent will take you directly to the historical witnesses of the times. In the spa town of Bad Kösen the tour takes you below the graduation works (more family-friendly recommendation: use the designated alternative route on the L 203, between Saaleck and Bad Kösen). Now you will be accompanied as far as Naumburg by the vineyards of the Saale-Unstrut wine region. The sixth stage finally ends in the cathedral city of Naumburg, embedded in gentle hills. Worth seeing is, among other things, the old town with its historic centre and of course you must not miss a visit to the Naumburg Cathedral St. Peter and Paul.

Stage 7
In stage 7 from Naumburg to Halle, the river Saale winds through an idyllic, extensive valley whose slopes are crowned by many an old fortification. After you have passed Schönburg, Goseck Castle greets you from afar. The new Saale bridge in Leißling makes it possible to reach Goseck Castle and the Stone Age solar observatory on a short route via the Dolmen cycle path. Back on the Saale Cycle Path, you will reach Weißenfels with the baroque Neu- Augustusburg Castle, the early baroque castle church and the music museum Heinrich-Schütz-Haus, before you reach the service station Bad Dürrenberg at the foot of the Sohlebohrturm. Here you can park your bike and visit the longest graduation works in Europe and the spa gardens of Bad Dürrenberg. You should not miss Merseburg, one of the oldest cities in Central Germany, with its impressive castle and cathedral. In the direction of Halle you cross the charming floodplain landscape before the river Saale takes in the White Elster as its largest tributary. The more than 1200-year-old trading town of Halle presents itself with many sights and a rich cultural offer. It is home to Burg Giebichenstein and Moritzburg, both the oldest and the youngest castle on the Saale. The Technical Halloren and Saline Museum, Handel's birthplace (with music museum) and the market church are well worth a visit. In the north of the city you will find the only German mountain zoo and the Landesmuseum für Vorgeschichte.

Stage 8
From Halle the cycle path leads through the unique landscape of the nature park "Unteres Saaletal". High above the Saale valley, the ancestral castle of the Wettin family towers above the village of the same name, Wettin. The historical Templar chapel in Mücheln is worth seeing and invites you to concerts in the summer months. The tour continues to the old skipper's town Alsleben with its hall gate as a former part of the town wall. Already from far away the former residence castle Plötzkau greets the former duchy Anhalt-Plötzkau. In the castle there is a small museum about the history of the former duchy. A restaurant located in the castle courtyard with a view over the floodplain forest invites you to linger. The cycle path now leads through the species-rich alluvial forest between Plötzkau and Bernburg. The old residence of the former duchy of Anhalt-Bernburg forms the end of the stage. But the picturesque castle - also known as the "Crown of Anhalt-Bernburg" -, the historic mountain and valley town, the Romanesque village church of St. Stephani in the Waldau district and the Paradise Fairytale Garden with its park railway ensure that there is no time for boredom. Those who still have their breath after visiting the many sights can discover the Saale River with the passenger ship MS "Saalefee".

Stage 9
The ninth stage leads to the finish in Barby, where the Saale flows into the Elbe as a wide navigable river. Numerous cultural sites lie along the way. The monastery church of St. Marien and St. Cyprian in Nienburg is worthy of special mention. Due to the imposing fragments of the late Romanesque stucco flooring, the church was included in the Romanesque street. The route continues via Wedlitz and Wispitz to Tippelskirchen and Gottesgnaden in the direction of Calbe. From there it is worth making a detour to Calbe, the Rolandstadt on the Saalebogen. The way there leads over the new Saale-bridge or the ferry Calbe/Gottesgnaden. Then the Saale cycle path leads you through the floodplain via Trabitz in the direction of Groß Rosenburg. Have a look at the surrounding area and visit the castle ruins in Klein Rosenburg. From Groß Rosenburg you take the ferry to the other bank of the river Saale. On a well-developed farm track you continue to Barby to the mouth of the Saale into the Elbe. The landscape around Barby is particularly charming, the little town on the Elbe lies on the border of the UNESCO Biosphere Reserve Middle Elbe. The Elbe beaver is the symbol of the unique river landscape. It is recommended to continue on the Elbe cycle path to Schönebeck. The railway station there offers an ideal connection to regional and national rail traffic. On the way there you will come to the ring sanctuary Pömmelte, the German Stonehenge, which belongs to the heavenly ways.


 Read more
Start: Zell im Fichtelgebirge
Point of origin:
destination: Barby - mouth of the Elbe
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Condition: heavy
  • Culinary interesting
  • Family friendly
  • Culturally interesting
  • Refreshment stop
  • Multi-day tour
  • Accommodation
  • Signage
  • always open

Tour itinerary:

Contact:

Saaleradweg e.V. c/o City of Jena

At the village green 15
07743 Jena
Phone: +49 36601 / 905206
E-mail: info@saaleradweg.de
website: http://www.saaleradweg.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Saaleradweg

© Copyright by Vincent Grätsch
Tourdaten

mittel

403.8 km

04:28 h

49 m

740 m

3225 m

3914 m
 
Höhenprofil

Beschreibung:

Erlebnis Saaleradweg

Etappe 1
Die Saale entspringt im Fichtelgebirge bei Zell, am Nordhang des großen Waldsteines. Reisen Sie mit der Bahn an, empfehlen wir die Bahnhöfe in Hof oder Münchberg als Ausgangspunkt. Von Münchberg aus fahren Sie nach Zell, von dort führt der Radweg immer an der Saale entlang über Schwarzenbach a.d.Saale mit seinem Stadtzentrum und dem Erika-Fuchs-Haus, dem beliebten Comic- Museum, bis nach
Erlebnis Saaleradweg

Etappe 1
Die Saale entspringt im Fichtelgebirge bei Zell, am Nordhang des großen Waldsteines. Reisen Sie mit der Bahn an, empfehlen wir die Bahnhöfe in Hof oder Münchberg als Ausgangspunkt. Von Münchberg aus fahren Sie nach Zell, von dort führt der Radweg immer an der Saale entlang über Schwarzenbach a.d.Saale mit seinem Stadtzentrum und dem Erika-Fuchs-Haus, dem beliebten Comic- Museum, bis nach Hof. Mit Blick auf die ersten Häuser der Stadt lohnt ein Abstecher zum Untreusee, einem Naherholungszentrum der Hofer. Vorbei am attraktiven Hallenbad und weiter durch die Saaleauen erreichen Sie die Hofer Saalebrücke. Von hier aus lassen sich die Hofer Altstadt mit der Michaeliskirche (1230 gebaut), das neugotische Rathaus, die herrlichen Biedermeierfassaden der Ludwigstraße oder das Museum Bayerisches Vogtland am besten erkunden. Bei einer Rast genießen Sie die ausgezeichneten Hofer Wurst- und Bäckereiwaren. Nach einem Blick auf das reizvolle Jugendstil-Gebäude im Bürgerpark Theresienstein, der zu den schönsten deutschen Parks zählt, führt die Route immer an der Saale entlang aus der Stadt hinaus.

Etappe 2
Von Hof aus verläuft der Radweg durch hügelige Landschaft und schattige Wälder, zum Teil gemeinsam mit dem Jean-Paul-Wanderweg. Der Anstieg hinter der Unterführung der Autobahn A 72 wird mit einer Schussfahrt zur Fattigsmühle aus dem 17. Jahrhundert belohnt. Bald erreichen Sie den kleinen Ort Joditz mit sehenswerter Kirche und dem privaten Jean-Paul-Museum (Auf Anfrage geöffnet). Außerhalb des Ortes laden Badesee und Campingplatz zum Verweilen ein. Kurz vor Hirschberg führt der Radweg bergab nach Untertiefengrün. Hier war und ist die Saale Grenzfluss, heute jedoch »nur noch« zwischen Bayern und Thüringen. Am anderen Ufer der Saale liegt das thüringische Hirschberg mit seinem Schloss auf dem Lohberg. Kurz vor Rudolphstein überqueren Sie die Autobahn A 9. Der Radweg führt am Schloss Rudolphstein vorbei ins Tal und steigt auf der wenig befahrenen Landstraße in Richtung Pottiga an. Bergab geht es dann nach Blankenberg, um dann in Blankenstein wieder steil anzusteigen.

Etappe 3
Diese Etappe beginnt in Blankenstein und führt Sie durch das Thüringer Schiefergebirge und entlang der Saalestauseen. Zum Teil erwarten Sie starke Steigungen und eine hügelige Wegführung, aber die einmaligen Panoramablicke sind jede Anstrengung wert. Auf anspruchsvollen Wegen über Harra und durch das Eisenbahnviadukt Lemnitzhammer radeln Sie am Ufer des Bleiloch- Stausees, dem größten Stausee Deutschlands über die Brücke bis nach Saaldorf. Auf Waldwegen geht es zum nächsten Etappenziel: Saalburg. Hier laden Sie viele touristische Attraktionen dazu ein, das Fahrrad abzustellen und zu entdecken: Kletterwald, Bootsverleih, Fahrgastschifffahrt oder Sommerrodelbahn. Auf der ehemaligen Bahntrasse der Oberlandbahn fahren Sie über Gräfenwarth nach Burgk, wo Sie das berühmte Schloß Burgk und der Saaleturm erwarten. Von dort oben genießen Sie einen unvergesslichen Ausblick auf die fjordähnliche Landschaft. Wenn Sie wieder im Sattel sitzen, geht es über die Holzbrücke auf die andere Seite der Saale. Sie radeln auf ufernahen Forstwegen nach Walsburg und folgen dem ursprünglichen Lauf der Saale bis nach Ziegenrück. Allein das Rauschen des Wassers und das Säuseln der Blätter begleitet sie hier. In Ziegenrück lohnen ein Besuch des Wasserkraftmuseums und die Rast bei den fahrradfreundlichen Gastgebern.

Etappe 4
Gut ausgeruht beginnt diese Etappe mit einer Steigung durch unberührte Natur nach Paska. Anschließend werden Sie mit einer rauschenden Abfahrt zur Linkenmühle »belohnt«. Die Mühlenfähre setzt Sie von Ostern bis Ende der Herbstferien bequem und schnell nach Altenroth über. Außerhalb der Fährzeiten können Sie eine Alternativroute nutzen, die jedoch nicht ausgeschildert ist. Diese führt Sie über öffentliche Straßen von Ziegenrück bis nach Altenbeuthen und ist recht beschwerlich. Zwischen Ziegenrück und Mühlenfähre bzw. in Richtung Altenbeuthen kann von Mai bis Oktober ein Bike-Shuttlebus genutzt werden, um die teilweise starke Steigung einfach überwinden zu können. Besuchen Sie in Reitzengeschwenda das Volkskundemuseum, das interessante Einblicke in die Geschichte der Region vermittelt. Von hier aus fahren Sie gemächlich bergab zur Staumauer Hohenwarte, die einen imposanten Eindruck hinterlässt, bevor die Tour auf ebener Strecke weiter bis Kaulsdorf führt. Der Abschnitt bis Saalfeld ist wieder durch einige steile An- und Abstiege geprägt. Die Stadt Saalfeld, als »Steinerne Chronik Thüringens« bekannt, lädt Sie zu einem gemütlichen Stadtbummel ein. Einen Abstecher in die »farbenreichsten Schaugrotten der Welt« mit Feenweltchen und Grottoneum sollten Sie nicht verpassen.

Etappe 5
Der fünfte Streckenabschnitt ab Saalfeld ist für Kulturliebende besonders interessant. Ab hier ist der Saaleradweg fortan familienfreundlich. Die Tour führt Sie zunächst nach Rudolstadt. Hoch über der historischen Altstadt thront majestätisch das Residenzschloss Heidecksburg. Hier können Sie sich von der »Rococo en miniature« – einer phantastischen Miniaturenwelt im Stile des Rococo – verzaubern lassen. Oder Sie besuchen das Schillerhaus, die Erstbegegnungsstätte von Goethe und Schiller. Von Rudolstadt führt Sie der Weg direkt vorbei an der Weißenburg – hier bietet sich eine kurz Rast bei imposanten Blicken über das Saaletal an – bevor Sie als nächstes Ziel den traditionellen Flößerort Uhlstädt mit seinem Flößereimuseum erreichen. Weiter über Freienorla, wo die Orla in die Saale mündet, liegt hoch über dem Saaletal die Kemenate von Orlamünde. Später sehen Sie schon die »Königin des Saaletals« – die Leuchtenburg – oben über den Hängen thronen. Entdecken Sie hier die faszinierenden sieben »Porzellanwelten«. Auch die historische Altstadt von Kahla und das Porzellanwerk mit Werksverkauf sind eine Besichtigung wert. Nur wenige Kilometer weiter entdecken Sie die lebendige Universitäts- und Lichtstadt Jena – eingebettet in südländisch anmutende Muschelkalkhänge – seit jeher ein beliebtes Ziel für kulturhistorisch und botanisch Interessierte. Entdecken Sie hier u. a. das dienstälteste Planetarium der Welt, bevor Sie den Abend in der malerischen Kneipenmeile in der Wagnergasse ausklingen lassen.

Etappe 6
Sie verlassen Jena über die Kunitzer Hausbrücke mit Blick auf die Kunitzburg. Schon von weitem grüßen bald die berühmten Dornburger Schlösser von den imposanten Muschelkalkfelsen. Am Bahnhof in Dornburg (Saale) können Sie Ihre Räder abstellen und die Schlösser mit ihren Ausstellungen sowie den Schlosspark zu Fuß besuchen. Wieder auf dem Radweg ermöglicht ein kurzer Anstieg am Dorndorfer Zementwerk einen schönen Ausblick in das Saaletal. Eine Rast auf dieser Etappe sollten Sie sich am Wehr in Döbritschen oder in Camburg, an den Mauern der Camburg und der Cyriaksruine gönnen. Im folgenden Weindorf Kaatschen können Sie Thüringer Weine im Weingut direkt am Saaleufer genießen. Etwas später sehen Sie die berühmten Saaleburgen Saaleck und Rudelsburg am Horizont – eine steile Auffahrt führt Sie direkt zu den historischen Zeitzeugen. Im Kurstädtchen Bad Kösen führt Sie die Tour unterhalb des Gradierwerkes entlang (familienfreundlichere Empfehlung: Nutzung der ausgewiesenen Alternativstrecke auf der L 203, zwischen Saaleck und Bad Kösen). Nun werden Sie bis nach Naumburg von den Weinbergen des Anbaugebietes Saale-Unstrut begleitet. Die sechste Etappe endet schließlich in der von sanften Hügeln eingebetteten Domstadt Naumburg. Sehenswert ist unter anderem die Altstadt mit dem historischen Stadtkern und natürlich dürfen Sie einen Besuch des Naumburger Doms St. Peter und Paul nicht verpassen.

Etappe 7
In der Etappe 7 von Naumburg nach Halle windet sich die Saale durch ein idyllisches weitläufiges Tal, dessen Talhänge von manch alten Befestigungen gekrönt sind. Nachdem Sie Schönburg passiert haben, grüßt von Weitem Schloss Goseck. Die neue Saalebrücke in Leißling ermöglicht es, Schloss Goseck und das steinzeitliche Sonnenobservatorium auf kurzem Weg über den Dolmenradweg zu erreichen. Zurück auf dem Saaleradweg, erreichen Sie Weißenfels mit dem barocken Schloss Neu- Augustusburg, der frühbarocken Schlosskirche und dem Musikermuseum Heinrich-Schütz-Haus, bevor Sie an die Servicestation Bad Dürrenberg am Fuße des Sohlebohrturms kommen. Hier können Sie Ihr Rad abstellen und das längste Gradierwerk Europas und den Kurpark Bad Dürrenberg besichtigen. Merseburg, eine der ältesten Städte Mitteldeutschlands, mit seinem beeindruckenden Schloss und dem Dom sollten Sie nicht verpassen. In Richtung Halle queren Sie die reizvolle Auenlandschaft, bevor die Saale die Weiße Elster als ihren größten Nebenfluss aufnimmt. Die über 1200-jährige Händelstadt Halle präsentiert sich mit vielen Sehenswürdigkeiten und einem reichen Kulturangebot. Sie beherbergt mit der Burg Giebichenstein und der Moritzburg sowohl die älteste wie auch die jüngste Burg an der Saale. Unbedingt besuchen sollten Sie das Technische Halloren- und Salinemuseum, das Geburtshaus Händels (mit Musikmuseum) und die Marktkirche. Im Norden der Stadt finden Sie den einzigen deutschen Bergzoo und das Landesmuseum für Vorgeschichte.

Etappe 8
Von Halle führt der Radweg durch die einzigartige Landschaft des Naturparks »Unteres Saaletal«. Hoch über dem Saaletal thront die Stammburg der Wettiner über dem gleichnamigen Ort Wettin. Die sehenswerte historische Templerkapelle in Mücheln. lädt in den Sommermonaten zu Konzerten ein. Weiter geht es in die alte Schifferstadt Alsleben mit ihrem Saaltor als ehemaliger Teil der Stadtmauer. Schon von weitem grüßt das ehemalige Residenzschloss Plötzkau des früheren Herzogtums Anhalt-Plötzkau. Im Schloss existiert ein kleines Museum zur Geschichte des ehemaligen Herzogtums. Eine im Schlosshof liegende Gaststätte mit Blick über den Auwald lädt zum Verweilen ein. Der Radweg führt nun durch den artenreichen Auwald zwischen Plötzkau und Bernburg. Die alte Residenzstadt des ehemaligen Herzogtums Anhalt-Bernburg bildet das Etappenende. Doch das malerische Schloss – auch als »Krone Anhalts« bezeichnet –, die historische Berg- und Talstadt, die romanische Dorfkirche St. Stephani im Stadtteil Waldau und der Märchengarten Paradies samt Parkeisenbahn lassen keine Langeweile aufkommen. Wer nach dem Besuch der vielen Sehenswürdigkeiten noch Puste hat, kann die Saale mit dem Fahrgastschiff MS »Saalefee« entdecken.

Etappe 9
Die neunte Etappe führt bis zum Ziel nach Barby, wo die Saale als breiter schiffbarer Fluss in die Elbe mündet. Zahlreiche Kulturstätten liegen am Weg. Hervorzuheben ist die Klosterkirche St. Marien und St. Cyprian in Nienburg. Auf Grund der imposanten Fragmente des spätromanischen Stuckfußbodens wurde die Kirche in die Straße der Romanik aufgenommen. Weiter geht es über Wedlitz und Wispitz nach Tippelskirchen und Gottesgnaden in Richtung Calbe. Von dort aus lohnt sich ein Abstecher nach Calbe, die Rolandstadt am Saalebogen. Der Weg dorthin führt über die neue Saale- Brücke oder die Fähre Calbe/Gottesgnaden. Anschließend führt Sie der Saaleradweg durch die Aue über Trabitz in Richtung Groß Rosenburg. Schauen Sie sich die nähere Umgebung an und besuchen Sie die Burgruine in Klein Rosenburg. Von Groß Rosenburg setzen Sie mit der Gierfähre zum anderen Ufer der Saale über. Auf einem gut ausgebauten Wirtschaftsweg geht es weiter nach Barby zur Mündung der Saale in die Elbe. Besonders reizvoll ist die Landschaft um Barby herum, das Elbstädtchen liegt an der Grenze des UNESCO Biosphärenreservats Mittelelbe. Symboltier der einmaligen Flusslandschaft ist der Elbebiber. Empfehlenswert ist die Weiterfahrt bis nach Schönebeck auf dem Elberadweg. Der dortige Bahnhof bietet eine ideale Anbindung an den regionalen und überregionalen Bahnverkehr. Auf dem Weg dorthin kommen Sie zum Ringheiligtum Pömmelte, dem deutschen Stonehenge, welches zu den Himmelswegen gehört.


 Mehr lesen
Start: Zell im Fichtelgebirge
Ausgangspunkt:
Ziel: Barby - Mündung in die Elbe
  • Schwierigkeit: mittel
  • Kondition: schwer
  • Kulinarisch interessant
  • Familienfreundlich
  • Kulturell interessant
  • Einkehrmöglichkeit
  • Mehrtagestour
  • Unterkunftsmöglichkeit
  • Beschilderung
Tipp des Authors: Abstecher oder Verknüpfungsmöglichkeiten bieten bei Blankenstein der Rennsteig-Radweg, in Jena der Fernradweg Thüringer Städtekette, in Großheringen der Ilmtal-Radwanderweg in Richtung Weimar, bei Naumburg der Unstrutradweg in Richtung Freyburg, in Merseburg der Salzstraßenradweg, in Halle der Radweg Saale-Harz in Richtung Lutherstadt Eisleben und der Himmelsscheibenradweg, bei Bernburg der Europaradweg R1 sowie der Wipper-Radweg und an der Mündung bei Barby schliesslich der Elberadweg.

  • immer geöffnet

Tourenverlauf:

Kontakt:

Saaleradweg e.V. c/o Stadt Jena

Am Anger 15
07743 Jena
Telefon: +49 36601 / 905206
E-Mail: info@saaleradweg.de
Webseite: http://www.saaleradweg.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing