Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

City walk Bad Dürrenberg

© Copyright by Wolfgang Kubak
Tour dates

extremely lightweight

1.7 km

02:00 h

93 m

108 m

10 m

9 m
 
Height profile

Description:

Discover sights and historical places in the brine town Bad Dürrenberg

Tour Highlights:

1st City Hall
The town hall has a varied history, which began over 120 years ago. In 1893 it was built as a representative spa house. Later it was used as a business school of the "Deutscher Metallarbeiter-Verband" (German Metalworkers' Association), an air-raid shelter of the Saxony-Anhalt regional group and a home for single people. Until 1996 it was still used as a children's home and kindergarten. It later went into the
Discover sights and historical places in the brine town Bad Dürrenberg

Tour Highlights:

1st City Hall
The town hall has a varied history, which began over 120 years ago. In 1893 it was built as a representative spa house. Later it was used as a business school of the "Deutscher Metallarbeiter-Verband" (German Metal Workers Association), an air-raid shelter of the regional group of Saxony-Anhalt and a home for single people. Until 1996 it was still used as a children's home and kindergarten. It later became the property of the city. After the renovation, the city administration has its place there since 2019.

Main street 27, 06231 Bad Dürrenberg
Mon., Thurs. 09:00 - 12:00 h and 13:00 - 16:00 h
Tues. 09:00 - 12:00 h and 13:00 - 18:00 h
Fr. 09:00 - 12:00 and by arrangement

2. graduation house with Meller gate
On September 15, 1763, mining consultant Johann Gottfried Borlach, authorized representative of the Saxon Elector, succeeded in breaking through the longed-for brine "uff dem dürren Berge". Since that day, brine has been bubbling up from a depth of 223 metres from the spring thus tapped. The evaporated salt produced from the brine - "white gold" - led the town to economic prosperity. The imposing graduation towers bear witness to Bad Dürrenberg's history as a salt boiling town. With a length of 636 metres, they still form the longest continuous graduation works in Germany. The brine slowly drips down over brushwood walls, from branch to branch, and through the fine atomization creates a microclimate similar to that of the North Sea coast. Inhalation of the brine mist can be helpful in the treatment of respiratory diseases.
The graduation house can be visited free of charge. As part of guided tours, a visit to the "wind art" on the viewing platform is also possible, bookable via the tourist information office.

Promenade, 06231 Bad Dürrenberg
A guided tour is possible all year round. Bookable via the tourist information.

3rd State Garden Show 2023
In 2023, the Solestadt Bad Dürrenberg will be the focus of nationwide attention with its state horticultural show under the motto "Salzkristall & Blütenzauber" (Salt Crystal & Blossom Magic). From 21 April to 15 October, the Brine City will host the 5th State Garden Show in Saxony-Anhalt.
Visitors will be able to experience romantic garden dreams in the historic spa park on the Saale, immerse themselves in different epochs of European history and enjoy the soothing, healing salt air. Breathe in calmly and powerfully! A fine taste of salt in the midst of wonderful blossoms
will enchant and relax you. Look forward together with us to 178 days of "Salt Crystal & Blossom Magic" in Bad Dürrenberg!
Information on guided tours of the construction site at www.laga-badduerrenberg.de

4. borlach tower and joke tower
The museum in the Borlachturm - the town's landmark - houses a small exhibition on salt boiling and the development of Bad Dürrenberg into a spa resort. On display are original tools such as salt crutches, boiling baskets or salt shovels, which bear witness to the hard work of the salt boilers. The exhibition also pays tribute to the achievements of the mining councilor Johann Gottfried Borlach, who succeeded in breaking through the brine in Bad Dürrenberg in 1763.

Borlachplatz 2, 06231 Bad Dürrenberg, Germany
April - October, weekends 10:00 - 17:00
A guided tour is possible all year round. Bookable via the tourist information.

Steam engine in the Witzlebenturm
The functional model of Brendel's steam engine is located in the Witzleben Tower and is currently being built on a scale of 1:1, according to original plans, by the "Heimatbund Bad Dürrenberg e. V.". Christian Friedrich Brendel was a German mining engineer and machine director. As a saltworks engineer at the electoral Saxon saltworks in Dürrenberg, he built Saxony's first steam engine from 1808 to 1811.

Borlachplatz 2, 06231 Bad Dürrenberg, Germany
A guided tour is possible all year round. Bookable via the tourist information.

5. old salt office
The "Alte Salzamt" was first mentioned in the 15th century as the manor "derer von Wolffersdorff". The comprehensive renovation of the building was completed in 2015. The hotel "Altes Salzamt" is located on the upper floors. The lower floors are used as a registry office and offer a choice of four wedding rooms. During the renovation work, old and partly unknown parts of the building have been uncovered, including a well-preserved stone baking oven from the 15th century and several barrel vaults.

Saaleweg 1, 06231 Bad Dürrenberg, Germany
The oven, the vaulted barrels, artefacts and contemporary testimonies can be visited on a guided tour, which can be booked at the tourist information office.

6. hydroelectric power station
As early as the 18th century, water wheels and artificial rods existed at this location, which were replaced by a hydroelectric power plant in 1904/1905. The weir, built from 1753-1756 by Johann Gottfried von Borlach, had to be completely renovated for the construction of the new waterworks. The new hydroelectric power plant was completed in 2016, after a construction period of 4 years, by Huning Anlagenbau GmbH, based in the twin town of Melle. It contains three turbines, which together can supply approximately 1,000 households with electricity.

7. old bathhouse
The name of the house is no coincidence. The former storehouse was converted into a bathhouse in 1885. Children and adults could bathe in tubs in so-called bathing cells and use a reading room. The town's flourishing spa business, which lasted until 1964, attracted numerous visitors. Until 1990, the house was used as a sauna facility with physiotherapy. Today there is
the renovated premises a hotel business with restaurant, sauna and beer garden.

Ferry road 6, 06231 Bad Dürrenberg
Mon. till Sun. from 11:30 a.m.

8. "Line 5" - one of the longest tram lines in the world
From 1971, it was used by the Halle tramway line 5 from Halle-Trotha to Bad Dürrenberg, at times the longest tramway line in the GDR with a length of about 31 kilometres. Today it is the last interurban tram line still in operation in Saxony-Anhalt.

9. church St. Bonifatius
"The most modern church in Germany, if not the whole world" - in 1931, the new, white-plastered round church was effusively praised in the local press for its futuristic-looking form. Inside the church, the painter and sculptor Hannes Schulz-Tattenpach created an expressive altarpiece, which was rejected by the church authorities as "offensive". Only through the efforts of the parish priest of the time was it possible for the work of art to remain in the room, but it was kept under lock and key for a long time. Until the beginning of the 20th century there were only a few Catholics in Bad Dürrenberg and the surrounding area. Due to the influx of Catholic workers for the nearby chemical site Leuna, a church building of their own became more and more urgent. With the support of the Bonifatiusverein, the ash heap of the old salt works could be acquired as a building site.
text: © strasse-der-moderne.de

Platz der Freiheit 1, 06231 Bad Dürrenberg, Germany
 Read more
  • Difficulty: extremely lightweight
  • Condition: extremely lightweight
  • always open

Tour itinerary:

Contact:

Tourist information Bad Dürrenberg

Witzlebenweg 7a
06231 Bad Dürrenberg
Phone: +49 3462 / 9987070
E-mail: tourist@badduerrenberg.de
website: http://www.badduerrenberg.de/

You might also be interested in this

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
share on xing

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

Stadtrundgang Bad Dürrenberg

© Copyright by Wolfgang Kubak
Tourdaten

sehr leicht

1.7 km

00:26 h

93 m

108 m

10 m

9 m
 
Höhenprofil

Beschreibung:

Entdecken Sie Sehenswürdigkeiten und historische Plätze in der Solestadt Bad Dürrenberg

Höhepunkte der Tour:

1. Rathaus
Das Rathaus hat eine wechselvolle Geschichte, welche vor über 120 Jahren begann. 1893 wurde es als repräsentatives Kurhaus erbaut. Später als Wirtschaftsschule des „Deutschen Metallarbeiter-Verbandes“, Luftschutzschule der Landesgruppe Sachsen-Anhalt und Ledigenheim genutzt. Bis 1996 wurde es noch als Kinderheim und Kindergarten genutzt. Es ging später in den
Entdecken Sie Sehenswürdigkeiten und historische Plätze in der Solestadt Bad Dürrenberg

Höhepunkte der Tour:

1. Rathaus
Das Rathaus hat eine wechselvolle Geschichte, welche vor über 120 Jahren begann. 1893 wurde es als repräsentatives Kurhaus erbaut. Später als Wirtschaftsschule des „Deutschen Metallarbeiter-Verbandes“, Luftschutzschule der Landesgruppe Sachsen-Anhalt und Ledigenheim genutzt. Bis 1996 wurde es noch als Kinderheim und Kindergarten genutzt. Es ging später in den Besitz der Stadt über. Nach der Sanierung hat die Stadtverwaltung seit 2019 dort ihren Platz.

Hauptstraße 27, 06231 Bad Dürrenberg
Mo., Do. 09:00 – 12:00 Uhr und 13:00 – 16:00 Uhr
Di. 09:00 – 12:00 Uhr und 13:00 – 18:00 Uhr
Fr. 09:00 – 12:00 Uhr sowie nach Vereinbarung

2. Gradierwerk mit Meller Tor
Am 15. September 1763 gelang Bergrat Johann Gottfried Borlach, Bevollmächtigter des sächsischen Kurfürsten, „uff dem dürren Berge“ der lagersehnte Soledurchbruch. Aus der damit erschlossenen Quelle sprudelt seit diesem Tag Sole aus 223 Metern Tiefe empor. Das aus der Sole hergestellte Siedesalz – „das weiße Gold“ – führte die Stadt zu wirtschaftlicher Blüte. Die imposanten Gradierwerke zeugen von der Geschichte Bad Dürrenbergs als Salzsiedeort. Mit 636 Metern Läge bilden sie noch heute die längste zusammenhängende Gradieranlage Deutschlands. Über Reisigwände tropft die Sole langsam, von Zweig zu Zweig, herab und sorgt durch die feine Zerstäubung für ein Mikroklima, ähnlich dem der Nordseeküste. Die Inhalation des Solenebels kann bei der Behandlung von Atemwegserkrankungen hilfreich sein.
Das Gradierwerk kann kostenfrei besichtigt werden. Im Rahmen von Führungen ist auch eine Besichtigung der „Windkunst“ auf der Aussichtsplattform möglich, buchbar über die Touristinformation.

Promenade, 06231 Bad Dürrenberg
Eine Besichtigung ist, im Rahmen von Führungen, ganzjährig möglich. Buchbar über die Touristinformation.

3. Landesgartenschau 2023
Im Jahr 2023 rückt die Solestadt Bad Dürrenberg mit ihrer Landesgartenschau unter dem Motto „Salzkristall & Blütenzauber“ in den Fokus der landesweiten Aufmerksamkeit. Vom 21. April bis 15. Oktober wird die Solestadt zum Gastgeber der 5. Landesgartenschau in Sachsen-Anhalt.
Die Besucherinnen und Besucher werden im historischen Kurpark an der Saale romantische Gartenträume erleben, in unterschiedliche Epochen der europäischen Geschichte eintauchen und die wohltuende, heilende Salzluft genießen können. Atmen Sie ruhig und kräftig ein! Ein feiner Salzgeschmack inmitten wundervoller Blütenpracht
wird Sie verzaubern und entspannen. Freuen Sie sich gemeinsam mit uns auf 178 Tage „Salzkristall & Blütenzauber“ in Bad Dürrenberg!
Informationen zu Baustellenführungen auf www.laga-badduerrenberg.de

4. Borlachturm und Witzlebenturm
Das Museum im Borlachturm – dem Wahrzeichen der Stadt – beherbergt eine kleine Ausstellung zur Salzsiederei sowie zur Entwicklung Bad Dürrenbergs zum Badeort. Zu sehen sind originale Werkzeuge wie Salzkrücken, Siedekörbe oder Salzschaufeln, welche von der schweren Arbeit der Salzsieder zeugen. Mit der Ausstellung werden darüber hinaus die Leistungen des Bergrates Johann Gottfried Borlach gewürdigt, dem 1763 der langersehnte Soledurchbruch in Bad Dürrenberg gelang.

Borlachplatz 2, 06231 Bad Dürrenberg
April – Oktober, an Wochenenden 10:00 – 17:00 Uhr
Eine Besichtigung ist, im Rahmen von Führungen, ganzjährig möglich. Buchbar über die Touristinformation.

Dampfmaschine im Witzlebenturm
Das Funktionsmodell der Brendelschen Dampfmaschine befindet sich im Witzlebenturm und wird aktuell im Maßstab 1:1, nach originalen Plänen, durch den „Heimatbund Bad Dürrenberg e. V.“ errichtet. Christian Friedrich Brendel war ein deutscher Bergingenieur und Maschinendirektor. Als Salinenbaumeister an der kurfürstlich-sächsischen Saline in Dürrenberg baute er von 1808 bis 1811 die erste Dampfmaschine Sachsens.

Borlachplatz 2, 06231 Bad Dürrenberg
Eine Besichtigung ist, im Rahmen von Führungen, ganzjährig möglich. Buchbar über die Touristinformation.

5. Altes Salzamt
Das „Alte Salzamt“ wurde als Rittergut „derer von Wolffersdorff“ im 15. Jahrhundert erstmalig erwähnt. Die umfassende Sanierung des Gebäudes konnte 2015 abgeschlossen werden. In den oberen Etagen befindet sich das Hotel „Altes Salzamt“. Die unteren Etagen werden als Standesamt genutzt und bieten eine Auswahl von vier Trauräumen. Während der Sanierungsarbeiten sind alte und teilweise unbekannte Gebäudeteile freigelegt worden, darunter ein gut erhaltener Steinbackofen aus dem 15. Jahrhundert sowie mehrere Tonnengewölbe.

Saaleweg 1, 06231 Bad Dürrenberg
Der Backofen, die Gewölbetonnen, Fundstücke und Zeitzeugnisse können im Rahmen einer Führung besichtigt werden, buchbar über die Touristinformation.

6. Wasserkraftwerk
Bereits im 18. Jahrhundert existierten an dieser Stelle Wasserräder und Kunstgestänge, die 1904/1905 durch ein Wasserkraftwerk ersetzt wurden. Das von 1753-1756 von Johann Gottfried von Borlach errichtete Wehr musste für den Neubau des Wasserwerkes komplett saniert werden. Das neue Wasserkraftwerk wurde 2016, nach einer Bauzeit von 4 Jahren, durch die Huning Anlagenbau GmbH mit Sitz in der Partnerstadt Melle fertig gestellt. Es enthält drei Turbinen, die zusammen circa 1.000 Haushalte mit Strom versorgen können.

7. Altes Badehaus
Der Name des Hauses kommt nicht von ungefähr. Das ehemalige Vorratshaus wurde 1885 zu einem Badehaus umgebaut. Kinder und Erwachsene konnten in sogenannten Badezellen in Wannen baden und ein Lesezimmer nutzen. Der bis 1964 andauernde florierende Kurbetrieb der Stadt lockte zahlreiche Besucherinnen und Besucher an. Bis 1990 wurde das Haus als Saunabetrieb mit Physiotherapie genutzt. Heute befindet sich in
den sanierten Räumlichkeiten ein Hotelbetrieb mit Restaurant, Sauna und Biergarten.

Fährstraße 6, 06231 Bad Dürrenberg
Mo. bis So. ab 11:30 Uhr

8. „Linie 5“ – eine der längsten Straßenbahnlinien der Welt
Ab 1971 verkehrte auf ihr mit der Halleschen Straßenbahnlinie 5 von Halle-Trotha nach Bad Dürrenberg die mit circa 31 Kilometern zeitweise längste Straßenbahnlinie der DDR. Heute handelt es sich um die letzte noch im Betrieb befindliche Überlandstraßenbahnstrecke Sachsen-Anhalts.

9. Kirche St. Bonifatius
„Die modernste Kirche Deutschlands, wenn nicht der ganzen Welt“ – 1931 wurde die neue, weiß verputzte Rundkirche in der Lokalpresse überschwänglich für ihre futuristisch anmutende Form gelobt. Im Inneren der Kirche schuf der Maler und Bildhauer Hannes Schulz-Tattenpach ein expressives Altarbild, das von der kirchlichen Behörde als „anstößig“ verworfen wurde. Nur durch den Einsatz des damaligen Pfarrers konnte das Kunstwerk im Raum verbleiben, wurde allerdings lange Zeit verhängt. Bis Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts gab es in Bad Dürrenberg und Umgebung nur wenige Katholiken. Durch den Zuzug katholischer Arbeiter für den nahen Chemiestandort Leuna wurde ein eigener Kirchenbau immer drängender. Mit Unterstützung des Bonifatiusvereins konnte die Aschehalde der alten Saline als Bauplatz erworben werden.
Text: © strasse-der-moderne.de

Platz der Freiheit 1, 06231 Bad Dürrenberg
 Mehr lesen

Tourenverlauf:

Kontakt:

Touristinformation Bad Dürrenberg

Witzlebenweg 7a
06231 Bad Dürrenberg
Telefon: +49 3462 / 9987070
E-Mail: tourist@badduerrenberg.de
Webseite: http://www.badduerrenberg.de/

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing