Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Riverside

Canoeing on the river Saale

"Everything flows" is also the motto in Saale-Unstrut. Because the area along the rivers Saale and Unstrut, as well as the rivers Weiße Elster and Ilm, which gave the area its name, is not only known for its multi-faceted hiking and cycling possibilities.

The rivers also play their part in the popularity of this charming region. Let the enchanting panorama of the intact natural and cultural landscape pass you by during a leisurely boat trip across the Saale or while paddling on the Unstrut. Simply rent a rowing boat, canoe or kayak from one of the local boat hire companies and become active as a water hiker.

Alone or as part of a guided water tour lasting several days - just as you please!
The 200 km long Unstrut with its varied river course is particularly suitable for this purpose, as it has not been used by passenger ships since 2017. Before the Unstrut flows into the Saale at the bottom of the flower near Naumburg, even inexperienced boaters can try their hand at rowing or paddling on the calmly flowing water.

In recent years, much has been done to reconstruct the technical facilities along the Unstrut. For example, seven locks between Freyburg and Artern are now once again passable free of charge for water hikers during operating hours. Numerous entry and exit points as well as rest areas on the banks of the Unstrut have also been revitalised and made attractive for ambitious water sports enthusiasts. These are ideal conditions to experience the beautiful Unstrut valley from the water perspective.

The second largest tributary of the Elbe, the 413-kilometre-long Saale, on the other hand, is also ideal for a trip with a passenger boat. Go on board with child and cone, sit back and relax and let vineyards and castles and palaces from the Middle Ages pass by. Certainly one of the most relaxed ways to explore the Saale-Unstrut region!

But also water sports enthusiasts get their money's worth on the natural Saale between Bad Kösen and Weißenfels! All in all, you can choose from twenty different boat tours on the rivers Unstrut and Saale. Twenty as varied as tempting reasons to let yourself drift and be carried by the water in the Saale-Unstrut holiday region.

Also discover the idyllic river landscapes along the White Elster, Central Germany's most important river. The Weisse Elster, which flows into the Saale near Halle, was awarded the title of "River Landscape of the Year 2020/21" by the Friends of Nature of Germany.

Share this contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on xing

What would you like
do next?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Im Fluss

Kanufahren auf der Saale

„Alles fließt“ heißt es auch in Saale-Unstrut. Denn das Gebiet entlang der namensgebenden Flüsse Saale und Unstrut sowie der Flüsse Weiße Elster und Ilm ist nicht nur für seine facettenreichen Wander- und Radfahrmöglichkeiten bekannt.

Auch die Flüsse tragen ihren Teil zum Beliebtheitsgrad dieses charmanten Landstrichs bei. Lassen Sie das zauberhafte Panorama der intakten Natur- und Kulturlandschaft bei einer gemütlichen Schifffahrt über die Saale oder beim Paddeln auf der Unstrut an sich vorüberziehen. Leihen Sie sich dafür einfach ein Ruderboot, Kanu oder Kajak bei einem der ansässigen Bootsverleihern aus und werden Sie als Wasserwanderer sportlich aktiv.

Allein oder im Rahmen einer geführten, mehrtägigen Wassertour – ganz wie es Ihnen beliebt!
Dafür eignet sich die 200 km lange Unstrut mit ihrem abwechslungsreichen Flussverlauf besonders gut, da sie seit 2017 von keinen Personenschiffen mehr befahren wird. Bevor die Unstrut am Blütengrund bei Naumburg in die Saale mündet, können sich auch ungeübte Bootsfahrer auf dem ruhig vor sich hinfließenden Gewässer im Rudern oder Paddeln versuchen.

In den vergangenen Jahren wurde viel getan, um die technischen Anlagen entlang der Unstrut zu rekonstruieren. So sind mittlerweile wieder sieben Schleusen zwischen Freyburg und Artern für Wasserwanderer während der Betriebszeiten kostenlos passierbar. Auch zahlreiche Einstiegs- und Ausstiegsstellen sowie Rastplätze an den Ufern der Unstrut wurden für ambitionierte Wassersportler revitalisiert und attraktiv gestaltet. Ideale Voraussetzungen also, um das schöne Unstruttal aus der Wasserperspektive zu erleben.

Der zweitgrößte Nebenfluss der Elbe, die 413 Kilometer lange Saale, hingegen bietet sich auch für eine Ausflugsfahrt mit einem Personenschiff an. Mit Kind und Kegel an Bord gehen, sich entspannt zurücklehnen und Weinberge sowie Burgen und Schlösser aus dem Mittelalter an sich vorüberziehen lassen. Sicher eine der entspanntesten Arten, um die Saale-Unstrut-Region zu erkunden!

Aber auch Wassersportler kommen auf der naturnahen Saale zwischen Bad Kösen und Weißenfels auf ihre Kosten! Insgesamt stehen Ihnen auf den Flüssen Unstrut und Saale zwanzig verschiedene Bootstouren zur Auswahl. Zwanzig ebenso abwechslungsreiche wie verlockende Gründe, um sich in der Urlaubsregion Saale-Unstrut entspannt treiben und vom Wasser tragen zu lassen.

Entdecken Sie auch die idyllischen Flusslandschaften entlang der Weißen Elster, Mitteldeutschlands wichtigstem Fluss. Die Weiße Elster, die bei Halle in die Saale mündet, wurde von den Naturfreunden Deutschlands als „Flusslandschaft des Jahres 2020/21“ ausgezeichnet.

Diesen Beitrag teilen
Aktie auf facebook
Aktie auf twitter
Aktie auf pinterest
Aktie auf linkedin
Aktie auf xing

Was möchten Sie
als Nächstes tun?