Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Contributions " Psst ... what happened in Lützen 390 years ago
Contributions " Psst ... what happened in Lützen 390 years ago

Psst ... what happened in Lützen 390 years ago

Lützen - Battlefield diorama (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte
Lützen - Battlefield diorama (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte

390 years ago Lützen was shrouded in black smoke

On 6 November 1632, much blood flowed in the small town. More than 35,000 soldiers from two mighty armies, that of the Swedish king Gustav II Adolf and the imperial Catholic Albrecht von Wallenstein, engaged in a brutal battle. Among the more than 8,000 killed was the Swedish leader.

Our tip
Where once a granite boulder alone did honour, it is now supplemented by a canopy and a memorial chapel at the place of Gustav II Adolf's death. The small Museum in the blockhouse provides an insight into this period: historical legacies of the battle events such as cuirasses, ammunition or cannonballs are sad witnesses of the battles.

Pewter figure in the Lützen Museum (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte
Pewter figure in the Lützen Museum (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte
Lützen Memorial Chapel (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Transmedial
Lützen Memorial Chapel (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Transmedial

Historic in a modern guise

390 years after the battle, a museum will open in 2023. Extension The highlight for guests is a mass grave with 47 skeletons. 

If you want to interactively explore the former theatre of war, the best way is to listen to stories about the battle on the "Lützen 1632 Battlefield Trail". Do you also wonder what the battle cry of the Finnish Hakkapelite cavalry unit sounded like or how the Imperial Field Marshal zu Pappenheim experienced his last minutes? You can find out all this and more here.

You can bring the battlefield trail to life using an app - similar to a digital audio guide. At Lützen Castle and the Gustav Adolf Memorial, a QR code indicates the download option. Activate the location recognition of your own mobile phone so that the app can guide you well. Not another app, you may think! But the museum staff have thought along very well. As soon as you leave Lützen, the app automatically removes itself from your smartphone. You don't need to worry about anything else.

read more
The Lützen 1632 Battlefield Trail is not the only digital way to explore Saale-Unstrut individually. We have compiled even more digital guided tours in Saale-Unstrut for you in various blog posts. Why not read how you can "With smartphone and app through Saale-Unstrut" come through Saale-Unstrut or which "9 fantastic audio walks in Saale-Unstrut" They expect.

Tip for history fans
Every year on the first weekend in May, the Scharnhorstfest in the Lützen district of Großgörschen. Although the battle commemorated by the festival took place around 200 years later, it was no less bloody. Members of historical re-enactment groups from Germany and abroad, with their true-to-the-original uniforms and equipment, ensure that spectators feel as if they have travelled straight back in time to the year 1813, when Prussian General Gerhard David von Scharnhorst was wounded. The re-enactment of the battle of 02 May 1813 is a great spectacle.

Gustav Adolf Memorial Site Lützen (c) Daniel Remler
Gustav Adolf Memorial Site Lützen (c) Daniel Remler
Scharnhorst Monument in Lützen (Salle-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte

Lützen for families

The site of the former battles is now also an excursion destination for families. Besides a Climbing forestwhere young and old alike can test their dexterity, the small Animal and adventure park. Blogger Sylvi tried out what it feels like.

In Lützen you will get your children happy (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte
Test your dexterity in the Lützen Climbing Forest (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte
Get up close to the animals at the Lützen Animal and Adventure Park (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte
Voriger
Nächster
Land Saxony-Anhalt - modern thinking

What would you like
do next?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Beiträge » Psst … was in Lützen vor 390 Jahren geschah
Beiträge » Psst … was in Lützen vor 390 Jahren geschah

Psst … was in Lützen vor 390 Jahren geschah

Lützen - Schlachtfelddiorama (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte
Lützen - Schlachtfelddiorama (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte

Vor 390 Jahren war Lützen in schwarzen Rauch gehüllt

Am 6. November 1632 floss Blut viel Blut in dem kleinen Ort. Mehr als 35.000 Soldaten aus zwei gewaltigen Heeren, dem von Schwedenkönig Gustav II. Adolf und dem kaiserlich-katholischen Albrecht von Wallenstein, geben sich ein brutales Gefecht. Unter den mehr als 8.000 Gefallenen befand sich auch das schwedische Oberhaupt.

Unser Tipp
Wo früher allein ein Granitfindling Ehre erbrachte, wird er heute ergänzt durch einen Baldachin und eine Gedächtniskapelle am Sterbeort Gustav II. Adolfs. Das kleine Museum im Blockhaus gibt Einblick in diese Zeit: historische Hinterlassenschaften der Schlachtereignisse wie Kürass, Munition oder Kanonenkugeln sind traurige Zeugen der Kämpfe.

Zinnfigur im Museum Lützen (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte
Zinnfigur im Museum Lützen (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte
Gedächtniskapelle Lützen (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Transmedial
Gedächtniskapelle Lützen (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Transmedial

Historisches in modernem Gewand

390 Jahre nach der Schlacht eröffnet 2023 ein musealer Erweiterungsbau seine Tore – das Museum Lützen 1632. Das Highlight für Gäste ist ein Massengrab mit 47 Skeletten. 

Wer interaktiv den ehemaligen Kriegsschauplatz erkunden will, lauscht am besten auf dem “Schlachtfeldpfad Lützen 1632” Erzählungen über die Schlacht. Fragen Sie sich auch, wie der Kampfschrei der finnischen Hakkapeliten-Kavallerieeinheit klang oder wie der kaiserliche Generalfeldmarschall zu Pappenheim seine letzten Minuten erlebte? All das und mehr erfahren Sie hier hier.

Den Schlachtfeldpfad können Sie mittels einer App zum Leben erwecken – einem digitalen Audioguide ähnlich. Am Schloss Lützen und der Gustav-Adolf-Gedenkstätte weist ein QR-Code auf die Downloadmöglichkeit hin. Aktivieren Sie die Standorterkennung des eigenen Mobiltelefons, damit die App Sie gut führen kann.  Nicht schon wieder eine App, werden Sie vielleicht denken! Die Museumsmitarbeitenden haben aber gut mitgedacht. Sobald Sie sich aus Lützen entfernen, entfernt sich auch die App automatisch von Ihrem Smartphone. Sie brauchen sich um nichts weiteres kümmern.

zum Weiterlesen
Der Schlachtfeldpfad Lützen 1632 ist nicht die einzige digitale Möglichkeit, sich individuell Saale-Unstrut zu erschließen. Noch mehr digitale Führungen in Saale-Unstrut haben wir Ihnen in verschiedenen Blogbeiträgen zusammengestellt. Lesen Sie doch einmal, wie Sie „Mit Smartphone und App durch Saale-Unstrut“ durch Saale-Unstrut kommen oder welche „9 fantastische Audiowalks in Saale-Unstrut“ Sie erwarten.

Tipp für Historienfans
Jedes Jahr am ersten Wochenende im Mai findet das Scharnhorstfest im Lützener Ortsteil Großgörschen statt. Zwar fand die Schlacht, der man mit dem Fest erinnern will, rund 200 Jahre später statt, doch war sie nicht weniger blutig. Mitglieder historischer Darstellungsgruppen aus dem In- und Ausland sorgen mit ihren originalgetreuen Uniformen und Ausrüstungen dafür, dass sich die Zuschauer fühlen, als seien sie geradewegs in der Zeit zurückgereist ins Jahr 1813, als der preußischen General Gerhard David von Scharnhorst verwundet wurde. Die Nachstellung der Schlacht vom 02. Mai 1813 ist ein großes Spektakel.

Gustav-Adolf-Gedenkstätte Lützen (c) Daniel Remler
Gustav-Adolf-Gedenkstätte Lützen (c) Daniel Remler
Scharnhorst-Denkmal in Lützen (Salle-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte

Lützen für Familien

Der Ort der ehemaligen Kämpfe ist heute auch ein Ausflugsziel für Familien. Neben einem Kletterwald, in dem Kleine wie Große ihre Geschicklichkeit testen können, lockt der kleine Tier- und Erlebnispark. Wie sich das anfühlt, hat Bloggerin Sylvi ausprobiert.

In Lützen bekommen Sie Ihre Kinder glücklich (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte
Im Kletterwald Lützen die Geschicklichkeit testen (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte
Im Tier- und Erlebnispark Lützen den Tieren ganz nah kommen (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte
Voriger
Nächster
Land Sachsen-Anhalt - modern denken

Was möchten Sie
als Nächstes tun?