Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Contributions " Psst ... fascinating like Stonehenge - the Goseck solar observatory
Contributions " Psst ... fascinating like Stonehenge - the Goseck solar observatory

Psst ... fascinating like Stonehenge - the Goseck solar observatory

Sun observatory Goseck at sunset (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte

Fascination of the sky and how people learned from it

The sky has always magically attracted people's gaze. They watched it, studied it, but for a long time they were clueless about what was going on there. That changed about 7000 years ago with the construction of this mysterious circular tomb of concentric circles, ditches and gates; better known as the Solar observatory of Goseck.

Its three precisely aligned gates served as sighting devices for people to observe the sun at the time of the solstices. A precious discovery and the first proof that certain astronomical phenomena recur regularly. To this day, the Goseck solar observatory marks the birth of our human calendar! Incidentally, 2000 years before people began stacking stones on top of each other at Stonehenge to find out similar things.

Solar observatory Goseck (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Transmedial

Learn more about the Goseck Solar Observatory!

Let yourself be enchanted by the mystique of this place and feel the powerful aura that surrounds it.
In the associated information centre (with or without a guided tour) you can learn all about the history; significance and functioning. The site has still lost none of its fascination. Every winter and summer solstice, numerous people come together to witness live how the sun illuminates certain gates only on these days, as it did thousands of years ago. 

Which gate points in which direction? The riddle is solved here (c) Daniel Remler
Goseck is still a mystical and idyllic place today (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte
Excursion destinations Saale-Unstrut - onnenobservatorium Goseck
Excursion destinations Saale-Unstrut - onnenobservatorium Goseck

Want more sky?

The solar observatory is part of the tourist route Heavenly wayswhere you can discover even more exciting astronomical highlights in the Saale Unstrut region. Experience a journey through time in the State Museum of Prehistory in Halle, the Ring Sanctuary Pömmelte or visit the Site of the Nebra Sky Disk with its visitor centre in the form of the golden sky barque - Nebra Ark.

Get to know the Goseck district with the webapp

Solve riddles and discover the region interactively

The "Circle of Goseck" is an interactive web app that guides you in a playful way to interesting and surprising places in the region. Those who engage in riddles and explorations will discover places and details that remain hidden from many people.

As you go exploring, bit by bit you will learn more and more of the fictional story surrounding the "Circle of Goseck". Become part of an exciting game that only opens up the mysterious sides of Saale-Unstrut to the initiated.

Discover Saale-Unstrut with the interactive webapp "The circle of Goseck" (c) kommwirmachendaseinfach
Discover Saale-Unstrut with the interactive webapp "The circle of Goseck" (c) kommwirmachendaseinfach

What would you like
do next?

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Search in posts
Search in pages
Beiträge » Psst … faszinierend wie Stonehenge – das Sonnenobservatorium Goseck
Beiträge » Psst … faszinierend wie Stonehenge – das Sonnenobservatorium Goseck

Psst … faszinierend wie Stonehenge – das Sonnenobservatorium Goseck

Sonnenobservatorium Goseck bei Sonnenuntergang (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte

Faszination Himmel und wie die Menschen daraus lernten

Schon immer zog der Himmel die Blicke der Menschen magisch an. Sie beobachteten ihn, studierten ihn, doch lange waren sie ahnungslos, was dort vor sich ging. Das änderte sich vor rund 7000 Jahren mit dem Bau dieser mysteriösen Kreisgrabenanlage aus konzentrischen Kreisen, Gräben und Toren; besser bekannt als das Sonnenobservatorium von Goseck.

Seine drei exakt ausgerichteten Tore dienten den Menschen als Visiereinrichtungen zur Beobachtung der Sonne zum Zeitpunkt der Sonnenwenden. Eine kostbare Erkenntnis und der erste Beweis, dass gewisse astronomische Phänomene regelmäßig wiederkehren. Bis heute markiert das Sonnenobservatorium Goseck die Geburtsstunde unserer menschlichen Zeitrechnung! Übrigens noch 2000 Jahre, bevor man in Stonehenge begann, Steine aufeinander zu stapeln, um ähnliches herauszufinden.

Sonnenobservatorium Goseck (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Transmedial

Erfahren Sie mehr über das Sonnenobservatorium Goseck!

Lassen Sie sich selbst von der Mystik dieses Ortes verzaubern und spüren Sie die kraftvolle Aura, die ihn umgibt.
In der dazugehörigen Informationszentrum (mit oder ohne Führung) erfahren Sie alles über die Geschichte; Bedeutung und Funktionsweise. Noch immer hat die Anlage nichts von ihrer Faszination verloren. Immer zur Winter- und zur Sommersonnenwende kommen zahlreiche Menschen zusammen, um live mitzuerleben, wie die Sonne bestimmte Tore nur an diesen Tagen wie schon vor Tausenden Jahren erhellt. 

Welches Tor zeigt in welche Richtung? Hier wird das Rätsel aufgelöst (c) Daniel Remler
Goseck ist auch heute noch ein mystischer und idyllischer Ort (c) Saale-Unstrut-Tourismus e.V., Falko Matte
Ausflugsziele Saale-Unstrut - onnenobservatorium Goseck
Ausflugsziele Saale-Unstrut - onnenobservatorium Goseck

Noch mehr Himmel gefällig?

Das Sonnenobservatorium ist Teil der Tourismusroute Himmelswege, auf der es noch weitere spannende astronomische Highlights in der Saale Unstrut Region zu entdecken gibt. Erleben Sie eine Zeitreise im Landesmuseum für Vorgeschichte in Halle, dem Ringheiligtum Pömmelte oder besuchen Sie den Fundort der Himmelsscheibe von Nebra mit ihrem Besucherzentrum in Form der goldenen Himmelsbarke – die Arche Nebra.

Mit der Webapp den Kreis von Goseck kennenlernen

Rätsel lösen und interaktiv die Region entdecken

Der „Kreis von Goseck“ ist eine interaktive Webapp, die auf spielerische Weise zu interessanten und überraschenden orten der Region lenkt. Wer sich auf Rätsel und Erkundungen einlässt, wird Plätze und Details entdecken, die vielen Menschen verborgen bleiben.

Während Sie auf Erkundung gehen, erfahren Sie Stück für Stück immer mehr von der fiktiven Geschichte rund um den „Kreis von Goseck“. Werden Sie Teil eines spannenden Spiels, das nur den Eingeweihten die mysteriösen Seiten von Saale-Unstrut eröffnet.

Saale-Unstrut entdecken mit der interaktiven Webapp "Der kreis von Goseck" (c) kommwirmachendaseinfach
Saale-Unstrut entdecken mit der interaktiven Webapp "Der kreis von Goseck" (c) kommwirmachendaseinfach

Was möchten Sie
als Nächstes tun?